This Just In

NEW ARRIVALS

Looks We Love

Spring 2018 Collection

The Getaway Shop

Labels We Love

The Madewell Essentials

Monogram It

Events

Your double-tap-worthy pics

From denim recycling to
beach cleaning

clothing

DENIM

TEES & TANKS

SHIRTS & TOPS

SWEATERS

JACKETS

DRESSES

SKIRTS

PANTS & SHORTS

LEISURE & ACTIVE

OVERALLS & JUMPSUITS

intimates & pajamas

SWIM & BEACHWEAR

SALE

extended sizes

shoes, bags &
more

SHOES & SANDALS

BAGS

(see all)

crossbody bags
totes
backpacks
satchels & bucket bags
duffels
pouches & wallets
iphone cases & tech

JEWELRY

sunglasses

ACCESSORIES

GIFT & HOME

BEAUTY

Behind
The Scenes

Our Blog

#DENIMMADEWELL

#EVERYDAYMADEWELL

#Totewell

#WELLHEELED

About Madewell

The Medium Transport Tote
full size
The Medium Transport Tote
The Medium Transport Tote
The Medium Transport Tote
Product Details
What goes into our brand-new Medium Transport Tote? Here it is by the numbers: 2 pieces of fine leather are used for the body. 2 ways to carry: with the top handles or the detachable shoulder strap. 1 exterior pocket for those things you gotta grab fast. 1 interior side zip pocket to keep your keys, phone and wallet at the ready. 24: the number of hours in a day that this bag looks cool. How often you'll reach for it? 500 gazillion times.
  • Made of semi vegetable-tanned leather with a softly worn waxed finish that deepens into a distinctive patina.
  • Please note: As it is made of a natural material, each bag varies slightly in texture and color.
  • Interior pocket.
  • 8 1/4" handle drop.
  • 12 1/2" (at shortest) to 15 3/8" (at longest) shoulder drop.
  • 12 1/4"H x 11"W x 5 1/2"D.
  • Import.
SHIPPING
Free shipping exclusively for Madewell Insiders
*For complete details, see our Shipping Policy.

