This Just In

NEW ARRIVALS

Spring 2017

Looks We Love

Labels We Love

The Accessories Shop

The Madewell Essentials

Monogram It

Denim Report

Events

Our clothes, your pics

Denim Donation

clothing

DENIM

TEES & TANKS

SHIRTS & TOPS

SWEATERS

JACKETS

DRESSES

SKIRTS

PANTS & SHORTS

OVERALLS & JUMPSUITS

LEISURE

intimates & pajamas

SWIM & BEACHWEAR

SALE

extended sizes

shoes, bags &
more

SHOES & SANDALS

BAGS

(see all)

totes
crossbody bags
backpacks
satchels & bucket bags
duffels
pouches & wallets
iphone cases & tech
bag accessories

JEWELRY

sunglasses

ACCESSORIES

GIFT & HOME

Behind
The Scenes

Our Blog

Denim Report

#DENIMMADEWELL

#EVERYDAYMADEWELL

#Totewell

#WELLHEELED

About Madewell

The Transport Tote
full size
The Transport Tote
The Transport Tote
The Transport Tote
The Transport Tote
Product Details
What goes into our signature tote? Here it is by the numbers: 2 pieces of fine leather are used for the body. 8 inch strap drop: long enough to sling over your shoulder, but short enough to hold as a top handle. 1 interior side zip pocket to keep your keys, phone and wallet at the ready. 24: the number of hours in a day that this bag looks cool. How often you'll reach for it? 500 gazillion times.
  • Made of vegetable-tanned leather that burnishes with wear into a beautiful patina.
  • Please note: As it is made of a natural material, each bag varies slightly in texture and color.
  • Interior zip pocket.
  • Unlined.
  • 8 1/4" handle drop.
  • 14"H x 14"W x 6"D.
  • Import.
SHIPPING & RETURNS
Free shipping and free returns exclusively for Madewell Insiders
(hi there, risk-free try-ons). *For complete details, see our Shipping Policy and Return Policy.

