This Just In

NEW ARRIVALS

Spring 2017

Looks We Love

Labels We Love

The Accessories Shop

The Madewell Essentials

Monogram It

Denim Report

Events

Our clothes, your pics

Denim Donation

clothing

DENIM

TEES & TANKS

SHIRTS & TOPS

SWEATERS

JACKETS

DRESSES

SKIRTS

PANTS & SHORTS

OVERALLS & JUMPSUITS

LEISURE

intimates & pajamas

SWIM & BEACHWEAR

SALE

extended sizes

shoes, bags &
more

SHOES & SANDALS

BAGS

JEWELRY

sunglasses

ACCESSORIES

(see all)

scarves & bandanas
hats
socks & tights
hair accessories
belts
umbrellas
pins & patches
iphone cases & tech

GIFT & HOME

Behind
The Scenes

Our Blog

Denim Report

#DENIMMADEWELL

#EVERYDAYMADEWELL

#Totewell

#WELLHEELED

About Madewell

Hepcat Shades
full size
Hepcat Shades
Product Details
Our signature style offers up a whole lot of coolness—for one very sweet price.
  • Acetate frame with removable plastic lenses.
  • UV 400 protection.
  • Import.
SHIPPING & RETURNS
Free shipping and free returns exclusively for Madewell Insiders
(hi there, risk-free try-ons). *For complete details, see our Shipping Policy and Return Policy.

