This Just In


Looks We Love

The Getaway Shop

The Bag Shop

The Shoe Shop

Spring 2018 Denim

Labels We Love

The Madewell Essentials

Monogram It


Your double-tap-worthy pics

From denim recycling to
beach cleaning


springy things








(see all)

casual dresses
day-to-night dresses
cocktail dresses
midi & maxi dresses
denim dresses





intimates & pajamas



extended sizes

shoes, bags &








The Scenes

Our Blog





About Madewell

Velvet Bell-Sleeve Dress
full size
Velvet Bell-Sleeve Dress
Velvet Bell-Sleeve Dress
Velvet Bell-Sleeve Dress
Product Details
With bell sleeves and a drop waist, this channeling-the-'90s style is made of lustrous velvet with a touch of silk. An after-5pm dress with covered buttons down the back (and a bit of attitude).  
  • Nonwaisted.
  • Falls 35" from high point of shoulder.
  • Viscose/silk.
  • Dry clean.
  • Import.
Free shipping exclusively for Madewell Insiders
*For complete details, see our Shipping Policy.

Velvet Bell-Sleeve Dress

Velvet Bell-Sleeve Dress is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 23.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Elegant Evening Dress I love the luxury feeling of the material, although the fitting is a bit off. I'm 5'2", 102 lbs, athletic fit. I tried on x-small first, it runs tight on the shoulder for me, but wherever else is fine. So I bought the size small, the shoulder is comfortable, but the waist runs quite large, so I have to cinch the waist by using a belt. Then it works fine.
Date published: 2017-11-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not too shabby! I ordered this dress in "Spiced Rose" because I was taken in by the romantic design and idea of a fancy-yet-casual little dress that I could wear to multiple events this holiday season, including a wedding, my birthday dinner and Christmas. I read the sad reviews but ordered it anyway, just making sure to prepare myself for a moment of crushing insecurity when I eventually would try it on... HOWEVER. The dress arrived, and it looks great! For reference, I am 5'5", 147 lbs., and nuggety in shape (I have a bum, a tummy, and a small bust). I ordered a medium, and it is more flattering than I expected. Only negative is that the colour is a bit faded and a shade more rusty than I expected, nowhere near as vibrant and festive as it looks on the 4 different monitors I viewed it on prior to ordering. Also, I would have appreciated a spare button or two. Is it overpriced? Yeah, a bit. For anyone wondering about the exact breakdown in fibres, it is 82% viscose, 18% silk, and polyester lined.
Date published: 2017-11-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality, great length I wanted to love this dress, but it just sat at an odd height on my torso. It hit at the widest point of my midsection and didn’t drape in a flattering way. So close! I love this dress. The bell sleeves are subtle but give just enough flair to stand out.
Date published: 2017-10-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wear with caution I love everything about this dress - the color, the fit, the sleeves, the button detailing down the back, the skirt - but because it's velvet remember to use caution when wearing this dress! Any form of humidity puts the velvet at risk for crushing. I wore this dress over the weekend and and as a result of a warm day I accidentally caused crushing at the seat of the dress. I'm planning to take it to the dry cleaners to see if they can get the fibers to stand back up again and make the metallic velvet effect look consistent throughout again. Otherwise, great party dress!
Date published: 2017-11-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from nice details but fit is odd I got this in an xs, which is what I normally fit into at Madewell. It is a cute dress but the fit is odd. The top felt saggy, the shoulders are very wide and the arms are large. I know its a drapey dress but if the top had been a bit more tailored, it would look purposely draped instead of just todd. It isn't very flattering. The bottom is a nice drop waist and fits well. I don't have a barge bust so maybe if you do, it will help fill it out? I unfortunately got it on sale so can't return it but otherwise I would.
Date published: 2017-12-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pretty but large I loved this dress but the dress was very large when I tried it on and made me look large than I was.
Date published: 2017-11-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from wanted to love it... the sleeves hit me at a strange spot that just made it look like my sleeves were too short - this was only emphasized by the bell sleeve. then, the loose drop waist was not very flattering on me. the fabric (being velvet) and the fact that i didn't have a defined waist added bulk. loved the color and fabric though.
Date published: 2017-10-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from returned unfortunately make sure that if you have curves at all.. butt or bust that this is not the dress for you. the skirt is dropped lower than I thought and the cut is very straight and square... not the most flattering unless your body type is straight.
Date published: 2017-10-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Oddly placed drop waist I got this in the reddish pink and returned it unfortunately. The sleeves were surprisingly short even on my short arms, so with the bell sleeves it looked like I was wearing borrowed clothes. Next, if you're well endowed in either chest or rear end, this will hang on your curves like a sack and fall straight down, with the drop waist falling at the most unflattering place of all. It might have also been the way it came out of the bag and I didn't get a chance to steam or wash, but it looked like something that would always be wrinkled and look messy. If you're straight up and down and tall like the model, it's obviously pretty.
Date published: 2017-10-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Frumpy Dress I am a slender woman at 5ft 10in and 135lb and this dress was way too large in every direction!! Unless frumpy is your style, I wouldn't recommend this dress. I returned it right after ordering it. The quality of the dress is great, but the style is disappointing.
Date published: 2017-11-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wanted to Love It Loved the unique details and overall romantic look of this velvet dress. The buttons down the back and other features help it standout from the velvet pieces that are flooding stores this season. Unfortunately, as a petite woman (5'2") with hips (125lbs), this was not the winner for me. Like many Madewell pieces, it is cut for tall women with no curves. Frustrating, as it hung off my body like I was borrowing someone else's dress. The neck was cut too low and wide, not flattering my neckline or bust at all. The sleeves somehow made me look like a small child. Oddly, it seemed like no matter what size I was going to purchase, none of them would fit correctly. The problem had less to do with the size of my body and much more with its shape. Additionally, when I tried it on - I noticed a button had popped off! For this much money, you could do better regarding quality. A sad day for this gal, as it had to back.
Date published: 2017-11-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor Fit, Poor Quality, Neat Style The quality is poor. Loose in the front area but pulling in the back where the buttons are. Not impressed with this madewell piece. Not flattering and not the quality that I am used to.
Date published: 2017-10-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from not for curvy people It fits but it very unflattering if you have hips. This is made for someone with no curves
Date published: 2017-12-12
  • y_2018, m_3, d_21, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_23
  • loc_en_US, sid_G8345, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_madewell