This Just In

NEW ARRIVALS

Spring 2018 Denim

Looks We Love

Labels We Love

The Madewell Essentials

Monogram It

Denim Report

Events

Your double-tap-worthy pics

From denim recycling to
beach cleaning

clothing

DENIM

TEES & SWEATSHIRTS

SHIRTS & TOPS

SWEATERS

JACKETS & COATS

DRESSES

SKIRTS

PANTS & SHORTS

OVERALLS & JUMPSUITS

LEISURE & ACTIVE

intimates & pajamas

SWIM & BEACHWEAR

SALE

extended sizes

shoes, bags &
more

SHOES & BOOTS

BAGS

(see all)

totes
crossbody bags
backpacks
satchels & bucket bags
duffels
pouches & wallets
iphone cases & tech
bag accessories

JEWELRY

sunglasses

ACCESSORIES

GIFT & HOME

BEAUTY

Behind
The Scenes

Our Blog

Denim Report

#DENIMMADEWELL

#EVERYDAYMADEWELL

#Totewell

#WELLHEELED

About Madewell

The Medium Transport Tote
full size
The Medium Transport Tote
The Medium Transport Tote
The Medium Transport Tote
Product Details
What goes into our brand-new Medium Transport Tote? Here it is by the numbers: 2 pieces of fine leather are used for the body. 2 ways to carry: with the top handles or the detachable shoulder strap. 1 exterior pocket for those things you gotta grab fast. 1 interior side zip pocket to keep your keys, phone and wallet at the ready. 24: the number of hours in a day that this bag looks cool. How often you'll reach for it? 500 gazillion times.
  • Made of semi vegetable-tanned leather with a softly worn waxed finish that deepens into a distinctive patina.
  • Please note: As it is made of a natural material, each bag varies slightly in texture and color.
  • Interior pocket.
  • 8 1/5" handle drop.
  • 13 3/4" shoulder strap.
  • 12 1/5"H x 11"W x 5 1/2"D.
  • Import.
SHIPPING
Free shipping exclusively for Madewell Insiders
*For complete details, see our Shipping Policy.

