This Just In

NEW ARRIVALS

Looks We Love

Labels We Love

The Getaway Shop

The Madewell Essentials

Monogram It

Denim Report

Events

Our clothes, your pics

How We Do Well

clothing

DENIM

TEES & TANKS

SHIRTS & TOPS

SWEATERS

JACKETS

DRESSES

SKIRTS

SHORTS & PANTS

LEISURE

intimates & pajamas

SWIM & BEACHWEAR

SALE

extended sizes

shoes, bags &
more

SHOES & SANDALS

BAGS

JEWELRY

sunglasses

ACCESSORIES

GIFT & HOME

Behind
The Scenes

Our Blog

Denim Report

#DENIMMADEWELL

#EVERYDAYMADEWELL

#Totewell

#WELLHEELED

About Madewell

The Crisscross Boardwalk Sandal
full size
The Crisscross Boardwalk Sandal
The Crisscross Boardwalk Sandal
The Crisscross Boardwalk Sandal
Product Details
Rich, softly textured leather and an iconic wraps-around-your-ankle shape—it's the incredibly comfortable style you'll reach for day in and day out.
  • Half sizes order up.
  • Leather upper and lining.
  • Man-made sole.
  • Import.
SHIPPING & RETURNS
Free shipping and free returns exclusively for Madewell Insiders
(hi there, risk-free try-ons). *For complete details, see our Shipping Policy and Return Policy.

