This Just In

NEW ARRIVALS

Looks We Love

Labels We Love

The Getaway Shop

The Madewell Essentials

Monogram It

Denim Report

Events

Our clothes, your pics

How We Do Well

OUR CURRENT SALE
EVENT

up to 40% off warm-weather
shoes & sandals

clothing

DENIM

TEES & TANKS

SHIRTS & TOPS

SWEATERS

JACKETS

DRESSES

SKIRTS

SHORTS & PANTS

LEISURE

intimates & pajamas

SWIM & BEACHWEAR

SALE

extended sizes

shoes, bags &
more

SHOES & SANDALS

BAGS

(see all)

totes
crossbody bags
backpacks
satchels & bucket bags
duffels
pouches & wallets
iphone cases & tech
bag accessories

JEWELRY

sunglasses

ACCESSORIES

GIFT & HOME

Behind
The Scenes

Our Blog

Denim Report

#DENIMMADEWELL

#EVERYDAYMADEWELL

#Totewell

#WELLHEELED

About Madewell

The Berliner Satchel
full size
The Berliner Satchel
Product Details
With its structured but slouchy shape and rich textured leather, this go-anywhere satchel is both polished and effortlessly cool. Sling the top handles in the crook of your arm or slip on the detachable shoulder strap. Any way you carry it, this one is a winner (and will be for a long time to come).  
  • Leather.
  • Zip closure.
  • Interior zip pocket.
  • 17 3/4" shoulder strap.
  • 4 2/3" handle drop.
  • 10 7/16"H x 11 13/16"W x 5 1/8"D.
  • Import.
SHIPPING & RETURNS
Free shipping and free returns exclusively for Madewell Insiders
(hi there, risk-free try-ons). *For complete details, see our Shipping Policy and Return Policy.

