This Just In

NEW ARRIVALS

Fall 2017 Denim

Looks We Love

Labels We Love

The Madewell Essentials

Monogram It

Denim Report

Events

Our clothes, your pics

How We Do Well

clothing

DENIM

TEES & SWEATSHIRTS

SHIRTS & TOPS

SWEATERS

JACKETS

DRESSES

SKIRTS

PANTS & SHORTS

LEISURE & ACTIVE

intimates & pajamas

SWIM & BEACHWEAR

SALE

extended sizes

shoes, bags &
more

SHOES & BOOTS

BAGS

JEWELRY

sunglasses

ACCESSORIES

GIFT & HOME

Behind
The Scenes

Our Blog

Denim Report

#DENIMMADEWELL

#EVERYDAYMADEWELL

#Totewell

#WELLHEELED

About Madewell

Flannel Sunday Shirt
full size
Flannel Sunday Shirt
Flannel Sunday Shirt
Flannel Sunday Shirt
Product Details
An oversized button-down shirt with handy hidden pockets. Made of irresistibly touchable flannel in goes-with-everything shades, it's the ultimate wear-all-season-long shirt.  
  • Slightly oversized fit.
  • Cotton.
  • On-seam pockets.
  • Machine wash.
  • Import.
SHIPPING
Free shipping exclusively for Madewell Insiders
*For complete details, see our Shipping Policy.

