This Just In

NEW ARRIVALS

The Gift Well Guide

Looks We Love

Labels We Love

The Madewell Essentials

Monogram It

Denim Report

Events

Your double-tap-worthy pics

From denim recycling to
beach cleaning

clothing

DENIM

TEES & SWEATSHIRTS

SHIRTS & TOPS

SWEATERS

JACKETS & COATS

DRESSES

SKIRTS

PANTS & SHORTS

OVERALLS & JUMPSUITS

LEISURE & ACTIVE

intimates & pajamas

SALE

extended sizes

shoes, bags &
more

SHOES & BOOTS

BAGS

(see all)

totes
crossbody bags
backpacks
satchels & bucket bags
duffels
pouches & wallets
iphone cases & tech
bag accessories

JEWELRY

sunglasses

ACCESSORIES

GIFT & HOME

BEAUTY

Behind
The Scenes

Our Blog

Denim Report

#DENIMMADEWELL

#EVERYDAYMADEWELL

#Totewell

#WELLHEELED

About Madewell

The Transport Satchel
full size
The Transport Satchel
The Transport Satchel
The Transport Satchel
The Transport Satchel
Product Details
What goes into the zip version of our signature bag? Here it is by the numbers: 2 pieces of fine leather are used for the body of the satchel. 18 inches: the length of the removable crossbody strap (you can also carry it by the sturdy top handles). 3 interior pockets, including one with a zipper to keep your keys and phone at the ready. 8 hours: the length of time you'll need it between your morning and evening commute. How often you'll reach for it? 500 gazillion times.  
  • Made of vegetable-tanned leather that burnishes with wear into a beautiful patina.
  • Please note: As it is made of a natural material, each bag varies slightly in texture and color.
  • Zip closure.
  • 1 interior zip pocket, 2 interior pockets.
  • 18" removable crossbody strap.
  • 4 3/10" handle drop.
  • 11 4/5"H x 15 2/5"W (at top), 11 3/4"W (at base) x 5 1/2"D.
  • Import.
SHIPPING
Free shipping exclusively for Madewell Insiders
*For complete details, see our Shipping Policy.

