This Just In

NEW ARRIVALS

Looks We Love

Summer 2018 Collection

The Getaway Shop

Labels We Love

The Madewell Essentials

Monogram It

Events

Your double-tap-worthy pics

From denim recycling to
beach cleaning

shirt alert: summer deals, right this way

clothing

DENIM

(see all)

high-rise skinny jeans
skinny jeans
demi-boot jeans
wide-leg jeans
straight-leg jeans
perfect summer jeans
boyjeans
overalls & jumpsuits
perfect vintage collection
maternity jeans
more denim dressing

TEES & TANKS

SHIRTS & TOPS

SWEATERS

JACKETS

DRESSES

SKIRTS

PANTS & SHORTS

LEISURE & ACTIVE

OVERALLS & JUMPSUITS

intimates & pajamas

SWIM & BEACHWEAR

SALE

extended sizes

shoes, bags &
more

SHOES & SANDALS

BAGS

JEWELRY

sunglasses

ACCESSORIES

GIFT & HOME

BEAUTY

Behind
The Scenes

Our Blog

#DENIMMADEWELL

#EVERYDAYMADEWELL

#Totewell

#WELLHEELED

About Madewell

The Slim Boyjean: Raw-Hem Edition
full size
The Slim Boyjean: Raw-Hem Edition
The Slim Boyjean: Raw-Hem Edition
The Slim Boyjean: Raw-Hem Edition
Product Details
We took our true-blue boyfriend fit and made it just a bit leaner. The result? A jean that beautifully blurs the weekend and weekday line. Ripped knees and raw hems give this pair the look of the ultimate thrift score.  
  • Monogramming available for US customers: To have this item embroidered with up to nine letters for $10 (free for Madewell Insiders), please call 866 544 1937.
  • Premium 98% cotton/2% elastane denim from Italy's Candiani mill.
  • Medium indigo wash with artful destruction and cut hems.
  • Copper hardware, contrast stitching with double needle details.
  • Sit at hip, fitted through hip and thigh, with a slim relaxed leg.
  • Front rise: 8 1/2"; inseam: 26"; leg opening for size 25: 13".
  • Machine wash.
  • Import.
SHIPPING
Free shipping exclusively for Madewell Insiders
*For complete details, see our Shipping Policy.

