This Just In

NEW ARRIVALS

Looks We Love

The Getaway Shop

Labels We Love

The Madewell Essentials

Monogram It

Events

Your double-tap-worthy pics

From denim recycling to
beach cleaning

shirt alert: summer deals, right this way

clothing

DENIM

(see all)

high-rise skinny jeans
skinny jeans
demi-boot jeans
wide-leg jeans
straight-leg jeans
perfect summer jeans
boyjeans
overalls & jumpsuits
perfect vintage collection
maternity jeans
more denim dressing

TEES & TANKS

SHIRTS & TOPS

SWEATERS

JACKETS

DRESSES

SKIRTS

PANTS & SHORTS

LEISURE & ACTIVE

OVERALLS & JUMPSUITS

intimates & pajamas

SWIM & BEACHWEAR

SALE

extended sizes

shoes, bags &
more

SHOES & SANDALS

BAGS

JEWELRY

sunglasses

ACCESSORIES

GIFT & HOME

BEAUTY

Behind
The Scenes

Our Blog

#DENIMMADEWELL

#EVERYDAYMADEWELL

#Totewell

#WELLHEELED

About Madewell

The High-Rise Slim Crop Boyjean: Knee-Rip Edition
full size
The High-Rise Slim Crop Boyjean: Knee-Rip Edition
The High-Rise Slim Crop Boyjean: Knee-Rip Edition
The High-Rise Slim Crop Boyjean: Knee-Rip Edition
The High-Rise Slim Crop Boyjean: Knee-Rip Edition
Product Details
We updated our signature slim boyfriend fit with a higher rise (think a vintage men's jean cut to flatter you). The result? A cool distressed pair that beautifully blurs the weekend/weekday line.
  • Front rise: 11"; inseam: 26"; leg opening for size 25: 12 3/4".
  • Sits above hip, fitted through hip and thigh, with a slim, relaxed leg.
  • Premium 98% cotton/2% elastane denim from Italy's Candiani mill.
  • Machine wash.
  • Import.
  • 5'9"-5'11"? Choose Tall.
  • Monogramming available for US customers: To have this item embroidered with up to eight letters for $10 (free for Madewell Insiders), please call 866 544 1937.
SHIPPING
Free shipping exclusively for Madewell Insiders
*For complete details, see our Shipping Policy.

