This Just In

NEW ARRIVALS

Looks We Love

Labels We Love

The Getaway Shop

The Madewell Essentials

Denim Report

Events

Our clothes, your pics

How We Do Well

clothing

DENIM

TEES & TANKS

(see all)

tanks
short-sleeve tees
long-sleeve tees
bodysuits
sweatshirts
graphic tees
tee dresses

SHIRTS & TOPS

SWEATERS

JACKETS

DRESSES

SKIRTS

SHORTS & PANTS

LEISURE

intimates & pajamas

SWIM & BEACHWEAR

SALE

extended sizes

shoes, bags &
more

SHOES & SANDALS

BAGS

JEWELRY

sunglasses

ACCESSORIES

GIFT & HOME

Behind
The Scenes

Our Blog

Denim Report

#DENIMMADEWELL

#EVERYDAYMADEWELL

#Totewell

#WELLHEELED

About Madewell

Forward-Seam Slub Tank
full size
Forward-Seam Slub Tank
Forward-Seam Slub Tank
Forward-Seam Slub Tank
Product Details
A so-soft tank top in textural slub cotton. Garment-dyed for a cool dimensional color, this forward-seam top has a swingy elliptical hem (translation: it's a bit longer in back).  
  • True to size, slightly swingy fit.
  • Cotton.
  • Machine wash.
  • Import.
SHIPPING & RETURNS
Free shipping and free returns exclusively for Madewell Insiders
(hi there, risk-free try-ons). *For complete details, see our Shipping Policy and Return Policy.