The Crisscross Boardwalk Sandal

The Crisscross Boardwalk Sandal is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 68.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A versatile summer sandal. I got these today and I absolutely love them. Pretty true to size, and very soft leather straps. They go with anything and everything.
Date published: 2013-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits true to size I wear size 5 's in shoes and these sandlles fit perfectly. Order your usual size. I highly recommend.
Date published: 2013-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Such a summer statement! The only drawback of this sandal is that the ankle strap is a little small. Although my daughters and I are small, the ankle strap was tight at first. It loosened up after wear. We love them.
Date published: 2013-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Overall great sandals these are my new all-around, go-to spring & summer sandals! I was worried that they would be uncomfortable for long days as they're so flat with absolutely no cushioning, but somehow the way the straps wrap around your ankle they're SO comfortable! Other reviewers mentioned the short straps, and they're right - I have average ankles, by no means large, and could only fasten these on the first hole. HOWEVER, after three days of wearing them the (very good quality) leather has stretched quite a bit and I now fasten them on the second hole. Still, there are three more unused ones and they could have resized the strap to make sure they fit more people. They may only last one season, but time has yet to tell. Either way though, they're comfortable, adorable, and I've already received countless compliments. Perfect sandal!
Date published: 2013-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiul design! I got dark blue and Im happy with it. The color and design are great with any styles. pants and dress, mini and long.
Date published: 2013-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for summer! A bit pricier than what I normally spend on shoes, but these are perfect looking and I hope they will prove to be a good investment!
Date published: 2013-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cute! ...but you need small ankles I love these sandals. They're really cute and surprisingly comfortable - I was able to walk miles in them on the first day. The only problem is that they're made for people with really narrow ankles. I have bird legs with ankles to match, and I just barely was able to fit into these. I used the last hole on the strap, and there isn't space to punch another hole. If you have narrow ankles, these are a great find.
Date published: 2013-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable! I have purchased these sandals in brown, red and blue because I love the way they look and because they go with everything I own.
Date published: 2013-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Everyday Sandal I love this sandal. Great design and comfortable fit. I ordered the blue and it's darker than I expected, nearly a dark navy, but still a beautiful color.
Date published: 2013-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic casual I've been looking for the perfect pair of simple brown leather sandals for a year now. I saw these and thought the simplicity of design and the price were exactly what I was looking for. My only complaint is how flat the soles are, but I work on my feet for 10 hours days. I'm able to wear these at work and around town. Great little sandals!
Date published: 2013-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect summer sandals These sandals are great quality, very flattering and the perfect sandal for summer. I'm in love!!
Date published: 2013-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from cute crisscross sandals i got these for Christmas in a two tone color (orange and brown) and i just absolutely love them. i've been waiting forever for it to get warm out so that i could wear these. they're a bright, vibrant color and the leather is soft. the straps wrap around the ankle and buckle, which is what mainly keeps the sandals on. the rest of the sandal sits comfortably on the foot. i'm normally a 9.5, so i had to size up to the 10, which fits nicely, maybe a little loose. i'm thinking about wearing these with a striped Madewell top, some Madewell skinny ankle jeans, and a cute brown and blue leather/suede Madewell purse. all of their stuff really does coordinate well with each other.
Date published: 2013-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very, very comfortable I bought these last summer for a trip to Italy and ended up wearing them everywhere I went! No matter how much I walked in them (which was a lot), I never got a blister or experienced any chafing. I highly recommend these to someone looking for a good quality, versatile pair of summer sandals.
Date published: 2013-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Basic has its charm! I've been looking for a basic sandle staple for a long time. These go perfect with anything from jeans to a cute dress. The leather is in good condition but you would definitely want to protect and condition it. My only minor issue was that the ankle straps were a little tight but after a few wears it loosens to a comfortable fit. A great buy regardless!
Date published: 2013-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfy spring/summer staple You can't go wrong with these. I ordered mine in English saddle and they work with everything. I usually wear a 7.5 and I found the 7 were a perfect fit. Highly recommended!
Date published: 2013-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these sandals The fit is perfect and they look fantastic. i cant wait for the spring so I can wear them!
Date published: 2013-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sandals I absolutely love the sandals. Classy and super comfortable.
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great sandals These sandals are the perfect shade of not too bright red and will complete a lot of outfits. They are very cute to dress up or down. When I first tried them on, they were a little stiff and were uncomfortable to walk in (felt like the soles were just flat with no give), but as I wore them around they became more comfortable. I am hoping that they become even more comfortable and worn in with time.
Date published: 2013-07-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love these, but they broke (3 times!)! I love these sandals, I got them last summer. However, the strap on the right foot has broken three times (it comes out of the heel bed). I keep getting them repaired, and they last for a bit, and then break again. That said, I'm still considering repurchasing, since they are so versatile and cute -- just not super duty well-constructed.
Date published: 2013-07-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute sandals I've been looking for a simple brown leather pair (harder to find than I expected!), and these fit the bill. They look good, and are pretty comfortable. The ankle straps stretched out a bit quicker than I had hoped, but I guess that's to be expected with leather sandals. Haven't had them long enough to say how they'll hold up over time. Overall I'm happy with the purchase.