The High-Rise Slim Crop Boyjean: Knee-Rip Edition

The High-Rise Slim Crop Boyjean: Knee-Rip Edition is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 52.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect weekend jeans! I really, really liked these when I saw them online. I went to a store to check them out in person and try them on. They are PERFECT weekend jeans. I say 'weekend jeans' because I cannot wear distressed jeans to work but if I could I would most certainly wear these! The high-rise; the wash; the high cotton content; the right amount of give; and the raw hem with ripped knees are all on point. Madewell just got it right with this jean!!! I am 5'2 and usually wear a 26 in madewell jeans but I sized down for a closer fit although they still fit slightly relaxed. I highly recommend these!
Date published: 2018-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sooo flattering! Can you be in love with your Jeans? Yes! These cuties arrived today and wow the fit is so flattering. I like them so much, I'm definitely going to buy a 2nd pair. ☆Fit - hugs your curves in all the right places, no sagging! ☆High Waist - very comfy, cute w/top tucked in or out. ☆Wash - little lighter than I expected, but I love it! Perfect for Spring/Summer. ☆Rise - above my ankles, can be cuffed up once too w/o looking too short. ☆The stretch in these are just right. So comfy. ☆Distressed knee holes - are at my knees, slightly hit above when sitting. ☆Overall - I recommend these. Can't wait to wear with MW sandals or trainers. For reference: Height - 5'4 Weight - 105 to 110 Typical MW Jean Size - 24
Date published: 2018-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from JUST PERFECTION! That's All! The wash is just on point....so obsessed. Also, the length, leg room and rise are so easy and on trend right now. Great summer wash. I religiously wear a 24 in calis and skinny high rise and I took a 23 in these since I wanted them more fitted. Still roomy but not super slouchy. So if you want the slouchy look go with your normal size. Snatch them up before they are gone! My new fave!
Date published: 2018-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite new jeans!! Cannot recommend these jeans highly enough- they are so flattering AND comfy! Even when sitting most of the day in class, these jeans are super comfortable and don't "cut" into you! Honestly, I might buy another pair just because I have already worn them four days in a row. For reference, I'm just under 5'7", 140 lbs, wide hips & a narrow waist (aka pear shaped.) I ordered a 27, my usual jean size, and they were perfect. They will stretch out a bit over time, but they mold perfectly to your body. Do yourself a favor and invest in these jeans!!
Date published: 2018-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing fit and overall style So glad that these now come In a high rise. I usually wear size 27 in skinnies but I wear 25 in the boyjean and cruiser straight. The size 25 is perfect if you want an on trend look (skinny straight). If you like them a bit looser I would size down 1 size instead of 2, however, they do stretch with wear. Don't hesitate to size down!
Date published: 2018-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Goldilocks Jeans! I've been on the hunt for the perfect jean after having a baby almost a year ago. I'm over skinny jeans and classic boyfriend jeans are too baggy for my petite frame. These are exactly what I've been looking for! The jean material is just right; thick enough to feel high-quality and have structure, while stretchy enough to feel cozy and hug curves. I'm 5' 3", 114lbs with baby-momma hips and typically a size 26-27 in Madewell. Originally ordered the 26 and they were super baggy. Similar to the other reviews - I definitely had the kangaroo pouch. I'm trying to hide my kangaroo pouch, not flaunt it. I exchanged the 26 for a 25 - which made me giggle because I haven't been that size in 10 years. The 25's fit PERFECTLY! No gap in the back, butt looks great, length is perfect (just above the ankle) and no kangaroo pouch. I see myself living in these jeans.
Date published: 2018-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from PERFECT boyfriend jeans! Do yourself a favor and get these jeans!!!! I’ve been looking for the perfect distressed boyfriend jean for a while now and I’m so glad I tried these today. The “summer jean” didn’t work for me and I neither did the “girlfriend” so I was starting to loose hope but then I found these and I’m literally in love! The styling is spot on, the rise is perfect, and they are so comfy! I’m a true 29 and went down one size in these! Madewell, please make these jeans in 10 more colors!
Date published: 2018-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these ! These make my butt look so good. It’s hard for me to find a pair of jeans that fit well so I had to buy these and they are also super comfortable. Definitely worth the price. I am 5’7 and about 155lbs with wider hips and the 29 fit great. Would def recommend.
Date published: 2018-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So great These jeans are awesome! As a mother of 4 my tummy isn’t as tight as it once was so high rise is a must. I am typically an online shopper but I picked these up in store after an employee recommended them. So happy she did! I love the style— they have just enough distressing and a great wash and also a nice amount of stretch. I can’t really speak to the sizing bc I just gave birth so I’m still larger than my normal size in madewell jeans but they seem true to size (I bought one size up) They are worth every penny! I may buy another pair in my pre pregnancy size so I don’t miss out on this wash.
