This Just In

NEW ARRIVALS

Fall 2017 Collection

Looks We Love

Labels We Love

The Madewell Essentials

Monogram It

Denim Report

Events

Our clothes, your pics

How We Do Well

clothing

DENIM

(see all)

high-rise skinny jeans
skinny jeans
demi-boots & wide-leg jeans
straight-leg & perfect summer jeans
boyjeans
overalls & jumpsuits
rivet & thread
more denim dressing
maternity jeans

TEES & SWEATSHIRTS

SHIRTS & TOPS

SWEATERS

JACKETS & COATS

DRESSES

SKIRTS

PANTS & SHORTS

LEISURE & ACTIVE

intimates & pajamas

SWIM & BEACHWEAR

SALE

extended sizes

shoes, bags &
more

SHOES & BOOTS

BAGS

JEWELRY

sunglasses

ACCESSORIES

GIFT & HOME

Behind
The Scenes

Our Blog

Denim Report

#DENIMMADEWELL

#EVERYDAYMADEWELL

#Totewell

#WELLHEELED

About Madewell

Skinny Overalls: Drop-Hem Edition
full size
Skinny Overalls: Drop-Hem Edition
Skinny Overalls: Drop-Hem Edition
Skinny Overalls: Drop-Hem Edition
Skinny Overalls: Drop-Hem Edition
Product Details
Skinny and stretchy, these are overalls made sexy (the side zipper gives it a particularly streamlined look). Crafted from best-of-the-best denim, this special version is sewn and washed before a member of our jeans team lets down the hems by hand, creating a cool raw-edged finish.
  • Monogramming available for US customers: To have this item embroidered with up to nine letters for $10 (free for Madewell Insiders), please call 866 544 1937.
  • Premium 92% cotton/5% poly/3% elastane denim from Italy's Candiani mill.
  • Medium indigo wash with artful fading.
  • Matte silver hardware, exposed zipper, contrast stitching.
  • Fitted through hip and thigh, with a slim leg.
  • Front rise: 12"; inseam: 27"; leg opening for size XS: 12 1/2".
  • Machine wash.
  • Import.
SHIPPING
Free shipping exclusively for Madewell Insiders
*For complete details, see our Shipping Policy.