The Transport Tote

The Transport Tote is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 774.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Questionable quality I was very excited to receive this tote and love the monogram and English Saddle color. It is a great size and perfect for everyday use. However, after about a month I noticed that the color on the corners of the tote began to wear. Given the price point, I am pretty disappointed that it has not held up better with normal wear.
Date published: 2015-10-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Awful Went out and treated myself to this bag that I've been wanting for so long. To say I'm disappointed is an understatement. Almost 200 dollars for what I'm pretty sure is FAKE leather. I've heard that these bags used to be very high quality. Madewell shouldnt bother selling these at all anymore. This bag is a complete scam. Really really disappointed in the madewell company. Will be returning as soon as possible.
Date published: 2017-03-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not worth the $$ I bought this bag only one month ago and the leather is already wearing off on the corners!! Extremely disappointed!!!
Date published: 2017-03-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bring back the old quality please I have had this bag since 2013, but then I went to purchase one for my sister and it was NOT the same bag. The quality is completely horrible and yet the same price point?? Don't cut corners Madewell. Please bring back the old leather.
Date published: 2017-03-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from cheap made-in-China fake leather I'm a huge fan of madewell and I always gave a good review whenever I purchased items online and store. I read many reviews which told this tote's quality has changed. But I trusted madewell and bought it. I absolutely agreed to other customer's latest reviews. Just couple times of usage, leather started to peel off. I personally have many leather items and never had this kind of cheap leather before. I even didn't put this bag on the floor as I cared so much.This isn't leather, I would say. It's a fake leather. I certainly regretted to purchase this item. Please don't waste your money.
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Material changed... DISAPPOINTED Madewell has changed the leather for transport tote as well as the medium transport tote..... Disappointed with the new material... I wish I got another one last year to replace my old one.... oh well... lesson learned.... I understand if the material cost more, but I would rather pay the extra price and keep the quality... the new material is just too fake...
Date published: 2017-02-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from "Leather" looks cheap I have wanted this tote for so long, I finally went for it, even though all the recent reviews noted the degradation in quality. I thought maybe they just got a poorly made bag and that I might be one of all the other reviewers who got the original, amazing bag! Sadly, that was not the case. I ordered this tote in English Saddle, and it looks NOTHING like the photos online. It looks and feels like 100% Polyurethane -- I am so deeply skeptical that this is leather because it looks very uniform and with a painted color. It looks unnatural and fake. As much as I wanted a Madewell bag, I'm returning this. It's not worth the price, and to be completely honest, I would be embarrassed to take it out in public because it looks so cheap and low-quality. Can't express how disappointed I am, after waiting over a week for it to arrive (and months of waffling on whether to get it or not in the first place!).
Date published: 2016-09-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Quality issues I agree w everyone here. I wouldn't call them "vegetable tanned" leather anymore. The straps are flimsier, the brown bag now is like a painted brown finish vs a lovely natural stained leather. I wish I kept my old version of this bag from 2009! :( So bummed out
Date published: 2016-08-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Quality has Changed The quality on this bag has been downgraded significantly. It's no longer the sleek, substantial leather transport tote we all know and love. The look and feel of the "new" bag is a cheap, raspy and thin material that showed signs of poor wear right out of the box. I compared it to my older transport tote and the difference in construction and quality was pretty shocking. This will be the second item I've recently returned to Madewell on grounds of poor quality alone. So disappointing. The brand's name is starting to feel a bit ironic. Please bring back the old transport tote!
Date published: 2016-07-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Black leather doesn't hold up I love the styling of this tote but sadly the leather hasn't held up. After a few months, the black leather faded and turned a light reddish color. There are also little circles that have shown up in the leather. I used leather conditioner and black shoe polish but it fades so quickly and looks horrible. I wish I could upload a picture with my review to show how it looks now! Maybe the brown wears better?
Date published: 2016-09-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Composite The style is nice, but the bag is composite, not leather. It shouldn't be marketed as leather, or sold at a price that's reasonable for nice leather but now way for composite. It's way lower quality than I hoped.
Date published: 2016-09-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't wear well at all! I've had the bag for about six months and, similar to other reviews, the corners are discolored, the straps have come unglued, edges frayed and the leather has cracked and marked (not is the nice broken-in leather way either). I used it mainly on the weekends, not every day. Pretty disappointing.