The Medium Transport Tote

The Medium Transport Tote is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 254.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The bag of all bags I've been looking for a bag for sometime that was perfect for me, to no avail, then I was watching YouTube' seaweed kisses and saw this. I couldn't be happier. It arrived fast and is literally perfect. A sturdy well made bag that says nothing other than quality. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2017-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The perfect bag Plenty of room and so well made! This bag is the perfect size and the leather is like butter. I will want another in a different color soon. This is my go to bag for work or play.
Date published: 2017-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect size I love my new bag. The only thing I might change would be to have a zipper across the top. Otherwise, it is perfect. The brown leather color is beautiful, and looks like a bag that would be much more expensive. It holds quite a bit, and is perfect for travel. I do love my first Madewell product.
Date published: 2017-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tote This tote is so great and the light tan color is so pretty! I've received many compliments! Great price too!!
Date published: 2017-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple Bag is plain black simple but looks different from other brands.
Date published: 2017-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Bag! I love, love my new tote! I bought it in brown and just ordered a second one in black! It is perfect for my work laptop and meeting notebooks as well as it seconds as my purse so I am not carrying so many bags! Great investment because the look and quality are fantastic.
Date published: 2017-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Perfect Bag Not too big, not too small! The perfect bag for everyday.
Date published: 2017-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Every day Tote Great item-so happy with it. It is the perfect size for someone that is short and needs an every day bag but does not want to be overwhelmed by a massive bag.
Date published: 2016-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect work bag Was hoping it was a bit bigger to fit my laptop but other than that it is the perfect work tote. I'm in love. My only regret is not getting it monogrammed
Date published: 2016-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great carryall Been wanting a leather tote for awhile. Liked my sisters transport bag but worried it was too big. Saw the medium, bought it and LOVE it! It's the perfect size. The outside pocket is great. I think she wishes she had mine now!
Date published: 2016-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT This bag is the perfect size! Not too big not too small. You can throw your water bottle in and still be stylish. It's two bags in one. A tote and a crossbody.
Date published: 2016-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The perfect bag I have been looking to replace my go-to bag for a while now and was so happy to find this one. I absolutely love everything about it. The inside and exterior pockets. The color. The leather. Perfection.
Date published: 2016-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Enjoy using A nice medium size tote...lots of room for everything you need...the outside pocket is a nice touch...very useful...
Date published: 2016-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fourth transport tote I love this bag. I also have the regular transport tote in the cognac color, the crossbody, and the weekender. This is a perfect in-between size - I can still carry my laptop, wallet, planner, a couple of books, and a snack. I use this bag whenever I don't need to carry as much as my regular transport tote. As much as I love the transport tote, it is too big and easy to lose things in unless you are carrying a lot. I love the addition of the outside pocket, but if it has anything in it, it flaps open quite a bit. I would not use it to carry valuables. I would also like it if the zipper pocket area was bigger, but overall it is a solid bag that can be casual or professional. I haven't had any issues with the color running or weird smells.
Date published: 2017-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bag for book lovers! I adore this bag! I carry multiple books and notebooks with me wherever I go, and this bag fits them so well, including my other everyday belongings. I can also wear it as a cross body pretty comfortably, but not as long as a smaller messenger bag or cross body. (I'm 5' 5") I didn't have this happen to me personally, but I read several reviews that this bag bled dye onto clothes. I bought a cheap leather treatment online and treated it as soon as I bought it. (Granted I would have anyway to keep it nicer.) I have never had it bleed onto any of my clothes. Moral of the story.. this bag is amazing and the perfect size!
Date published: 2017-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't Change a Thing (Well, more colors!) - Feel: It's soft and slouchy yet stands up on its own (after months of daily use). It is light yet sturdy. - Organization: I can easily throw in my MacBook, files, and a cosmetic pouch with room to spare. The inner zip pocket is perfect for the wallet. I put my phone and lipstick in the outer pocket. - Esthetics: The lines are clean and modern. Black bags always bored me until this one. - Fairness: As a petite, the Transport Tote has been to big and this is a must-have fix. I feel for the taller people complaining that the strap is too short. But guess what, most totes are sized for you already. Let us tiny people have our properly sized bag! (perhaps Madewell can sell a crossbody strap separately?) or choose length at checkout? - Wear: I actually put my strap on the shortest setting and wear it on one shoulder or use the double straps on my shoulder. I really hope that Madewell leaves this perfect bag alone and just makes it in different colors for ever and ever.