The Medium Transport Tote

The Medium Transport Tote is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 351.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous color and super stylish I absolutely hate carrying a purse and purchased this to use as a bag for work, but when I got it, I loved it so much that it actually made me want to carry it for everything. The color is absolutely stunning and I get compliments on it all of the time. The leather is super soft and I love the simplicity of the design.
Date published: 2018-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I got the tote in the "antique rose" and I love it! I was worried it would be too pink but it looks exactly like it does in the picture! Very happy with it. I did think it'd be slightly larger than it turned out to be but I can still fit a laptop and one or two notebooks in it. Overall, totally in love. The shade is very stylish and matches with almost everything.
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Tote I had been thinking about purchasing this bag for quite some time and finally decided to splurge and buy it. I am so happy I did. This tote is the perfect size and looks even better in person. I love the longer strap option. This is the kind of bag every woman needs in her wardrobe- it goes with everything. I already want it in more colors! The smaller straps fit comfortably on my shoulder. The brown color is perfect for all seasons. This bag met all of my expectations and it is definitely worth the price. If you are looking for the perfect bag, buy this!
Date published: 2018-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Perfect BAg This is the perfect bag, wonderful size! Must get the matching clutch! This is my go to everyday bag!!!
Date published: 2018-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful The Tote is wonderful. I can transport even my computer in it! :) The only thing I would consider is that you can't transport thing that are too heavy, because the bag cordon could open and the bag falls. But it is not terrible, the bag survives well. ;) And the things inside too.
Date published: 2017-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous This bag is fantastic! Clean lines, amazing quality , perfect size. Looks like you bought it at a high end leather store. I love it.
Date published: 2017-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful but not crossbody Beautiful bag, not too slouchy but looks like it will wear-in well. Not sure why Madewell’s photos show it being worn cross body, only the petitest of petites could possibly do that. If I wear it cross body it sits about 2inches under my armpit. I’d need another 12-18inches of strap length to wear this crossbody, shame it isn’t longer or doesn’t have an option length strap for sale. Foil stamping is beautiful but I wish we could have 4 or more letters, some of us don’t have the standard 3, so I had to drop a few! Good price for the quality, timeless and roomy.
Date published: 2017-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this bag! I purchased the medium transport tote because I thought the larger size would overwhelm my petite frame of 5 feet tall. It is the perfect size. I love the English Saddle color which goes with everything. The outside pocket is great for phone and keys. The only negative thing I can say about the quality of this bag is, I would have liked the detachable shoulder strap to be just a little bit longer (like 2 inches). To wear comfortably as a cross body bag. This is my go to bag. Overall, I love it.
Date published: 2017-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality for price I get lots of compliments on this bag. The only critique I have is on the hand straps- wish these were slightly wider/more substantial. I use this bag for work and if there's anything too heavy in there the straps dig into skin.
Date published: 2017-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everyday love I love this bag so much. The deep wine color is rich and luxe. The gold monogramming is the perfect size. It complements the gold hardware so well. It's my new work bag and I love looking at it every day!
Date published: 2017-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this I have been looking for a bag like this for a long time. I am a busy hairstylist and I need to carry my At A Glance weekly appointment book with me at all times. The front pocket works perfectly for easy access along with my iPhone, it stays separated from the interior so it's not flopping all over the inside. I love the English Saddle color and plan on getting the black. It also has a spacious inside pocket. I LOVE THE NO INSIDE LINING, makes it easy. If you are on the go I HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!
Date published: 2017-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new favorite bag I got this bag in the washed olive color and I absolutely adore it. It is so well made and the perfect size for my 5'1'' frame. I love the option to carry it over my shoulder or use the crossbody strap. The crossbody strap fits me fine, however it is relatively short for anyone that is a bit taller. I was a little worried after reading the reviews about the color of the leather bleeding, but I have not had that problem at all. It fits everything I need, and the 2 pockets are an added bonus! I definitely recommend this bag.
Date published: 2017-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The bag of all bags I've been looking for a bag for sometime that was perfect for me, to no avail, then I was watching YouTube' seaweed kisses and saw this. I couldn't be happier. It arrived fast and is literally perfect. A sturdy well made bag that says nothing other than quality. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2017-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The perfect bag Plenty of room and so well made! This bag is the perfect size and the leather is like butter. I will want another in a different color soon. This is my go to bag for work or play.
