This Just In

NEW ARRIVALS

Looks We Love

Labels We Love

the fall bag shop

The Shoe & Sneaker Shop

The Madewell Essentials

Monogram It

Denim Report

Events

Our clothes, your pics

How We Do Well

clothing

DENIM

TEES & TANKS

SHIRTS & TOPS

SWEATERS

JACKETS

(see all)

jackets
denim jackets
leather jackets

DRESSES

SKIRTS

PANTS & SHORTS

LEISURE

intimates & pajamas

SWIM & BEACHWEAR

SALE

extended sizes

shoes, bags &
more

SHOES & SNEAKERS

BAGS

JEWELRY

sunglasses

ACCESSORIES

GIFT & HOME

Behind
The Scenes

Our Blog

Denim Report

#DENIMMADEWELL

#EVERYDAYMADEWELL

#Totewell

#WELLHEELED

About Madewell

Outbound Jacket
full size
Outbound Jacket
Outbound Jacket
Outbound Jacket
Product Details
This military-inspired field jacket features authentic details—like epaulets and pockets that button—and a softly worn-in finish. It's just the layering piece for ever-changing weather (and makes everything underneath it look cooler too).  
  • True to size.
  • Cotton with a hint of stretch.
  • Machine wash.
  • Import.
SHIPPING
Free shipping exclusively for Madewell Insiders
*For complete details, see our Shipping Policy.