Date published: 2018-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for recovering after a C-Section... Yea that C-section “c-shelf” is for real! I have other Madewell denim jeans from prepregnancy which until I get cleared to work out I just can’t fit into yet! But... I got these because I miss wearing my Madewell jeans and they look and feel great. Summery style. I need the extra slight stretch as I’m in such flux right now weight/body shape wise. I was sick of wearing cheapo jeans which just don’t look as nice. I have a short torso but the high rise is perfect, it has a girdle-like effect to keep the c-shelf at bay and gives me a decent shape... not the post pregnancy look. Definetly recommend them.
Date published: 2018-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits amazingly I really love the fit of these jeans, they're the perfect amount of relax fit and the high rise is so comfortable. I tried them on in store (took a size down from my normal madewell size base on the reviews online) and they look amazing and fits perfectly around the waist, though I thought it fits a little too closer to the skin than I'd like. so I ordered size 24 online to try since they didn't have it in store, the 24 was way too baggy all over. I ended up getting the 23 and returning the 24 and as other reviews has mentioned, they stretched out a little after an hour or so of wear which gives me the perfect relaxed feel but not sloppy. For reference I'm only 5'3" and these hit right at my ankle, so if you're any taller than that you might want to consider the tall.
Date published: 2018-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best distressed jeans Love these! They do run big. I went down one size to a 24, could’ve done a 23, but I like the fit of the 24. The knee rips are the perfect amount of distressing for me. Also love the rise!! I had a baby 3 months ago and these make my tummy feel extra slim. I’ll be wearing these loads.
Date published: 2018-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great every time jean Love these! They hold their shape wonderfully and I love being able to wear them casually or dress them up with heels. I get a ton of compliments when I wear them.
Date published: 2018-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect high rise! I LOVE these jeans! The amount of distressing was perfect, I do not feel overexposed at all. The length is great, I’m 5’2” the jeans hit just at my ankle.
Date published: 2018-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great jean I saw these jeans and they were exactly what I was looking for . I read all the reviews and on some it said to size down. It didn't look like there was a lot of stretch so I ordered my regular size 27 and I totally should have sized down to a 26. They're more of a girlfriend jean on me , but I still love them!
Date published: 2018-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great spring denim Love the fit and the fact these are a bit more structured- great quality!
Date published: 2018-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The perfect summer jean I was in search for the perfect summer jeans and I found them. These are so flattering and ideal for this Mom of two toddlers. I love that there isn’t a lot of stretch to them (but enough for comfort) so they hold there shape. The straight leg is very flattering and the denim wash is perfect for summer. I would say they run at least one size too big if not two. The slim boyfriend style is a much more flattering fit than the typical more shapeless boyfriend jean.
Date published: 2018-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must have jeans I LOVE these jeans. I went into the store intending to purchase shorts but decided to try these on as well because I liked the style. Once I tried them on, I couldn’t leave without them. Super flattering, run big so size down. I’m 5’11 and I bought the regular not long and they still sit nicely because they are cropped.
Date published: 2018-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best. Summer. Jean. Ever. I tried these on in-store on a whim and they are amazing! I don't have a jean like this and they are the perfect pair of summer jeans. I definitely recommend sizing down - I am typically a 26 (5' 3" 120 lbs) but took a 25 in these. The best part is they can be dressed up with a blazer and heels, or dressed down with a tee and summer sneakers! The worst part is my "new" size is back ordered wahhh!
Date published: 2018-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Obsessed with these I absolutely LOVE these jeans. The fit and style are a perfect alternative to skinny jeans. I love that they are weekend-comfy but you're also able to dress them up. I want to buy these in other colors! Love!
Date published: 2018-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Magic Jeans LOVE, LOVE, LOVE ❤️ these jeans! Definitely size down 2 sizes and they will fit perfect in one hour and stay that way all day! They hug in all the right places and hide that little roll of belly fat. I wish they had this style in a dark black as well.
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Size down! I'm 5'3 128lbs 34B. I ordered a size 24, normally I'm a size 26. If you have a smaller waste, recommend going a size or two smaller! I love these jeans, great addition to my spring wardrobe!