Date published: 2017-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice bag, sturdy I bought this bag but was nervous because I'd read all of the reviews about it bleeding. I loved the style and size, so I bought it anyway and I'm glad I did. I do carry a small canvas pouch inside, and the dye has rubbed off a bit onto that pouch, but I am not experiencing it bleeding onto my clothes. I sort of wish that the top zippered, but other than that the bag is perfect. I just returned from a trip to Mexico City and the bag was easy to keep safe, carried a lot, and stood up to a harrowing full speed run through an airport without breaking or spilling my things all over the floor.
Date published: 2017-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Version of Madewell Tote I have owned the original Madewell Transport tote for 4 years strong and love it. When I first spied this bag online I knew I didn't necessarily need it, but I just couldn't stay away. Then I saw it in store, and game over. I love checking out items in person (especially leather bags), and the leather on the one I chose was wonderfully broken in. I love the big exterior pocket and the interior zipper pocket. The shoulder strap is the perfect length to allow the bag to hang not too low, not too high at your side. It really is the perfect version and size of the Madewell tote to date. Buy it. Just buy it. I will probably get it in the black also. It is just so chic and can be dressed up or down.
Date published: 2016-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for Petites! Hooray! Madewell listened up and created a medium tote. Oh the joy. It's perfect for petites! This vegi tan stuff is soft and supple to the touch. It is a bit slouchy out of the gate. I suspect the saddle color one will discolor with tons of use unlike the plastic shiny leather older sibling version. The saddle color does have a bunch of ready made creases which are unavoidable with leather and has beautiful brown highs and lows. If you're particular about perfect uniform colored leather you should go for the black one. Like the previous reviewer said, this is a MUST buy. I'm debating picking up the black one too.
Date published: 2016-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect sized tote-- an instant classic I debated purchasing this tote for a few months, because I was worried that the strap would be too short, the bag would be too big, or that there would be a lot of colour transfer. All of these concerns were quickly banished when I got the bag. The quality is truly beautiful, and the colour (black) really hasn't transferred much; the inside rubbed a tiny bit on a pale notebook, but my clothes have been fine. The cross-body strap is short- definitely more a shoulder-bag. Anyway, I love this bag and can't wait to take it travelling and to work each day- I suspect I'll be getting a ton of wear out of this.
Date published: 2017-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect size! I've been looking for a classic leather bag for an everyday bag and I stumbled upon this beauty! It fits my 13'' laptop (well 1/2 inch sticks out a little bit) along with the essentials. I originally had my eye on the transport bag, but it was really big when I tried it on. Like it said it other reviews, this bag is perfect for petites.
Date published: 2016-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Perfect Commuter Bag I bought this after returning the Lisbon O-Ring Bucket Bag. I recently started commuting on the train to work, so I need a bag that can carry a book, my lunch, and my usual handbag items, without being massive and a pain to carry around. This fits the bill! It's structured enough for me to be able to organize the placement of my things, doesn't lose its shape when I fill it with books and lunchbags, and can work as a daytime purse as well. Plus the cognac color helps to break up my (almost always) all-black outfits. The leather quality is not as amazing as another one of my Madewell bags, but it's still soft and supple. As with my other leather bags, I will condition it weekly and waterproof it monthly to keep it going.
Date published: 2016-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love, love, love, love, love For years I have liked the look of the transport totes but couldn't make myself get one because of the size, which for me is a little big for an everyday bag. This is PERFECT. The size is lovely - not too big, but roomy enough for everything I need (water bottle, planner, makeup bag, file folders & notebooks) and it looks amazing. I love the shoulder strap but it is definitely too short to be worn crossbody if that's what you're looking for. The outside pocket is useful plus it adds a bit of visual interest to the bag. I've had it for about a month and I'm just as in love with it as I was when i first got it. I'll be using this one for a looooong time. :)
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Convenient I love that there's a longer shoulder strap. The english saddle is a perfect color and I'm sure the leather will age well!