Outbound Jacket

Outbound Jacket is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 69.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fall Transition Jacket I am 5'2 and 130lbs and I got this jacket in Medium because I wanted to layer underneath it come fall. The sleeves are a little long but I like to wear them rolled up like the model is wearing it so that doesn't bother me. It is a little big but you can tighten the waist with a string. This goes so well with so many things I can't wait to wear it when the weather cools down. I got it on sale with 40% and so for that bargain I couldn't be disappointed!
Date published: 2014-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it Have been looking for an army style jacket and this one fits perfectly, love it!
Date published: 2014-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Undeniably Essential One of the best investments I have made in a long time. Outfit missing something? Not anymore! Chilly? Not with this baby. It goes with everything and is so well made! (hah!) I strongly believe every individual world wide should purchase one!
Date published: 2014-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Perfect Military Jacket I had already purchased the Outbound Jacket in the All-Weather, rain-resistant material for rainier spring days but keep eying the original because I'd loved the softer material and lighter color. I took the plunge when it went on sale and haven't regretted it in the slightest! I sized down from my usual medium to a small, and even though I'm pretty busty, I can still button up the jacket if necessary. A lighter hoodie/sweatshirt/sweater should fit comfortably underneath when necessary. As other reviewers have mentioned the sleeves are pretty long but I don't mind the look and they are easy to push up to your elbows if the length becomes bothersome. I see this jacket being a part of my wardrobe for many years, making it well worth the investment at any price!
Date published: 2014-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best in class Have been looking for a military style jacket and this one is perfect. so many great details: adjustable waist, top- or side-entry pockets that fall at the right spot, collar tab for when you wear the jacket fully buttoned-up, great fabric quality and feel. I did get it on sale, so it was an even better value, and I'll be wearing it layered all Fall and Winter.
Date published: 2014-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THIS I absolutely love this jacket. I weight about 100 pounds and I am 5'2. Typically, I wear sizes x-small and small, but I read a review the day I ordered this jacket and I decided to purchase x-small, and I'm really glad I didn't size up. This jacket fits perfectly with a slight oversized fit, which is what I was looking for anyway. The quality is great and the olive color is perfect for the upcoming fall season. It's fitted, but has enough space for layering.
Date published: 2014-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smart Features From the photos alone I could tell this jacket would be great, however, I didn't realize that it would exceed my expectations. I was worried that it would be boxy, but it turns out that there is a drawstring sewn within the coat that is not visible from the outside. Since I purchased a large, having the drawstring is nice to create a little shape around my waist and make it a bit more feminine. I also like that I can button it all the way up my neck, making it a great transitional coat when the winter comes. Surely this is a jacket I'll have for a long time.
Date published: 2014-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fall winter and even spring jacket I absolutely love this jacket its moto style collar is so different and flattering its my favorite part ! and in terms of quality the fabric is stiff but not in an uncomfortable way just a well made well constructed way. A perfect length and the adjustable snitching aspect is so nice because it adds such a flattering feminine touch so it docent look so boxy. I compare the fabric feel to that of a jean jacket thats also the thickness of the fabric in my opinion. I think the color is really nice the buttons in the picture look a bit cheap i thought but its really nice in person and the darker green buttons add a really nice touch! i can't say anything bad about it its my favorite buy so far this year! This jacket makes me feel like a stylish human being ! love love love QUALITY is this jacket i believe it will last through many years!
Date published: 2014-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Versatile and well made Like most Madewell items, the quality of this jacket is excellent, and the value can't be beat when in the market for a military jacket. It goes with so many outfits and is great for composing both hard and soft looks. At first I was taken back by how long the sleeves are (I'm 5'2"), and I'm not sure they could be hemmed because of the cuff style, but then I realized that it's meant to be worn with rolled up sleeves, as in the picture. I'm not sure how I'll feel about that come fall, but for now it works great.
Date published: 2014-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well worth it- especially when on sale! Bought this on sale, and am so happy with my purchase. The fit is perfection, and the color in person is a tad more olive green (it looks like there is a yellow tinge on the computer picture). It is a great coat. Lightweight enough to use throughout the seasons (at least in southern California), but I can see that it will also serve me well in colder weather. I am 5'2" 110 lbs and took this in an XS. I typically wear XS in Madewell tops, so I would recommend this size for you too if you're trying to decide between a Small or XS and are in the same position as me! With the XS it is form fitting, but still loose enough that I can layer a bit underneath it. Plus with my shorter torso this jacket hits me exactly where it should. Buy this! You won't regret it!!
Date published: 2014-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice! I am always drawn toward this style of jacket but hadn't found one I was ready to spend money on. I was hesitant to get this one too. But after seeing it on some celebrities and reading the reviews, I decided to go for it and am glad I did. The style, fabric and quality are great. I am 5'6', 140 lbs. and bought a medium, which fits great.
Date published: 2014-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my favorite jacket I love this jacket. It's such a pretty shade of green that works well with my wardrobe. I ordered size M using the size chart measurements to fit my bust. The fit was right on for my bust & hips---the waist is a little oversized on me, but it is adjustable with inside ties. If you have slim hips, you might be able to size down. It's definitely worth the full price, but even better on sale. Get one!