Date published: 2017-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect size I love my new bag. The only thing I might change would be to have a zipper across the top. Otherwise, it is perfect. The brown leather color is beautiful, and looks like a bag that would be much more expensive. It holds quite a bit, and is perfect for travel. I do love my first Madewell product.
Date published: 2017-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tote This tote is so great and the light tan color is so pretty! I've received many compliments! Great price too!!
Date published: 2017-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple Bag is plain black simple but looks different from other brands.
Date published: 2017-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Bag! I love, love my new tote! I bought it in brown and just ordered a second one in black! It is perfect for my work laptop and meeting notebooks as well as it seconds as my purse so I am not carrying so many bags! Great investment because the look and quality are fantastic.
Date published: 2017-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Perfect Bag Not too big, not too small! The perfect bag for everyday.
Date published: 2017-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Every day Tote Great item-so happy with it. It is the perfect size for someone that is short and needs an every day bag but does not want to be overwhelmed by a massive bag.
Date published: 2016-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect work bag Was hoping it was a bit bigger to fit my laptop but other than that it is the perfect work tote. I'm in love. My only regret is not getting it monogrammed
Date published: 2016-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great carryall Been wanting a leather tote for awhile. Liked my sisters transport bag but worried it was too big. Saw the medium, bought it and LOVE it! It's the perfect size. The outside pocket is great. I think she wishes she had mine now!
Date published: 2016-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT This bag is the perfect size! Not too big not too small. You can throw your water bottle in and still be stylish. It's two bags in one. A tote and a crossbody.
Date published: 2016-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The perfect bag I have been looking to replace my go-to bag for a while now and was so happy to find this one. I absolutely love everything about it. The inside and exterior pockets. The color. The leather. Perfection.
Date published: 2016-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Enjoy using A nice medium size tote...lots of room for everything you need...the outside pocket is a nice touch...very useful...
Date published: 2016-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fourth transport tote I love this bag. I also have the regular transport tote in the cognac color, the crossbody, and the weekender. This is a perfect in-between size - I can still carry my laptop, wallet, planner, a couple of books, and a snack. I use this bag whenever I don't need to carry as much as my regular transport tote. As much as I love the transport tote, it is too big and easy to lose things in unless you are carrying a lot. I love the addition of the outside pocket, but if it has anything in it, it flaps open quite a bit. I would not use it to carry valuables. I would also like it if the zipper pocket area was bigger, but overall it is a solid bag that can be casual or professional. I haven't had any issues with the color running or weird smells.
Date published: 2017-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't Change a Thing (Well, more colors!) - Feel: It's soft and slouchy yet stands up on its own (after months of daily use). It is light yet sturdy. - Organization: I can easily throw in my MacBook, files, and a cosmetic pouch with room to spare. The inner zip pocket is perfect for the wallet. I put my phone and lipstick in the outer pocket. - Esthetics: The lines are clean and modern. Black bags always bored me until this one. - Fairness: As a petite, the Transport Tote has been to big and this is a must-have fix. I feel for the taller people complaining that the strap is too short. But guess what, most totes are sized for you already. Let us tiny people have our properly sized bag! (perhaps Madewell can sell a crossbody strap separately?) or choose length at checkout? - Wear: I actually put my strap on the shortest setting and wear it on one shoulder or use the double straps on my shoulder. I really hope that Madewell leaves this perfect bag alone and just makes it in different colors for ever and ever.
Date published: 2017-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice bag, sturdy I bought this bag but was nervous because I'd read all of the reviews about it bleeding. I loved the style and size, so I bought it anyway and I'm glad I did. I do carry a small canvas pouch inside, and the dye has rubbed off a bit onto that pouch, but I am not experiencing it bleeding onto my clothes. I sort of wish that the top zippered, but other than that the bag is perfect. I just returned from a trip to Mexico City and the bag was easy to keep safe, carried a lot, and stood up to a harrowing full speed run through an airport without breaking or spilling my things all over the floor.
Date published: 2017-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for Petites! Hooray! Madewell listened up and created a medium tote. Oh the joy. It's perfect for petites! This vegi tan stuff is soft and supple to the touch. It is a bit slouchy out of the gate. I suspect the saddle color one will discolor with tons of use unlike the plastic shiny leather older sibling version. The saddle color does have a bunch of ready made creases which are unavoidable with leather and has beautiful brown highs and lows. If you're particular about perfect uniform colored leather you should go for the black one. Like the previous reviewer said, this is a MUST buy. I'm debating picking up the black one too.