The Slim Boyjean: Raw-Hem Edition

The Slim Boyjean: Raw-Hem Edition is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 38.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great slim boyfriend I love the weight, feel & wash of these jeans. These are the first slim boyfriend jeans I've purchased, and I'm in love w/ the fit. I also really love the raw-hem and length. I'm petite, at 5ft, 105lbs and the length is perfect for me. I only wish that I'd ordered a 26 instead of 27. I can usually wear either sz depending on how slouchy I'd like to wear them, but these run a tad larger than expected. The rise is fantastastic too - I'm so tired of the high-rise look. High-rise isn't flattering on petite gals!!!
Date published: 2017-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Greatest It's love. I don't want to wear anything else. Should have bought an extra pair before my size ran out. They feel good and they look good. Flattering and fresh. Love the length and the touch of stretch. These are the very best jeans I have found in a very long time.
Date published: 2017-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cool and Casual I initially tried these on in store and felt they were a little short. (I'm 5'5, 135lbs) But as we rolled into the summer I realized I needed something about that length.Which sat about 2.5 inches above my ankle. I really love the fit, I went one size up (28) to have a more relaxed look. I wanted these to replace some of my oversized BF jeans. These are perfect. I love how distressed they are and the details of the distress is perfect.
Date published: 2017-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from super comfortable and fun I have never ordered from Madewell before. I took a chance after reading the reviews. I ordered a 28 and 30 since there was no 29. I usually am a 30 in jeans. 29 waist and 42 hips. The 28 in these jeans fit perfect. I like them fitted so to be a true boyfriend I think a 29 would be perfect for me. They are so soft and comfortable! The only thing is the holes in the knees are more ripped than the photo. I like how they look, but will probably sew something inside underneath as they rip out fully.
Date published: 2017-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect summer jean! I love love these jeans! I pretty much only take them off to wash them and put them back on. They're a little less loose than typical boyfriend jeans so they look a little more fitted but they have room in all the right areas. I ordered the same size i typically wear and they fit like a glove.
Date published: 2017-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! I love these jeans and how they fit. I have slightly larger hip/thighs, and they hang beautifully. For reference, I am 5'4, 138lbs. I would say these have a slightly slouchy fit if you order your regular size. I have to be careful with the knee rips -- everyone has been there when you accidentally send one of your feet through the knee holes, although to be fair, they haven't increased in size. This jean hits right at my ankle, so a variety of shoes work with this style. I was lucky enough to purchase these on sale, but do yourself a favor and buy these jeans.
Date published: 2017-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Jeans! I was lucky enough to snag these jeans in my size. They are so comfortable and fit great. Relaxed but not sloppy. They are a great alternative to my skinny jeans. I'm usually a 26/27 in high riser skinnies and got these in a 25. I'm petite, 5'0 ft. and they hit me just above the top of my foot. I've always wanted skinny boyfriend jeans but the inseam is usually way to long! Thank you for making these in a cropped length but they fit like "normal" length on me. Please make more!
Date published: 2017-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE these jeans! New go-to So, these are my first pair of Madewell jeans. I am in Toronto and we don't have any Canadian Madewell stores. Nordstrom recently opened at 2 malls near me, but their inventory is sometimes limited. I was visiting a friend in Denver over Easter and the number 1 thing on my things to do was hit up the Madewell stores in the area. I tried these jeans on when my mom handed them to me "just to try". I was really just into buying some new tops, but slipped these on and fell in love. I wear them constantly and I've been complimented a few times. Likely the first time my jeans have ever received a compliment! I typically wear a 28/29, but the 28 was perfect with a nice relaxed fit. What I also love is that they do not stretch out. I am usually having to wash my jeans after each wear to shrink them back to size, but I get so many wears out of these, unless dirty, before I have wash them. Well done Madewell, now open a store in Toronto!
Date published: 2017-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dreamiest jeans ever These jeans fit like a dream. Slightly large so they "relax" easily (but don't bag). I usually buy a 30 but a 29 is perfect for this pair. The fabric is so soft. The rise is just right. I can dress these up or down. I work in a pretty conservative environment, so I literally wait all week to wear these on the weekends.
Date published: 2017-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great casual jean I love these jeans for running around town and love the looser relaxed fit. I went down a size which seems to be the deal for me with Madewell jeans but no complaints here. These are my go to chill jeans.
Date published: 2017-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love them! These are my new favorite jeans! Great fit, baggy just as you want a boyfriend jean to be but not too much. The tears near the knee are a little above the knee, which I like, so that when you bend your knee you aren't making the tear bigger.
Date published: 2017-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! I was looking for a comfy jean with a coolness factor, sans a high rise. I have a slim, boyish shape and high rise jeans look ghastly on me. You have no idea how happy I was to stumble upon these jeans. They are the epitome of comfort, super soft, wash well and the raw knees and hem are tasteful. The rise is perfect for this hybrid skinny/boyfriend jean. You can easily dress them up or down. This pair reminds me of the jeans I wore in high school in the 90's. Someone in their design department must have been echoing my grunge sentiments.
Date published: 2017-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new favorites!!! I’m already addicted to Madewell denim. These are my new favorites!!! I was worried they would have too many holes, but as a previous customer mentioned they are in all the right areas. I would love to see this same style offered in a less worn, holed-up version. In the meantime, I’ll be ordering a second pair. I sized down one size and they fit perfectly.