Date published: 2014-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very versatile I love this jacket. I purchased it to wear on my vacation to Scotland. Iit was chilly there and this jacket was perfect for layering. It also looked great with all my outfits.
Date published: 2014-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy your normal size Buy the size you normally wear. Awesome jacket. Tailored fit. I bought a size smaller on line after reading reviews but saw the jacket in the store and when I tried them on, I bought my true size
Date published: 2014-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very versatile jacket perfect for Spring and Fall I was very impressed with this jacket. I would have purchased the XS, however it was unavailable. I liked the jacket so much I decided to go with the Small. Although it is a little too big for my taste, the jacket still worked out wonderfully. It was fashionable and served a purpose of provide a light layer of warmth in cooler climates such as San Francisco. I highly recommend this jacket and think it's worth every penny. In addition to being tasteful as well as utilitarian, it's also well-made and durable, which is what I have found from all Madewell products.
Date published: 2014-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect military jacket I like every single thing about this jacket: great olive green color, sturdy yet soft cotton fabric, nice details. I am 5'8' (135lb) with broad shoulders and I purchased an L. I went up a size as I wanted it oversized and slouchy to wear it with skinny jeans and so I can layer if needed. The jacket looks great over a dress as well. Great purchase!
Date published: 2014-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great dress-down item Fabric is heavy but not stiff, and finish is nicely weathered & worn. Works well with casual outfits, of course, and adds a nice contrast to dressier items like pencil skirts or silk. I took my usual Madewell size and fit was spot-on. Consider sizing up, though, if you plan to layer sweaters or heavy tops underneath.
Date published: 2014-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The military jacket you've all been looking for. I've been looking for a good military jacket for two years. I've bought and returned two that just weren't quite right. I saw this one and based on previous reviews ordered it right away. I sized down a size for this jacket, but I didn't need to. The fit is really nice, not boxy like many jackets of this type. A hint of stretch allows for a tighter fit if that's what you're looking for. Otherwise I'd order your regular size.
Date published: 2014-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trusty military jacket I bought this to replace a 10 year old worn out military jacket, and I'm so very happy with it. In fact, I already like it better than my old jacket. It fits TTS, is super soft, and has that perfect mid-weight that allows it to be both warm and airy as needed in spring and cool summer evenings. I love it over light summer dresses, but I'm also pleased that the sleeves are wide enough to allow wearing a long sleeved top underneath. A big plus is that the pockets have an opening on the side so you can comfortably slide your hands in. I looked at many military jackets at other retailers and this one is definitely the winner.
Date published: 2014-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect jacket! Fast shipping and great quality! You won't regret this purchase!
Date published: 2014-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous garment I loved this jacket but ordered a large to accommodate a light sweater underneath. Alas, there was more than enough room for that, so had to send it back and must now wait for it to be backordered in a medium. Can't wait for it to arrive. PS I can understand why it's backordered. It's a lovely piece.
Date published: 2014-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect military jacket So happy I could finally order this jacket! It is so comfortable and the color and cut are perfect. I'm normally an XS in Madewell tops (5'5", 110lb, petite, small shoulders) but sized down to an XXS for this because it looked oversized. The XXS is perfect. Love it!
Date published: 2014-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Perfect Jacket ! I waited months and months to order this jacket and finally decided to buy it and it just arrived today. I LOVE it!! It is the most perfect military jacket out there. Believe me I have scoured every brand! It's even better in person that on website. Perfect color, perfect weight, perfect proportions, perfectly casual but not sloppy. The collar stands up nicely which is a chic touch. I am petite and normally XSMALL but sized down for this jacket. The XXSMALL is perfect . I pretty much love everything I have ever purchased from Madewell and this jacket is my all time fave!!! HIGHLY recommend it!
Date published: 2014-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Spring/Fall Outerwear Love it! Simple, attractive, versatile, well-made. What more could a girl ask for.
Date published: 2014-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must Have I absolutely LOVE this jacket. It is heavy canvas, unlined, but perfect for late spring and summer. I believe it is not intended to be a fitted jacket, so with that in mind, I would say it fits true to size. I bought the medium, though I could fit into the small, but wanted it to be a bit longer in the sleeves. What really sold me on this jacket was that the you can slide your hand into the sides of the pockets, not just straight down like so many boyfriend/fatigue jackets I have looked at.
Date published: 2014-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Everyday Jacket. I wear this jacket quite often because it looks amazing with anything underneath. Fits great and thin enough to still be worn all year round. This should be one of those jackets that every girl must have in their closet.
Date published: 2014-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cute Jacket! This jacket is so cute with the sleeves rolled up or down. It fits true size. Love the cut and the length, not too short, not too long.
Date published: 2014-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fit is correct with size guide. This is a very nice product. Was worried about the fit even though I used my correct measurements to order. Fit is great. Color is lovely. Fabric is very nice. Very happy with my jacket.