Date published: 2016-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect in everyway I had always been hesitant to purchase the transport tote because I'm not usually a fan of mega-slouchy or heavy bags. BUT I love the simple leather tote look. The medium tote is perfect in every way for petite women. Holds a ton, not overpowering on my 5'2', 114lb frame. I love the pocket in the front and there is slight structure to the bag so it doesn't collapse when standing upright. I have to comment on Madewell's customer service as well. I wanted this monogrammed in linen, but it was a store only item. I purchased it from my local store in Scottsdale. They shipped it to Austin, where there is in house monogramming and I had my bag within a week of when I purchased it. Thank you Madewell!!
Date published: 2017-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bag for book lovers! I adore this bag! I carry multiple books and notebooks with me wherever I go, and this bag fits them so well, including my other everyday belongings. I can also wear it as a cross body pretty comfortably, but not as long as a smaller messenger bag or cross body. (I'm 5' 5") I didn't have this happen to me personally, but I read several reviews that this bag bled dye onto clothes. I bought a cheap leather treatment online and treated it as soon as I bought it. (Granted I would have anyway to keep it nicer.) I have never had it bleed onto any of my clothes. Moral of the story.. this bag is amazing and the perfect size!
Date published: 2017-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this tote! The only complaint is this is not a crossbody. I'm 5'7 and 130 lbs and this sets under my bra. The strap is super short so don't buy this for simply a crossbody cuz it's not. Otherwise it's a great tote, perfect size!
Date published: 2017-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Version of Madewell Tote I have owned the original Madewell Transport tote for 4 years strong and love it. When I first spied this bag online I knew I didn't necessarily need it, but I just couldn't stay away. Then I saw it in store, and game over. I love checking out items in person (especially leather bags), and the leather on the one I chose was wonderfully broken in. I love the big exterior pocket and the interior zipper pocket. The shoulder strap is the perfect length to allow the bag to hang not too low, not too high at your side. It really is the perfect version and size of the Madewell tote to date. Buy it. Just buy it. I will probably get it in the black also. It is just so chic and can be dressed up or down.
Date published: 2016-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Perfect Commuter Bag I bought this after returning the Lisbon O-Ring Bucket Bag. I recently started commuting on the train to work, so I need a bag that can carry a book, my lunch, and my usual handbag items, without being massive and a pain to carry around. This fits the bill! It's structured enough for me to be able to organize the placement of my things, doesn't lose its shape when I fill it with books and lunchbags, and can work as a daytime purse as well. Plus the cognac color helps to break up my (almost always) all-black outfits. The leather quality is not as amazing as another one of my Madewell bags, but it's still soft and supple. As with my other leather bags, I will condition it weekly and waterproof it monthly to keep it going.
Date published: 2016-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love, love, love, love, love For years I have liked the look of the transport totes but couldn't make myself get one because of the size, which for me is a little big for an everyday bag. This is PERFECT. The size is lovely - not too big, but roomy enough for everything I need (water bottle, planner, makeup bag, file folders & notebooks) and it looks amazing. I love the shoulder strap but it is definitely too short to be worn crossbody if that's what you're looking for. The outside pocket is useful plus it adds a bit of visual interest to the bag. I've had it for about a month and I'm just as in love with it as I was when i first got it. I'll be using this one for a looooong time. :)
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Convenient I love that there's a longer shoulder strap. The english saddle is a perfect color and I'm sure the leather will age well!
Date published: 2016-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect size! I've been looking for a classic leather bag for an everyday bag and I stumbled upon this beauty! It fits my 13'' laptop (well 1/2 inch sticks out a little bit) along with the essentials. I originally had my eye on the transport bag, but it was really big when I tried it on. Like it said it other reviews, this bag is perfect for petites.
Date published: 2016-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tote with perfect size! Madewell finally made this medium sized transport tote! I was always hesitant to get the original transport tote because it looked huge on me. I am 5'3 and petite, and this bag is at perfect size. It can't really be a crossbody, but I can carry it either with the top handles or the shoulder strap. I ordered the bag with the monogram so I just got my very first personalized bag! The English Saddle color is perfect and goes with everything. And my bag doesn't bleed color onto my clothes. It's just a perfect carry-all for fall and winter!
Date published: 2016-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from it was love at first sight!!! what don't i love about this bag???...hmmm...NOTHING!!! from the get go, I love the design, the size, the colour (English Saddle); it was soft from the time I received it and it gets softer with use. After 3 days, I ordered the mini transport crossbody (only cos it has a zip closure)
Date published: 2017-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bag! This is such a great size tote if you're looking for something a bit smaller than the original Transport. There is plenty of room inside and the outside pocket is really convenient. I picked it up in English Saddle and it's just beautiful!
