This Just In

NEW ARRIVALS

The Gift Well Guide

Looks We Love

Labels We Love

The Madewell Essentials

Denim Report

Events

Your double-tap-worthy pics

From denim recycling to
beach cleaning

clothing

DENIM

TEES & SWEATSHIRTS

SHIRTS & TOPS

SWEATERS

JACKETS & COATS

DRESSES

SKIRTS

PANTS & SHORTS

OVERALLS & JUMPSUITS

LEISURE & ACTIVE

intimates & pajamas

SALE

extended sizes

shoes, bags &
more

SHOES & BOOTS

BAGS

JEWELRY

sunglasses

ACCESSORIES

GIFT & HOME

BEAUTY

Behind
The Scenes

Our Blog

Denim Report

#DENIMMADEWELL

#EVERYDAYMADEWELL

#Totewell

#WELLHEELED

About Madewell

The Boardwalk Slide Sandal
full size
The Boardwalk Slide Sandal
The Boardwalk Slide Sandal
Product Details
In rich, smooth leather with crisscross straps, this slide sandal will be the one you reach for as often as your favorite jeans. Please note: When you select your size, "H" equals a half size.  
  • For the best fit, we recommend going up a half size.
  • Leather upper.
  • 1/4" heel.
  • Man-made sole.
  • Import.
SHIPPING
Free shipping exclusively for Madewell Insiders
*For complete details, see our Shipping Policy.

The Boardwalk Slide Sandal

The Boardwalk Slide Sandal is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 23.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Slips off feet Good looking, comfortable shoe, but difficult to keep on feet when walking.
Date published: 2016-02-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good! Nice shoes! slightly small though. Love the style! Would recommend
Date published: 2016-12-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Slightly small, needs break-in I'm usually 8.5 at Madewell.. this sandal was slightly short. It also cut the tip of my feet the first few times I wore it. I doesn't stay on very well so you have to hold it with your toes. But now that it's broken-in, it's better. And the leather looks nice...
Date published: 2016-06-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I miss the old model, but these will do I literally wore my old slides every single day of spring and summer until they were recalled and I had to return them. I ordered the new version, and was so excited to have my everyday go-to back in my closet, but I almost instantly had sores on the tops of my feet from the stiff leather rubbing them. After many bandaids, pain, and wearing them to the beach to let the sun and air wear them down a bit, I have finally worn them in enough that they don't rub my feet. The older version was perfectly comfortable with the first wear, so this might be something to consider going forward. I still wear these every day, but the shoe's make is definitely different than last time.
Date published: 2016-06-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect Summer Sandal These slides are the perfect everyday sandal. The first few wears are very stiff and could be uncomfortable, but once they broken in, they are amazing. I am usually a size 7.5-8 with a wider foot and the 8 fits perfectly. I love how the straps mold to your feet. If you had last seasons, you would be able to tell how much they improved this sandal with better construction and quality. They go with just about any outfit and are easy to walk in. If you aren't sure, Id say go for it!
Date published: 2016-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Gorgeous shoe, terribly uncomfortable The shoe looks great and fits true to size. Unfortunately, the material gave me terrible blisters.
Date published: 2016-07-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wide fit and mediocre quality The leather on this sandal is as described. However, the edging of the sides of the sandal is a cheap plastic/rubber material that literally flaked off on the second wearing of these shoes. Also, the sandal is a little wider than I expected. I ordered my normal size (and have two other pairs of Madewell shoes/sandals in that size) and my feet keep slipping out of them. I have to constantly readjust the shoes just to keep them on. I thought these would be easy, simple shoes for summer but they turned out to be a dud. Overall, I am disappointed by this sandal but didn't return them because it I wore them twice and figured it was too late to return. I will keep ordering shoes from Madewell though because my first two experiences were so great.
Date published: 2016-07-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sad about the quality I had these last year and wore them every day until they were recalled, so I was glad to see they were brought back this year and I bought them in both black and tan. Unfortunately after less than an hour of wearing the tan pair, the leather had rubbed against itself and starting disintegrating. Now the edges are all flaked off and it looks really ugly. Sad that this happened on the first wearing (though the black pair has held up fine so far).
Date published: 2016-05-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Cute, but not worth the pain I was hesitant about buying these shoes after reading the reviews about quality/comfort issues but I thought they were cute so I gave it a go. It took me about 10 steps to decide to return them- the leather quality is so plastic-like that the part of the shoe where the two straps cross over the top of your foot pinch the skin every time you take a step. Unless you have zero arches these shoes are guaranteed to be a pain.
Date published: 2016-05-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from My foot is bleeding Similar to other reviews, I bought and loved this style last year. I still have them, even though they have seen better days. I decided to buy the tan color this year, and OUCH. I went up half a size as usual, but after wearing them for less than half an hour the straps had dug into the top of my foot, causing it to bleed. I had to limp home to change shoes. I would have to go up a full size and wear these with socks around the house to try to stretch them out for them to be wearable. That seems excessive. The leather is VERY rigid and inflexible.
Date published: 2016-06-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Uncomfortable !! I bought these shoes in black and brown, and as they are super cute and complete any outfit they are the most uncomfortable shoes ever. They slide off your feet with almost every step. Would not recommend.
Date published: 2016-06-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointing. I owned (and loved) last year's model - yes, despite the metal shank erupting from both soles! I must have worn the tan leather boardwalk slide sandal every day and was sad to let them go when they became too tattered. This year, I couldn't wait to order and wear them again...however, now it's a completely different shoe. The previously soft, tan leather straps are now a plasticky, uncomfortable brown "leather" that looks and feels very fake. I got blisters wearing these for just one hour. So disappointed!
Date published: 2016-04-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Blisters! I loved these shoes and wanted to buy them for weeks. Super excited. But when I finally got them, I was unpleasantly surprised by how uncomfortable they were. I got terrible blisters on the tops of my feet, so bad I have scars! That was only from wearing them once, and just for an average day of running errands/walking around my office. And it wasn't because they were too tight- they actually slipped off easily too. Also the quality is not great. The leather is painted on the edges and the paint peels off. I returned them. Too bad, they are super cute.
Date published: 2016-03-03
  • y_2017, m_11, d_18, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_23
  • loc_en_US, sid_E7799, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_madewell