This Just In

NEW ARRIVALS

Looks We Love

Labels We Love

The Getaway Shop

The Madewell Essentials

Monogram It

Denim Report

Events

Our clothes, your pics

How We Do Well

clothing

DENIM

TEES & TANKS

SHIRTS & TOPS

SWEATERS

JACKETS

DRESSES

(see all)

casual dresses
day-to-night dresses
cocktail dresses
midi & maxi dresses
denim dresses
jumpsuits & rompers

SKIRTS

SHORTS & PANTS

LEISURE

intimates & pajamas

SWIM & BEACHWEAR

SALE

extended sizes

shoes, bags &
more

SHOES & SANDALS

BAGS

JEWELRY

sunglasses

ACCESSORIES

GIFT & HOME

Behind
The Scenes

Our Blog

Denim Report

#DENIMMADEWELL

#EVERYDAYMADEWELL

#Totewell

#WELLHEELED

About Madewell

The Introduction Sweaterdress
full size
The Introduction Sweaterdress
The Introduction Sweaterdress
The Introduction Sweaterdress
Product Details
A simple, sophisticated turtleneck sweaterdress that you can slip on to go anywhere. Easy, cool, comfy and oh so warm.  
  • True to size, nonwaisted.
  • Falls 34" from shoulder.
  • Merino wool.
  • Dry clean.
  • Import.
SHIPPING
Free shipping exclusively for Madewell Insiders
*For complete details, see our Shipping Policy.

The Introduction Sweaterdress

The Introduction Sweaterdress is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 26.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cozy chic I've been coveting this sweater for months and finally ordered it - so happy I did. This is a much-needed addition to my winter wardrobe and looks great dressed up with tights, a belt and booties or worn as a tunic over jeans or leggings for a more casual look.
Date published: 2014-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect winter dress I bought the cream dress and it is awesome. I bring it to the office with biker boots and then switch to heels (my Mira heels) and it looks awesome with both shoe styles. It is pretty warm, and the length is perfect (I'm 5'6''). I hope after washing the length stays the same. Comfortable and fashion, what else do we girls need?
Date published: 2014-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Versatile and Comfy!! I wore this dress to work with tights and ankle boots and it looked great! I particularly love the high-low hem because I don't feel the compulsion to pull down the hem if I'm worried that I'm showing off too much bum.
Date published: 2014-11-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from cute, wide cut, WARM I am between an S and XS normally and got this in the S. Length & sleeve length are perfect for me (5'4" with long limbs), but the body of the dress is pretty wide. Somehow it works and is the cute kind of boxy on my straightish body type. I'm not sure how it would look on much curvier figures and feel like it could swallow up a true petite. The texture is fuzzy but in an intentional looking way, the big collar is awesome, and on the whole the dress is **extremely** warm, almost too warm for some overheated indoor venues in the winter. Fantastic for chillier places or heading outside, though.
Date published: 2015-02-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfy and cozy I'm 5'2 and ordered an x-small. It ran a little long, but not too bad. Overall, very comfy and easy to throw on! Wore the dress with black tights and heeled booties.
Date published: 2015-01-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from BIG, but cozy I'm 5'6, 140 and ordered a medium. I was SWIMMING in this. I returned and reordered x-small and still very large, long and not overly flattering (on me). I tried belting it, little better. It's still great quality, good color (got the oatmeal color). I'm going to keep trying to style it with different belts, boots etc because I want it to work.
Date published: 2014-12-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm and comfy for the fall The perfect dress for the fall and winter. Add some tights and chunky heels and this girl is good to go. Might run a tad large, but not enough to fuss.
Date published: 2014-12-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cozy I wore this dress for the first time earlier this week. It was very cozy for a brisk winter day. I wore it with grey tights and over the knee black suede boots - quite chic. I bought a size smaller based on the reviews - A small vs my normal M. I think it will be an easy go-to dress for this winter.
Date published: 2014-12-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Runs larger than life! This is a actually a pretty nice sweater dress; ribbed sweater with a high low hem and a little bit different from all the other sweater dresses out there. The only issue is that it does run a little large on me (normally I go between an XS and S size at Madewell), the XS was big. FYI: I am 5'1 and 107 lbs. And it wasn't so much the length of the dress (which usually is the problem but this one hit my knees which is just what I was hoping for) but the fact that it was a little too much sweater around the hips, making me look wider. No petite sizes here so if I want it that much, I would have to order the XXS online and take a chance it will be the perfect fit! But I am a little reluctant for the price. Hence the three stars for value. Please put the XXS sizes in stores...please!
Date published: 2014-11-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best sweater-dress ever This is really cute on. The only minor flaw is that its really long and I am 5'5" so it will likely be perfect on anyone who is 5'7-5'9. But I can still make it work (I have long legs so it hits me right above the knee). Both colors are nice but the grey is better with my coloring. Its super cozy and warm and will be so amazing over jeans or with tights and boots this winter. Especially underneath a long wool coat for walks in the snow. I love it. I would also say that it runs a bit big. I am 5'5" and weigh 138 lbs. Often I take a M in madewell sweaters but I got a small in this and it was fairly roomy but I do not want it fitted due to post-baby tummy.
Date published: 2014-11-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Runs very large Beautiful sweater - soft and nice quality, but unfortunately it is so large and bulky that it was just entirely unflattering. I am 5'8" and normally wear a size 8 (small-medium on top/med-large on bottom). I ordered a medium (I very rarely deviate from this size) and the dress was enormous - maybe even a large mislabeled? Final sale item, so unfortunately I can't return or exchange. Disappointing.
Date published: 2015-02-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Runs large The baggy look is not too flattering with this style. I usually wear a S or, very occasionally, XS. I ordered the S and it was enormous - shapeless and unflattering.
Date published: 2014-12-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Warm but very unappealing from the back It's comfortable, yes, but I will only be wearing this around the house. Unfortunately, I bought it on final sale so I can't return it. It is VERY unflattering from the back. Oh well.
Date published: 2015-04-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Warm I am not a fan of the dress. it runs incredibly large and there's no way that I'd be ever able to wear it in public.
Date published: 2015-05-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Way too big My husband got me this for Christmas. It looks so cute in the photo. I'm 5'9", not even 120 lbs. Pretty sure he got me a small but it may have been an extra small. Either way, it was not flattering- very bulky and oversized and not in a cool way. Also, the wool was kind of abrasive and itchy. It was very disappointing and I took it back.
Date published: 2015-03-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not flattering The quality of the knit is very nice and soft, but it looked sloppy & unflattering when I put it on. If you are tall & skinny (or if your body shape is straight), this would probably look good. The fit is slouchy & shapeless, so if your hips are wider than your bust or if you have a tummy, it clings in all the wrong places. If it was more fitted in the waist & flared around the hips, then it might look better on pear-shaped bodies. It would be very cozy if it was just a sweater, not a sweater dress.
Date published: 2014-12-03
  • y_2017, m_7, d_23, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_26
  • loc_en_US, sid_B4913, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_madewell