Flannel Sunday Shirt

Flannel Sunday Shirt is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 66.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Your new favorite shirt This has become my absolute favorite shirt to wear. So soft and comfortable with clean lines. Normally between a small and medium, I ordered the small and it is perfect.
Date published: 2016-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect wear with everything winter flannel with pockets. Swoon. This flannel is the perfect winter staple. Soft, neutral, and classic. It's a bit thicker than your typical Madewell flannel so it can be worn layered for extra warmth or on its own. It has a great shape, POCKETS!, and is slightly oversized. I'm 5'7" and weigh 128 lbs so I'm usually a size small or medium depending on how I want something to fit. The size small is the perfect fit and length for me. I wish I'd gotten it in every color!
Date published: 2016-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dream Flannel Shirt Yep, I'm no different than any of the other reviewers--I absolutely love this shirt. I bought the oatmeal and it's such a pretty color. I really want to buy the gray and the green as well. The shirt is decently soft, but the really great thing about it is the quality--you can tell this shirt will last a lifetime, which is such a rarity these days. I sometimes wear mediums, sometimes larges in Madewell shirt sizes. I bought the large, and it's *quite* oversized, but I like it that way because I really only planned on wearing this as a weekend/lounge shirt. I agree that if you want it just a tad oversized, buy your normal size. Madewell, restock the other sizes for the green, please!
Date published: 2016-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Near-perfect shirt!! I love this shirt! It's the perfect oversized flannel shirt. It's a heavier flannel than most "flannel" button-ups out there, which is nice, but the best part is the fit. It's oversized, but in a flattering way (and will still fit true to size, so get the size you normally wear in Madewell tops). My one critique is that I followed the laundry instructions on the tag and it still shrank - wouldn't be a problem because it still it fits great, but the edge of the pockets bunched up a bit and now look a little weird. Still highly recommend. Already bought it in another color.
Date published: 2016-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and classy I love this shirt. I have it in two colors. The green is beautiful. Soft and warm and I love the solid color flannel. It's a boxy shirt but buy the size you normally wear.
Date published: 2015-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft and warm I bought a size of xxs and in the color of green. It feels so soft and warm. And it is thicker than I expected. So a great choice for a winter shirt.
Date published: 2015-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeper in the wardrobe, all seasons My second flannel sunday shirt. I've been wearing the grey one non-stop and the quality speaks for itself. When I saw the new color, gallery green, I knew I was going to get it. It doesn't disappoint. The size for the new color seems to be smaller than last year.
Date published: 2015-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this look I love this shirt so much! It fits true to size, but beware...it does shrink a little after going through the wash. Its just a bit more snug in the sleeves, but it still has the long backside. Looks great with leggings and ankle boots!
Date published: 2015-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from soft & comfy I got this shirt in the green - I think the color is great! The material feels soft & comfy, and I actually downsized because I felt that this shirt was very oversized but I would have been floating in a large (depends how much room you want). I also love the hidden side pockets...! It's definitely a comfy/casual shirt, I'm not super sure how or if it's possible to dress it up too much? I think it's more of a lounge shirt or like the name implies - a weekend flannel (that you could run errands in & still look relatively put together with jeans & ankle boots).
Date published: 2015-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft and warm Love the fit. It's oversized but not frumpy. Pockets are nice bonus. Will keep this Canadian girl warm all winter.
Date published: 2015-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic simple minimalistic I never would have bought this online but it caught my eye in the store and I fell in love with it! I don't own anything like it and as soon as I tried it on I knew I had to have it. I'm 5'4 and 108lbs and the xxs fit oversized and roomy! It's super warm and the pockets are a great addition. I got it in the light cream color. Looks amazing! I don't like traditional plaid flannels because I feel like I look too much like a lumberjack so this is perfect for that flannel feel without looking too woodsy. Love it!
Date published: 2015-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Coziest Flannel WITH POCKETS Love that this is a SOLID flannel!! And Pockets? Even Better.
Date published: 2015-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect cozy shirt for fall This shirt is ridiculously soft and comfortable. The fit is perfect and I was pleasantly surprised to find the pockets on the side of the shirt. I ordered an xxs and I'm 5'2 115.
Date published: 2015-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect flannel shirt This is my favorite flannel shirt ever. I got both colors and they are beautiful. The shirt is over-sized but the fit is great because of the flannel's weight. Love the length, the pockets and how amazingly soft and comfortable the shirt is. My favorite Fall item!