The Transport Satchel

The Transport Satchel is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 361.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Please make this in all black I have been patiently waiting for you to make this fabulous bag with black handles. So many of my friends woulds also love this version. The tan handles are great with my casual outfits but would love an all black for work. The cross body strap is key for people like me who commute 30 min to work and need to keep my hands free. Great quality bag!
Date published: 2016-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect everyday bag I love my transport satchel - it looks smart, is roomy, has a few pockets for the essentials and is easy to carry crossbody or on the arm. It is soft and flexible, so that you can open it wide and find things easily inside. The monogram option is great for the egotistical (like me)!
Date published: 2016-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it love it love it Super happy with this purse, i read the reviews before buying it and i was worried about the handle being unfinished but when i got it, it was was totally finished so i think they fixed it since a lot of people werent happy with it. Definitely worth the money.
Date published: 2017-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect for work, school, and just hanging out! I use this bag everywhere and it is the best investment I've made in a bag. I can see myself using this bag for at least 5 years and it literally goes with every outfit I have on a day to day basis. The handle option is very comfortable and the best part is the side strap doesn't hang too low and drag on the ground, so I don't have to worry about dirtying it or stepping on it if I use the handles with the bag at my sides. The english saddle color may look rather light colored online, but in person it is a beautiful light brown color. There are so many tote bags nowadays but everywhere I look, I do not see a bag that comes close to the uniqueness as well as the quality. This bag is one of a kind and you really stand out from the crowd when wearing this bag because of the option of a side strap AND the handles! Thank you so much Madewell for creating this bag!! <33
Date published: 2016-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bag I love this bag because it's nice enough for work but not out of place in a casual environment. The taper towards the top allows it to rest comfortably on my hip. I took one star off for quality and value because the handle straps have an unfinished, rogue look about them. They don't seem to be the same leather as the bag. Which is minutiae but they made me wonder if I was overpaying.
Date published: 2016-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous bag, on the small side for a diaper bag I bought this for my wife on mother's day to replace our ailing diaper bag with something she could feel good lugging around and use beyond the diaper bag hauling years. The bag came in a pretty timely manner, and is absolutely beautiful and seems of excellent quality. But, it's a little small for all the bull you have to haul around with a sub-1-year-old child. Not entirely too small, just a nice tight fit if we're going to be out of the house for more than a two hours. For reference, for us that means 2 bottles, a half-dozen diapers and wipes, a change of clothes and a couple of things to keep our youngblood entertained. All in all, that doesn't really bother me, since I hate feeling like I'm carrying around half of my child's belongings every time we leave our hovel. And, I'm really happy to know that the gorgeous leather and gold monogram are going to beat up beautifully and provide my wife a handsome carryall after our daughter is big enough to carry around her own things.
Date published: 2016-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable, long lasting bag I have now had this purse for two years. The color is still as fresh as it was when I bought it. Although its shape has softened over time, it is still a chic, lovely purse. I use this bag every day. I have not noticed any fraying on my clothes due to the strap, as previous reviewers have mentioned. Although this bag is very roomy, it is not meant to hold large, heavy items. For example, this is not a laptop bag, even though it could technically fit your laptop. I tried putting my laptop in this bag a few times, but felt like any moment the bag would split in two. So, if you are looking for a bag that can endure a lot of weight, this is not the one. If you are like me, and wanted a beautiful leather bag for your every-day purse items, give this one a go. It will last you for a long time.
Date published: 2017-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must have bag to suit anyone's style! The Transport Tote lives up to its great reputation. Madewell indeed! This bag is the perfect accessory for many occasions. Luxurious quality leather with gold, brassy, solid hardware carried two or more ways with a removable across the body strap, make the Transport Tote ideal for commuting, shopping & any travelling. I love the lined interior, the 3 internal pockets & especially the dependable zip along the top; keeping all your goods safe. The size is perfect to carry all your essentials and more. You will fall in love with this too. This is the third Madewell bag in my collection & it has fast become my all time favourite. Love it.
Date published: 2016-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ...classic look especially with a monogram... I have this tote in black with brown strap and handles...love the "shade of black"....perfect size for day trips. I carry a camera and lenses and an iPad easily. Love the black monogram...gives it a classy look. The bag is comfy, convenient and well made...
Date published: 2015-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best bag I have ever purchased. This bag is perfect. It holds plenty, and the pockets allow easy access to my necessities. Some have complained about the roughness of the underside of the straps, but it is normal to have texture on full grain leather. I recommend a little leather conditioner on the back of the handles to help with this. I carry it on my arm, or the cross body. Worth every penny!