Date published: 2016-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bag! This is such a great size tote if you're looking for something a bit smaller than the original Transport. There is plenty of room inside and the outside pocket is really convenient. I picked it up in English Saddle and it's just beautiful!
Date published: 2016-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from it was love at first sight!!! what don't i love about this bag???...hmmm...NOTHING!!! from the get go, I love the design, the size, the colour (English Saddle); it was soft from the time I received it and it gets softer with use. After 3 days, I ordered the mini transport crossbody (only cos it has a zip closure)
Date published: 2017-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect bag! I LOVE this bag! I bought the English Saddle and it is a gorgeous color. The bag is structured enough to stand, but yet flexible enough to be comfortable when wearing. I can fit my wallet, a water bottle, cosmetic bag(s), gloves and many other items comfortably inside. Love the outside pocket for my phone and the inside zippered pocket for my work badge... The crossbody strap is a little shorter than I would prefer (I am 5'9"), but I would rather it hit where it does than banging around on my hip as some other bags do. I just have to also add that Madewell customer service is top notch. I had a slight problem with my order and they more than made it right with super fast delivery.
Date published: 2017-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this tote! The only complaint is this is not a crossbody. I'm 5'7 and 130 lbs and this sets under my bra. The strap is super short so don't buy this for simply a crossbody cuz it's not. Otherwise it's a great tote, perfect size!
Date published: 2017-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tote with perfect size! Madewell finally made this medium sized transport tote! I was always hesitant to get the original transport tote because it looked huge on me. I am 5'3 and petite, and this bag is at perfect size. It can't really be a crossbody, but I can carry it either with the top handles or the shoulder strap. I ordered the bag with the monogram so I just got my very first personalized bag! The English Saddle color is perfect and goes with everything. And my bag doesn't bleed color onto my clothes. It's just a perfect carry-all for fall and winter!
Date published: 2016-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Instant classic. A MUST OWN for every Madewell Addict! I loved this bag from the moment I saw it. The outside slip pocket is a great addiction. I might be reaching for this more often that my other size transports!!
Date published: 2016-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect size, great quality I purchased the black version of this bag, and I have not noticed any color transfer - however I started wearing the bag after I used leather milk to treat it, and there was some color transfer in that process. I love love love the size of this bag. It is manageable for everyday, but I also recently used this on a business trip and it easily handled my laptop, various adapters/chargers, my large wallet, roughly 200 pages of presentations, and the necessities (keys, phone, etc.)! The addition of the shoulder strap was key for me, and the outside pocket is perfect for keeping my necessities within easy reach.
Date published: 2017-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally - a perfect size Madewell Transport Tote. I've loved the transport totes for ages and have tried to use the big one with a shoulder strap, as well as the small cross-body version and neither worked, one being way too big and the other too small. I found this tote and immediately ordered it and love it. I'd feel more secure if it had additional binding at the bottom, you can see through the stitching, but all Madewell reviews for long term users are positive, so I'm giving it a try. I love the size. Love it so far.
Date published: 2016-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! THIS TOTE IS THE PERFECT SIZE!! I have the classic transport tote which I love, but let's face it, I don't really need a bag that big in my life every day. Maybe it's better suited for some people who carry lots of things (moms, students, pack rats), but for this working girl in her mid-20s, this medium tote is the perfect size. It's big enough to carry things like wallets, cosmetic cases, snacks, small notebook, and a water bottle. If you really wanted, you could fit a 13-inch laptop in here, but it might stick out a little bit. I got this bag in black and I think it looks so beautiful and timeless. I'm confident that it will age well, just as my other Madewell bags have done. If you're on the fence about this one, it's totally worth it! Buy it - you won't regret a thing. TIP: If possible, try to buy it in-store so that you can pick out the exact bag you want, as they all have different character :)
Date published: 2017-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yes, finally! Madewelll read my mind with this one. I love the Transport tote, but the original size is too big for everyday use. The Mini is too small. This Medium Tote is just right. It is the perfect size for everyday, especially if you are petite. The leather is beautiful and the front pocket is a great addition. Thank you Madewell!
Date published: 2016-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect everyday Tote Have been eyeing the medium transport for a while now. I am SO happy that I decided to get one. It's the perfect goldilocks size for me, not too big not too small; just right. I got mine in black and love the classic look and style of it. If you're debating, just do it.