Date published: 2017-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't stop wearing these jeans These jeans are the perfect boy fit. I got them in my typical Madewell size (I own high waisted skinnies and the cali denim boot all in the same size) and the fit is a perfect, slightly baggy fit. You could size down if you want a traditional skinny fit with barely any slouch. They stretch a little when I wear them, but then again I have been wearing them a ton. Seriously considering buying another pair!
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect destroyed jean I love the fit of these destroyed slim boyjeans. I have pretty athletic legs and so I have yet to find a boyjean that actually looks relaxed on my thighs without having to size up a few sizes in the waist. These slim boyjeans are the perfect compromise -- they are not tight on my thighs, but the waist actually fits! Can be worn as a moderate-to-high waist jean if bought in a size down, or can be worn low on the hips if bought true to size. The material is so soft, and the "destruction" is just enough to be in style now, and remain in style later. I can't say enough good things about these jeans, I wish I could wear them everyday!
Date published: 2017-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these jeans! These are perfect for summer. I am typically between a 24 and 25 in MW jeans. I'm 5'4", 117. I kept the 25 in these because they look esp. cute when they ride a bit low and are more roomy. That being said, the 25 is even more roomy than other 25s I have had. But these are really good loose. Super soft and they have stretch, too. So good with flip flops and a tee or a loose button down. Love!
Date published: 2017-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable jeans found I am a jeans lady. I love jeans. I love form-fitting, high-waisted jeans. But sometimes, I need a break from the constricting fit. When I do, these jeans are perfect. I ended up buying my regular size, because the size down, while it looked nicer on the butt, felt "off" due to the jeans' shorter rise when sitting on my prominent hips (I didn't want my jeans creeping up painfully, if you catch my drift). So I went for my normal size (so they could wear a tad bit lower), and they are great. Comfortable and easy-wearing without being baggy or saggy (I hate saggy jeans).
Date published: 2017-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! Great jeans-very cute for Spring/Summer. Had to return the 25 for a 24-i usually wear a 2/4
Date published: 2017-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Find! I am sometimes skeptical after reading great reviews but this time they were right. Great look, very comfortable, but they do run large. Size down ladies!
Date published: 2017-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect distressing Hem length perfect for a on the short size women, fit was not tight on the thigh thank goodness and I loved the fact I didn't size down or up its ok to wear your true size! And I am a high waisted Jean wearer and these are not but hit at the perfect spot so they are not falling down or showing your undergarments.
Date published: 2017-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FIRST EVER comfortable jeans I only buy super dark or black skinny jeans, but I HAD to buy these after trying them on. I am typically a 29 in Madewell jeans, but I got a 28 in these. I'm 5'3" and these are the perfect length, just above my ankle. Roomy enough to be comfortable in the waist, thighs, and hips. The lighter wash and rips make these casual without being sloppy. I never understood people who had a go-to comfy pair of jeans, but now I do. More washes, please!
Date published: 2017-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Suuuuper comf. Go down at least a size if not two. Unbelievably comfy, like the very soft designer jeans of yesteryear. Cut at a very flattering length for my height (5 7).
Date published: 2017-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from in love with these crop jeans I simply love wearing these crop jeans and plan to buy more madwell jeans. So comfy and flattering!!! 5 stars!
Date published: 2017-03-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from L.O.V.E. My new faves. Comfortable but so cute--what a combo. I love them with just a tee and clogs or with a turtleneck, cropped jacket and flats or pumps for work. I am curvy and kind of long waisted and often don't love the way jeans sit on my waist and hips, but these are great. Definitely get them but please don't buy them all, I want more pairs :-)
Date published: 2017-03-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not for long legs I was so optimistic about these jeans based on all the reviews, but ladies... if you normally wear the "taller" length in madewell, these will NOT work for you. For reference I am 6' 175lb with a 36" inseam, and I ordered my normal size 31. The distressing that's supposed to be on the knees was a good 2-3 inches above mine, and the length hit about mid-calf. I ordered them despite the taller length being unavailable because sometimes I can make crops work anyway, but not these. It looked like I was wearing my little brother's ripped up jeans (in a bad way). I have to say though... the top of the jeans fit and looked great, and the denim is awesome. I might hold onto them and cut them off for jean shorts.
Date published: 2017-06-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Please make Talls Wanted to love these jeans but they are so short. I'm 5'8 and these definitely weren't long enough. Your jeans are great but you have no boyfriend styles in tall or taller :(
Date published: 2017-06-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too short for me I understand why others love these jeans: they are a great light wash for summer, the denim is super soft, and they look authentically worn-in with the rips in realistic locations. I am returning them because the crop hits at an awkward length on my leg -- a couple of inches above where they hit on the model. I am only 5'5" but I do have very long legs. I ordered a 27, and they are generally relaxed in size with the waist sitting on my hips but the crop is well above my ankles and looks off. For comparison, I have the Cruiser crop jeans and they are the perfect length -- about 1.5 inches about my ankle bone.
Date published: 2017-05-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Perfect length if you're short. I had such high hopes for these jeans. I've been on the hunt for a pair just like this and when I saw this pair at the sale price, I just had to do it.These fit great through the hips and thighs, but the length was SHORT. I'm 5'9" and these hit me in the middle of my calves so the picture was a little misleading to me. The quality was of course great, but they were just too short for the look I was going for.
Date published: 2017-06-28
  • y_2018, m_6, d_16, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_38
  • loc_en_US, sid_G1593, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_madewell