Date published: 2016-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Needed a great bag for work and found it! I have been searching for a "work appropriate" bag that is not too big or too formal. I also cannot handle bags that don't zip. SO, this bag has all of those things!!! It is stylish, work appropriate, big enough for my 13" laptop + phone, folders, wallet (but not too big), and it zips! I am so happy with my purchase - it is exactly what I've been looking for! Also, I had mine monogrammed and it puts this bag over the top expectations-wise. Love!
Date published: 2015-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing bag I have gotten compliment after compliment on this bag -- from total strangers, friends, co-workers, etc. It is seriously amazing, well constructed, and timeless! The saddle color goes with everything, and the length of the strap and the size are absolutely perfect. Well worth it!
Date published: 2016-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's perfect! I had to wait a few extra weeks because of the embossing but it was well worth the wait! It's so 'well made', I can't find anything negative to say about it. I was at a work conference and someone sitting in front of me had the transport satchel. At lunch break I asked her where she bought it from. She gave me the on-line address. The rest is history. Thank you for making such a good product at a reasonable price!
Date published: 2016-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great summer bag! I got this bag because I tend to carry more junk in the summer months. I've had it for 2 weeks now & am happy with my purchase so far. I was worried as other reviewers said that the leather scratches easily, but mine has not. Good quality. Shoulder strap is pretty comfortable. I load this baby down too... wallet, sun screen, giant DSLR camera with lens attached, swimsuit & coverup, as well as sunglasses case. It's heavy when I carry everything, but straps have held up well. The bag itself is also very light, which is a plus for me!! I also got mine with my initials stamped on it (not the gold). Looks good, perfect sizing on the letters as well.
Date published: 2015-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Travel Bag I plan on taking this on my European vacation next month. I love that I can wear it as a cross body bag, but I also have the straps for a little extra security if needed. Having something that zips is also a plus, too. Nice and roomy, and the two interior pockets are a plus. I do wish the straps were a little more finished, but I'm hoping that the leather will soften over time, and not feel quite so rough when against my skin. Overall, I'm really pleased with my purchase.
Date published: 2015-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Bag! Love this bag - lightweight and luxurious. Can fit iPad, water bottle, books and more (maybe my Airbook?). Would highly recommend ... monogram looks great!
Date published: 2015-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great everyday Satchel Love the space in this satchel. It stands up on its own. A big enough zippered compartment for my wallet and pockets for my iPhone 7Plus! Love that I can carry it as a tote for a more professional, dressy day or throw it over my shoulder with the strap for everyday casual.
Date published: 2017-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great everyday purse Although this purse is very plain, I love it. It is large but, not too heavy. This Madewell purse has a zipper compartment, which is not unusual, it also has two other compartments. The more the better in my books!
Date published: 2017-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Style and function I bought this bag to take on airplanes as my personal item and it's perfect!! It's big enough to hold my laptop and other things. The strap is really comfortable. And the style is really chic. I'm super pleased with my purchase.
Date published: 2017-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great size for work - fits my macbook, a jackets and wallet with room! I was debating a lot of this bag - i'm so happy i purchased it. It's very stylish and functional, and worth the money. I think it will last a long time
Date published: 2017-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality, cute bag I have used this every day for a few weeks and really like it. I'm a teacher, so I cram a lot of stuff in it! It seems like it will last a long time, and is pretty stylish/sophisticated looking.
Date published: 2017-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Much Love I'm loving this bag! I've been using the Transport Crossbody for over a year now but wanted something bigger for every day. This bag has great quality and durability and I can't wait to break it in and give it that worn leather look. The pockets on the inside are perfect and I especially like the zip pocket since the crossbody didn't offer this. It zips shut and has cloth lining on the inside which were my deterrent from buying the medium transport tote. It could double as a school bag or work bag but I'm currently not using it for either. Some downsides are the size, it's a little bigger than I need and can look bulky for short or petite woman. I also wasn't able to get mine monogrammed since it shipped from the store but first world problems.
Date published: 2017-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love. It's a sophisticated tote, clean lines, and holds shape. I love the carrying options for when I'm on the go. I know it will last years, and has a convenient number of pockets inside.
Date published: 2017-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Staple Piece in my Wardrobe I spent a year eyeing this bag and finally caved and bought it! It's amazing. It goes well with every outfit, is perfectly spacious but doesn't look ridiculously huge on me (I'm 5'1 so that is an issue with some large bags). The quality is excellent. Well worth the money!