Date published: 2015-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful color and so soft I was pleasantly surprised at how much I liked this shirt. It is very soft, and the grey is a really beautiful color. The color adds a nice feminine edge to the style, in my opinion. Definitely oversized, but will be really cute with leggings.
Date published: 2015-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Madewell can really do flannel! Madewell is my go-to store for the perfect flannel. Although I don't always love the colors/patterns some seasons, they really know how to make a flannel that is sturdy, flattering, and comfortable. I was looking to replace an old Madewell flannel that, after a ton of wear, was looking a little worn out. And as soon as I saw this one, I knew I had to have it. I love the fit (oversized but not baggy), material (so soft!), and color. I got the bright ivory--though, word of caution, bright ivory is definitely a misnomer: you can even tell from the picture that the color is more of a heather oatmeal (which I prefer anyway). To top it off, it has pockets! Did I mention it is the perfect flannel?
Date published: 2015-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect basic piece!! When I first saw this shirt last season, I was unsure, mostly because of the price. I saw the sales girl wearing one with the sleeves buttoned but pulled up, and it looked amazing. I have been wearing my gray shirt all year round, and when I saw they came back this year and with a cream, I had to have it! This is the perfect shirt for a cozy fall day, but can be dressed up and down. And the pockets make it PERFECT!!
Date published: 2015-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice heavyweight flannel As someone who has sewn many, many times with flannel, I can appreciate a good brushed flannel when I feel one. It's heavy enough to be structured, like you'd expect from an over shirt. I'm 5' 1" and curvy and bought a large. I'm not swallowed up in it, but it gives me plenty of roomy comfort, which I can appreciate. It's likely to safe to size down, if you wanted it trimmer. The gray is very unisex and austere and lacks any femininity, and there's a bit of rigidity to the thick fabric. It makes for a proper oversized men's wear shirt, if that's what you're going for. I'll likely be washing in only cold water and hand drying, because flannel gets thin and pills with heat.
Date published: 2015-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This classic, comfy flannel shirt will become a staple! True to color and very comfortable as expected. I adore this shirt. Looks great with denim and with white jeans. Good with or without a shirt underneath. One surprise to me: it is not as big as I expected. Definitely boxy and slightly long but not a big over-sized shirt to wear with skin tight leggings.
Date published: 2015-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks great and is so comfy! Bought one for my college age daughter for Christmas and my middle school daughter loved it. So, I bought another and then decided I needed one too :)
Date published: 2015-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for winter Really heavy, soft flannel. Warm and cozy. The pic makes it look slightly shaped on the model, but it isn't. Very boxy. I'm short and short-waisted, so it didn't look that way on me. Still - it's perfect with leggings and just amazingly cozy to wear. I love, love, love the pockets and would love to see more pieces that have them. My only quibble is that after washing, the pockets were really poofy on the side of the shirt, so that I feel like I might have to iron them flat again. Great shirt. More colors, please.
Date published: 2015-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Could Wear Every Day I could wear this every day in cool or cold weather...it is soft, warm & attractive. Will wear for many winters.
Date published: 2015-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just Amazing Love this shirt! It's so comfy - and I've gotten a lot of compliments on it at work. Looks great, super soft and best of all....amazingly comfortable. It's like I'm wearing dressy PJs while being professional. The pockets = perfection. Fit: It is oversized. I usually am between a M and L in Madewell items depending on the style and the M fits me well. Just order it. You won't be disappointed.
Date published: 2015-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So comfortable This grey flannel shirt is my new favorite shirt! It is like wearing pajamas all day! It is also quite warm and cozy. It is oversized so if you size down from your usual shirt size, it will still be comfortably oversized. I am wearing it a lot and it does not shrink when I put it in the dryer. Fantastic buy.
Date published: 2015-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This Shirt is Amazing I love this shirt and I want to wear it all the time. It is the first flannel I purchased since they have been back "in fashion" and I have been chasing its perfection ever since. I have bought a few Madewell flannels since this shirt and they just aren't the same. This shirt really is perfect. The fit is roomy and cozy without being too oversized - it goes well with leggings. The pockets are well hidden and a great detail. The buttons are even of a higher quality than on a lot of flannels you find. However the best part about this shirt is the fabric itself - every flannel shirt since has felt cheap in comparison (and not just from Madewell, this seems to be universal). Wish they were all this nice!
Date published: 2014-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fall/winter shirt! The shirt's material is very thick, so not much outerwear is needed. I usually wear a size L in tops, but since this is loose and not body-hugging, I bought a medium and it fits well. I'm 5'8" and have long arms, and the sleeves are just the right length. If you're concerned about sleeve length like I am, just be careful not to put it in the dryer.
