This Just In

NEW ARRIVALS

Fall 2017 Collection

Looks We Love

Labels We Love

The Madewell Essentials

Monogram It

Denim Report

Events

Our clothes, your pics

How We Do Well

clothing

DENIM

TEES & SWEATSHIRTS

SHIRTS & TOPS

SWEATERS

JACKETS & COATS

DRESSES

SKIRTS

PANTS & SHORTS

LEISURE & ACTIVE

intimates & pajamas

SWIM & BEACHWEAR

SALE

extended sizes

shoes, bags &
more

SHOES & BOOTS

BAGS

(see all)

crossbody bags
totes
backpacks
satchels & bucket bags
duffels
pouches & wallets
iphone cases & tech
bag accessories

JEWELRY

sunglasses

ACCESSORIES

GIFT & HOME

Behind
The Scenes

Our Blog

Denim Report

#DENIMMADEWELL

#EVERYDAYMADEWELL

#Totewell

#WELLHEELED

About Madewell

The Essex Messenger
full size
The Essex Messenger
The Essex Messenger
Product Details
See these brass stud closures? They make it possible to get in and out of your bag in seconds—so genius. We love how they turn this incredibly cool leather messenger (with lots of pockets inside) into your go-to bag for every day.
  • Leather.
  • Flap and collar stud closure.
  • Interior zip pocket.
  • 19 3/4" handle drop.
  • 8 1/2"H x 10"W.
  • Import.
SHIPPING
Free shipping exclusively for Madewell Insiders
*For complete details, see our Shipping Policy.

The Essex Messenger

The Essex Messenger is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 20.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite bag This bag is just right. Not too little and not too big. It holds a wallet, sunglasses case, small cosmetic bag, and a small bottle of lotion in the main compartment. It still has extra room to get these items out easily and put them back in without having to line them up perfectly to fit. The small compartment under the flap holds keys and cell phone easily for quick access. The bag is lightweight and is easy to carry cross body. It is so perfect that I carry it everyday, and I am one that gets bored with using the same bag day in and day out. I love it!
Date published: 2013-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Bag This bag is great. It is roomy enough to carry all my daily needs but still compact enough so as to not be in any way cumbersome. I have also gotten so many compliments on it, which is always nice.
Date published: 2013-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Has great leather Love this bag the leather is so soft. And it's the perfect size for wallet,keys& cellphone
Date published: 2013-02-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Bag I love this bag so much. At first I was a little worried about it because my dark colored jeans rub off onto the back of the bag. Unfortunately this cannot be avoided if your jeans are still saturated with blue coloring and the occasional black scratches. However this can be cleaned off regularly. I have 2 types of leather conditioner I use on this bag. For regular cleaning, I use Clark's leather lotion which removes much of the blue color. I use a soft sponge and a gentle circular motion and the blue comes off. To keep the leather in good condition and to make it last longer I use Leather Honey. Since I've been using the conditioners, the bag is incredibly soft. Just be aware that the conditioner does darken the leather slightly but I actually like the darker look better anyway.
Date published: 2013-04-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great bag except for color I purchased the nectar-colored version, and while I loved the shape, size, interior, and "feel" of the bag, I could not convince myself of the color, which just looked sickly or tepid. The color of the straps, too, did not sufficiently contrast with the bag. So I have sent it back in exchange for the bittersweet, and am hoping I will like that color better.
Date published: 2013-03-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute spring/summer bag I got this bag in the pink and so far I really like it. It's roomy and fits my large wallet, iPad and other small goodies perfectly. Plus the price is just right. However, the leather could be better quality. Since its a cross body it rubs against my jeans and the bag has a bluish stain now. And it's prone to water stains and scratches.
Date published: 2013-03-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Transitional help The design of the space is a perfect match for my needs. The interior fabric is adorable. But the strap is cheesy. Rough and unstitched, it appears cheap. I will be looking for a summer bag sooner rather than later.
Date published: 2013-02-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cute but annoying to close and open I love the look of this bag but functionally it has some flaws. Namely that the snap closures are really annoying every time you want to get something out of your bag and since the exterior pocket is inside this flap you have to unsnap just to answer your phone. It does not look good if you leave the straps unclosed, still it's cute when closed and not too pricey, so if you're willing to be a little annoyed every day it's a good purse.
Date published: 2013-04-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointing Quality Really disappointed in this bag for how much it costs. The leather is not the greatest quality, especially around the edges because there is no stitching in some parts. The flaps that hold the buttons down have curled up. I've only owned it for about a month now, and do not use it very frequently and it still looks very worn in. It's adorable and the strap is very comfortable, but with the poor quality, I do not believe it is worth the price.
Date published: 2013-05-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Good looks, poor quality I purchased this bag in the pink color and it was a perfect size and colour. Unfortunately, it looks worn and frayed after only 2 weeks use. The leather is fraying around the strap, and as stated in previous reviews, it easily picks up the colour from dark jeans. Abolutely unhappy with this purchase, and now I am stuck with it.
Date published: 2013-04-14
  • y_2017, m_9, d_25, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_20
  • loc_en_US, sid_23042, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_madewell