Skinny Overalls: Drop-Hem Edition

Skinny Overalls: Drop-Hem Edition is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 65.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cutest Overalls These overalls are the most complimented item in my wardrobe. So comfortable, and so easy to wear. I'm a size 6/28 and I got these in M. Perfect fit!
Date published: 2017-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE these overalls; great for curves! These are the first pair of overalls that have ever worked on me. My waist is much smaller than my bottom or hips, and these are great because they are high waisted. I am usually a 29-30 in Madewell jeans, and I ordered the large. There is a slight gap behind the waist for me, and I most likely will end up taking it to the tailor, but only enough for me to notice. I wore them out and every girl I encountered complimented them. So great. Get these now.
Date published: 2017-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So comfortable and flattering! At 42, I wasn't sure I could pull off overalls but these are so comfortable, I'm not sure I care! I'm 5'2", about 115 pounds, and wear a 26 in Madewell high rise skinny jeans. I originally ordered the XS, but they were way too tight, even with the little bit of stretch in the fabric. I exchanged them for a size small. Still a skinny fit without being too tight. The high rise works well with my "mom tummy." The length hits me right at the ankle. Not as cropped looking, but I'm OK with that. The only thing I'm not sure about is the bust. I'm a 28G, so the top does accentuate my chest. That's no fault of the overalls themselves. :-) Busty girls, take note. I do wish there was a hook closure above the zipper. Sometimes the zipper comes down a bit when I bend over to pick up my toddler. Perfect stylish weekend wear! Can't wait to pair with a tank and sandals when the weather warms a bit.
Date published: 2017-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great slimming overalls i'm 5'5" and 125lb. XS was too small so got S. Also if you have a long torso these might not be long enough. The straps don't have much extra fabric. I had to move the buckles to the max length and it's still barely enough. Wish the zipper on the side had a hook clasp as well because i worry the zipper will come down on its own with more wear. Despite all that, i love these. Super slimming and cute.
Date published: 2017-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Fit and Style! These are my fourth pair of Madewell overalls and third style. I love how cute and comfy they are! I always get loads of compliments. FYI: I am 5'5", super curvy size 12 and the XL is perfect.
Date published: 2017-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Flattering! These are the most flattering & stylish overalls I've ever seen. They are so comfortable—the denim feels like butter it's so soft. Excellent quality. I have received more compliments wearing these than perhaps any other piece of clothing I've ever owned. I'm 5'4", 120 pounds, boyish figure—went with a small because of my mommy tummy. The overalls stretched out a bit throughout the day so I might have taken an x-small, but overall I'm happy with the small for the comfort level.
Date published: 2017-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A wonderful update on a classic! These overalls are the best! I wore the baggy ones back in the 90s and really liked them. This new version is also very awesome. I took my regular size and it fit perfectly on me. I'm 5'2" and 110lbs. I went with the small to make room for my mommy tummy. The length hit me an inche over the ankles but not too long where I would have to fold them. The drop hem which is another great detail still shows. The high waist is so comfortable and the quality is really top notch. The back straps is another detail that make these overalls a little different. This style is fitted, so if you feel uncomfortable showing the outline of your body, then size up. They may stretch but only a little bit. The fitted style really updates the overalls and I can see why so many women are really liking this trend. Another thumbs up, Madewell!!!
Date published: 2017-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfection Love these overalls! I am 5'8 and typically a 24/25 tall in Madewell and took an XS in these. They are the perfect, skinny fit. I would love an extra inch in the inseam, but am just rockin' them as crops. ;) They look adorable with a simple fitted white tee, my navy saucony dxn trainers from Madewell. Absolute perfection! My everyday go to outfit. I'm eyeing Madewell's new distressed denim jacket, which I think would take the overalls up to the next level, if that's even possible. :))
Date published: 2017-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfection These are so good! I've been looking for a flattering pair of overalls for a long time and finally found them. I have a very hourglass shape and I'm always a size 30 in jeans and S/M in tops at madewell and the L in these overalls fits perfectly. I want to wear them everyday.
Date published: 2017-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE I love everything about these overalls the fit, the colour, the drop hem...I'm usually wear XS at Madewell. The XS in these worked well for me. I agree with the previous reviewer-- Please release these in BLACK as well!
Date published: 2017-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Overalls I bought these and love them! If you have the black cross back overalls they have roughly the same fit. High waist feels great. They are super comfortable and I feel like I could live in these!
Date published: 2017-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spring Staple! I tried these on with no intention of walking out with them, however as soon as I put them on, I was instantly delighted! I am 5'2 and about 110lb and these fit like a glove. The xs somehow still hit at exactly the right length on me, perfect with sneakers and even work with taller leather booties for a night-out look. The description is spot-on, they are sexy! The raw hem is also a great bonus.