Date published: 2017-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Tote-ally" in love with this bag! With soft, beautiful leather and easy to manage straps, this tote is a perfect bag for everyday use. I love the size-not too big, but big enough for everything I need, including an iPad or book, or a few diapers for the baby! This was my first Madewell purchase, but I'm already cruising the website for the next one. I added the monogram in silver to complete the look and couldn't be happier!
Date published: 2016-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Bag I can't express how much I love this bag. I have tried almost every style bag Madewell has made, and this BY FAR is my favorite! It just looks so beautiful in pictures, the quality is excellent, & it's the perfect size for me. :)
Date published: 2016-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The everything tote This is my first ever Madewell tote purchase, and I couldn't be happier! I have received numerous compliments on this bag already. I love the small pocket inside & in front. You can really organize your goodies well. For being the medium size, it fits my 13' MacBook, books/journals and water bottle all in one trip. Mine was a little worn looking when I purchased it but I actually think it gives it a little more character.
Date published: 2017-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Everyday Bag I've been carrying this tote every day for about a year. It holds everything I could possibly want to carry around with me, day-to-day and for traveling. It has aged very nicely, even after my 5 year old scratched it with a paperclip and a friend's dog walked on it. I get compliments on this bag almost every day, and when I say it's from Madewell the response is always, "of course it is!"
Date published: 2017-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this piece I absolutely love this handbag. It's the perfect size and color. The straps are a good length and do not fall off my shoulder. I couldn't be happier with my purchase.
Date published: 2017-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! Perfect in every way - shoulder bag or crossbody - not too heavy - well made. I purchased the english saddle and my daughter has the black one.
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Book lovers rejoice I never write reviews for anything, but as a madewell addict and user of reviews, this bag deserves praise. As a graduate student and avid reader, I base my bag size off of the book(s) I am reading. My other tote was too big and clunky to carry around for casual use, but the medium transport is perfect for casual, daily use and fits all my essentials plus a book or two. Absolutely the best bag I have ever owned!
Date published: 2017-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful everyday bag This bag is the perfect bag!! It is big enough to carry all my stuff but not too big. It is very high quality - can wear it with everything! I love this!!
Date published: 2018-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great I bought this bag for my wife's birthday gift. My wife is very satisfied and I take it everyday. This bag is not heavy, and comfortable to carry. Thank you.
Date published: 2018-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best leather bag! This bag is the BEST! The leather softens as you use it but still stays in great shape! Still smells brand new as well! Plenty of room but not overly large. It is definitely a medium size. I would highly recommend!
Date published: 2018-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic Leather Bag Love this bag, goes great with any outfit, size and strap length are perfect for 5’2”!
Date published: 2018-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bag This bag is as close to perfect as you can get: Big enough, but not too big. Simple, functional and understated. My only issue: the longer strap is too short (way too short) to allow wear as a crossbody.
Date published: 2018-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New Go-To Bag! I got this purse for Christmas and I absolutely LOVE it! It is the perfect size - i have the necessities in there and there is still more room for extra things. The outside pocket is a great feature, I put my phone in there for easy access. Now I really want to buy this in black!
Date published: 2018-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing everyday tote I absolutely love this purse! Incredible quality, stylish yet simple, and the perfect size. I love the versatility of having two different straps. Would recommend this purse to anyone looking for an everyday tote that they can carry only the essentials, or even a laptop and notebooks for classes or work.
Date published: 2018-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for all occasions I am absolutely pleased with this purchase. medium tote, perfect size and functional. I am 5’0. Tote looks great on me. Both Length of the hand carry and shoulder carry works for me. I tend to abuse my handbag like throwing them in the car and just whatever, the material of this tote seems to bear it all and still maintains a brand-new look. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2018-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hold everything I love this bag! It holds everything I need for a business meetings and my personal items. It holds a lot without being bulky.