Date published: 2014-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A bit of a risk for me... I DO love this shirt. I am not a "button down" or a "flannel shirt" person. I live in sweaters, but I was looking for something a little different. This fits the bill. I ordered XS. For reference: 5'4", 36C, 120#. The fabric is incredibly soft and cozy. It is still nicely oversized, and I love the side pockets. Try it out!
Date published: 2014-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from so comfy! Like all the other reviews say this shirt is awesome! Goes with anything, super comfy, and pockets! It does run large so I recommend sizing down. I usually wear a S when the fit says "true to size" so I ordered the XS in this shirt. It is still roomy enough to pull off that effortless casual look. The only complaint is the price, but I got it on sale so it's a non issue.
Date published: 2014-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect shirt! Just chiming in to echo the happy reviews here! This shirt is cozy, versatile and flattering to a range of body types -- an all-around terrific buy! I'm 5'8" w/a 32B bust; ended up sizing down to an XS because my usual size S looked overly roomy in the shoulders and chest. Made all the difference!
Date published: 2014-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The perfect shirt! My favorite part about this is that it is an oversized shirt but you don't get lost in it! Also love the pockets! The weight of the shirt is perfect and the quality of the shirt...well I wish they had it in a few more colors! I'd buy it in all of the colors!
Date published: 2014-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from favorite winter shirt! this is my new favorite shirt-it's cozy, oversized in the best way, and i have actually gotten a lot of compliments on it. i usually wear a medium (sometimes a large) and a medium fits me best.
Date published: 2014-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from gray This shirt is AWESOME! In a really flattering gray with on-seam functional pockets, and a cozy long length, it is perfection!
Date published: 2014-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new favorite shirt I tried this shirt on at my local Madewell and I fell in LOVE. Its so soft and comfy. I love the side pockets too. This is like the perfect shirt right now.
Date published: 2014-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality I would love to have this in white. I would get rid of the pockets.
Date published: 2014-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Flattering This shirt is warm, comfortable and very cozy. The pockets are wonderful and unusual in a oversized shirt like this. Love it.
Date published: 2014-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New favorite After trying this shirt on in the store, I didn't even want to take it off! It's the most comfortable, soft and a somewhat heavy cotton material. I honestly don't like the picture online, but fell in love when I tried it on. I normally take an XS, and it fit perfectly. A little long in the back, but perfectly oversized. And there are pockets. Can it get any better?
Date published: 2014-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortably Chic This can be worn so many different ways. Definitely should be one of your fall/winter staple pieces.
Date published: 2014-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from so! good! I loved this instantly! My arms are a wee bit long so I sized up to a Large, which is normal for me & madewell. I love it! Such a great piece and as another reviewer said, it's a great sweater replacement.
Date published: 2014-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So much cuter in person This shirt is adorable. I bought it to share with my 15 year old daughter, who never agrees on clothes with me. We both love it, I have a hard time getting a turn to wear it. The inset pockets on the side completely change the look. I don't think the picture does it justice - it's adorable.
Date published: 2014-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my new favorite shirt It's so comfy, goes great with jeans or leggings. The only problem is I'm sad they only have it in one color! I've only had it for a few days and I'm already in love.
Date published: 2014-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pockets = Perfection!!! This is the shirt I'm going to live in this fall/winter!!! It is so adorable! I didn't give it a second glance based on the online photo, but saw it in the store and had to try it. Solid gray flannel AND POCKETS - Sold! I do think it is oversized. I got a size down and I think it is a much more flattering look than the model. Seriously a must buy for the fall/winter!
Date published: 2014-10-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great color, material, look - sleeves are too short I love this shirt but wish the sleeves were more in proportion to the shirt itself. I kept this because I love everything about this shirt but will have to roll the sleeves up.
Date published: 2016-03-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the drape, warmth, softness I am enjoying this shirt, which I was lucky to get on sale. I am 5'6" and about 140 lbs and the medium fits fine. The flannel is warm, soft and drapes well. The color is a very rich green, a favorite of mine. The only issue I have is that unless I pull the shirt from the drier when it is still damp, it shrinks. After first wash, I had to re-wet the shirt and then struggled to pull and re-block the fabric to restore it to its original size...was not completely successful.
Date published: 2016-03-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cozy! Love this shirt, is super warm and cozy! The fabric is thick which is nice for cold weather. There are side pockets which is kind of weird, but still love the shirt.