Forward-Seam Slub Tank

Forward-Seam Slub Tank is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 66.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Shape I was a little worried that this shirt might be too big or too long on me as I'm only 5'0", but it's perfect! It is slightly longer in the back, which I love. The fit is beautiful - it's not too tight, but doesn't look too baggy either. The color is what I might call a ballet pink and seems to be holding up well. The material is thick enough to not be see through, but isn't too hot either. For reference: I normally wear an XS in Madewell and that's what I got in this. Overall, I would highly recommend this product!
Date published: 2016-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Flattering great shirt Love this shirt, slightly over priced. Loved the fit
Date published: 2016-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Tanks Ever These tanks are very comfortable and flattering and I love them. I bought two last year and two this year and will buy more if you keep making them. I'd love to see solid blue and gray options.
Date published: 2016-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I didn't know I could love a tank top so much I typically ignore tank tops...the fit is always tricky for me being waist, cleavage and arm hole conscious. This top works in all categories - the higher neck is flattering with the perfect proportions down into the long flowing waist. There is something about the straight almost apron-like cut of the chest/arm holes that is super forgiving in the armpit region if you don't like a ton of skin exposed in that area. Lastly, the cut of the back is slightly tapered to your shoulders but you can wear a regular bra which is great!
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from well cut Very comfortable, pleasant to the touch. I recommend this article the color is from beautiful also and beautiful quality.
Date published: 2016-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these tanks! I have three of these tanks and love them. They run true to size, arm holes are perfect, and the white one is not see through. My only complaint is I wish it was a little longer in the front.
Date published: 2016-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and airy I love this shade of dyed pink - it is so summery and feminine. This tank is lightweight and airy and has a loose fit, it was great for a sunny day outside recently. I did actually order this in an XS and had to exchange it for a S. I am 5'3" and have a bust of around 34B and this was too tight for my liking in the bust, the small was a better fit and didn't look tight. I like that the front seams and the longer back - makes for a modern silhouette.
Date published: 2016-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy-going & comfy I was happy to see this tank come back after regretting not buying it last summer. I picked up the colour "brunswick green" because I don't have anything else like it. I'd say it's pretty true to the colour you see online. I usually go for a size XXS wherever possible since I am petite (5 ft, 95 lbs) but after reading some reviews about the armholes being tight, I opted for the XS. It's a great fit and I could see myself being able to wear the XXS as well though I like the slight extra room the XS gives. The trapeze silhouette is so flattering and easy to wear. It's long enough for me to wear with leggings and makes for a really comfy outfit that still looks put together because the tank has structure. The only downside I would say is the price (exchange rate plus shipping to Canada) but I haven't been able to find anything similar!
Date published: 2016-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Never loved a shirt so much I love this tank so much I had to buy a second one in another color. The shirt is casual but versatile that I wear it to work on hot days paired with skinny dress pants. In my opinion, this is one of the pieces that epitomizes the specialty of Madewell's effortless style with high quality material that draws me to this store.
Date published: 2015-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The forward-seam stitching allows the top to fall smoothly. This is a great top! A perfect fit, keeps its line, doesn't get overly wrinkled. Love the color, too.
Date published: 2015-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from collected all 4 colors...and some! i love this tank SO much that i bought all 4 colors, and duplicates in black and white. Pretty true to size- i usually am XS in madewell, and bought XS. tank drapes just like the photo, and is perfect in every way! it is not sheer, which is great for the white- because who wants to wear a tank under a tank? the only thing is that the green is not as green as the photo looks- it's more blueish/greenish/grey. it is definitely my favorite tank ever. if it came in more colors, i would have purchased them as well!
Date published: 2015-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tank! I bought this knowing I would love it already. I am not much of a tank top wearer but I love the high neckline. Some tank tops are hard to look good in; you need the perfect arms, shoulders, neck, etc. But it is easy to make this tank work. I would buy this tank in the future if it is an item that is released in different colors every summer. Also, I though the fabric would be flimsier as many Maxwell tees are pretty thin. But this tank have a very tight substantial knit. I bought it in the green and stone as the other colors were out of my size. The stone has pinkish undertones and the green is more muted than the screen colors.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from flattering fit fattering cut! It's loose, but still 'fitted' on your bust, so it looks flattering and feminine.
Date published: 2015-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from basic cool tank pretty color, fits well, cool tank for the summer/fall.
Date published: 2015-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect everyday tank It has such a flattering fit, it's my new go to tank!
Date published: 2015-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very flattering tank This is my favorite Madewell tank! The length and weight of the shirt are perfect. The material is thicker so it's not sheer and hopefully will hold up for quite a while. The fit is great-flowy and very flattering. I bought 2 colors.
Date published: 2015-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Closet staple! Easy to dress up or down. The first thing I noticed was the quality of this tank. It's a really good weight but also very breathable. Easily can wear to work and then out for cocktails with friends. I felt the sizing was true - I tend to wear a medium across the board and this drapey fit felt great. Super flattering style and I love the colors. I bought it in light stone and might need to get one of each! Effortlessly chic closet staple. Love it.
Date published: 2015-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super flattering tank, especially for thicker midsections I love this tank. I'm 5' 6" and 160lbs and have a pretty short torso, so not the most flattering waistline for form fitting shirts. This drapes really nicely and doesn't feel like a sack. It has nice seems that go from the back down the sides to slim you. It's a very sturdy tank. Would love to buy this in white as well.