Date published: 2017-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful - just what I wanted! The classic style and beauty and excellent quality will take me through years of enjoyment - and that's exactly what I wanted! I couldn't be happier!
Date published: 2017-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I was looking for I wanted to upgrade my work bag and I've had my eye on this satchel for a while. Once I discovered a colleague has this bag, loves it AND our work laptops fit in it, I bought it immediately. Its been a few weeks now and I love it so far. What I was looking for: quality leather material overall, fit my 12.5" laptop (its a little tight entering the zipper but it fits fine once inside), can carry over my shoulder (messenger strap allows this option) and the straps wouldn't be the kind that dig into my arm/shoulder, and had a zipper top so everything doesn't spill out when i put it under my seat on a plane. With all of these requirements and <$200, it's perfect. For my next trip I worry a little that I might not be able to fit quite as much stuff as I'm used to carrying but I'll make it work. So far I love it for daily use.
Date published: 2017-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yup another winner I own the classic transport tote and when the crossbody one went on sale I debated for days whether or not when I should get it. But I'm so glad I did. The crossbody makes it easier to carry around a laptop and other things I need. The leather is beautiful and there are more pockets inside. My only complaint would be I couldn't get my initials on it but overall very happy.
Date published: 2017-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bag Ordered this with my initials monogrammed on it. LOVE IT! The style is classic and it goes great with everything. It's a great everyday bag and even travel.
Date published: 2017-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I want one in every color! This is my fifth Madewell bag and my second Transport satchel. This is the perfect size everyday bag for me- not too large but big enough to hold everything I need. The leather is soft but sturdy and the zipper closure keeps it from dumping the contents at inopportune times. I'm waiting for more colors to become available because I intend to own them all!
Date published: 2017-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Black and brown satchel Love this bag!! It goes with everything and has a timeless look.
Date published: 2017-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality I bought this bag a year ago and my daughter uses it every day and it still looks great! So i just bought another one for her sisters 25th birthday . She wanted one also. They love it and theres plenty of room but not too big.
Date published: 2017-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bag Loved this bag. It was just as I expected it to be. The quality is very nice and lots of space and pockets inside.
Date published: 2017-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The perfect bag I've had this bag for over a year now, and I LOVE it. I use it every day because I like bigger bags that can hold a lot (when necessary, I can fit my 13'' Macbook inside). It has a zippered compartment and two smaller open pockets. I have the bag in black and it easily matches whatever I'm wearing. i think this bag is a worthy investment!
Date published: 2017-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sooo Rooomy I love the Transport Satchel for its roominess. It fits a ton of essentials, and can be used as a carry-on travel bag or a work bag. There are 2 slip pockets that fit my iPhone 6 Plus and a zippered one for more privacy. The saddle color I received was fairly dark and oh so beautiful, and the leather was supple, not too stiff or floppy. I'm sure the more I use it, the softer it will get with age. I'm looking forward to using this satchel for a long time.
Date published: 2017-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Bag This bag is perfect. On the larger side but how cute it looks makes up for that. I use this bag when working and my laptop fits right in with all my day to day items. Perfect for traveling and holding a lot of items.
Date published: 2017-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous satchel I ordered this satchel for my daughter and it is absolutely gorgeous ! I had it monogrammed for her and that just made it even more special. Everything about it is perfect...the color, the style, the site, the monogram and the fast shipping ! We are very pleased !!! Thank you !
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE it! I had it monogrammed and it looks so snazzy. Perfect size. I'm super happy with it.
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I have the cross body smaller bag that I use all the time. I got the satchel for traveling and when I need more room in the bag. I'll be using it this month. I love the quality of the leather and the rich tan color. Tan comes in so many other shades with other brands but like this one the best.
Date published: 2017-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice bag for travel Nice bag for travel. Holds my iPad, books , itinerary and personal info for traveling.
Date published: 2017-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful bag This is a picture perfect bag, in that it's gorgeous in photos. I love the size. Just a couple things ... it's squeaks when I walk , the rubbing of the metal on the bag idk why and then the strap won't stay on my shoulder I have to wear as a crossbody only :/ but it's still the perfect size and gorgeous I still wear it everyday. But I'll be purchasing the actual tote so I don't have to wear a crossbody all the time :)
Date published: 2017-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Size, Excellent Quality I'm very happy with this bag! I like the flexibility to switch between carrying on my arm, to shoulder, to cross body, depending on my outfit. The quality is great! Inner pockets are perfect & simple: phone, sunglasses, lipstick. And I love my initials in gold! Well done!