Date published: 2016-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect bag! I LOVE this bag! I bought the English Saddle and it is a gorgeous color. The bag is structured enough to stand, but yet flexible enough to be comfortable when wearing. I can fit my wallet, a water bottle, cosmetic bag(s), gloves and many other items comfortably inside. Love the outside pocket for my phone and the inside zippered pocket for my work badge... The crossbody strap is a little shorter than I would prefer (I am 5'9"), but I would rather it hit where it does than banging around on my hip as some other bags do. I just have to also add that Madewell customer service is top notch. I had a slight problem with my order and they more than made it right with super fast delivery.
Date published: 2017-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! THIS TOTE IS THE PERFECT SIZE!! I have the classic transport tote which I love, but let's face it, I don't really need a bag that big in my life every day. Maybe it's better suited for some people who carry lots of things (moms, students, pack rats), but for this working girl in her mid-20s, this medium tote is the perfect size. It's big enough to carry things like wallets, cosmetic cases, snacks, small notebook, and a water bottle. If you really wanted, you could fit a 13-inch laptop in here, but it might stick out a little bit. I got this bag in black and I think it looks so beautiful and timeless. I'm confident that it will age well, just as my other Madewell bags have done. If you're on the fence about this one, it's totally worth it! Buy it - you won't regret a thing. TIP: If possible, try to buy it in-store so that you can pick out the exact bag you want, as they all have different character :)
Date published: 2017-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect sized tote-- an instant classic I debated purchasing this tote for a few months, because I was worried that the strap would be too short, the bag would be too big, or that there would be a lot of colour transfer. All of these concerns were quickly banished when I got the bag. The quality is truly beautiful, and the colour (black) really hasn't transferred much; the inside rubbed a tiny bit on a pale notebook, but my clothes have been fine. The cross-body strap is short- definitely more a shoulder-bag. Anyway, I love this bag and can't wait to take it travelling and to work each day- I suspect I'll be getting a ton of wear out of this.
Date published: 2017-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect size, great quality I purchased the black version of this bag, and I have not noticed any color transfer - however I started wearing the bag after I used leather milk to treat it, and there was some color transfer in that process. I love love love the size of this bag. It is manageable for everyday, but I also recently used this on a business trip and it easily handled my laptop, various adapters/chargers, my large wallet, roughly 200 pages of presentations, and the necessities (keys, phone, etc.)! The addition of the shoulder strap was key for me, and the outside pocket is perfect for keeping my necessities within easy reach.
Date published: 2017-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally - a perfect size Madewell Transport Tote. I've loved the transport totes for ages and have tried to use the big one with a shoulder strap, as well as the small cross-body version and neither worked, one being way too big and the other too small. I found this tote and immediately ordered it and love it. I'd feel more secure if it had additional binding at the bottom, you can see through the stitching, but all Madewell reviews for long term users are positive, so I'm giving it a try. I love the size. Love it so far.
Date published: 2016-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Instant classic. A MUST OWN for every Madewell Addict! I loved this bag from the moment I saw it. The outside slip pocket is a great addiction. I might be reaching for this more often that my other size transports!!
Date published: 2016-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect everyday Tote Have been eyeing the medium transport for a while now. I am SO happy that I decided to get one. It's the perfect goldilocks size for me, not too big not too small; just right. I got mine in black and love the classic look and style of it. If you're debating, just do it.
Date published: 2017-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Tote-ally" in love with this bag! With soft, beautiful leather and easy to manage straps, this tote is a perfect bag for everyday use. I love the size-not too big, but big enough for everything I need, including an iPad or book, or a few diapers for the baby! This was my first Madewell purchase, but I'm already cruising the website for the next one. I added the monogram in silver to complete the look and couldn't be happier!
Date published: 2016-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Bag I can't express how much I love this bag. I have tried almost every style bag Madewell has made, and this BY FAR is my favorite! It just looks so beautiful in pictures, the quality is excellent, & it's the perfect size for me. :)
Date published: 2016-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yes, finally! Madewelll read my mind with this one. I love the Transport tote, but the original size is too big for everyday use. The Mini is too small. This Medium Tote is just right. It is the perfect size for everyday, especially if you are petite. The leather is beautiful and the front pocket is a great addition. Thank you Madewell!
Date published: 2016-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The everything tote This is my first ever Madewell tote purchase, and I couldn't be happier! I have received numerous compliments on this bag already. I love the small pocket inside & in front. You can really organize your goodies well. For being the medium size, it fits my 13' MacBook, books/journals and water bottle all in one trip. Mine was a little worn looking when I purchased it but I actually think it gives it a little more character.
Date published: 2017-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from beautiful bag! i just got this bag, and let me tell you, it is sooo gorgeous! i can easily fit my macbook, planner, and all my other essentials. quality is great, and is just overall such a classic design. i love it!