Date published: 2013-07-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Summer Sandals I got these sandals a few months back and am still obsessed with them. They are good everyday shoes, but definitely aren't the most comfortable for walking around all day.
Date published: 2013-07-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Size down from your half size Great price for a classic style. I like that the the leather is polished and reinforced in a way that the straps hold their shape. They almost look like faux leather but I prefer this look over soft and droopy untreated leather straps. Pretty comfortable for a sandal that is flat and so low to the ground. I'm typically a size 7.5 and, just like another reviewer said, I wish that I had ordered a 7 instead of sizing up to an 8. I don't feel like I'm wearing "boats" but I would've been happy with my foot fitting exactly in a 7 than feeling self conscious that my shoes are slightly too big.
Date published: 2013-06-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great sandal but runs small I bought those online in my usual size 10 and was disappointed that they run smaller than expected. Otherwise, they are cute and simple. Good value.
Date published: 2013-06-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from cute shoes! need to be broken in! Very hard and a bit uncomfortable at first, once broken in they are very comfortable. they are a little too big for me, I ordered a size 6 but sometimes I'm a 5.5 so that might just be me
Date published: 2013-05-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from much more comfortable than they look! These sandals are surprisingly comfortable and super cute. I got the optic white in a size 6 and I'm normally a 6.5. I was debating between 6 and 7, but ultimately opted for the 6 as size 7 was a bit too lose and long. The only thing is sometimes if I don't readjust my feet and scoot them back so that the heels are where's they are supposed to be, my toes tend to move forward a little bit. no biggie though. Also, maybe my ankles are a bit thicker than I'd like them to be, but the ankle straps could be just a tad bit longer. Other than that, the sandals are cute, comfy, and flattering.
Date published: 2013-05-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute for summer My feet tend to slide forward while walking, but it isn't too much of a problem. These are cute sandals that are worth the price.
Date published: 2013-05-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great and simple - slipping strap Overall I really like these. Good price point for the simple style. On one of my heels the back strap is threatening to fall off, but I've cinched the ankle strap tighter and it seems to be ok for the moment.
Date published: 2013-05-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A little small but still love it Got these in the brown color and love the way it looks. I normally wear a 7.5 and ordered the 8. It barely fits...sometimes my toes move too far forward over the front but it's really not that big of an issue. Nice quality and pretty comfortable for a sandal. Overall I love it!
Date published: 2013-04-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great summer sandals Very cute sandals, and the colour is great for summer. My only issue (which is kinda important), is that the stitching on the inside of the ankle strap sticks out and is sharp and rubs on your ankle when you walk. I am going to try to file it off or something as it will cause blisters I'm sure.
Date published: 2013-04-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good value These sandals are soft and comfortable. My only complain is that I wish they had just little bit more heel - just a tad more - to make them more wearable for all day. Otherwise, it is a great buy!
Date published: 2013-04-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute but run small! I just received these shoes in the mail and had to return them. I ordered a 6 (my usual size) and couldn't buckle the strap around my ankle. Lengthwise they were fine, just super tight around the ankles (and I have tiny ankles!) Overall very cute, just order a size up!
Date published: 2013-03-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great-looking discomfort I've been in love with this sandal ever since it first appeared on the site. I debated over which colour to buy for a couple of weeks. The clincher to finally purchasing were the reviews saying that they were comfortable to walk in...they were going to be my summer go-to sandal. Not so much! They are incredibly uncomfortable, with a hard inflexible base which is essentially a thin leather piece glued to a stiff plastic bottom. I'm trying to endure 'breaking them in' but am also cutting my ankles in the process: the sharp plastic edges of the base make their mark if I graze my ankle bone while walking. As another reviewer commented, some of the leather chipped off at the top of the sandal in the first day of wear. No surprise...really disappointed in this purchase.
Date published: 2013-07-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Loose ankles, need half sizes I'm a true 8.5 and tried these on in both the 8 and 9 in the store today. On the 9, the ankle was SO LOOSE. I'm talking flapping heel. The shoe was pretty long too. The 8 fit much better but was just a tad too small. Wish it came in half sizes...
Date published: 2013-07-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from good while they last I was really excited about these shoes but then I got them and they stretched out fast and also showed signs of wear. By this I mean that I wore them maybe 5 or 6 times under normal conditions and the leather is already cracking and revealing some red material (i bought them in blue). Also the back straps are getting concerningly looser and stretched right were they connect to the sole. Its upsetting because I paid a lot of money for them and was expecting them to last awhile but now I'm afraid they're gonna break when I'm out and about one day...
Date published: 2013-06-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from So pretty I wish I had sized down. I'm a true 7.5 and even have a slightly wide foot. The 8 is too wide and too loose.
Date published: 2013-06-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from front straps too loose The front straps on these sandals are too loose, so that your foot slips forward and off the edge of the sandal. I tried going down a whole size and had the same problem - it seems like they make the platform smaller but don't tighten the straps at all. Too bad because they are very cute...
Date published: 2013-06-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from cute, but... I love the look of these! Unfortunately the ankle strap is so tight on the left sandal that it is uncomfortable and the strap on the right sandal is too loose! If they were both too loose, I could just add an extra hole. *Sigh* I guess I will return them.
Date published: 2013-05-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not sure yet They're very stiff and rough when brand new. I'm not sure I can hang in there to break them in. These might get returned.
Date published: 2013-05-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very cute, but uncomfortable Love the style and color... but the straps cut into my heels/ankles. no support in the sole. I am torn, because they are so cute! I definitely won't e able to go on walks or do anything active in these sandals. Only good for standing around and looking good :(