Date published: 2016-01-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good shirt, wrinkles faster than expected, but I would buy again Bought in green, beautiful color. Shirt is very comfortable, it wrinkles a bit faster than I'd like but that's the price you pay for soft fabric I guess. Haven't washed it yet but seems pretty durable.
Date published: 2015-12-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfy! I originally bought this in the cream but I'm returning for the gray--the white just looked sort of... dingy in this material, unfortunately. It's super comfortable and cozy, though!
Date published: 2015-09-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My alternative to wearing a sweater Nice fabric, cozy to wear as a warmth-giving layer; works better for me than a sweater. Believe it when they say "oversized". Normally I wear L, but this shirt was plenty roomy in M. FYI, I needed an XL in a different Madewell flannel boyshirt for the fit I was looking for (purchased previously and loved). Normally I wear L but in this shirt in M was plenty roomy.
Date published: 2014-11-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Love it but... As with many of the long sleeved button ups from Madewell, the sleeves are always too short for me. I'm 5'10", which is tall. But often when a medium fits, I go up a size to try to get a sleeve that fits. After washing and drying this shirt in both a medium and large, the sleeves are much too short. The medium sleeves are about 2 1/2 inches short and the large is about 1 1/2" too short.
Date published: 2016-01-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Stiff and austere It's pretty obvious from the pictures that this is a men's inspired work-wear type of shirt, so I can't really complain about how it has no feminine touch whatsoever. It's a stiff, mid-weight flannel in a rigid, straight cut. It's plenty oversized. My measurements are 32C, 24", 36" and I have a long torso at 5"7". I bought an XXS and it's big. The model might be wearing an XXS. Boxy and very long. I bought it to keep at work to throw on when I'm cold, and it'll do. Enough room in the sleeves to slip over a sweater. I wish it was softer, though, I find it slightly itchy. My other flannels from Madewell aren't itchy at all. This might soften up in the wash but I am also afraid it will lose its tailored shape in the wash and go limp like a pajama shirt. Overall not my best buy from Madewell.
Date published: 2015-10-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from not as soft as I hoped, fits ok but sleeves too long for me sleeves are much too long for me. The shirt fits ok as a large size but I had hoped it would be softer to the touch
Date published: 2014-11-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from meh This looks i stole one of my dad's shirts from the eighties. that is also how it fits. I am not a small person, 5'4" 168lbs and 34H/HH bra, and this just looked sloppy and sad in the Large. I bought buffalo check green one as well, and it fits much better and is far more flattering. I don't love anything about it, so it's going back. the chest pockets are too large, the fabric is fine but nothing special and it doesn't look like its cut for a woman at all. I'd recommend sizing down for sure in this cut and color, maybe 2 sizes. A medium would probably fit better, but I just don't think it's worth it. I think the internal pockets are a great idea, but the rest just doesn't cut it. If you like a very oversized and masculine look, this may be your shirt.
Date published: 2016-02-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ripped by the cuff on the third wear. The fabric is soft and thick. I thought that this would be a high quality piece like the rest I've gotten from Madewell. However, on the third wear the fabric pulled out from the seam by the cuff!
Date published: 2015-12-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not much It's not as white appears on the site and also is very heavy looking in person. While not hideous it was certainly nothing special on and with so many cuter options on the web site I passed on this one.
Date published: 2015-10-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from defect????? Bought this item a little before Christmas last year because of the many great reviews. I liked it when I first tried it on, on top of another long sleeve tee. Recently wore it for the first time (without a layering piece underneath) and the fabric surprisingly irritates my skin. I have never had this problem with madewell shirts (or ANY cotton shirt) before. I thought perhaps it was exposed to chemicals (?) during the manufacturing process and washing would help. Unfortunately it did not. I really wanted to love this shirt but now I am stuck with an unwearable shirt... I would recommend madewell's silk tops, just to be safe.
Date published: 2015-02-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor Quality, Seams split on cuffs I've worn this about 4 times and washed it even fewer. I just unrolled the sleeves and found the seams on both cuffs have completely unraveled. This is the third item in a row from Madewell I've had quality issues with. While I have received a full refund on the other two items (and hope for the same here), going back to the store/post office to return low quality clothes is really getting old- especially when you are trying to avoid cheap, disposable clothing and think you are paying more for quality! This likely will be my last purchase from Madewell.
Date published: 2016-03-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poorly Made. Seems split on both cuffs. Obviously poor construction as exactly the same thing has happened on both arms. Such a shame because it would be brilliant otherwise.
Date published: 2015-11-03
  • y_2017, m_8, d_22, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_66
  • loc_en_US, sid_B5225, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_madewell