Date published: 2015-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I wish I could wear it everyday I got this top in black and love it so much. I'm going to get it in the green as well. This top is so comfortable and is very flattering on everyone who wears it. I love the look of the back being a little bit longer. I've worn this very casually with jean shorts, I've worn it out, dressing it up with a necklace, white pants, and heels, and I've worn it to work with dress pants. I'm 5'9, 130 pounds and got my normal size small. It fits a little loose like it is supposed to and shown on the model.
Date published: 2015-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new go-to tee Such a versitile little tank. Bought the white and the green and have worn them with the pull-on shorts and wide-leg linen pants and denim cut-offs. The top adds a breezy, chilled out summer look to any outfit and will look good layered in the fall. It's a-line shaped but doesn't balloon out in an over the top way. I agree with other reviewers, white is not see-through. I am 5'8"/1120/32b and always an xs/2 (sometimes a 0) and I was surprised that this top in an xs was borderline snug around the armholes. The front is higher than the back (in a cute way), and it falls about 1.5" below my naval. I am a little nervous that if this cotton tank shrinks at all, it will no longer fit, so I'm thinking about ordering a size small because I really like it. Would love to see a few more muted colors -- the faded green is so pretty.
Date published: 2015-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from adorable I got this in the nude and the green. The green is gorgeous, somewhere between teal and dark green, and looks amazing with white jeans. These tops are so comfortable and flattering, especially with the neckline. I'm normally a S-M in tops and ordered the S in this one. Sizing down was a good idea, as the small has the perfect amount of room. I may have to invest in all four colors if these go on sale.
Date published: 2015-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Summer Tank I love that this tank top is durable but doesn't feel too heavy. It's light enough to wear on those hot summer days and pairs well with cardigans when you're stuck inside with the AC cranking. I'd definitely recommend this tank to anyone and everyone! I'd even go as far as saying it's the perfect summer tank.
Date published: 2015-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the best! i hate tanktops - arms and all, but this is just so flattering and such a lovely weight. i live in texas and am definitely getting another one for the heat!
Date published: 2015-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The perfect t hands down!! I love this shirt. I haven't worn sleeveless in years (covering up my upper arms lately) but this is a GREAT shirt, perfect styling...I've worn with jeans and shorts and I love it. The color is perfect too. Not too white. No bra strap issues, no length issues. I love it!!
Date published: 2015-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Might Buy All The Colors I bought this in the pale nude and I am totally in love. Ordered it online and knew it was perfect immediately. Perfectly swingy and easy to dress up or down. I love that it's higher in the front. The neckline and armholes are the perfect sizes.
Date published: 2015-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tank! Was nervous about how this would fit because I sometimes have problems with arm holes in tanks being too wide. I am 5 ft and 125 pounds and heavily busted and this tank overall fits perfectly. Loose fit, but also flattering, would recommend to any of my friends.
Date published: 2015-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally found the perfect tank I tried this on in black in the store, and ended up buying it in both black and white. It's perfection: swingy, with seams that add interest; great neckline; perfectly sized armholes that don't show my bra, hides the muffin top - so flattering. The white is a good weight - not sheer and see-through. Love, love, love this. Bought XS (am 5'3" and 120lbs).
Date published: 2015-06-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Basic to Hide a Tummy This shirt has kind of a tailored fit for being a flowy shirt. It doesn't have the same "pregnant" silhouette that a lot of flowier shirts have but it still flares out enough to hide the chub I am trying to get rid of from my hedonistic lifestyle. I am usually between a small and a medium - small torso, busty with a spare tire (as noted tirelessly already, sorry) - and I went with small which was the right choice for me. I would get this in every color if it wasn't sold out. The knock of a star is that I like a lower neckline. But it is very nice and I recommend it.
Date published: 2016-08-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from SUPER COMFY soft cotton that washes and wears really well. love the colours and style - its great to wear around the house,running errands or just a casual cuppa with a pal! also works really well with yoga pants with a sports bra! keep up the quality madewell!!
Date published: 2016-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A bit of tweaking Loved the nice original (grey/teal) colour, liked the fabric, although it could be a shade lighter weight for summer. That also might help with the shape, which was too tent-ish for me. But I love love the flattering cut of the shoulders, the armholes were right, and since we Canadians have to pay for returns, I tinkered a bit - flipped under the back hem, then twisted and tucked the front. Voilà, looks great.
Date published: 2016-06-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Swingy comfortably tank top Love the neck line and swingy-ness. Runs slightly large. Very comfortable tank top and nice subtle color. Will wear alot!
Date published: 2015-08-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice top but colors not as pictured I ordered this top in the light stone and brunswick green - the light stone is much more pink than pictured and the brunswick green is more of a blue/dark grey. Otherwise I love this top. I'm usually an XXS to XS in Madewell tops. I ordered the XS and found it a little tight in the arm holes but not uncomfortably so. For reference I'm 5'5" 110 lbs.
Date published: 2015-08-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loved it! I love this top! Very comfortable and sexy but modest!
Date published: 2015-08-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from lovely shirt but doesn't fit as large as other reviewers suggest I was debating between the xs and the s based on some of the other reviews. I went with a small and it is not nearly as long as it appears in the photo. Would have preferred more length. Having said that I love the green color and it is a lovely shirt. Happy with it and may order another in a size up. I'm typically an xs / s in madewell items.