Date published: 2013-05-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not leather I ordered these online. Cute styling but definitely pleather, not real leather. Sent them back.
Date published: 2013-04-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from ankle strap really short This shoe is comfortable, flexible and sure to last the summer, but the ankle strap is very short and i can only close it on the last hole, barely. I do not have large ankles, so this was really shocking, but i'm keeling the shoe because it otherwise works well for an everyday shoe.
Date published: 2013-04-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cute Sandals but Navy looks Black I was looking for a pair of Navy sandals and unfortunately these aren't them..while there is nothing wrong with how they fit or look, these sandals are so dark that they look black - going back unfortunately.
Date published: 2013-04-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from love these sandals but... I loved these sandals and expected them to last, but one of the front straps broke (and the back strap is starting to rip) after about three months of casual wear. I thought they would last longer for the price!!
Date published: 2013-04-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Love the sandals-- fell apart quickly! I loved these sandals-- the color and fit were perfect, and the leather is soft and supple. However the connection of the leather straps to the base tore after a few weeks of wear-- really disappointing, since I had hoped these would be my every day summer sandal.
Date published: 2013-08-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Stretches! I was in love with this sandal and so excited to bring it home. They look great when they are on my feet except the fact the moment I started to wear them they stretch and now when I walk in them my foot slides all the way off the top of the sandal. It's such a bummer because I was only able to wear it a few times... I'd love to try a smaller size and see if I have to same problem but can't bring myself to buy a brand new pair...
Date published: 2013-08-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not for me The ankle strap fits awkwardly and I didn't like the look of the sandal so I returned it
Date published: 2013-06-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Leather stretches out! Maybe it's just me, but I ordered these a few months ago, and I've worn them around maybe three or four times, and the leather straps have already become so stretched out that my foot moves all the way forward when I walk. It's awkward and uncomfortable. The ankle strap stretched out as well and just hangs on my ankle. It's really disappointing because at first, these were fabulous sandals.
Date published: 2013-06-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Super cute, but bad quality I bought these sandals last summer and loved them right away. I didn't wear them that much, but I could tell after a few wears that they were falling apart. I was out and about one day and all of the sudden the whole back part of one of the shoes sole fell off! I tried glueing it back together but it just didn't work. Such a bummer because I got so many compliments every time I wore them, but it's just not worth buying another pair.
Date published: 2013-06-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Strap is too small I am 93 pounds, and the ankle strap was too small on me. Unless you have really tiny ankles, these probably won't fit around your ankles. They are also very, very flat with almost no cushioning.
Date published: 2013-05-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ridiculous Ankle Strap I don't see how this fastens around anyone's ankle comfortably. It needs at least another inch of slack. I by no means have thick ankles. They're actually pretty average. The leather was of decent quality, nothing special. They're just sort of "eh."
Date published: 2013-05-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from broke on first wear! i wanted cute minimalist sandals, and these seemed like the perfect pair. with the price point, i assumed they would last a while. they fit me very well and, unlike other reviewers, i found the ankle strap to be perfectly accommodating. but, i wore them out for the *very first time* today, and, during my three-block walk to the grocery store, one of the back straps broke clean off! i'm going to go back to the store and exchange them for another pair, but based on other reviews, i'm not super confident that those will last too long, either.
Date published: 2013-04-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Fits small I had to return these sandals because they fit small, even though I got a size up (I am normally a 7.5 and I ordered the 8). I don't have really wide feet, but they were far too narrow. Also, the leather on these sandals was a bit hard - I think it would take some time to break them in.
Date published: 2013-04-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not what I expected The leather? looks cheap - and although i have small ankles - even with fastening the last hole on the strap, they are still too tight around the ankle. I will have to return. otherwise, a cute style
Date published: 2013-04-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Broke after 1 month of wearing After 1 month of wearing these, they lost their form and started slipping off my feet dozens of times per day. They are not made well and ended up being a huge disappointment. They're definitely cute and true to size, but are really not designed to stay on. I've tried everything to keep them on but they always find a way to slip off.
Date published: 2013-03-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Falls apart It only took a few wears for the straps and cheap sole to come off the footbed. NOT made well at all!
Date published: 2013-09-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from High hopes but they hurt my feet! I was really excited about these sandals, especially after reading the good reviews. I wore them a lot for the first month or so, and I found that my foot would slip through the front. I was also getting a lot of ankle pain. I reluctantly abandoned the sandals after six weeks and the pain disappeared. I think they were too flat and wide for my narrow foot and high arch. Great idea but not a good fit for me.
Date published: 2013-08-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broke after 3rd wear Loved these sandals when I first got them but after wearing them for a few days one of the front straps broke clean off. I couldn't believe it! Thankfully it happened when I was only a few feet from my door, or else it could've been a very awkward situation. Definitely not "made well."
Date published: 2013-07-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not good I have two other pairs of Madewell sandals; they were much pricier than these and now I know why. The quality of these is so poor. The ankle strap is extremely short. I wish I could return them; I regret buying them and I even got them for the sale price.
Date published: 2013-06-14
  • y_2017, m_6, d_22, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_68
  • loc_en_US, sid_86708, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_madewell