This Just In

NEW ARRIVALS

Fall 2017 Collection

Looks We Love

Labels We Love

The Fall Shoe Shop

The Madewell Essentials

Monogram It

Denim Report

Events

Our clothes, your pics

How We Do Well

clothing

DENIM

TEES & SWEATSHIRTS

SHIRTS & TOPS

SWEATERS

JACKETS & COATS

DRESSES

(see all)

day-to-night dresses
casual dresses
cocktail dresses
midi & maxi dresses
denim dresses
jumpsuits & rompers

SKIRTS

PANTS & SHORTS

LEISURE & ACTIVE

intimates & pajamas

SWIM & BEACHWEAR

SALE

extended sizes

shoes, bags &
more

SHOES & BOOTS

BAGS

JEWELRY

sunglasses

ACCESSORIES

GIFT & HOME

Behind
The Scenes

Our Blog

Denim Report

#DENIMMADEWELL

#EVERYDAYMADEWELL

#Totewell

#WELLHEELED

About Madewell

Striped Retreat Dress
full size
Striped Retreat Dress
Striped Retreat Dress
Striped Retreat Dress
Product Details
Supersoft and striped, this toss-on tee dress is work-to-whatever easy. Our latest favorite and oh so good.
  • Nonwaisted.
  • Falls 34 3/4" from high point of shoulder.
  • Cotton.
  • Machine wash.
  • Import.
SHIPPING
Free shipping exclusively for Madewell Insiders
*For complete details, see our Shipping Policy.

Striped Retreat Dress

Striped Retreat Dress is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 19.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My every day mum dress I love this dress. The material is nice and thick. The length is wonderful; I just find the sleeves to be strangely tight. I did get it in my usual size of XXS and feared the XS would hang on my frame strangely.
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A must have for summer! I'm not usually a dress girl and I never thought I'd say this about a dress but I am in love! I got the red striped color, the cut makes for a perfect laid back easy summer day look. I think it fits true to size, I got a small which is my normal madewell size - I originally tried on a M because I wanted a laid back look but went with the small for a more fitted top, which I think is key for this dress because it does flare out. I love it so much I think I'm going to buy the Aztec color too!!
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute but top runs small I wear xs in madewell tees (I'm 5'4, 130lbs) so that is what I ordered here and it was waaaay too tight on my arms and shoulders. The quality of this dress is great - nice and thick and a good amount of stretch. The bottom half fit me fine as it flares out a bit. Going to size up and hope that one fits better.
Date published: 2017-03-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Almost, but Not Quite I ditto ktmc's review. I tried this on at the store and loved the overall style and the quality feel of the fabric, but it really tented out on me. A little more taken in would have have made it perfect. Maybe a better fit for a taller person? I'm 5'2", 113 and the XS fit quite comfortably, even though I have a wide chest and big arms.
Date published: 2017-04-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from weird fit I sized up to a small and found the bottom portion way too baggy. If you have narrow shoulders you should try this dress on in your normal size other wise don't
Date published: 2017-04-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Top too small I was so excited to get this dress as it is perfect for casual days! Unfortunately, the top portion of this dress is way to tight in arms and chest. I am usually an XS in Madewell tops (5'1" 112lbs) and the XS was incredibly too tight in chest and arms. Looked fine, but felt uncomfortable. I sized up to a small and while it was a little looser, it still didn't fit as comfortably as I hoped.
Date published: 2017-03-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's cute but baggy SO I would say that the quality is great and I love the style, to be able to just casually throw on a short sleeve dress is great. However, this one puffs out a lot. I don't want something fitted, but I also don't want something that makes me look pregnant. If it was a little more form fitting it would be great.
Date published: 2017-04-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Shrinks on the first wash I am 5'6" and 125lbs and ordered a small. The first time I wore it, I loved this dress! It fit perfectly and looked great. After 1 wash it shrunk so much that I now have to wear it as a long shirt over leggings. Huge bummer. Wish it were 3-4" longer or wish I had ordered a M.
Date published: 2017-06-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cute but boxy Following other reviewers, I ordered on size larger (M) than my usual S in Madewell dresses. Unfortunately, this made the dress too boxy and shapeless. The fabric is great, and I wanted to love this dress but opted for another option.
Date published: 2017-04-25
  • y_2017, m_10, d_20, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_19
  • loc_en_US, sid_G1763, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_madewell