Date published: 2015-01-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed, big time I was so excited to get it. It took a long time to get it. Shipping took over a week. I had an idea that the tote would be much lighter in color and have a richness that would naturally darken naturally with time. I imagined it was going to be a different kind of hide. It's an expensive tote, simple construction - what you're paying for is the leather, not the craftsmanship. The leather is too dark and it looks like fake leather. It doesn't have the hand of leather or what I expected from photos that I've seen. It was a treat to pay so much for a simple tote. I would have returned it but I had my initials put on it. Just really, in every way, not what I wanted or what I expected. I'm really bummed.
Date published: 2016-09-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The quality has disappeared I saw the Transport Tote a few years ago in store and had my eye on it for a few years. Now that I finally need a larger sized tote, I ordered it, but when it arrived, I was appalled that this wasn't the beautiful leather of the Transport tote that I saw in stores before. The tote used to have a slight gloss to the leather and would develop a nice patina after use. What I got instead was a bag in a dull finish made from cheap "bonded leather" (shredded leather fibre + pulp + plastic). You can tell by the smell, the papery texture, and glimpses of the real material showing through the holes in the stitching. I could tell right away that this bag would not hold up (inadequate stitching, the "leather" will tear and peel easily). I would never pay this price for something that isn't meant to be used often. I was so disappointed that the quality has slipped so much and returned it (had to pay for return shipping as well). What a mistake.
Date published: 2016-03-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from So sad! Bring back the old Transport Tote! I was so shocked to see what has happened to the quality of this once-beautiful bag! I love, love, love my old Transport Tote in English saddle from a few years back. But that high quality leather is nowhere to be found in this new model. It looks and feels plasticky. I'm so sad. Madewell, please bring back the old, lovely leather that you used to use!
Date published: 2016-12-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from LOW quality leather To say I am disappointed in the quality of leather is an understatement. It is not what I would expect from Madewell. My first thought when I opened the package was "Is this real leather?". It looks like it could have come from a big box reatailer. I first ordered the dark cocoa color, but returned it in exchange for the English saddle color hoping for better results with the leather. No luck. It's the same cheap, vinyl-looking leather and the inside is rough, not the soft suede you would expect. I am not convinced the handle is actually leather. *I will say that customer service was wonderful and delightful to work with during the exchange process. 5 stars there, Madewell.* Heed the advice of others, don't monogram it until you see it in person.
Date published: 2016-12-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor quality leather for the price Loved the design of the bag, but as other reviews mentioned, the quality of the leather is poor- stiff and quite honestly cheap looking. Not at all what you'd expect for a bag at this price point. Also, because of the monogramming, the bag can't be returned. I wish I'd heeded the warnings of other reviewers before making a costly mistake!
Date published: 2016-09-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Just Awful This is just awful. My daughter has one from only a few years ago, and it's gorgeous. Developed a nice patina, smells like leather. This is awful. I wonder if it's even real leather. Highway robbery. I could get this at the red T store for 10 bucks, not over 200. The color is off. It is to even the same bag as in the picture. Sadly, and for good reason, I am returning this bag. Yuck, gross, and I have been around a long time. What is wrong. I would have paid more for the original made bag. This almost feels like a knock off. Not at all worth your time and money. Read all the reviews. I do to like writing negative reviews, but don't want anybody to think it is the bag in photo, and nice. Please improve your quality inspection. Thank you. SDepp
Date published: 2017-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great work bag I purchased this bag as a gift to myself when bonuses came through. I was typically commuting with a minimum of 3 different bags to work and now it all fits in this one! It's a bit larger than I had anticipated so my thoughts of it doubling as a purse probably won't work out very well but it's perfect for weekday commuting or a weekender type bag. I saw another review that didn't like the lack of pockets and I do agree that I'll probably have to get a smaller bag to hold all my miscellaneous items inside this tote, but because it doesn't have anything taking up space it leave enough room for gym stuff, laptop, and my lunch! Love it!
Date published: 2015-04-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice bag! I love the bag. It holds a Macbook Air with no strain or fear that it's going to fall apart. The English saddle color is appropriate for all seasons. My only 3 tiny issues: I got the gold foil monogram, and people ask if it's the brand. I wish the handles were thicker and smooth on both sides. I wish it had a couple additional pockets.
Date published: 2016-06-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Flimsy Straps I've had this (monogrammed) bag for a year and a half, and I'm very disappointed in how it's held up. One of the straps is completely fine, but the other is oddly stretched out (nearly double the length it originally was). I'm now afraid to use the bag because I'm worried the strap will just snap one day. It's a nice looking bag, but the quality issues make the price not worth it.