Hepcat Shades

Hepcat Shades is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 74.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! I was so apprehensive to order sunglasses online but I read every review and took a chance. Love these glasses! I've gotten compliments all summer. Bonus: these glasses are so sturdy!
Date published: 2014-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pair of sunglasses overall The glasses were not straight and will have to take to the shop to get it fixed.
Date published: 2014-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic with a twist I love these. They make every outfit look cooler. They're a little bit Audrey Hepburn with something new and special.
Date published: 2014-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So cute I just recieved the coral ones in the mail and I'm in love! So adorable but I don't look like I'm six wearing them either. I have the brown ones which are awesome too, the coral are a super fun mix up for special days!
Date published: 2014-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LUV! Love, love, love my new stylish, sturdy, retro and uniquely colored shades. Thank you!
Date published: 2014-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looooove I'm a brand new sunbathing goddess with these shades. I love love love them. I wasn't aware of the mirrory lens finish when I bought them but it was a welcomed surprise.
Date published: 2014-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So cute! I love these sunglasses. They are a beautiful color (the tortoise ones) and they are really comfortable. They are a little more narrow than I was expecting, but I have smaller features so I'm happy they don't overwhelm me. Some larger frames do. I can't believe what a great price they were too. I love them!
Date published: 2014-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid I love the shape, the color is unique and the fit is solid!
Date published: 2014-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these! Bought the coral color, and they are super cute. Very sturdy and fit my face well. They are large enough to easily block out most of the light. Will be wearing these all summer!
Date published: 2014-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love My New Sunglasses I have been looking for 1930's style acetate sun glasses forever. These are as close as I will get for under $300. The glasses are perfect
Date published: 2014-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love 'em I primarily ordered these because they were on sale and I wanted some tortoiseshell sunglasses. I didn't even realize how much I had been missing out on the opportunity to wear cat-eye shades. They are very flattering, and I have a hard time finding flattering sunglasses since I have a large head so glasses end up looking too small on me. These are just right. Also very important: They don't fall off. I have this problem with my Ray Bans so I can't wear them all the time when I'm going to be moving around. I know I can wear this pair consistently and not have to worry about them falling. They also appear very sturdy.
Date published: 2013-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unique, Stylish, Value I can't say enough about how much I love these. I almost want to get another pair in case I break them. The shape is perfect and I think would work on so many different face shapes. Please note though, that I am petite and have a smaller face. Most glasses are too big and wide for my face. These are great on me. I like the larger circle lens because it sits up high enough that the visibility is great. Also, if your ears are even the tiniest bit "crooked" some glasses don't work, but these work wonderfully because they sit up high enough that is not an issue. I have gotten several compliments on them when I wear them. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2013-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Cool! I have a really large face with a fairly large nose as well, so most sunglasses look pretty weird on my face. I have to search pretty hard to find pairs that work for me. I typically need larger frames to compliment my face. It was risky to order a sunglasses online (of course I could return them if they didn't work) but the other reviews were so positive I decided to give these a shot. They are GREAT! I love them. They are so subtly and casually cool. Good quality. I will take good care of them so I can wear them for years to come.
Date published: 2013-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from durable frame, great quality! overall, i am super pleased with this product. the frame comes with a bit more of a slant than i was expecting and the lens is definitely a rich plum shade but i love them! i was extremely pleased with the durability and strength of the frame- very classy & stylish look.
Date published: 2013-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the hepcats! I loved the look of these but was apprehensive to order sunglasses without being able to try them on. I have a very narrow face - but several other reviewers said they also had a narrow face and they worked out so I took their advice. They look great and are not too wide! I purchased the dark tortoise (can't remember the color name) and really love the color. Upon first wear they were very tight behind my ears, but they have broken in and are quite comfortable now. I am very happy with this purchase.
Date published: 2013-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best shades I have never received so many compliments on a pair of sunglasses (even from my Dad). They are fun and stylish without being too retro. They are not too over-sized either. Considering buying a back up pair!
Date published: 2013-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Attractive, stylish, unique I have owned a lot of sunglasses in my life and never have I gotten as many compliments as when I slip these on. I do not exaggerate: Since May, when I got them, perfect strangers (especially men) come up to me and tell me, "Cool sunglasses." It's kind of nuts! Anyway, I got the light blue color that doesn't seem to be available online but I'm also thinking of getting the milky apricot color. They're so flattering and who doesn't like being told they look like Jackie O.??!
Date published: 2013-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must have shades Very cute, has retro but modern look. I bought these because its hard for me to find sunglasses that fit my small face. They are replacement for my other made well sunglasses I lost. The tortoise shell front of the frame is more brown than visible tortoise shell except when light shining behind it, still love them nonetheless.
Date published: 2013-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST SHADES I have horrible luck with shades, so I thought I'd go for a more expensive pair, and it was absolutely worth it. They fit perfectly and so far haven't needed tightening. I have a smaller head and these fit snugly, which is great for me but may not be for everyone.