Date published: 2018-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Christmas Gift Goals I couldn’t be happier with the purchase of the Medium Transport Tote! Not only was it delivered on time ( with a gift box and gift card!) but monogramed just beautifully. With a little help negotiating the web site from customer service , this gift made a great impression and wish fulfilled ! Well done! Thank you!
Date published: 2018-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Worth the money. I had to think twice before purchasing this but hopefully it will last quite awhile.
Date published: 2018-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TRANSPORT TOTE AND CROSSBODY BAG THOUGHT TO BUY THE LARGER BAG INSTEAD FOUND OUT AFTER THAT SHE REALLY WANTED THE CROSSBODY . SHE WILL PROBABLY KEEP BOTH. SHE LOVED THE CROSSBODY-LOVED IT-THE SERVICE WAS GREAT-SHE LOOKS SO CUTE ON THE WAY TO NYC
Date published: 2018-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very well made Gift to my daughter.... she was very happy with the quality and size of this bag.
Date published: 2018-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best bag! I had been eyeing this bag for quite some time, but wasn't sure I wanted to spend the money. Definitely worth it. This bag fits everything I need for the day and looks amazing!
Date published: 2018-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased with my new bag! I ordered this bag in English saddle which is a beautiful color. There’s really nothing I can say negative about this bag and I’m very pleased that I purchased it. It’s a nice size bag and holds all my necessities and I especially like the front pocket for my cell phone, lips gloss, tissues etc. The shoulder strap it’s nice and fits comfortable on the shoulder, it is not a Crossbody strap though. I think for the price of this bag , it’s great purchase. Thank you!
Date published: 2018-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent bag This bag is just big enough for most things and keeps me from over packing which works out great for my back.
Date published: 2018-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Th Best Tote Purchased this TOTE in the cabernet color and absolutely Love it. The size is perfect. The double straps fit perfect over the shoulder even when wearing a coat. I am so so happy with this Madewell bag:)
Date published: 2018-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Almost kept it for myself Purchased this as a Christmas gift for my daughter. She LOVED it I loved it. I wanted to keep it for myself.
Date published: 2017-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ordered wrong size I saw the transport crossbody in a department store, and thought I was ordering it as the medium transport when ordering online. Then I had it monogrammed. My (big) mistake. The medium transport seems like a great work tote, but unfortunately, that's not what I wanted. Nice product though.
Date published: 2017-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful leather It was a gift for my granddaughter, and she really loved it!
Date published: 2017-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Customer Service SUPERB This tote is exceptional quality. I'm excited to give it as a gift to my daughter. The size and style are perfect, functional and versatile. But the customer service FAR EXCEEDS anything I have experienced lately. I will definitely return to Madewell for more products! I'm a new customer and SO happy with this company. Thank you Madewell!
Date published: 2017-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and classic This bag is wonderful, so many compliments and quality is top notch!
Date published: 2017-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gold My sister bought this bag about a year ago and I admired it so many times that eventually I knew I needed one myself. She and I are close enough that we can have the same bag and not have a rivalry develop because of it. This bag is gold, no doubt.
Date published: 2017-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Medium Transport Tote For me, this is a purse, not a “tote”, which is totally fine! It’s the perfect size for my everyday essentials, like a makeup bag, matching (monogrammed!) wallet, phone, sunglasses & water bottle. I’m a sucker for a good looking brown bag & this doesn’t disappoint! Can carry on shoulder with handles or add the longer strap. The brown leather just wears in so nicely. I plan to purchase other Madewell bags based on my excellent experience with them so far.
Date published: 2017-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The perfect tote My daughter bought this tote and when I saw it I had to have one too. It’s the right size for every day use, holds my mittens, hat and other incidentals and is comfortable on my shoulder. The Cabernet color is gorgeous and the leather is so smooth and classy. I can’t say enough about it, I love it!
Date published: 2017-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Medium transport tote It is stunningly gorgeous! The leather is so soft and the color is vivid and beautiful. Perfect size, light weight yet roomy!
Date published: 2017-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bag I kept checking out bags of this style but too often, they were going to be too big. This one was a reasonable size and I have transitioned to using it without skipping a beat. It's a comfortable bag to carry whether you are using the shoulder strap or the shorter handles. The outside pocket is great for things that need to be kept close, like keys and phones. My only wish might be that it had a snap closure for the main body of the bag. Looking forward to using it this coming season.