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Total Let Down I had been eyeing this bag for a loooong time. Finally saved up my dollars and decided to buy it online. Was seriously considering having it monogrammed, thankfully I didn't. When it arrived I was so disappointed!! The leather felt so cheap and thin. The handles felt flimsy and dry, almost coarse to the touch. I sent it back. Then I decided to go to the Madewell store to see if maybe I had just gotten a lemon of a bag. To my dismay every single transport tote in the English Saddle felt the same and looked the same. So sad. However!! I saw another tote that caught my eye and it was the East-West transport tote and I fell in love!!! This tote is amazing...all the totes in this style had beautiful soft thick leather and each one slightly different than the other. I was sold. I got it monogrammed and I loooooove this bag. I love Madewell...and if you do to, I would suggest you go to the store and see and feel the bags for yourself. Or buy it online but don't have it monogrammed right away.
Date published: 2016-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Phenomenal Bag I was super skeptical to buy this because of a few bad reviews, but I am in love with this bag. I've used it all summer for school and traveling and have it stuffed full with my laptop and books for class, and have had no problems. I recommend it fully to anyone who wants a super convenient, stylish bag. It does wear but in a very nice way, and is very easy to clean with a leather cleaner. I love this bag!
Date published: 2016-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So happy This is a perfect bag for me to take my laptop in to do business or to go shopping with on the weekends. I am small and I find it doesn't overwhelm me at all. Also stays on my shoulder so the strap is just long enough, even with a winter coat on. Love it
Date published: 2016-02-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Looks poo. Very cheap leather, color dye is blotchy in some areas. Definitely returning for this quality at such a price point.
Date published: 2016-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A MUST HAVE TOTE This tote is perfect for all your daily travel needs. The size is perfect, I'm 5"2 and it's easy to carry. The quality of the bag is nice and the fresh smell of leather is amazing. Perfect summer bag - I bought the saddle color and it's beautiful. Every woman needs a tote like this in her life.
Date published: 2016-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE bag I've had this bag for a few months now, and I love it more everyday. I use it as my bag for uni, so it easily carries a few notebooks and my laptop as well as odds and ends that I have floating around in my bag. I wouldn't stuff it with heavy textbooks however, because I don't want to wear it out. Still looks great after 8 months of daily use! Goes with everything, and entirely regretting the fact that I didn't get it monogrammed.
Date published: 2016-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful bag I have carried this bag everyday since receiving it four months ago. It is very roomy and holds quite a bit. My only complaint is that the strap is too thin. I feel that for a bag this size, the strap should be a bit thicker. Other than that, this is a great bag.
Date published: 2016-03-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cute,but not great for the cost I was expecting a thicker leather because of the price, so I was defanietly disappointed in the quality. Especially the straps, which are thin and already fraying. Other than that I love the look of the bag, and would still recommend it for that reason.
Date published: 2016-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tote for laptop I needed an everyday tote for carrying my laptop to and from work. I wanted something simple, yet trendy, and this tote accomplishes exactly that. It's the perfect size. I can even fit a jacket or gym clothes alongside my laptop.
Date published: 2015-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bag I have been shopping around for quite some time for an all purpose, go to, brown leather bag. This bag is perfect. It's the perfect size, looks great, and the gold initials are the perfect final touch. It's really versatile and stylish. My only wishes, if I could change anything, would be MORE pockets or a divider. If it was lined and had internal pockets it would be perfect. I also wish the straps were slightly longer OR alternately had an attachable strap to make it cross body. I walk everywhere so that would make it more functional. With that said, it's still a fantastic purchase, and I love it.
Date published: 2015-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gift I sent this to my sons girlfriend as a graduation gift. She loves the brand and was thrilled. The personalization was a plus.
Date published: 2016-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful, high-quality tote This bag is even more beautiful in person! It's the perfect bag--holds all of my things (wallet, glasses, giant water bottle, etc), plus all of my baby's items (diapers, wipes, sippy, snacks, light blanket). It's so classy and chic, no one would have a clue I have all that in there. I receive lots of compliments on this tote and it looks good with anything. It feels and smells as good as it looks too!
Date published: 2017-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Glad I went for it! I was a little nervous about purchasing this bag after reading some of the other reviews, but I'm so glad I went for it! I bought the transport tote in the English Saddle color, and I am in LOVE. It is great quality leather, and NOT ONCE has the color transferred to other items of clothing. The pocket on the inside is handy for small essentials, and I can fit all my correcting and normal purse stuff inside. Great bag!
Date published: 2017-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect tote this is a replacement for my old one. favorite everyday bag.
Date published: 2016-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seems rather thin Like the simple lines but the leather seems rather thin. I hope it holds up well for the expensive price tag.
Date published: 2016-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful This item was even richer looking in person. Perfect tote for a working professional or a non traditional student.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High Quality Functional Tote Not only is this tote beautiful, it really does have enough storage to fit my laptop, makeup, wallet, and a pair of flats when I walk downtown. The only drawback and not a big one is that the straps are a couple of inches too short, so it's hard to carry on your shoulder if the tote is full. Other than that, it is so well made and just gorgeous!