Date published: 2018-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The real slim Cute stylish slim boy fit not boxy or baggy Perfect for spring and summer I am 5’5 125 I went size 26 and fits perfect if you want them loose you might size up
Date published: 2018-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE! Size down I love these pants! They are so flattering. I have athletic thighs and a small waist and I've always felt that relaxed fit jeans made me look bigger than I was but these work really well. I did have to size down 1-2 sizes from my usual 26/27 to 25. They have stretched a bit but since they were a little snug due to sizing down they fit perfectly now.
Date published: 2018-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Overall Amazing!!! These high rise slim boy jeans are the best! I've always worn skinny jeans and wanted to branch out - these did not disappoint! I would recommend sizing down 1-2 sizes from your normal size. I'm usually a 26 in Madewell jeans but had to size down to a 24 - they fit a little snug at first but stretch out perfectly. The knee rip will continue to stretch and rip more, as the jeans are not particularly too stretchy compared to my Madewell black skinny jeans.
Date published: 2018-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these jeans These are my favorite jeans right now. They fit so well and are so comfortable. Every time I wear them I get compliments.
Date published: 2018-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from cutest ever literally cutest jeans of all time but SIZE DOWN! I wear a 24 in high rise skinnies and a 23 in cali demi boot and the 23 in these is still a bit big on the waist. unfortunately there is no size down so I'm just going to deal with it other than that, these are the cutest most comfortable and versatile jeans ever. I'm using these as an alternative to the perfect summer jean because I've got too much booty to make those happen ;) buy them! you won't regret it
Date published: 2018-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very comfortable denim, but stretches out quite a bit These are the most comfortable jeans I own! I waited nearly 2 months for these after they were backordered twice, and it was worth the wait. The only reason I can't give 5 stars, is because they have stretched out so much after just 3 wears that I need a belt. It's like they grew a size and a half. When I first put them on they fit great, but I just had to wash them after a few light wears and even put them in the dryer (which I never do with jeans.) I wish they stayed true to size a little more and kept their shape.
Date published: 2018-03-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful but big These jeans are so cute! Love the wash, they are so comfy, and the knee holes and raw hem are so cute. But these run really big :( I am a size 26 in madewell skinny jeans so I sized down to 25 and they were still big. I thought I could make it work and just wear them for super casual things but it just bunches up in the crotch area and looks really awkward. I will be returning for a size 24. For reference, I am 5’6 and 120 lbs.
Date published: 2018-05-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Has great features I am 5'1" with short legs and torso. I typically wear a size 28 in Madewell jeans but sized down to a 27 for these. The waist is pretty high but overall I like the jeans. I love the simple distressed look at the knees and that I was able to cut the bottom to the length I wanted them.
Date published: 2018-05-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from These jeans fit amazingly! These jeans fit me amazingly! I normally wear a size 25 in madewell skinny jeans, but have a 23 in these. I have a tiny waist but also have a butt and hips and it is often hard to find pants that fit both my waist and my hips and these do that so well! I am also 5' tall, and these are the perfect length, which is rarely the case with jeans. Madewell -- PLEASE make the high-rise slim crop boyjean in more colors! The reason I didn't give these 5 stars is because I normally prefer to buy jeans without holes in them. These fit too well to follow that rule, and it's summer so the holes will be nice for now, but I would LOVE if this exact style came in some darker rinses without any destruction.
Date published: 2018-05-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Too short!! I'm 5' 7" but have long legs and usually buy talls at Madewell, but they were backordered so I took a chance on regulars, but these are soo short--it looked so ridiculous I laughed out loud!
Date published: 2018-04-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great for summer, but could be improved These jeans are cute and the overall fit is nice. It’s high rise; the fabric has give. There are no “magic pockets,” so they don’t lay as nice through the waist when sitting. I’m 5’6” and they’re borderline capris vs cropped. They could use an extra inch in length. The wash is a bit off on the backside of the jeans. The legs are darker and the buns are quite a bit lighter. It’s almost ombré, but there’s a hard line where the color changes. I’m hoping this will fade after several washes. Wanted to love like my other Madewell jeans, but these just aren’t the holy grail.