Date published: 2017-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 stars I almost exclusively shop at Madewell, and I have been waiting patiently for the exact pair of overalls that I envision in my mind - let me tell you: THESE ARE THEM. I normally wear an xs, but sized down to an xxs. They feel very snug when I first put them on, but they give and stretch throughout the day. I especially love the drop-hemline. Please please please make these in black too!
Date published: 2017-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally found the perfect overalls I was going to get the small but so glad I got the xs. I'm 5'0 and 117 pounds. I wear like a size 6 and 26/27 in jeans (25 in madewell jeans) and these fit like a glove. My butt looks amazing too. I would definitely size down if your considering these. Since I'm short they don't hit above the ankle like it shows on the model. They lay right at my ankle which I don't mind. I folded them up and I got the same affect. Overall the best purchase I've made. Definitely recommend!
Date published: 2017-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from flattering and comfortable The PERFECT overalls! I'm curvy and couldn't imagine a pair of overalls that were flattering, but these are IT. The denim is super comfortable and has good give, but still thick enough to feel sturdy. My new favorite thing to wear!
Date published: 2017-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing but please make a tall!!!!!! Finally a flattering pair of overalls. I didn't think it was ever possible!!! The high waist hits at the smallest part of my waist and it has the perfect amount of stretch it's amazing and so flattering. I'm SO BUMMED they are short on me since I am 5'8. I still might keep them. I'm undecided, but please make them in a tall next time!!!
Date published: 2017-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i wear them almost every day No joke. This is the only item I've ever paid full-price for at Madewell, I think? I knew they'd sell out fast, and I have no regrets. They're comfy, flattering, and they don't lose their shape!
Date published: 2017-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fresh take on overalls... Love these!!! Got some many compliments... The side zipper is so comfy, no buttons to dig into you hips. Great denim quality (and color), slimming, and oh so attention grabbing. If your debating about them, GET them.
Date published: 2017-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Love Love I had to hunt down these overalls in my size, but it was well worth it. I originally ordered this in a XXS (because there is no clear sizing info on XXS online) but they were skin tight and the zipper on the size made my hip look dented/roll looking. Finally found an XS and they fit like a dream. Madewell please make these in black!!
Date published: 2017-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Living in these overalls. I was expecting thick denim with very little stretch like my other pair of Madewell overalls when I purchased these online. So when I pulled them out of the box and saw how teeny they were, I was sure they weren't going to fit. They are actually made of soft, stretchy denim so they fit like a glove and hug in all the right places. They are so cute and comfortable that I have a hard time coming up with reasons not to wear them every day. Love these overalls!
Date published: 2017-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not your 90s overalls! When I bought these, I really expected to send them back. But since I've wanted overalls for as long as I can remember -- and the reviews for these were consistently positive -- I thought I'd give them a try. And I'm so thrilled I did -- they are AMAZING! The fit is so flattering, they hug every curve, and they move with me. And they're so very comfortable, the stretch is just right and the denim recovers nicely. Worth. Every. Penny.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best overalls worth the price! I've been looking for the perfect pair for the longest time and i took a chance by ordering these & they're awesome. 10/10 would recommend
Date published: 2017-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple style LOVE these overalls! I'm 5'7" and 115 pounds and the size small fit fairly snug and hits just above my ankles. They're super flattering and easy to dress up or down! If these came in black, I would absolutely buy them again.
Date published: 2017-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits Great! These overalls are a perfect fit. I would highly recommend them. I'm 5'8 and these are the only overalls that I have found to be a good fit on me. Love!
Date published: 2017-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from skinny overalls I was hesitant to try these babies on, but when I did, I was pleasantly surprised. I'm def a pear shaped gal, so I was a bit afraid at how bottom heavy I'd look in these - wrong! These overalls are extremely slimming! I'm 5"3, 118#, 34B, 26 waist (usually wear small/medium on bottom and XXS or XS on top). I got a small and it fit like a glove! I'd have to say that my only two call outs would be the zipper (has a tendency to fall -- would have been nice to have an extra clasp there) and that it hugs the pooch. The pooch would be something that I need to work on though :P
Date published: 2017-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love, overall! I never want to take these off - Not only are they comfortable, but they are also remarkably figure-flattering - Everyone needs a pair, overall!
Date published: 2017-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love at first sight... My very first Madewell review and couldn't be more excited to give this item 5 stars. The fit is TTS , shapes your butt , stretchy and hits perfectly at the ankles. The only thing I have to say is the zipper does go down a tiny bit but a simple inner clip would fix the small issue. I bought an XS and the color is a perfect shade of blue. Love the distress of the jeans , not too overwhelming.