Date published: 2015-07-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Definitely Size Up To Be Safe! I've always bought tops in xxs for Madewell, even for fitted tops. I did read a few reviews about it fitting tight in the chest, but other shirts that had similar reviews fit well in the xxs. So I ordered my usual size and the pink one was extra tight across the chest while the black one fit well. So there is inconsistency in the sizing of this style. I also ordered the striped version of this tank and it is looser (looks more like the fit in the photos) than the black one I got. So 3 shirts in the same style fit differently.
Date published: 2016-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Five-Star Review This tank is really as great as everyone says - I bought this on extra 30% off sale which sweetened the deal even more. Fits TTS. It's a looser fit, but somehow, with the way it's cut, doesn't make you look huge and gives you a flattering shape. It sits beautifully and is easily dressed up for work or down. I love it - hope they bring this one back since most sizes are now sold out.
Date published: 2015-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Tank Ever I first discovered this tank last summer and bought it in every color, I was so happy that they brought it back this year. If you want a great quality tank to dress up or down that is also really comfy then look no further. I can't say enough great things about this top and I get tons of compliments when wearing it. Do yourself a favor and buy a few colors, you can thank me later!
Date published: 2016-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from wonderful staple Loved the tank as soon as I put it on - and I've worn in several times in the 2 weeks since I received it in the mail! The cut is very flattering for those with a pear shape, but also manages to not look like a maternity top. I usually have trouble finding tops that fit well in the shoulders but aren't too tight around the waist and this is perfect. Would definitely buy more colors if available!
Date published: 2015-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVED IT!! I wished I had ordered this earlier for summer. I loved the way it fit. I normally don't like sleeveless shirts but the way the arm holes are cut makes this T very flattering even for an old woman like me!!
Date published: 2015-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable Elegance I purchased this tank in the nude color, and it has become my new staple! I can pair it with anything, from flare jeans to a maxi skirt to shorts. The fabric is high-quality and drapes in a very flattering way. The high neckline makes it great for featuring accessories, such as statement earrings or a statement necklace. Would buy more colors if they had my size left!
Date published: 2015-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice tank So far really liking the tank top. Good quality, but I have not washed it yet. True to size. Got two colors and may get another one. Goes with everything, you can dress up or down. Will be wearing as a layer piece for fall.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and Flattering This top fits well and flattering. It looks good with a necklace or scarf. I have it in all the colors. Great for hot weather!
Date published: 2015-07-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed. Poor fit. Bad color I have the same tank in white. Love it. The "peach" tank was a very unattractive color and didn't fit as well as the white tank. Because there were no returns on the peach tank, I donated to the Salvation Army...
Date published: 2016-08-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from check the fit before yo buy They were too tight across the chest. They looked like they fit looser in the photo. Afraid i'm returning what i ordered.
Date published: 2016-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bring it back! These are a staple in my wardrobe! Please start selling them again!!!
Date published: 2017-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great tank I love the seams in the front - makes it go from just a regular tank to more of a stand alone piece. I love it with shorts or jeans. I enjoy wearing this!
Date published: 2016-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great top Bought this top recently and very happy with it. Haven't washed it yet so hopefully it will hold up. The material is a little thicker which I like bc it's not see through. Hides my post baby pouch while still being stylish. Happy with the purchase.
Date published: 2016-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great summer tank More fitted around the bust and loose around the waist area. It's a great tank top that is really flattering. I normally wear an xs/s depending on the items at Madewell and the xs fit perfectly. For reference I'm a 36a and 27 waist. Great flattering tank top overall.
Date published: 2016-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from so cute Love to wear this in the hot, hot days of summer. it's breezy and flowing, and love the color, too. I'd buy another one if I could find it online.
Date published: 2016-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love xx I am a pear and worry about tops that flare around the hip area, but this one is really flattering. I got the pink and love the shade. It looks great with the Denim Button-Front Skirt and Modern Geometry Scarf! Also love this with basic black bottoms.
Date published: 2016-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Basic Tank I was looking for a simple black tank and this fit the bill perfectly! Love the cut and the high neckline. A great basic to own
Date published: 2016-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I bought two in white and one in a combination of gray and white. They have a bit more style than a plain white T and can be dressed down or up. They are 100% cotton, a flattering cut, and for me fit better after the first washing. Great for a hot day!
Date published: 2016-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from INLOVE One of the best basic tanktops I have ever purchased! Wish I had this in all of the colors! Ch
Date published: 2016-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable and flattering. I agree with the other reviewer that the white tank is perfect and not too sheer. I loved it so much that I decided to purchase 2 tanks, one in white and one in black. Very comfortable and flattering. Love that the neck is high, so I could wear it as a layering piece when it becomes colder. Also went one size down.
Date published: 2015-06-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Versitile and Comfortable Great shirt to dress down or up, very comfortable as well. Have this tank in two different colors. I'm 5'7" weigh 130, size XS fits perfectly. Bigger busts may want to go up a size though. Gets a "worn" look (kind of wrinkly and stretched?) after first wear which isn't necessarily a negative, just an observation. Overall would definitely recommend!
Date published: 2016-08-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good in general But why nobody mentions this shirt make your normal size arms looking big?
Date published: 2016-07-29
  • y_2017, m_6, d_23, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_66
  • loc_en_US, sid_C8620, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_madewell