Date published: 2016-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from In Love! I've been eyeballing this bag for a while and my husband knew about it so he snatched one up for my birthday present. I read some iffy reviews here about quality but I thought this bag was perfect! It's lightweight, comfortable, and a great size to boot and you can't beat that new fresh leather smell. Only thing I wish were different is that it was made in the U.S. But I'm sure that would jack the price up a bit! Truly satisfied and will be my new everyday bag!
Date published: 2016-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect tote Absolutely love this bag, I've been wearing it since two weeks ago I got it!
Date published: 2016-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Roomy, stylish, just what I needed! I cycle to work every day, and at the same time, have to carry a load of stuff with me. I scooped up a transport tote to carry everything I need - and have not been disappointed! This bag is super roomy! It easily holds my planner, a large cosmetic purse, wallet, two glasses cases and any groceries I happen to pick up during the day with room to spare. The internal zip pocket is pretty generous too. It's made from supple leather, so I can squeeze it into my bike basket even when it's full, and the material is durable! It hasn't marked or scuffed yet. Despite the generous size of the bag and the seemingly slim handles, I don't find the bag is heavy or uncomfortable to carry. It fits comfortably over my shoulder - even when wearing a sweater and coat. A great buy, if you're in two minds, get it!
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new love for leather This bag is amazing ! Loved that I monogrammed it in gold ! I have recommended this bag to everyone !
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent, but i do hope they could produce a smaller size this is exactly what i hoped for and better: lightweight, durable, and stylish. But i do hope in the future they could produce bags of exactly the same design but just a tiny bit smaller. I'm a 5'2'' woman, this bag is not disastrously big, but I'd look better on me had it been just on or two inches smaller.
Date published: 2016-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bag! Great size bag. The leather is strong and durable. I love the black and brown color combo.
Date published: 2016-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must have bag! I purchased the English saddle transport tote with a gold monogram. I have used it every day since it has arrived! It holds all of my materials that I carry back and forth from my classroom and is comfortable on the shoulder. The color is so pretty and matches everything! The handles are sturdy and the inside pocket is perfect for those little items that you don't want to lose. Great bag!
Date published: 2016-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Bag Ever Bought Ladies, you will NOT go wrong with this bag. I bought this last year, and I have used it year around. It goes beautifully with summer clothes and just as well with winter. I get compliments all the time!!! Fits everything inside, even when I fly, I can throw my laptop inside. It has worn well, and I love the monogram on the front added in gold..... best buy! Doing this for my sweet daughters 21st bday today!
Date published: 2016-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The God Send of Bags I have been lusting for this bag for a solid 2 years now. The only think that stopped me from buying it earlier was the price. Well, I ended up biting the bullet and it's my new favorite bag and it will be staying in my closet for many years to come. First of all, the quality is great. It's a stunning bag. This bag also holds everything, I have been using every day for 2 weeks to lug around my laptop and other work items. I also got my monogram in gold. I was a little worried because a previous bag I owned from Madewell has the gold foil, but it wore off in about a week. However, that is not an issue with this bag. BEAUTIFUL. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2016-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality I love my new tote in black and tan! I can wear it with just about everything I own. The leather is so soft and supple and yet feels very durable.
Date published: 2016-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my carry all this was a gift that i chose and i really like it. I can carry everything in there, very spacious and big. Over time the leather got darker, to me it shows the true quality of the leather and character.
Date published: 2016-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING product So, I was looking to find a new bag to follow up with my really busy life. Wen t to all famous brands and online and heard about the Madewell tote. Started reading a lot about it, some negative comments and positive ones. I was a bit afraid at the beginning by the fact that it has no zip to close it etc. but for my bday I decided to buy the black and english saddle one with my initials on it. It arrived and I can't live without it now!!!! Such a gorgeous simplicity, so easy to wear with everything, it's a "foure tout" I can put my tumbler, my laptop, my entire life in it and it fits. LOVE IT
Date published: 2016-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good-looking very good looking transportation is very fast very good quality
Date published: 2016-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect everyday tote Absolutely love the transport tote. The quality is unbeatable, and I have received non-stop compliments. The handles are really comfortable on my shoulder, even if the bag is full/heavy, and after three weeks, it still has that new leather smell - love it!
Date published: 2016-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everyday Tote The brown strap add a little extra to the whole tote. It works great as an everyday commute tote. I've had it for two months now. I will see how it holds up over the time. Overall, I love it!