Date published: 2017-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE! Fell in love with these overalls. super stylish not kid like at all very modern and on point. fits perfectly and true to size. enough stretch but not too much. So cute for summer with some wedges. HIGHLY recommend
Date published: 2017-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super cute! I love love love these overalls! So cute and comfy. Have a nice strech to them and are super flattering. I'm 5'5, 115 lbs with 26 waist and 36 hips. I bought the size small and they fit perfectly.
Date published: 2017-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from favorite item in my closet i went into my local store and tried these on about 3 times... i kept thinking they were too trendy and i would not know how to wear them. i finally caved and wow! they match almost every top/sweater/tank i own, and my shoe options are endless. i would wear these every day if it was not so noticeable! i am a size 26 in all my jeans from madewel, but sized up to a small because i am curvy on the bottom. the xs fit, but i felt i had more room in the S. best purchase ever!!!
Date published: 2017-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome overalls I've been looking for overalls for a while now and these are amazing. Understated details, love the drop hem, really stretchy and formfitting (I usually wear a 27 in madewell jeans and got a small). I'm 5'6 and the shortness that the other reviewers have mentioned do not bother me as much, but they are about ankle-length on me. Will get a lot of wear this spring and summer.
Date published: 2017-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I'm 5'1 and 102 pounds the xxxs fits perfect love it best overalls I have ever purchased
Date published: 2017-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Ever Overalls!! You guys these are amazing. I am 5'-4" 129 lbs and the small fits perfectly. They are snug in all the right places- and super flattering. Well worth the money- even at full price!
Date published: 2017-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally a good fitting cute overall Love these overalls. They do fit true to size. I am normally a 26 in jeans and bought the Small which are perfect. They are intentionally a tighter fit than traditional baggy overalls. I love them. They are comfortable and cute.
Date published: 2017-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New favorite denim! I recently went in store to try these bad boys on. I was afraid that I would be too short for the drop hem, but when I tried them on, they fit like a glove! They are seriously the cutest pair of overalls and I'm so glad I bought them. For reference, I'm 5'2 and a waist size 25.
Date published: 2017-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cannot Stop Wearing These! I am sooooo in love with these overalls! I've been looking for a pair for ages and the moment I tried these on I knew they were the ones. I'm 5'6" and 100 lbs. and the small fits me perfectly, The retro details are unique without being overpowering, so they go with just about everything. My new favorite outfit for sure!
Date published: 2017-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Adorable! I love these overalls! I was a bit worried about whether or not I could pull them off but they are so cute and comfortable. I can't wait for Spring to start wearing them.
Date published: 2017-02-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overalls to Adore I am 5'6" and typically wear a 28-29 in jeans-I purchased a large in these. The medium would have been just way to snug for my taste. I sewed in my own large snap on the inside above the zipper to avoid the dreaded zipper issue. It also helps hold the fabric together to pull the zipper up. I feel there should have been a button or large snap as part of the design. The length could have been a little longer and a threaded closure above the fray would be good to prevent further fraying of the delicate bottom. Beyond that, they are well made - comfy and I adore the super high waist! It's very flattering. I hope to see a similar pair for fall in darker denim, longer length and the button/snap addition~
Date published: 2017-06-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Casual Fun This spring I made it a goal to add overalls to my wardrobe. These overalls were the perfect fit and wash. I am 5'6 130 lbs in bottoms I usually wear 4-6 27-28 and in tops small or 4. I originally ordered a size small because other reviews said they fit true to size, but I ended up returning the small and going up to a medium. I am small waisted but do have hips and the small was a little to snug through the hip area. The medium fit perfect and the denim does have some stretch which makes them very comfortable.
Date published: 2017-04-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from First pair of overalls I don't think I had overalls, even as a kid, so I was pleasantly surprised that these worked for me. The jean material is soft and the color is a perfect middle of the road wash (not too dark, not too light). For sizing reference, I am 5'2, 102lbs and I got the XXS. They really accentuate my waist and bottom, and are a versatile, fun addition to my closet. My only gripe, and the reason I took off 1 star is for the side zipper. It looks cute but is a tad uncomfortable on me as the material doesn't move as well there and I've found the zipper coming undone if I move in a certain way. I get why it's there, it's just my least favorite part of these otherwise awesome overalls.
Date published: 2017-04-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hilariously short, but great quality I am 5'10 size small and these fit like capris. I love the comfort and raw hem so I decided to rock them as cut offs/shorter length but wish they made a tall as other reviewers mentioned. I thought I'd be okay in a medium because I'm all torso, but still super short.