Date published: 2017-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect summer to fall transition bag I’m in love with this gorgeous bag! Everyone needs it in their lives! I use it as my teacher bag and everyday bag and works swell! So much room in it!
Date published: 2017-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sized perfectly for me I've been looking for a bag like this for a while now and wouldn't settle for something that I didn't love. I saw this in a store while far away from home and went in to look at it. I loved it but dismissed it. After a week I bought it online and was not disappointed. Just the right size. I 'downsized' about a year ago so now I throw my little clutch inside and can grab it when I need it but this holds an iPad and other small things I missed carrying with me. I love the English saddle color as well. I almost got black because everything I own is black but I'm glad I didn't. I leave the shoulder strap attached but don't use it. Love this bag.
Date published: 2017-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It But Wish It Was A Crossbody I absolutely love this purse!! The leather is beautiful!! I will for sure be ordering from Madewell again. The only thing i do wish is that the purse was an actual crossbody purse. But it still is amazing!!
Date published: 2017-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The perfect leather addition Yay! I finally got my bag and it was just what I expected. My coworker has the same bag but in a camel color. She let me try it on before I pulled the trigger. The leather quality is great and so is the price. (Don’t over stuff this bag i can easily see the longer strap stretching)
Date published: 2017-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gift for wife! I bought this for my wife for her birthday. Had her initials put on it. She loves it and the store associates were very helpful.
Date published: 2017-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Casual yet Elegant This bag is beautiful and just the right size for me to use for work everyday. I love the pocket inside and outside for quick access.
Date published: 2017-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great size and cute style I bought this bag a few weeks ago to use for work. It perfectly fits my 13" macbook pro laptop and still holds a good amount of other things. Quality of the bag is great, very sturdy. I wish the straps were a few inches longer, but it still fits snuggly under arm. I get a ton of compliments on this bag annywhere I go. Great bag, would highly recommend.
Date published: 2017-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect medium purse Was looking for something that would hold a lot of stuff but not look like I was going away for the weekend. Great quality and beautiful color!
Date published: 2017-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well Made I already own another color in this bag and loved it so much I order this color. The bag is of good quality and looks wonderful
Date published: 2017-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Quality, Size & Look A co-worker walked down the hall with this bag & I saw perfection. She was extremely pleased & highly recommended it. I quickly ordered mine. The open outside pocket is great for badge, keys, cell phones. Inside space is ample for everything I need. The attached strap perfectly stays on my shoulder & the bag hangs at a perfect level. I will likely purchase the same bag in red --- I can't wait!
Date published: 2017-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good for work Good for work. Size and color is perfect, and nice quality.
Date published: 2017-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bag, it is the perfect size! This is a very nice everyday bag. I love the size and the two different strap options it has. The pocket on the outside makes it easy to access your keys or phone if needed.
Date published: 2017-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Transport tote Very happy with my new bag. I would definitely recommend it to all my friends. Thanks
Date published: 2017-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful bag I love this bag, it's timeless and understated. Gorgeous leather too. I'm very happy!
Date published: 2017-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous bag! This bag is stunning! The leather is so soft and smells amazing. It's surprisingly roomy! I have a 13" laptop that I've carried in it - it only sticks out a little bit. I love that it has the front pocket that's pretty deep - perfect for tossing my keys and phone in (I usually spend 10 minutes digging in the bottom of all of my bags for them!). I own several bags from Madewell and I have yet to be disappointed by them. I'm sure that this bag will age beautifully and I'll have it for life!!
Date published: 2017-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just the right size Great tote if you are looking for something in a medium to small size. Love the pocket on the front for my keys and cell phone. I have been using this bag for about 2 weeks and it's holding up well. I'm pretty minimalist when it comes to bags/purses so I use this everyday. I like that it goes with dress clothes to the office, but doesn't look too fancy with casual clothes.