Date published: 2013-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite sunglasses They have a matte finish, the look and feel amazing and the quality is great!! I have them in yellow!
Date published: 2013-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from lovely shades I had my eye on these for a while, buying glasses online can be a risk, but I'm glad that I did. They look great, the yellow color is sophisticated, and they are a bit oversized, which is flattering. To quote my boyfriend "Very mid c mod, you look lovely"
Date published: 2013-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smart and Stylish! I ordered these in Vintage Stout, and they look chic with everything. They're slightly oversized, but not so big that they overwhelm my face. A cute alternative to Wayfarers if you're looking for something a little retro!
Date published: 2013-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous! They are so darn cute, but the oversize look will take some getting used to
Date published: 2013-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic Good Looks Perfect sunglasses for any occasion. The frame is a nice weight. You can feel that these will not break easily. Not too small or too large for my oval face. Would work well on a smaller face. Glasses come with a thick microfiber, drawstring bag. I will purchase a spare in case I lose these.
Date published: 2013-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great shades! These sunglasses are perfect. They are a great shape and they look much more expensive than they really are!
Date published: 2013-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love them! I had seen the sunglases in the maxwell store and couldn't stop thinking about them. So I went on line and I'm happy I did.
Date published: 2013-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from cute sunglasses for a petite face! I always have trouble finding sunglasses that are large but fit my face, which is pretty small. I have trouble finding glasses in general for that reason. These are really perfect for the size/shape of my face. I'm very happy with my purchase.
Date published: 2013-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE EM Truthfully, this is my third pair in this style. They add zing to everything. Well priced and well made.
Date published: 2013-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great deal! Great sunglasses, especially for the price! Super sturdy, fit perfectly. Love the shape of the frame, just the perfect amount of cat eye, and not too bulky.
Date published: 2013-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hepcat indeed These are cute, well made and fit on my face. What more can I ask for?
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great style, great price I love the shape and color or the dark tortoise shell glasses. They are a bargain price for such a fashion forward style.
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So cute I constantly get compliments on these glasses, they are great. Great color, great lenses, great fit.
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great website Love the glasses and they were delivered immediately. The website photos are exactly what you get. Thanks.
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from stylish! Nice source of young and trendy clothing and accessories. I'll use Madewell again
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Too small for face I love the look of these. A friend has a pair and they look great on her..unfortunately they seemed a bit narrow for my face. I ended up giving them to my sister-in-law, they worked for her!
Date published: 2015-02-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Don't fit narrow faces I love the shape and style of these sunglasses but unfortunately they didn't fit my face at all. They slipped off my nose and the arms were a bit too wide for my head so I returned them.
Date published: 2014-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stylish I ordered the matte black. I love the matte finish and style. My only complaint is that they seem to slip off my face quite a bit. I often find them sliding down my nose or falling off my head when i wear them like a headband.
Date published: 2014-08-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very unique I've been looking for a pair of sunglasses that aren't those massive "bug eyed" type that practically cover your whole face/forehead- these are them! I bought them in black when they were on an extremely good sale and they were definitely worth it. The lenses have a bit of a green tint on the outside but not when you look through them, and they are not polarized (which I enjoy). The only issue is them is that they slide down my nose a bit when I'm wearing them, which usually isn't a problem because I have a very strong bridge. However the quality is great, I love the smooth finish and they are just unique in terms of simplicity.
Date published: 2014-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great glasses These glasses look great! The only discomfort is that they don't sit great on the nose. Otherwise, beautiful!
Date published: 2014-07-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall, good I bought a pair in tortoise, and it's one of my favorite sunglasses. It's good quality for the price and very flattering. I liked it so much a got a pair in yellow. While nice, they weren't as lovely as my first pair. The yellow isn't as bright as pictured, which was a bit disappointing. They were also wider-set than my tortoise one, though that may have just been the pair I received. Overall, I'd recommend these glasses.
Date published: 2014-07-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great sunnies, larger than expected I just received these sunglasses in the mail yesterday. I think they look great and would look good on most people. The quality is great too. The only potentially negative comment I have is that the frames are larger on the face than I expected. It makes me wonder how big the oversized hepcats are.
Date published: 2014-06-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute shape but color doesn't match photo online I first bought the yellow, which ended up being a pale, mustardy yellow and much less opaque than the picture shows. It wasn't flattering on my skin. I tried again with the oversized ones in white and again, the frames were more translucent than they appear online. Disappointing. The shape is flattering and cute and I suspect they'd work on many face shapes. I would suggest going for the tortoise ones or buy the colored ones knowing that they are going to be more muted and translucent than you might expect. The quality is about what you'd expect for the price.
