This Just In

NEW ARRIVALS

Fall 2017 Collection

Looks We Love

Labels We Love

The Madewell Essentials

Monogram It

Denim Report

Events

Our clothes, your pics

How We Do Well

clothing

DENIM

TEES & SWEATSHIRTS

SHIRTS & TOPS

SWEATERS

JACKETS & COATS

DRESSES

(see all)

day-to-night dresses
casual dresses
cocktail dresses
midi & maxi dresses
denim dresses
jumpsuits & rompers

SKIRTS

PANTS & SHORTS

LEISURE & ACTIVE

intimates & pajamas

SWIM & BEACHWEAR

SALE

extended sizes

shoes, bags &
more

SHOES & BOOTS

BAGS

JEWELRY

sunglasses

ACCESSORIES

GIFT & HOME

Behind
The Scenes

Our Blog

Denim Report

#DENIMMADEWELL

#EVERYDAYMADEWELL

#Totewell

#WELLHEELED

About Madewell

Novel Dress
full size
Novel Dress
Novel Dress
Novel Dress
Product Details
A drapey, sophisticated take on a T-shirt dress. Fluid, modern and so, so easy.
  • Nonwaisted.
  • Falls 35" from high point of shoulder.
  • Viscose.
  • Dry clean.
  • Import.
SHIPPING
Free shipping exclusively for Madewell Insiders
*For complete details, see our Shipping Policy.

Novel Dress

Novel Dress is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 18.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So comfy Love this dress, especially the color. It feels great too!
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect staple Love this dress. It will wrinkle a bit, so I recommend not wrapping up with a heavy coat or spending the whole commute seated, otherwise you'll be quite wrinkly.
Date published: 2017-05-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great dress! This dress is so pretty, perfect for the Spring! The only reason I gave it four stars was because of the length. It was a little shorter than I expected, but still wearable. Overall it was a great buy and I am considering purchasing in another color as well.
Date published: 2017-03-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from see through I bought the navy. Im 5'4 and 116 pounds. XS was a great fit but the dress is see through. Bummer bc its a great style!!! I guess I could buy a slip but I'm all about effortless styling. I'm more of a throw on and go girl. If you aren't self conscious of the see through,,,,it's awesome! But I am returning
Date published: 2017-03-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Color and style are beautiful, but... This dress WRINKLES LIKE CRAZY. I am wearing the green version as I type this... I love the color, the drape, the length. It is super cute and comfortable, but after being in it for about two hours, I'm already feeling self-conscious about how wrinkled and disheveled it looks. A lining or a more substantial fabric would have helped mightily...
Date published: 2017-03-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wrinkles! I ordered it in the teal- the color is lovely and the drape is great, but it is see through in sunlight. A simple dress of this price should definitely be lined, but this one isn't. It is also SO wrinkly, that was the main thing that made me decide to send it back. I was hoping for an easy dress to travel with and wear this spring, but this is too high maintenance. If you do order though, it does run a bit big. I ordered a small (I'm 5'4", 125), and would've exchanged for an xs.
Date published: 2017-03-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not great I ordered this dress in a medium which I've worn before and this dress didn't fit me at all. It was very short in length-shorter than I would be comfortable with-and very loose and baggy everywhere else. I didn't feel comfortable exchanging for a different size so this was a return for me. For a reference, I am 5'7" and 145 lbs, average build.
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too sheer I was disappointed with how sheer and see through the fabric is.
Date published: 2017-03-13
  • y_2017, m_9, d_20, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_18
  • loc_en_US, sid_G1891, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_madewell