Date published: 2016-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from End of School Year Reward! I waited to purchase my transport tote and decided on the last day of school (I'm a teacher) that it would be a wonderful reward for a great year. I'm sold and have recently purchased the mini tote "just because".
Date published: 2016-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful tote! I am loving my tote! The big size takes some getting used to. That said, I can fit pretty much anything I need in it - water bottle, sunscreen, random kid stuff. I'm really happy with the purchase!
Date published: 2016-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality and comfortable leather It looks fashion, simple and elegant. I put my laptop, textbook and other small stuffs in it, and it is so convenient and feels soft and strong enough to hold these things.
Date published: 2016-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! I've had my eye on this bag for about a year, and I'm so glad that I took the plunge and purchased it. It really is a beautiful, classic tote. It's a perfect size for carrying a laptop for work, and for airport travel. If you are thinking about getting initials engraved, I highly recommend doing so. I chose not to get the engraving on another Madewell bag and I regret it. It really makes the bag feel one of a kind. Thanks, Madewell!
Date published: 2016-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Leather Tote! I had been eyeing this tote for a while and I finally ordered it and decided to monogram it. It came and I immediately fell in love with it! The smell is amazing and so is the quality! It is an everyday bag for me...easy to throw on and head out the door in any occasion. I will be using this to travel and I know it will hold up to it's value over the years to come. I looked at other similar bags and I am so happy I went with the Madewell Transport Tote!
Date published: 2016-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smells Delicious The quality of the bag is awesome - the stitching is well done, the zipper is sturdy, and the leather is great - but most importantly, it smells delightful. I can't get over it.
Date published: 2016-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Bag for the Working Professional Love this bag. I was on the hunt for a purse big enough to transport my laptop, notebook, change of shoes, etc. over the work week and to/from client meetings. This bag can hold everything! The inside zip pocket is big enough to fit my keys, cell phone, mints, extra pens, etc.. The brown and black color combination matches just about every outfit. Wish it came with a matching wallet/clutch to transport my cosmetics. Super chic for the working professional!
Date published: 2016-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the best bag for working Moms I bought this bag because my smaller go to purse was not cutting it now that I have to carry diapers, toys, wipes, clothes, etc. etc. etc. just to leave the house for 5 minutes. This is a great purse option for any Mom. The bag is gorgeous...much more stylish than any diaper bag I have ever seen.
Date published: 2016-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wears well, keeps me organized. I bought this tote a year ago and have spent very little time without it since. It's simple and durable. There's a comfort knowing that everything I need pretty much lives inside it, which creates the illusion that I am an organized person. I don't treat mine preciously but it's worn beautifully, though I embrace the distress - worn leather feels very 1970s :) I definitely recommend that you buy this bag for yourself and as a gift.
Date published: 2016-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THIS TOTE!!! This tote is AMAZING! Big enough to contain a laptop for classes- but not too big if you want to use it as a purse or a bag to take to work (I work as a nurse!). Enough room for lunch too. I love the color (light brown) and the quality leather is outstanding. I am very excited to use this on trips too as it is perfect to take on a plane or a roadtrip. Also, I find that the straps are perfect length. I am 5'4" and tiny and sometimes bigger totes tend to swamp me- but not this one! It's literally perfect! I love the inside zipped small pocket also.
Date published: 2016-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great bag! I love this bag! I carry it everyday, it looks great with everything from sweats to dresses to work attire. I'm so glad I finally took the plunge and purchased this bag, its' so well crafted and the added detail of the monogram adds a little something special to it. I would love to own it in every color!
Date published: 2016-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Perfect Every Day Tote Beautiful leather and sturdy! Straps do seem flimsy and thin but hold up nicely when the bag is filled with heavier objects and books. I'm so happy with this purchase!! Sure, there are various totes to choose from but nothing compares to this classic tote made so well.
Date published: 2016-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bag This bag is fabulous overall! It would nice to have a bigger pocket inside but love the size of the bag. The only other downfall would be the straps, they are about an inch to short.
Date published: 2016-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great everyday bag that lasts forever! I've had this bag for about four years. I've carried it pretty much every day filled with lots of heavy law books. I thought it would eventually break because the straps do look thin, but it hasn't even gotten close. Still looks amazing and sturdy as ever. Will probably buy another one in a new color sometime soon. I highly recommend!!!
Date published: 2016-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from beautiful bag! I got this bag in the "english saddle" color. Its a beautiful color! the bag is well-made, big enough to carry everything you need and looks great for work or weekends.
Date published: 2016-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous Bag! When my bag arrived, I was super stoked! It's of excellent quality and the English saddle color is classically beautiful. It's going to be THE bag I turn to for my every need.