The Berliner Satchel

The Berliner Satchel is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 59.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The perfect bag I've been eyeing this bag for a while and am SO GLAD I got it. It's the perfect purse, appropriate for work and personal life. Very roomy (I like a bigger bag) and I love that it has the shoulder strap option so you can wear it over one arm or like a cross body or sling it over your arm at the elbow. The leather looks great (I got it in black) and I can already tell it will age well. I get compliments on it at least once a week.
Date published: 2014-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Leather and product I love this bag! I can not wait to get my next bag! I love the leather and the quality of the bag!
Date published: 2014-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it Got this bag during a sale and it is amazing. Such a classic piece that will never go out of style. Great quality as well!
Date published: 2014-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bag! This is a great bag, good size and beautiful leather. I know my niece will get a lot of use out of it!
Date published: 2014-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE BERLINER SATCHEL What a fantastic purchase! It is the perfect size..not too big or too small! The pebbled leather and brass hardware looks like luxury and all at a great price! I heart your bags…they certainly are made well…pun intended! Thank you Madewell purse designer, you do good work!
Date published: 2014-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The perfect size purse to carry everything you need and more. Great work and travel purse---and still chic enough to wear to date night. The Berliner satchel is sublime! It is a high quality product for a great price. The leather is top quality and it is a great addition to any girl on the go wardrobe. Loved it! Makes a great gift!
Date published: 2014-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The perfect black bag! Perfect in every way! Big enough to hold everything you need, but not so large that it gets heavy. Supple, beautiful pebbled leather. Just lovely.
Date published: 2014-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bag/great price I just received the tan version and love it. The size is perfect for carrying around everything you would need for a day in the city. The versatility of the handles and straps is convenient. The simple classic look will endure while trends come and go. I expect to have this bag for a long time. For those concerned about the color rubbing off as noted in some reviews, there is a tag on the inside that clearly states that may occur during the initial use. I haven't had that issue with mine.
Date published: 2014-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The perfect everyday bag I bought this for my daughter for her birthday. It was as nice as it looks. It was the perfect size and a great value for the quality. I'm sure it will last a long time as it is soft and comfortable leather. I love how you can carry it with the handles or wear on your shoulder. Madewell even honored a sale price when it dropped after my purchase. Great service! I will continue to purchase from them.
Date published: 2014-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Bag Nice quality for the money and I love the blue-green color. I liked the sale price, not sure if I would pay full price for it, but it does seem well made
Date published: 2014-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great traditional leather bag I purchased the English Saddle color. I am very pleased with the color as it will be appropriate for all seasons. Soft leather, seems like great quality but only time will tell. I am able to fit a full size wallet, medium sized pouch, hair brush, etc. Two small pockets inside are perfect for cell phone & keys. Can be carried cross body or forearm, although seems heavy on my forearm. The main reason I bought this bag was for the cross body style which is more practical with heavy winter coats. In my opinion, this bag is on par with other high end, more expensive brands.
Date published: 2014-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous and practical bag Love it, simply love it. Got the wine colored bag and was skeptical of the color at first until I realized it goes with everything and compliments everything. The bag is sturdy yet soft and fits all the essentials.
Date published: 2014-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another great bag from Madewell! This is my second handbag purchase from Madewell and I could not be happier! I purchased the Berliner satchel in black and it is gorgeous. The textured leather is beautiful and I am so impressed by the quality of this and the Kensington. I know I will be carrying these bags for years to come.
Date published: 2014-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bag Nice soft leather, great everyday size, and great price. I got min on sale and I almost wish I got the brown too! This is my new favorite purse and i've already received many compliments.
Date published: 2014-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful bag Absolutely love it! The leather is so soft, I just wish there was a thicker part to the strap, like one of those moveable ones. The bag is a bit heavier in weight and with all my stuff in it the strap cuts into my shoulder sometimes. Overall, a beautiful bag that goes with everything.
Date published: 2014-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Even better in better in person... I just received this bag in the Warm Bluegrass color and could not be happier. The color is much richer in person- like a deep pine green. It'll be the perfect accompaniment to all of my fall/winter clothes. The leather is supple but still structured. Although I imagine it will soften a little with wear. The lining on the inside is a solid dark chocolate shade of brown, not striped like in the photo. It should mask smudges and pen marks well. I was on the hunt for a dark green bag that was large enough to hold a book and a sweater, with a cross body strap- and this is it! It's perfect!
Date published: 2014-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from beautiful bag! I purchased this bag in dark cabernet and I love it: the beautiful sturdy yet pillowy and soft leather, great craftsmanship and proper size. I couldn't decide between this Berliner satchel and Berliner oversized satchel so I ordered both and I returned the bigger one as it was way oversized for my taste even though I am 5'7" tall.
Date published: 2014-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Question I was wondering if anybody had issues with the black leather rubbing off on your clothes?