Date published: 2017-04-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Too short, but otherwise FAB I want these SO BAD, but they are too short. PLEASE make these in tall. I'm 5'8 with long legs and the length on these is too goofy for me to justify. Would absolutely purchase in tall, though! They fit like a glove and have the perfect stretch.
Date published: 2017-02-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from PLEASE make a tall! Finally the perfect fit overall! But please please please make them in tall! I just couldn't keep them because they're just not long enough for me but every thing else about them was perfect. Please?
Date published: 2017-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from so comfy and stretchy I love these overalls but I NEED THEM IN TALL. Please please make them in talls. I'm 5'11 size 0-2 and I tried them on in the medium hoping they would be longer but, they just hit me at such an awkward spot. I'm seriously in love with them though and they are so so comfortable but I just really need them in a tall. (hoping maybe they will do that??)
Date published: 2017-01-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful overalls! Consider ordering down if you're an hourglass... I love the drop hem, wash, high waist, and silver metal on these overalls!!! A little about me and my size issues: I am 5'5", about 130-135lbs, and an hourglass figure (26 inch waist, 38 inch hips). This poses a struggle with sizing at all stores, not just Madewell. I usually order up for the extra room in the rear and thighs and alter the waist of my pants to better fit my curves. I ordered a Medium in these overalls, and like most pants they fit great in the thighs but look ridiculous in the waist; like 2-3 inches of gapping. I'm going to try returning for the Small and hopefully they stretch enough in the legs for me. All I'm saying is, maybe consider buying for the size that matches your waist, not your hips if you are a curvy person. But overall, I LOVE this item and will try to make them work for me. Bring on Spring!
Date published: 2017-02-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect Kinda tight even at XL, should they be dri d in the dryer?
Date published: 2017-09-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from PLEASE BRING THESE BACK! I had my eye on these but missed out in my size! I would love to see these restocked in a XL! In the mean time, I'll be calling every store around me to find them!
Date published: 2017-07-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from too small, too bad I wear a 25 and can squeeze myself into a 24, so I thought i might be able to squeeze myself into the XXS. I was wrong. I could barely get them on and i could barely get them off. Anyway, hope this helps someone know whether or not they will fit the XXS. My measurements are 25 waist and 35 hips. I gave this a high rating because I could tell these would have been amazing if they had fit.
Date published: 2017-06-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Flattering and Comfy - Run Small! Overall newbie here (well, at least since the 4th grade) so these are my first pair from Madewell and and I am a fan. They are very flattering - they taper in at the waist and elongate my legs. The denim is thinner and stretchier than expected, but are extra comfy as a result and still feel well made. These hit me right at the ankle. I'm 5/2 and consistently wear 00/XXS/24 in Madewell, but sized up to an XS for these. They are still a snug, decidedly"skinny" fit, so I would highly recommend sizing up. I couldn't even zip up the XXS overalls.
Date published: 2017-06-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wish it came in sizes, not just small, medium and large I love my overalls. They are well made and have some nice stretch. I just wish they came in actual sizes. The medium was a little baggie and the small is a bit snug, but I prefer the snug so I kept the small and returned the medium. Madewell is great for returns, simple and easy and no shipping costs
Date published: 2017-05-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Problems with the zipper These are great in a lot of ways with one pretty major flaw, the zipper! The first few times I wore these it was totally fine but then it would just open every time I would sit or kneel (as a mom, I kneel frequently) The zipper was pretty rigid when I first got these and now it opens and closes so easily that any pressure-- especially bending-- will pop it open Maybe a button or loop would prevent this?
Date published: 2017-04-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Need Tall I have been dying to get a pair of Madewell skinny overalls and these are perfect except these are so short on me that I look like Tom Sawyer in them. PLEASE GET THEM IN TALL. Thanks!
Date published: 2017-02-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wish this pair actually came in petite I love the option to have my madewell jeans hemmed for free to fit my 5'0" frame but these are wasted if I were to do that because you lose the drop hem. Please please offer short sizes when the magic is in the hem
Date published: 2017-02-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Zipper doesn't stay Super cute but the zipper kept coming down, even after I "locked" it. Also, these are super expensive. There are so many other cute ones for less so it was hard to justify keeping these.
Date published: 2017-03-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not what I expected I wanted to love these overalls, but they don't live up to the quality I was expecting from this brand. The zipper on the side comes unzipped quite easily which is embarrassing. The straps are hard to adjust and when I first received them in the mail, they had a very strange odor to them. I have washed them twice so far and I can still smell it, which makes me not want to wear them.
Date published: 2017-07-24
  • y_2017, m_9, d_19, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_65
  • loc_en_US, sid_G1205, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_madewell