Date published: 2016-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Bag EVER!!! I've had my bag for over two years now, & I still get excited every time I use it! It is a beautiful bag, & wonderful quality. I highly, highly recommend it!I It's such a versatile bag. I have many uses for it!I I get compliments on my bag all the time! I love it so much. This bag is a life time piece that will never go out of style, in fact it keeps looking better and better!! You can not go wrong buying this bag. I guarantee it will be your go to bag for everything!!
Date published: 2016-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I needed a tote and know a colleague with your brand and was excited to have one. I was very excited to have one of my own. Excellent tote, will continue to look at your brand for bags in the future.
Date published: 2016-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High Quality Leather Tote The transport tote is exactly what I expected it to be. Having said that, the only suggestion that I do have is to make the handles a little longer. Do not hesitate to purchase this tote.
Date published: 2016-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST BAG EVER I am absolutely in love with my transport tote. I have had my eye on it for a while and decided to splurge. The leather is incredibly good quality and beautiful. I use it everyday for everything. The gold foil monogram is awesome too. I'd give it 10 stars if I could!
Date published: 2016-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best Tote! I absolutely love this tote bag. It is perfect: the size, the leather, the smell, the style... Super classy and chic, and it just goes with everything! My mom speaks highly of this tote, too. The first time I carried this tote in front of her, she immediately said "Oh that is a beautiful bag, it suits your coat, lovely." - and that really tells a lot, my friend!
Date published: 2016-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Tote! I just love the style and quality of the leather of this purse. Its is just gorgeous!
Date published: 2016-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Large enough to fit a college student's whole life This bag is kinda pricey for its simple design but after much deliberation, I decided to go ahead and buy it. Fits a lot and looks really nice. Again though, I do not understand why a simple leather bag is so pricey. Only Madewell, I guess. But then again, I am the sucker who bought it and ended up loving it.
Date published: 2016-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality You smell the leather and say, "Ahhhhhh!" Amazing quality. Truely....Simply......'made well!'
Date published: 2016-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I like this tote a lot. It is huge, so I can fit a ton of things in it. I love the color and the contrast between the bag and handles. The bag does feel a little thin- but is still really sturdy and durable.
Date published: 2016-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE PERFECT TOTE! I have been searching for a classic but simple tote and this is the one! The saddle color is beautiful and I have used it everyday since it arrived.The straps stays on my shoulder and it is the right size for everyday use.
Date published: 2016-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality product. I purchased this bag as a gift on the recommendation of my daughter who has the same one. The recipient admired hers and loves the bag for its quality, size and appearance. Thanks for making it well.
Date published: 2016-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tote Love. I really love this tote. I saw it all over instagram and really liked the look of it. I loved it even more when I saw it was real leather and made to last and made well (badum-tsh!) It's gorgeous and great for throwing stuff in and still look good when you're on the go. My to go bag for sure.
Date published: 2016-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Transport Bag I purchased this for a member of my family for Christmas. I had never heard of this company but my family member had the transport tote on her "wish list" for Christmas. I ordered the black trimmed in brown since it could be monogramed and the brown one couldn't or so we were told on the website. Within just a few days, the gold initials started coming off. I called and talked to someone at Madewell and they were very nice and offered to send me a new bag and when they found out it wasn't the color I originally wanted, they let me get the new bag in the color my family member originally wanted in the brown plus it would be monogramed too. My family member was so happy when the new brown bag came in with her initials on it in a deeper gold. I shipped the black bag back to them with the mailing labels they sent to me and I am now awaiting for a credit to my account. The bag is very well made and should last for many years. I couldn't have ask for any better service than they gave me.
Date published: 2016-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very well done My girlfriend loves this tote, wears it almost everyday with all outfits ranging from casual to business. Monogramed with her initials was worth the extra money. At first I was very disappointed because I paid for overnight shipping and the product didn't come, so after 3 days I called and was told monogrammed bags can take 2 weeks to get, then ship overnight. That to me made no sense, and wasn't mentioned anywhere when I chose overnight shipping, BUT! Madewell stayed true to good customer service and got it to me within 2 days of that conversation... Needless to say, I'm very pleased with this resolution.
Date published: 2016-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful bag. We gave this to our daughter for Christmas. She is a young, married professional and she loved this bag. She was very excited to receive it.
Date published: 2016-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bag Love this bag. Very versatile.........can be used to travel, a purse, or work bag. Roomy enough to hold lots and very nice quality.