Date published: 2017-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful & soft bag My daughter saw this bag at Nordstroms, fell in love with it. I purchased it for her new job with her initials embossed on the front. The bag came quicker than promised and was beautiful. The embossed letter were the perfect addition.
Date published: 2017-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everyday bag I'm very surprised by all the negative reviews. I was hesistant to get the bag because many complained about the shoulder strap ruining your tops but I have not had that problem, perhaps they modified it. I typically change out my handbag weekly, however, I have used this bag EVERYDAY for the past 4 months!! It goes with everything! The only thing I would say that is negative is sometimes the metal parts squeak when I'm walking and I have to manually adjust it so that the noise stops. Other than that, I LOVE this bag!
Date published: 2017-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great year round bag!! Love this bag!!! It's beautifully classic, not to big not to small bag that will last forever!
Date published: 2017-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loves it! This bag is great. I had my eye on it for a while. It looks professional just over the shoulder and with a more casual look as a cross body. It fits everything I need for the day and the leather feels very nice. I have the bucket bag, but but this is different and little more functional. I love love it! I am working on collecting all the Madewell Bags. 2 so far plus the clutch! haha. :) Get it! doooo it!
Date published: 2017-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my satchel. I bought this bag in the olive green color when it was available and was a little worried about the color possibly transferring as others had mentioned, but I've had the bag for over a month and it hasn't transferred once. I also don't mind the raw inside of the straps. I wear sweaters every day and they haven't affected them at all. It's a great size that fits my MacBook Air and several other essentials. It seems like it will stand the test of time, but only time will tell that of course. I recommend this as a work/commute bag 100%.
Date published: 2017-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bag Perfection This is the perfect bag! It has structure which is sometimes hard to find, is big enough for all my stuff but not too big that you can't find what you're looking for! I love monograms so the fact that I could add that was the best! I love, love, love this bag!
Date published: 2017-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A beautiful satchel This bag was on my daughter's "Wish List" for Christmas and she was very happy to receive it. It is of excellent quality, good design, and I think it is good value for the cost (also got extra saving on sale price at checkout). I would definitely recommend this satchel.
Date published: 2017-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bag! This is a great bag, very stylish. The leather is nice, not necessarily the highest quality, but seems durable. I wish the handles were longer.
Date published: 2017-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gift Very professional looking , given as a gift for my daughter in grad school
Date published: 2016-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The most beautiful bag! This bag is so beautifully made. It's super roomy and holds a lot. It is comfortable to carry and is a nice crossbody bag too...it's made to last!
Date published: 2016-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This bag!!! This bag is so beautiful and so well made! I've had it a week and have received so much compliments already! It's the best bag I've ever had!
Date published: 2016-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it It's more than I expected. I love it!!!! I plan on buying it in another color.
Date published: 2016-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and functional The bag is absolutely beautiful and has a lot of space for my belongings. It is durable and comfortable to walk around with. I bought it with the intention of using it as an alternative to a backpack for going to/from class. My only complaint is that I cannot fit my laptop in the bag, but the smaller size of the bag is really useful.
Date published: 2016-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Fall Bag This is my favorite bag I've ever purchased! It feels classic yet stylish. It hold all my stuff and my toddlers.
Date published: 2016-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new favorite bag I've been searching for a semi-large bag with a zipper and interior pockets to no avail. This bag is perfect! Very roomy inside, yet the three interior pockets help to keep my stuff organized. The zip closure keeps everything secure, so it's great for work but chic enough to transition seamlessly to dinner/nighttime. I love that it has both handles and an adjustable shoulder/crossbody strap. I wear it both ways. I got the gold foil monogram and it looks gorgeous. Absolutely love this bag!
Date published: 2016-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Birthday Gift LOVE my satchel. I got the leather (brown/camel?) color and it was monogrammed with the gold foil. PERFECT size and there were no color discolorations. Absolutely perfect. The straps are awesome and the long strap is adjustable. Roomy on the inside- it can be heavy, but only if you happen to throw in the kitchen sink. I had my usual purse stuff: wallet, cosmetic bag, phones, etc and had to throw in 2 bottles of wine and a water bottle- still not super heavy to carry. The monogram adds a sweet little touch. Great bag for work or play.