Date published: 2014-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a beautiful bag It is more boho than high fashion, but that's what I want. BTW, to the previous reviewer, Chinese people deserve a living too.
Date published: 2014-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from absolutely beautiful! I have been searching for a great all season neutral but not boring leather bag and this is it! I love the color and feel like it is super functional for any season or situation. I like that I can wear it cross body or slip it on my arm too. Super soft and well structured and beautiful and I just love it!
Date published: 2014-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous bag This bag caught my eye immediately. It is the perfect, casual everyday bag. I've received a thousand compliments on it.... looks like a much more pricey bag... usually carry higher priced bags, but this is a true stand out !!!
Date published: 2014-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect I love this bag so much! When I saw it in stores I knew I had to have it. Madewell never disappoints on their quality of leather. The size is perfect. Not too big not too small. I love the cross body strap. It is perfect in every way. I ordered the Dark Cabernet color to have something a little different and it's beautiful.
Date published: 2014-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Travel I travel frequently and I wanted a nice leather bag that could be carried in hand or as a cross body, plus I wanted it be able to carry my typical purse items and my iPad. Everything fits and it's perfect for me. The leather is of great quality and the bag is simply "made well." Couldn't be happier with my purchase.
Date published: 2014-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bag! This is the perfect everyday bag. It's roomy enough to store your essentials but not too bulky. Seems well made and hopefully will last quite a while.
Date published: 2014-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new favorite bag I have been eyeing this bag for a while. I finally got it on last day of "spend 200 get 30% off" sale, so it's a pretty good deal. I chose the wine color, it's SO pretty and goes with any color for any season. The leather is supple, rich, the bag is low key looking but still very stylish, it can go with any outfit for any occasions, and you can tell it is made of good quality. The size is just right. I also like the weight, it's not too heavy, I have the Kensington bag, though I really love it sometimes I find it a bit on the heavy side. This is now my favorite bag. It seems to scuff easily so I need to be careful. Though it might look even better as it gets aged a bit.
Date published: 2014-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this! As soon as I opened the box, I knew it would be one of my all time favorites bags. The quality is top notch with super soft leather, and a solid structure. I love how many different ways you can wear this, and how versatile it is. As a busy new mom this bag is the perfect size to carry all the must haves with me. I absolutely love love love this bag and you will too!
Date published: 2014-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft and so pretty!! This is a great leather bag. I purchased the Cabernet color and it's very fall. It's large but easy enough to use the straps and put over your shoulder.
Date published: 2014-08-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty bag, some quality issues This bag has gorgeous, plush leather, but the zipper on the outside feels a bit weak, and the inside pull is downright dodgy. It often catches and won't work right, and I imagine it will break soon. I have to say, the looks are there, but Madewell certainly didn't stay true to their name on this one. I got it on sale so I can't return it, so at least it looks lovely in black.
Date published: 2015-01-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great everyday bag! I needed a purse that wasn't too big or too small and this satchel fit the bill. I think it's priced well, but I got it on sale which was even better!
Date published: 2015-01-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great bag in black I already have this bag in black and decided get it in dark Cabernet. Just got it but the leather on the front that divided on two is different. On one side is more smooth and because of that the color is a little different. On the picture is looks the same. Don't know what to do, I like the bag and it's the first time I have problem with quality on Madawell. If I return it what if the another one is going to be the same? And I got it on sale. Btw the black one doesn't have this problem.
Date published: 2014-11-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great everyday bag The bag is great- it hangs nicely when you wear the strap and it's just as nice held by the handles. It fits everything I need without feeling huge and bulky and heavy- it's actually a lot lighter and some of my other similar sized purses. The only non-issue I have is that the zipper sometimes snags, it doesn't zip as smoothly as i'd like- but outside of that, this bag is perfect.
Date published: 2014-11-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from right size and stylish I think it's good size for everyday use. I can fit many things but still can shape loose. Also I can fit my 13" mac book pro and fit structured. I wish the strap was wider so that it would be easier to carry heavy things like laptop. The hand strap is pretty short so I can't wear in my shoulder, which is little disappointment. However overall I like the bag!
Date published: 2014-11-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome bag - uncomfortable strap I really love the simple look and style of this bag, it goes with everything and I get many compliments. I bought this to replace another bag that I used as a crossbody to make things easier, but the strap is too thin and is really uncomfortable. I wish there was a thicker part to the strap to help with this, or that you could purchase this to make it more comfortable. The purpose I bought it was to make it easier when I had to carry it for a while, but I cannot because the strap is uncomfortable and cuts into my shoulder. I love the bag, but for the money I spent this part is really disappointing :-(.
Date published: 2014-11-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Pretty! I love it, however it does seem to scratch easy so we shall see how it looks in a few months. Such a lovely bag though otherwise!
Date published: 2014-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great quality leather surprised to see how thick and soft/supple the leather was. there's a nice weight to the bag which adds to it feeling expensive and not cheap. the leather is not thin and cheap feeling either. i got the burgundy and it is slightly more of a cooler red (almost with a slightly plum colored). i actually like this hue. i like the sturdy handles and the optional shoulder strap. def recommend and it's a steal at the sale price.