Date published: 2018-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Sublime Smell of Leather I purchased this bag after many, many mistakes. From other bags fraying straps to interior (nylon) ripping to pieces, this is the bag for me. I chose to have my initials embossed on it - perfect. This is a medium sized tote bag and holds everything I need - wallet, checkbook, small notebook, tablet, cell phone, makeup bag, tissues and a bottle of water. The bag has two straps and a shoulder strap that is very, very durable and can carry a lot of weight. The leather smells great and "scratches" on bag just make it look more authentic.
Date published: 2018-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect medium tote I'm love with my tote I highly recommend it!!!I got the antique rose color i get so many compliments
Date published: 2018-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Everyday Bag I've been carrying this tote every day for about a year. It holds everything I could possibly want to carry around with me, day-to-day and for traveling. It has aged very nicely, even after my 5 year old scratched it with a paperclip and a friend's dog walked on it. I get compliments on this bag almost every day, and when I say it's from Madewell the response is always, "of course it is!"
Date published: 2017-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this piece I absolutely love this handbag. It's the perfect size and color. The straps are a good length and do not fall off my shoulder. I couldn't be happier with my purchase.
Date published: 2017-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! Perfect in every way - shoulder bag or crossbody - not too heavy - well made. I purchased the english saddle and my daughter has the black one.
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Book lovers rejoice I never write reviews for anything, but as a madewell addict and user of reviews, this bag deserves praise. As a graduate student and avid reader, I base my bag size off of the book(s) I am reading. My other tote was too big and clunky to carry around for casual use, but the medium transport is perfect for casual, daily use and fits all my essentials plus a book or two. Absolutely the best bag I have ever owned!
Date published: 2017-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely bag I purchased the lighter color tote for summer and it compliments any color I wear. It’s a nice soft color, very pretty, well made, and I don’t struggle with it in any way. Perfect size. Outside pocket is perfect to slip your phone in and out of. I’m 5’5” and the strap and handles are just the right length for me. Everything I need in a purse. I absolutely will not deal with a purse anymore that I have to struggle with. I will purchase a darker color for fall.
Date published: 2018-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The right size and quality Purchased this as a birthday gift for my daughter. She loves it. I will probably order one for myself soon. Just beautiful!
Date published: 2018-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Linen Medium Transport Tote I am in love with this purse! Just the right size and the color is beautiful!
Date published: 2018-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Perfect Size! Wonderful leather bag ! Holds my Mac Book Pro and a few files perfectly. Love, Love the two sets of handles! Also love the big outside pocket! Sort of wish it had a zippered top.
Date published: 2018-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect size! Love love my new bag, It is the perfect work bag - big enough without being too big. My Surface and note fit perfectly with room to spare. I have extra room without being bulky. The added compartments are a bonus. The outside pocket is a great size for a small notebook. I use the bag everyday for work. So glad I bought it!
Date published: 2018-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best everyday bag This bag is so easy and convenient and comfortable! I holds everything! Great leather. I don't often use the longer straps as the shorter ones are long enough to put over the shoulder.
Date published: 2018-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love! I've had my eye on this for awhile and am so happy with it. It's big enough to toss my laptop in, and I love the options in the straps. High quality, beautiful piece.
Date published: 2018-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect everyday tote I just bought this tote and I love it! It's stylish and practical, so I can carry it to work and all around town for running errands. I'm 5'5, 126 lbs and the cross-body strap fits nicely across my side, although it can be somewhat awkward to take the tote off (1 additional adjustment hole on the strap would make this a bit more convenient). Otherwise, it's a great tote and I recommend it as an everyday bag.
Date published: 2018-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful bag This is the perfect size and is beautiful. I bought this for my daughters birthday and she is in love with it.
Date published: 2018-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I’ve been searching for this purse! Finally, a purse that meets my criteria...supple leather, exterior pocket for phone, arm and shoulder straps, interior pocket, easy opening, and no zipper! I just love the look and function of this purse. It’s simple, but perfect.
Date published: 2018-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect bag I had been eyeing this bag for a while and finally purchased it a few weeks ago as a birthday gift to myself. It's the perfect size for me. As a mom to a toddler I have enough room for my things plus hers (- pull-ups, wipes, snacks and extra clothes). It completely stands up to Madewell's quality in leather as it's so beautifully simplistically made. I hope to get one or two more in other colors. I can't wait to see how it wears over time, too!