Date published: 2016-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great zipped tote! I love totes, but many times I'd prefer a tote be a bit more polished and include a zipper so my belongings would be safer. So I got this transport tote in the dark Cabernet color about 9 months ago and I love it. It's sturdy, has a high quality zipper, and three great pockets. The only thing I would change is for the bag handles be double thick, as they currently are on the thin side. But love the bag so much that I just got it in the English saddle color. No doubt will get a lot of use.
Date published: 2016-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful! I love that this bag is one that is versital and can go with anything and everything! I haved used it every day since receiving it! Great quality and a great bag!
Date published: 2016-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for Everyday & Travel I bought this bag for my trip to Ireland and is now my everyday bag. I took it with me for 9 days of sight seeing from hiking to bar hopping. Security was my main reason for purchasing this bag. With a zipper and cross body strap, it was secure and comfortable to hold on to all day. The quality is top notch, all leather. The more you wear this bag the more beautiful it becomes. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2016-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bag! This bag is amazing. It fits my Macbook Pro 13" perfectly just sideways. I've seen past comments saying how the straps ruining peoples clothes and how they straps are becoming loose but I wouldn't recommend using this as an everyday bag. I change my bags everyday to ensure that i don't have these problems. If you don't use this bag everyday and if you take care of it, its a great purchase!
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love her! She's such a pretty color and the quality is great. She is also the perfect size. I am a happy camper!
Date published: 2016-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Enough room? Yes, very roomie inside. This will be my travel purse and I am very happy with it.
Date published: 2016-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy bag and beautifully made Great size for daily walking to work, carries laptop, lunch and shoes easily and without worry.
Date published: 2016-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Color and details are excellent! I was so pleased with how the monogram turned out as this was a college graduation gift for my daughter! The color is really pretty and the stitching details and hardware are solid. Thank you for this incredible product!
Date published: 2016-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Bag Love Love Love this bag. The only thing that would make it so PERFECT is if it had a pocket on the outside of the bag, (on the frontside or the backside).
Date published: 2016-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality bag! Great product with Madewell's excellent quality standards! Leather is supple, soft, and a beautifully, rich color. I purchased black bag with brown strap and handles - super versatile and looks extra special with my monogram in gold! An amazing value for the price I paid, and I use it daily from the office to social outings. Useful size and has great storage compartments inside - was eyeing for a while and so glad I finally bought it!
Date published: 2016-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bag for work I was looking for a work bag that had enough space to carry all my stuff but also looked good enough to carry around the city. The bag has been great, it has enough space to pack all my stuff and has been great to carry around. The leather is very soft and looks great with everything.
Date published: 2016-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks classy! Luckily, I bought this bag on sale, otherwise, I would have been hesitant to spend close to 200 dollars on a bag. I use this bag mainly to carry my notebooks since it is a tad too small for my macbook. With this bag, you typically have to wear certain clothes with it to complete the look, which means no gym attire.
Date published: 2016-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great satchel for the price! This is a beautifully designed and crafted tote. Just love it; very chic. The adjustable strap is just great; you can truly have it fit your body or what you need it for. The strap leather for the handles could be a little thicker but all and all it's a great quality for the price. Nice interior pockets as well; looks great with jeans and of course I did get the monogram which is a great little touch. Perfect for summer with leather sandals. & great to hold business folders, etc. and iPad.
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As always, perfection I own several Madewell bags, and I couldn't resist getting this one in gray with my monogram in gold. I absolutely love it. It's not too big to use as an everyday purse, and it has pockets on both sides for smaller items like cell phones and keys, so they don't get lost in the bag. It's also big enough, though, for days when I need to have a book, bottle of water, etc. with me. I also love that it zips up, so things are protected when I'm out and about, and nothing falls out. I lengthened the strap a bit from where it came "set", and I usually wear it as a crossbody bag. I've gotten a ton of compliments already!
Date published: 2016-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bag! Love this bag! It will last forever and get better with age.❤️
Date published: 2016-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Practically perfect in every way I needed a crossbody bag for travel - so one large enough to hold things like a bottle of water, umbrella and book and this bag is the perfect size for full day outings. I was told at the store it was large enough to hold a laptop (13 inch, presumably), but I think it would be a tight squeeze. Color and leather quality are to the high standard I hold Madewell, and the price is always right.
Date published: 2016-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome bag!! I've had this bag for about 9 months now and LOVE it! It's the perfect size; fits what I need without being too big. Still looks new. I get tons of compliments on it.