Date published: 2014-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from These Shades First impression, these shades have the weight of quality. The beach pebble shades are not as bright as the picture depicts but slightly more beige, but still cool. These shades are made extra cool with the matte finish.
Date published: 2014-05-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from cute, a little narrow, dark I adore these sunglasses, and have been coveting a pair for months. When they arrived, I found them to be on the snug side (I'm pretty sure I don't have a giant melon head...), and darker than pictured. Still super cute!
Date published: 2014-04-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great looking, a little snug Love the shape and look of these glasses. The tortoise shell is very subtle, which I like. Only thing I would change is the fit. They are pretty snug on my temples so I don't wear them for extended times to avoid getting headaches.
Date published: 2014-04-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Oh so stylish Love Love these shades! Very chic for a great price.
Date published: 2014-04-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Charming style, but not for my face I loved the look of these glasses, and the color was darling (beach pebble), but they felt slightly heavy and tight on my face and head. They also slipped down my nose for the few minutes I had them on. I took an odd chance ordering them without trying on - and unfortunately, I will be returning them.
Date published: 2014-04-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great color and style I really like my new Hepcat shades which I got in Beach Pebble. They are a nice change from the usual tortoise-shell and black I tend to wear, without being too flashy. They immediately add a bit of retro cool to any look!
Date published: 2014-02-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Unique and fun I wasn't sure about ordering sunglasses online as I've not had much luck in the past. I read the reviews and decided to take a chance and I am so glad I did. They are a really fun and unique shape. I did find that they run a bit smaller than sunglasses I've bought in the past so if you have a wider face these may be a bit snug.
Date published: 2014-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good value for price These are a little smaller than I expected. Sure wish Madewell would include a photo of the sunglasses on a model's face. I was hoping they would be a little oversized. Otherwise, I feel like the quality is not as great as my last pair of Madewell sunglasses but still a good value for the price.
Date published: 2014-02-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Expensive Expensive but so stylish , fun, and cute. Buy them if you don't mind the price for something you may lose after the first wear.
Date published: 2014-01-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from perfect shades Great shape, great style. A little bit bigger than my usual favourite cat's eye frames but they frame my face nicely. I'll be wearing these on the beach all year.
Date published: 2014-01-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Absolutely Cool Shades! The hepcat shades can make you super cool and hip in no time!:) They are great quality and value. The only reason I did not give excellent rating is because I would have liked them to come in a nice case instead of the fabric pouch.
Date published: 2013-10-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Feels a bit cheap, but pretty frames The plastic frames feel a bit cheap and they are a bit tight on my face, but I am a sucker for tortoise shell anything. The quality is a bit questionable, but the style is awesome. I don't know how long these will last me, but I think they are worth it on sale.
Date published: 2013-10-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from cute -color muted and not as bright as it appeared in the online picture cute -color muted and not as bright as it appeared in the online picture
Date published: 2013-07-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I wish these fit me!! I have a wide bridge on my nose, so, alas, these did not fit me well. but they are super cute!
Date published: 2013-04-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from classic shades with a twist I loved these sunglasses and they fit, but they did not look right on my face. I have a wide/square shaped face. I gave them to my friend who had more of a narrow, oval face and they looked great. She loved them!
Date published: 2014-09-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I wish these looked good on my face Usually a frame like this works for my face shape (oval, symmetrical) but for some reason these sunnies just don't work for me.
Date published: 2014-03-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from not what I thought they are quite a bit smaller than I wanted. and a bit heavy too. I'm sure they'll be cute on someone, just not me!
Date published: 2013-05-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice silouette, average lens quality. These are true to what is pictured, nice fit with study frame. Lenses are not the best quality though - very dark.
Date published: 2013-02-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from not symmetrical i have a pair in the yellow colour and I loved it. it's fits better and is more comfortable than the expensive ones I bought. SO I ordered the tortoise shell one and the 'arms' of the shades are not symmetrical thus making the fit weird because it seems to tilt in one side. anyway maybe this doesn't apply to all but just the ones I received.
Date published: 2014-09-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Better in theory than in practice The frames are much larger than I expected, and swallow my face. The frames are oversized, so if that's not the look you're going for, don't buy these. Additionally, when not backlit (as in the photo), the tortoise frames look black.
Date published: 2014-07-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too heavy Cute glasses, but the frames are a bit heavy and they are a little too large for me. I do have a very narrow face, so take that into consideration. For someone with a fuller face these could be quite cute.
Date published: 2014-05-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very poor quality for the price I've ordered them for my wife as present. They looked nice on the first view, but when she set them, she was verty dissapointed. I have seen many cheaper glasses, that were build much better. The ear-pieces are of different lenght and shape (one shorter and straight, other longer and bent) so it sits on the nose tilted to one side. The are also not firmly attached to the main frame. The nose saddle is also narrow and not very comfortable.
Date published: 2014-05-16
  • y_2017, m_3, d_20, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_74
  • loc_en_US, sid_84444, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_madewell