Date published: 2018-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this tote!! I was hesitant to buy a tote online, wondering if the "linen" color would be true. Well, it IS! And the quality is excellent. I absolutely LOVE this bag. I will carry it all spring and summer, and for years to come! I am a happy shopper.
Date published: 2018-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stylish tote It is the most stylish tote I've ever had. Looks much nicer than in the picture, the color is great and brighter, the size is not that big to make you look like carrying. The only drawback is it is very easy to leave a scratch on it. So, take special care of it!
Date published: 2018-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE. It’s the perfect bag! It’s great for work and for every day wear. I love the color and the size. Highly recommend!!!
Date published: 2018-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bag Perfect size, not too big. I am always losing my keys and phone in huge purses so the front pocket on this one is awesome.
Date published: 2018-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Obsessed I ordered this bag in washed out olive and cannot say enough great things about it. A functional, prefect take on a classic. I love the 2 different options for straps and the inside pockets are perfect for holding keys/glasse/phones. And the bag itself is the perfect size if you are traveling with a laptop or iPad. I'm obsessed.
Date published: 2018-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Its so versatile! I love this tote! I had looked at this for awhile and am so happy i bought it! It can be dressed up or casual. Best purchase i have made in a while!
Date published: 2018-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Bag!!!! Love this bag & wouldn’t change a thing. Perfect size! Beautiful leather ❤️
Date published: 2018-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Bag I was so excited to receive this bag in the mail! When I first got it and tried it on, I didn't take the packing out of the inside so it seemed very stiff and I was disappointed with my purchase initially. Then I decided to take all of the paper out of the inside and put my own belongings in it and my mind was totally changed. It has a beautiful shape, hangs so nicely on the shoulder, and holds SO much stuff. It's perfect. I do wish it were long enough to be worn as crossbody, but I prefer the shoulder strap for day-to-day wear anyways. Such an easy bag that goes with everything!
Date published: 2018-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect size, stye and color The size is perfect for every day running around, holds my wallet, large water bottle and every day essentials. Very happy with my purchase.
Date published: 2018-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite Bag I've always wanted a nice leather bag that would last for a long time that also has a classic look-and I finally found it!! This bag is very clean and simple. I love this bag because It looks good with anything and the wear to the leather after a while makes it look even better! I get so many compliments too. Definitely a must have! (p.s It looks extra great with a Madewell scarf tied around it too!)
Date published: 2018-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect everyday bag Loved this bag the second I got it. It’s the perfect size to fit everything you need in a day—tablet, pens and notebook, “essentials” bag, water bottle, book, snack—without being too bulky. It looks clean and simple and is a great color (have the brown w gold monogram) and it’s simply good quality.
Date published: 2018-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AHHMAZING!!! I love this tote! I previously ordered the medium transport canvas tote, because I was torn between the two! I love the canvas tote but I love this tote more! It is the perfect size, color and goes well with everything! I highly recommend this tote to anyone! You can never have to many purses! So happy I decided to get both!!!
Date published: 2018-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love!! I love the medium transport tote. It's big enough to accommodate all my stuff but not too big where it looks like this bag can swallow me since I'm such a petite girl. I have received many compliments about this bag as well!
Date published: 2018-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect everyday bag I have had the original Transport tote for about 7 years now and I still love it. However, because I bring a gym bag to work everyday as well, I recently considered getting something a bit smaller. This bag is PERFECT. I love the additional outside pocket, that I can slip a book or my Kindle into for easy access on my commute. This bag fits all my essentials without being too big or too small. I am obsessed and so glad I bought it. And I know it will last considering how nicely my original has worn!
Date published: 2018-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my pink medium transport tote! The quality of the leather is great, and the color is unique and makes a subtle statement.
Date published: 2018-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Bag I am so excited about this bag! It's so chic and the perfect size. Leather feels like it will hold up well. A great bag for just about everything!
Date published: 2018-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Flawless I was looking for a tote bag that was polished but not tailored - one that would be as functional for work as for a week-end getaway. This is it! Love the rich mahogany color, the simple pocket inside and slip pocket on the outside. Ample enough to hold wallet, keys, water bottle, folders and laundry on the way to dry cleaner. Highly recommend!
Date published: 2018-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from multi seasonal, functionally chic The medium transport bag is lovely, functional and beautifully put together. It really is the momma bear bag: not too big, not too tiny, perfect for carrying daily essentials, but not large enough to start carrying so many items you forget what's in there. However, I'm 5'1 and the strap is perfect for me, so, as another reviewer stated, this might not work as a messenger for taller, bigger persons. The saddle color is gorgeous and a perfect balance between elegant and rough hewn chic. Love it!