Date published: 2016-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it! I ordered the bag with the monogram because I was sure I would not want to return it. I have NEVER done that before. I love the size, it's not too big for everyday but big enough that I can get my laptop in it if I need to. The gold monogram gives it a really nice, subtle pop of gold which I appreciate. I was worried about the leather getting at all wet but yesterday a few drops of water got on it and they just beaded up and I wiped them off, no problem and no spot. Looks great with so many outfits and I really feel it elevates my look.
Date published: 2016-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Crossbody Style Tote I have been eyeing The Transport Satchel for a few years now, when I saw the sleek charcoal color on sale a knew I had to finally scoop it up. I love that this bag has a tote bag feel but can be worn as a crossbody and I love that it has a zipper. The size is perfect for a work bag. I personalized the bag with the blind imprint stamp and love the way my initials look, I was worried the foil stamp might not last and wasn't sure about the gold or silver color with the charcoal color. Overall a great investment.
Date published: 2016-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Basic bag I wanted a plain, basic tote free of labels and embellishments. This is it. Perfect size, nice lining, very classy looking. My only complaint is that the shoulder strap doesn't stay on my shoulder very well, but I hold onto the bag.
Date published: 2016-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great graduation gift My daughter loved everything about the sleek charcoal transport satchel--the color, size, having both the handles & strap, interior pockets, and Mom loved the sale price. We have long been a fan of Madewell. Excellent style and quality!
Date published: 2016-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great color I've been eyeing a Madewell tote for awhile and when this gray color was on sale I took advantage and purchased. It's a great size for those who like larger purses. Wish I had the ability to remove the wider shoulder strap. I don't like how it moves around on when you use it as a cross body. Wish it came with a cloth bag to protect it when not in use.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Saw it at the Sohoo Store in my last trip to NYC but couldn't get it. Had the chance to buy it on line. It's perfect. Thank you.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT! I bought the charcoal grey satchel and it is a good size and light weight which important because we all know how heavy a purse can be after putting things in it. It's nice the bag is not heavy beforehand. I LOVE LOVE LOVE the color. I plan on switching to it this weekend. The cross body style will be good as I walk to and from work. Now I want more of the Transport styles.
Date published: 2016-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought this for my Mother as a Gift This is my Mom's go-to bag now in the true black. I purchased it with the intention of buying her something more chic that she could also fit her iPad in. This fits the bill. This bag is a classic and transient of age, so anyone can sport it. The leather is soft, but the bag has also retained a nice structure with some use. Overall, I love it! It's worth the price tag, even though it may seem hefty. Grab it while it's on sale!
Date published: 2016-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect size for every day I already had the Transport Crossbody, but wanted something a little bigger. It's just slightly larger than I expected, but still the perfect size for every day use. I carry it to and from work and it leaves me room to stash away some additional work items and still have room to spare! Also, the grey is the perfect shade of grey. Goes with any and everything! Pockets inside are great to help keep things organized too.
Date published: 2016-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect I am SO happy I got this bag. It looks exactly as it is pictured, and Madewell did a great job with my exchange-- really great customer service. The leather is high-quality, and so comfortable. The size is perfect for work-- fits all the things I would put in a purse, plus a laptop and notebook for when I travel. I'm excited to continue using this bag for a long time, and will definitely be purchasing more leather goods from Madewell.
Date published: 2016-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bag! This is my first Madewell bag, and I love it! I debated over whether to go for the regular transport tote or the zip, and I went with this one because I wanted the zipper and the crossbody strap. I do wish the handles were longer and could go over the shoulder, but overall I'm in love! It's well made, and I can fit all of my everyday items in it with plenty of room to spare. I can put my Macbook Pro in (without a case - the opening is too small for a sleeve) when I need to carry work items.
Date published: 2016-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite bag I've ever owned I've had the English Saddle version for about two months now, and I honestly don't want to use another bag ever again. It may seem a bit stiff and boring when you first get it, but with some wear and breaking in, it becomes so beautiful and comfortable to carry. For the price it is an incredible deal - I've had more expensive leather bags that I didn't like nearly as much. I hope you guys never stop making it because I definitely would buy another one if I wear this one out! The bag fits my 13" MacBook Pro but I don't use it to carry the laptop too often, as I feel it may be a bit too much strain on the strap where it connects to the bag. That would be an easy thing to fix, but I don't want to be too rough on the bag.
Date published: 2016-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the color Great purse...I love the small pockets inside and the cross body option. The English Saddle color goes well with everything.