Date published: 2018-04-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cute In Theory My regular size fit loosely and gave me a kangaroo pouch, which was *not* the look I was going for. I have returned them. The style and wash were cute, except for that, which was unforgivable.
Date published: 2018-03-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too baggy - so close to perfection These jeans are so close to absolute perfection. I love the straight look and the ripped knee. Also the waist height is flattering. However it is way too bagging over the hips, stomach, and waist. I tried to imagine how it would fit if I got the waist taken in by a tailor. Even then the front hip/stomach section would still be too bagging. Im surprised because Madewell jeans usually hold you in well in those areas. May it's baggy in those areas because it is boyfriend style but its not flattering. Please remake these same style with better fitting top half and I will have to buy two - one for now and another just in case. Love you Madewell.
Date published: 2018-03-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good but slightly overrated I purchased these jeans the day they came out and jeans were immediately on backorder so I waited over a month for them to arrive. Why add them as as a new arrival when you immediately put them on back order? Doesn’t make sense. Anyway the jeans are good, love the vintage color look to them, the knee rips, quality is good but I’ve seen better from Madewell. Any true boy jean styles run large but these are huge. I normally wear a size 23 in Madewell jeans (95lbs 5ft) but I need more like a 22 in these which sounds ridiculous. The waist is gaping in the back and I have a ton of room. The rest of the jean fit fine but the waist is just too big. I have the darker high rise slim boy jean in a 23 and those fit better. Not sure what happened here. Overall I do like the jeans but if I’m honest they are slightly overrated this coming from a big Madewell fan.
Date published: 2018-03-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed I was so excited to order these jeans. The 25 fit like a glove the first time I tried them on (I’m 5’6 125lbs), so I cut off all the tags and wore them to a party. I wore the jeans for the second time today and it’s like a totally different pair of pants. They are HUGE...Like sloppy, falling off huge. I should have sized down but I just bought another high waist slim BF jean in 24 that are so tight I can’t breathe, so I figured the 25 would be good. Sadly, I was wrong and am now stuck with a $200 pair of jeans that I’ll probably never wear again. Why are you constantly changing the sizes, madewell?!
Date published: 2018-03-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not for the flat ended I purchased these jeans because of their 11 inch rise. They told me to size down because the fit was "relax". I grabbed a size 28 (150 lbs and am 5'4) Upon first wear: At first these jeans fit amazing because they where still factory stiff and intact. These jeans are distressed at the knees so when I would squat id notice theyd tear easily. Second wear: They definitely lost their shape after the first wear. Outcome: I have a flat bottom, these just highlighted that quality by being saggy all round the bum area. The excess fabric made my crotch look like i had a camel toe. Gave these jeans to my sister who wears a size 10/12 and they fit like a glove. She has a round behind and fuller figure these jeans complimented her curves fabulous.
Date published: 2018-06-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just ok. Not worth the price First, these run large. Like 2 sizes large. Plus they stretch out. I’m ordinarily a size 26, but based on reviews I ordered a size down. Some reviews said size down one or two sizes, but I still wanted the more relaxed fit and I was afraid if I ordered 2 sizes down they would be too tight in the legs. So I bought size 25. For reference I am 5’7 135 lbs, long legs and torso with a bit of a pear shape and post baby tummy. The 25s fit ok when I first got them. They were a bit shorter than on the model. The legs were still tight in my thighs but relaxed from the knee down. But the waist wasn’t as tight as I preferred and since wearing them a bunch of times, they have stretched. Bottom line, I should’ve bought 2 sizes down. I like them, but I feel that the price is pretty high for a very light weight denim that loses its shape after 4 or 5 wears.
Date published: 2018-06-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from baggy in all the wrong place very disappointed in these jeans. way too much room in the stomach which makes them look kangaroo pouchy.
Date published: 2018-03-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Candiani Denim but Made in China I like the style of this jean and I love the denim itself. What I don't understand is creating denim from the Candiani Mill, which is renowned for sustainability in denim, shipping it to China for production, and shipping it to the US for sales. Great denim, poor execution and for the price point, I would expect better practices from Madewell.
Date published: 2018-06-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Large middle area These jeans are huge. If you want to take a chance in them you should definitely size down even at that, the stomach area is very big and out of proportion
Date published: 2018-05-04
  • y_2018, m_6, d_21, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_52
  • loc_en_US, sid_H5863, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_madewell