Date published: 2016-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved the style for my daughter as a "tote"! Loved this bag. Ordered the saddle brown tote with gold initially. Arrived very close to holiday, as it arrived on Christmas Eve due to weather problems:{. Had ordered it over a month before then. Needless to say, I am very happy with the bag, although, concerned but then relieved to see it arrive at my door before Christmas Day! I guess you cannot control the weather! Thanks for getting my present to me by the "last hour"!
Date published: 2015-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent bag I got this bag for work- I work at a hospital and needed a simple durable bag large enough to cary all of my needs. I was very pleased to find that the bag fit everything that I need AND more. I now only have to cary one bag in to work because it fits everything! Shoes, paperwork, water bottle, scarf, gloves, winter-ware and space for more. I have also received many compliments on the bag and plan to buy another for travel.
Date published: 2015-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great everyday tote This was given to me as a present. I absolutely love it. The size, material, and comfort are great. The color is perfect for all outfits and everyday wear. I wish I would have known about the monogram as I would love to have added that to make it a bit more personal. But overall this is a great buy!
Date published: 2015-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bag Bought this for my daughter. She said "you nailed it." Beautiful, perfect. Love this bag, will use it for years. Thank you.
Date published: 2015-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Christmas gift My daughter loves her new bag we got her for Christmas
Date published: 2015-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Holds up beautifully I bought this bag 18 months ago to use as my every day work carryall. I travel between locations every day for work and don't have an office, so I needed a bag that could fit my laptop, lunch, water bottle, and anything else I needed. The bag is gorgeous - the leather is really rich and lovely (I have the saddle) - and it's worn very well over time. I was surprised by how much it held, and I've even used it for overnight trips to NYC, fitting a change of clothes along with my laptop and other gear easily. When it first arrived I was worried the straps were too short, but they stretched a bit in the first weeks and now it's easy to sling over my shoulder. Unfortunately, the zipper on the pocket broke quickly (which was probably my fault for overloading it) but other than that, the bag has held up beautifully and I plan to use it for a long, long time. Absolutely worth the investment!
Date published: 2015-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It was everything I want a purchase to be. This was my first experience with Madewell. It was a Christmas gift for my daughter-in-law (less than a year). She was ecstatic about her gift. She loved it in every way. She started using it immediately upon receipt. My experience in ordering online from your website was as simple and easy as any website I have ever tried. Me and the gift recipient were as pleased as we could be.
Date published: 2015-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful bag The bag is beautiful. Love the Carmel color. The straps are a bit small but seem sturdy enough. Tried to use the sale code but it did not apply which is a bit dissapointing!
Date published: 2015-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My daughter loved it! This was a Christmas gift for my daughter. She was delighted to receive it.
Date published: 2015-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bag! Great bag! Beautiful leather. Will be my go to for daily use.
Date published: 2015-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Tote Oh my goodness gracious. This tote! This is probably the best tote ever. I got the English Saddle color and love it. The quality and style are bar none. The richness and feel of this leather is very nice and it smells delicious. I can see I will be using this for many years to come because the look and the quality will hold up extremely well. I am so glad I made the splurge on this tote. I love it so much I had to purchase the pouch to go with it. I would have gone with the Post wallet, but it didn't have enough card slots and two of the 8 slots would have been taken up with my driver license and debit card. If you are thinking of purchasing this tote, GET IT!!
Date published: 2015-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty Bag! I love this bag. I bought it to carry back and forth to work each day. I used to carry an old, beat up canvas bag and desperately needed an upgrade! I bought it because it was smaller than what I had been carrying, hoping that I wouldn't bring as much work home with me if it won't fit in my bag. The size is enough for me to carry a binder, a lunchbox, and my other small essentials (a wallet, sunglasses, etc). It feels put together and I feel as though it compliments every outfit. My only worry is that the straps don't seem very sturdy-- I'll have to see how they hold up over time. Overall, a great purchase and worth the splurge!
Date published: 2015-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Eye catching! I finally splurged on this bag, and it was absolutely worth it! Someone even stopped me on the subway to ask me where I got it. Beautiful bag -- very happy with my purchase.
Date published: 2015-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING! I absolutely LOVE this bag! I have actually used it for 8 straight months now, which is SO rare for me. Also, I carry so much in my bag at any given time, and it still looks great!
Date published: 2015-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from hooray! I received this as a birthday gift. I really only use it on the weekends and carry around my keys, wallet, water bottle, and make up bag. The leather is fantastic because I have had it brush up against walls and pointy corners but so far no scratches! Also, it goes so well with everything in my closet.
Date published: 2015-11-26
  • y_2017, m_3, d_25, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_774
  • loc_en_US, sid_53228, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_madewell