Date published: 2016-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great multi-occasion bag Bought this bag in the english saddle color to use as a carry-on for trip to Europe. It's the perfect size for the plane and the zipper makes it a safe option for walking around crowded streets. It fits a ton, and is really well-made.
Date published: 2016-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE I love this bag! I have been searching for a functional tote for a while now and I could never commit to anything, mainly because the ones I loved cost about $1,000,000. But when I saw this one I got excited! It's not too flashy, kinda plain, but I put a monogram on it so it's just different enough. It's made with beautiful leather and it is constructed well. It's not overly big but I can fit tons of stuff in it. I love the fact that it has a zippered closure as I am super paranoid about losing my things. I've only had it a couple weeks now and have received so many compliments already. I'm extremely happy with my purchase!
Date published: 2016-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous Bag! I bought this bag for my daughter's college graduation. I did the blind imprint with her initials and it looks great. So subtle and classy. I literally got the bag about 1 week after I ordered it-even with the initials added. She'll be off to med school shortly and I know she'll love this! I wish it was less expensive but I know it's worth it and I couldn't afford to buy it during the sale. Thanks for a great product! I want to save up for one for myself. :)
Date published: 2016-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So professional, yet soft and flexible, Perfect for work, travel and leisure! I have searched for many months for a good tote for work. This is the perfect handbag for me. It is soft and elegant, holds files, a laptop, and has nice pockets inside, and it zips! Nothing can fall out (like they do with my slouchy purses). My tote is the Charcoal color. Not too dark, but not too light either. Goes with everything.
Date published: 2016-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for most occasions This bag is big enough to fit my laptop and all the essentials. It has gone with nearly every outfit I've put together that wasn't formal since purchasing it. Also- check for it to go on sale. The black version was on sale right after I purchased it and I was a little bummed.
Date published: 2016-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, basic tote! LOVE my Madewell tote! It's the perfect size...large enough to hold it ALL but surprisingly easy to find what's in there! Two great pockets for sunglasses and phone inside! Leather is really nice looking quality as are the brass hooks and zipper! I really like the detachable shoulder strap too. LOVE the embossed personalization-makes it look extra special! I've seen totes that cost twice as much that don't look as good!!!
Date published: 2016-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing bag This bag is durable, great quality leather, the perfect size and easy and comfortable to wear across your body. Worth all the money!
Date published: 2016-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice leather I love this purse. My daughter is using this for the most amazing diaper bag. It is beautiful.
Date published: 2016-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and Versatile Beautiful, well-made bag. Great versatility being able to carry it as a cross body with the strap or just on the arm. Great size and holds several items. The zip top is great and allows me to be able to close the bag while walking downtown or in a crowded location. Great purchase and I would certainly buy more Madewell bags.
Date published: 2016-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great bag quality Love the bag for durability and style, but wish it came in more sizes and colors. I would have preferred a larger bag as I need more room, but overall it is a great bag. The deeper bag didn't come with a long strap so that wouldn't have worked for the weight I carry. Also I would have liked to see more color choices, was looking for this bag in the cocoa brown.
Date published: 2016-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally found 'the bag' for me! I am delighted with this bag. I ordered it in 'cabernet' and it arrived quickly (I'm in the UK) and was carefully packaged, The colour is a deep, dark, rich red, and the leather is soft, grainy and beautiful quality. The bag is the perfect size for carrying my iPad, book, make-up, wallet, keys etc. It's not too heavy, so if I need to carry extra things there is space and it doesn't weigh a tonne! It is a great quality bag, simple and elegant, but also very practical and at a reasonable price.
Date published: 2016-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Full Price/Fair Trade I paid full price. For a cheapskate, that speaks volumes. The "Zip Transport Tote" is classic & clean, & will retain its look for the ages. It's got glam, style & function & that's what I demand at a fair price, & by gum, I couldn't be more delighted with this purchase. Well made, Madewell ~
Date published: 2016-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My hold everything commuter I've been searching for a tote large enough to fit all my personal things, lunch, kids snacks, notebook, water bottle and laptop that won't spill out. This tote is a dream. Not only does she hold (yes,my tote is referred to as a she) everything but has a sturdy zipper to keep all the contents inside! The quality of the leather as well as the craftsmanship is above outstanding. The shoulder strap is adjustable and makes life with 2 little ones easier. I only wish I could customize with a monogram but it's not available for this tote. This tote is perfect for the career mom, me. The only con, is that it looks small when you first get it but it actually holds more than it looks. I absolutely love the Zip transport tote.
Date published: 2016-01-24
  • y_2017, m_11, d_21, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_361
  • loc_en_US, sid_B2135, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_madewell