Date published: 2018-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Medium Transport Tote It’s too big for me. I’m a person that doesn’t put a lot in a purse. But the small tote was too small. It’s made well. Great product. I would recommend it to everyone! Thank you!
Date published: 2018-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Everyday Bag...Classic and Timeless I've had this bag for about 6 months. I went back and forth between this bag and the larger tote bag. I'm SO glad I listened to the reviews and got this one. It's the perfect size for every day use. It can look dressy or casual. I love that it has the cross body strap as well as the shoulder straps (which you can also carry by the handle and get away with). The brown color is absolutely perfect and looks better with each day. So far it shows no signs of wear and I use it at least a few times a week. You can fit a 1" binder in it with a little room for stuff but it's a bit tight. Probably wouldn't want to do it every day since it is leather. I will definitely be purchasing more Madewell bags in the future...I know I will have this bag for years to come! It's classic and timeless.
Date published: 2018-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So stylish and efficient I absolutely love this tote! it's perfect for everyday use. I am going to order the large one for work as well!
Date published: 2018-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful bag, excellent quality and size. This bag is beautiful, the leather is gorgeous and so timeless. The size and design of the bag are perfect for what I needed. I have already received several compliments since I started using it.
Date published: 2018-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super duper bag! Love this bag. It has probably been one of my best bag purchases to date. As a grad student and working professional - I can store my laptop, books, notebook (and even lunch) in there without it getting too cumbersome. I also used it for an interview and thought it worked perfectly to hold portfolios, notepad, etc and went well with my outfit. Great bag, you won't regret it!
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Leather Bag So, now that I'm nearing 32 years old, I've been gravitating towards investing in classic, simple pieces for my wardrobe. This bag is one of them. Ordered both true black and english saddle. They came in a bit stiff but have softened up significantly, I love it! Yes, light scratches are visible with wear but I love that. I fit my wallet, phone, keys, my toddler's baby wipes and diapers, and notepad in it comfortably. The inside of the leather seems to be getting rough/pilling. Not sure if that's normal. I'm petite (5'3") so I mostly wear it on my shoulder, occasionally I wear it crossbody, and it sits between my rib cage and hip, unlike other crossbody bags. I'm not sure if that bothers me or not yet. But overall I love this bag. I sometimes just stare at it in awe.
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Birthday Gift I was stuck on what to give my daughter for a milestone birthday. A close friend shared that she and her only daughter always gift purses for each other. But a purse is a personal item and my daughter’s taste very specific. I remembered her favorite boots came from Madewell and thought she might need a nice leather bag large enough for her MacBook Air. I held my breath the few days it took for delivery to Texas. Well, how could she not adore this gorgeous bag? She was thrilled. It was a perfect gift and exactly what she needed to elevate her business wardrobe. Thank you, Madewell, Grateful Mom
Date published: 2018-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect everyday piece It's a perfect everyday piece. You can wear it to work, for shopping, City trips. I bought the bag in washed olive and love the color. It is also very much space in it and don't look too big. It's perfect!
Date published: 2018-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tote for students I need a tote like this for Papers and my laptop. This one is perfect, I like the color and also has my name on it. I think it's a good choice for students.
Date published: 2018-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Minimal Everyday Piece Purchased this tote as a gift for myself and I’m happy that I did. The bag is simple and well constructed, when I received the bag the leather was pretty stiff, but after a day of use it started to soften up and continues to do so with everyday wear. If would suggest this tote for those who are looking for a bag that holds what you need for the day but not so huge that is overwhelms the body or takes up tons of space under a desk or on the train. I wouldn’t suggest stuffing your laptop in this but it can hold notebooks, small textbooks and other essentials. The strap isn’t quite long enough to be a cross body, but it has enough length that it can be comfortably worn over the shoulder. All in all this is a great bag and will continue to be a staple in my wardrobe.
Date published: 2018-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chic tote; perfect size! I hesitated for a couple years on purchasing a tote from Madewell. This size, and realizing I still liked the style!, caused me to take the plunge. I'm not disappointed! This is a beautiful bag and the perfect size between a large tote and a small purse. If you're on the fence, I'd suggest you go ahead and get it.
Date published: 2018-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just a beautiful bag Roomy but not cumbersome. Leather very rich looking. Easy to carry
Date published: 2018-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for everyday Love the quality and would definitely keep buying more of this brand!
Date published: 2018-01-25
  • y_2018, m_4, d_20, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_351
  • loc_en_US, sid_F5788, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_madewell