Date published: 2017-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Choice I bought this bag last week after looking at numerous other leather bags and I couldn't be happier with my purchase! I'm 5"9 and since I don't plan on carrying this as a cross body the long strap is a good length. I bought it in english saddle and it's a gorgeous color, very rich looking. I'm using it as my everyday bag instead of a purse and like that my wallet and a couple of pouches fit with ease, and while there is room for more it's not so big that I have to dig to find smaller items. If I could change anything it would be to add another inch to the handles but otherwise it's perfect for me.
Date published: 2017-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect everyday bag When I received the tote in the mail, it was a little larger than I expected. However, it is lightweight and not at all bulky. This bag is very versatile for everyday use.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite bag This bag is beautiful! I got it a year ago and it is still so lovely. It weathers really well and I constantly get compliments on it. It has a couple smaller pockets (one on the outside and one inside that zips), so it has some organization to it but not too much. It's easy to take on and off your shoulder (I'm 5'2" though). You might want a bigger bag if you're trying to put anything bigger than a 13" computer in it. But I easily fit my laptop and some folders in it. Love this bag so much.
Date published: 2017-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bag for travelling. This tote is a perfect size for travelling and everyday use. Casual and smart. Quality is outstanding and I love the natural colour. Handy side pocket inside. Would certainly recommend this bag.
Date published: 2017-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect size Very happy. This tote surpassed my expectations. I hope to get it in another color.
Date published: 2017-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful tote The quality of the leather is great and this bag is big enough to carry everything without being bulky. Highly recommend it!
Date published: 2017-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally! My perfect tote! I am petite, 4'11 and agree with previous post. This is perfect for me! The quality is superb and I am planning to get another one in different color with monogram. My first one is Black, which I love. It makes my day easier once I grab this tote and head out the door. For busy moms, this is great tote for a quick shopping or holding kid's or personal electronics as well.
Date published: 2017-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tote-ally Amazing! I have the large transport tote and was instantly in love, then when this size & color was revealed I jumped very quickly at buying it. I have gotten so many compliments on it and it is a great size for on the go and day to day use. The quality, as usual, is incredible and love this bag deeply. You won't go wrong with the quality of this bag, no matter what color you pick!
Date published: 2017-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love how versatile it is! Love this bag so much!. I got it as an anniversary present, and it is my new favorite. Read some reviews about the strap being too short, but i disagree. I'm tall-ish (5'8") and i carry it as a shoulder bag. I think maybe people were expecting it to be more like a crossbody? If you want a crossobody it's too short for that, but absolutely perfect as a shoulder bag or tote. It's super soft and has plenty of room. Good for a work/travel tote or as a purse. Only regret is that this color couldn't be monogrammed. But otherwise love it so much!
Date published: 2017-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Fall bag! I purchased this in black and I have to say it's amazing! I love the leather and how raw it is on the inside. I have not had a problem with color transfer. The two tote handles are just the right length to to grab out of the car and the longer shoulder strap is the perfect length to throw on my shoulder. For reference I am 5'6" and the shoulder strap length right out of the box is the perfect length for me. I can grab my phone, wallet or keys with ease. It does not bother me that this is not cross body length. I personally would wear a much smaller bag cross body, not this tote. My iPhone 7 Plus goes in the front pocket, my (small) wallet and keys go in the inside zipper pocket, and in the large tote area I have a book, a notebook, a flat case for pens and highlighters, a medium size make up bag, and water bottle, and they all fit nicely. Well done Madewell!
Date published: 2017-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect bag! I absolutely love this bag! My go to bag for everyday use, perfect size, and it’s totally cute.
Date published: 2017-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Daily Bag This purse fits great on your shoulder or cross body. I love that it is big enough to catch everything but also lightweight. It is stylish, exceptional quality and just pretty :)
Date published: 2017-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bag! This is a great bag . Practical for everyday use and well made.
Date published: 2017-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SO versatile! This bag goes with EVERYTHING! You can dress it up or down. It holds a lot but it's not too bulky. I would recommend it to anyone; it's well worth the investment.
Date published: 2017-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely bag! This bag is beautiful and well made. I love the blush color for fall too.
Date published: 2017-09-16
  • y_2018, m_1, d_22, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_254
  • loc_en_US, sid_F5788, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_madewell