Date published: 2014-11-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really love it The only issue I have with this bag is that it has to be zipped at all times or everything falls out- otherwise great!
Date published: 2014-11-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ok Size, good leather The bag overall is very nice to look at. The size was a little more smaller than I imagined, yes I obviously could have seen with a measuring tape how big it was but I didn't. The hardware seems sound and so do the handles/strap (hopefully). My only criticism is there is no dust bag for this purse. It's not a large purse and I would expect a dust bag to come included with it. Your dust bags seem to be made out of muslin guys...come on, it won't hurt to send one with the bag.
Date published: 2014-10-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful but heavy It's a huge bag that fits everything. It's gorgeous and the leather feels soft. I think the biggest downfall is that it's heavy. The handles are kind of an awkward length so you can't sling it on your shoulders, but the shoulder strap makes up for it.
Date published: 2014-10-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from beautiful and sturdy I got the cabernet color and I love it. My only quibble with this satchel is when I wear it crossbody (the only way I like to use bags) it hangs awkwardly at my side, sort of sticking out. That may soften the more I wear it.
Date published: 2014-10-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from pretty big in space can fit a lot of things Only thing about this bag is that it is made in china, for the price of it, its not worth it if made in china. However the color is nice and the leather is soft, no complements on it yet.
Date published: 2014-09-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Curious Design The leather is nice, the design is odd. The bag is too wide for my frame. 5'3", 110. The handles need a bigger drop to be truly useful. The long strap is poorly executed and flimsy in relation to the rest of the bag. The zipper is quite rugged and the bag could really benefit from a magnetic closure to hold it closed when unzipped. It this bag had dimensions in the 11"x10" size, magnetic closure instead of a zipper and workable handle drop length it would be brilliant.
Date published: 2014-12-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from English saddle does not look like picture I was so ready to love this bag, but the colour (I chose English Saddle) did not correspond with the picture. The actual colour of the satchel is duller, not as vibrant, almost lighter. Perhaps because the colour is lighter, the black accents on the purse stand out more - which I didn't like either. It's really too bad as the quality of the leather and style of the bag are timeless...I just wish the colour was more true to the pic :( I had to return it.
Date published: 2014-12-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too big and masculine Looks like a men's messenger bag, not like a woman's purse. Other than that, it's a nice bag if you are looking for a very large bag.
Date published: 2014-11-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Almost I agree with the other reviewers about the color. The english saddle isn't as pretty in person as it appears in the picture. Not as light and bright. I also didn't like the black zipper seam - maybe that doesn't stand out as much on the darker colors. And the sides of the top of the bag are bigger than the bottom, which I think looks a bit strange. My friends said it looked like a doctor bag. The pebbled leather is very pretty however. Just a little too big for an everyday purse for my taste.
Date published: 2014-11-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from heavy,soft,less brightly colored than picture I purchased the English Saddle color, I love its shape. But actually the color isn't as bright as the picture. It is not shiny. The leather is supple and structured, but it looks cheap and easy to be scratched. It's big enough to carry on all my necessaries and even my laptop. But it is just too big for my body (5'3"), and a bit heavier in weight. However, I didn't buy it in high price, it matched its value. But i won't recommend it to my friend.
Date published: 2014-11-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from smaller than expected, color is dull but good leather I ordered the dark cabernet. The color is very dull and looks more like purple. It is smaller than I would expect. And the top is wider than the bottom. when going cross-shoulder, it looks weird. However, the leather quality and the craftsmanship are very nice.
Date published: 2014-10-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good quality, but awkward Overall I thought it was nicely made, and the saddle color is great. Looks exactly like the picture. The leather is thick and supple. However, I found that it hung awkwardly from the shoulder strap. It just kind of collapsed on the shoulder strap and didn't hold its shape. It was just too big for my body (5'3", 105lbs). The shoulder strap could be thicker as it is a bigger bag. It looks better being held by the top handles but I like being able to carry it by the shoulder strap. I will be returning.
Date published: 2014-10-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from English Saddle was a disappointment I have not seen this bag in the store, so all I can refer to was through the online site. I got the english saddle and it was a total disappointment. The color was more contrasted and vibrant on the site and a lot duller and plain in actual. The leather does not look rich even though it is soft and probably comfortable to carry around. The size is a bit bigger than I expected. I am returning this because what I was expecting was totally off in reality. The color is totally off, leather looks cheap(like Vinyl) and it is heavier than most madewell bags.
Date published: 2014-11-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Black all over my clothes This is the second black Madewell bag that I've purchased that has ruined a light-colored shirt (like actually ruined, it doesn't come off in the wash). What good is colored leather if it rubs off on your clothes? I shouldn't have to only wear black clothes with a black bag (and with other brands this is never an issue). Come on, Madewell. I will be returning. If only I could be reimbursed for my ruined shirt as well.
Date published: 2014-10-29
  • y_2017, m_6, d_27, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_59
  • loc_en_US, sid_B2139, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_madewell