Date published: 2014-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the perfect military jacket I looked everywhere for the perfect military jacket and tried on half a dozen before I found this one. It is the perfect fit and color. I love the drawstring waist hidden inside.
Date published: 2014-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great piece to add to your collection I have a really hard time finding jackets that fit well - I'm 5'11, 145 lbs so if a jacket is long enough, it's usually really bulky or big one me. Then I discovered this beauty and I'm thrilled to add it to my collection. Great color and material, perfect for spring and layering, nicely fitted. Definitely recommend it.
Date published: 2014-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every penny! I read a review that said this was the best impulse buy! well it took me a few years to give in to the trend and I just wish I hadn't waited so long. Best jacket in years. I live in Florida and I can wear it all year round and I know I will!
Date published: 2014-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Military Style Jacket I had two other military style jackets in my closet, which both went up for auction on ebay the day this jacket arrived. I had settled, I admit it. This great jacket was worth the price and will remain a wardrobe staple for years to come.
Date published: 2014-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Versatility This jacket is so versatile and a staple in my wardrobe. The color goes with everything.
Date published: 2013-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous Fall jacket! I wear size 8P and I bought a medium. It fits perfectly! I am loving how versatile it is. Styling with skinnies & heels, bootcut & boots, maxis & flats. Quality piece with interesting details.
Date published: 2013-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from In Lieu of the Moto jacket... Perfect cool, fall weather jacket. Looks great with black legging jeans, black tshirt and wedge sneakers. Great value:)
Date published: 2013-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from In LOVE! It is the perfect military style jacket. At first, I was hesitant because of the price tag but took the plunge and after receiving it and trying it on all I can say that I am in love and so happy with my decision. It is so worth the price and looks of a very good quality that will last for years. For reference: I'm 5'7 125lb 34B, I chose the M and it fits true to size and looks exactly like on the model. A bit oversized but still fitted, exactly like a military jacket is supposed to fit.
Date published: 2013-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! This jacket is wonderful for fall. I live in California, so it is perfect for the weather here. I love it because there are a lot of pockets, and if I don't want to carry a purse, everything I want to take with me can fit in these pockets. The jacket fits great and you can tell it is also great quality. I am very happy with it.
Date published: 2013-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXACTLY WHAT I WANTED. I didn't expect to get this jacket from my mom because of the price and my age. This jacket is perfect though. I'm a teenager with a bit of an edgy edge, and I had been wanting a military-type jacket for ages. I had tried several, but the key for me was layerability. It's super comfortable, warm and good looking. I'm 5'4" petite, slender and 32D, and I bought a medium so I could put a sweatshirt underneath, for reference. My one problem was that the buttons are REALLY loose. I ended up resewing all of them. But I don't see myself having any other problems, all the loose threads are clipped and such. This was definitely worth the money and a really good first from Madewell.
Date published: 2013-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this jacket! Love this jacket! It's baggy but still somehow fits well and is flattering. It goes well with everything! Great addition to any wardrobe!
Date published: 2013-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable, casual jacket I'm 5'7" with a 24" waist and a long torso. XXS is a good fit, with a little room for a sweater underneath, but does not look bulky, good length, drawstring is the right place for a tall/longwasited person. SO comfy. Not stiff or restricting in the arms, chest or shoulders. The fabric weight is good for a light jacket. It's as warm as a wool blazer. The model pic only shows the look of the jacket with the lapels open, but you can also fold the lower lapels in flat and button it to just under the collar at the neck and get the tight military look, and then pop the collar and button it closed. There are only two things I don't like about it: 1. the buttons are hard to do/undo because they go into a hidden flap and it's hard for me to get my fingers in there. 2. There's a drawstring inside to cinch the waist but no toggle to keep the string in place-you must tie in a knot- so it loosens back up eventually. Not deal breakers, espcially if you wear it open.
Date published: 2013-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just the right casual military jacket I was looking for! This was the perfect military style jacket I was looking for. Details are there, nice stitching, perfect weight cotton for a fall jacket. I'm a size 6-8 and this fit is pretty true to size; I could get away with layering a light weight sweater underneath. Always nice to see this jacket featured in a fashion magazine; People's Style Watch! I will wear this jacket a lot!
Date published: 2013-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great jacket! This jacket is better than I even hoped for. The material is smooth, the cut if perfect sizing and I have gotten compliments every time I have worn it.
Date published: 2013-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from so decent.... This jacket is everything and more.....do not hesitate, Ladies. Got this in the mail deeply concerned I would have to send it back based on reviews that it ran a wee bit large....do not worry. Everything you love about military inspired outerwear is here, brilliantly fitted to the female form. I was merely looking for a replacement for a beloved jacket of 12 years and I happened upon this brilliance. It runs tts, draws at waist. Simply sublime...will wear for years.
Date published: 2013-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Army Jacket Out There! I waited 4 months for this jacket to become available (Madewell was sold out for a while). Anyway, it was totally worth it. This is the perfect army jacket because it doesn't add bulk and make you look big, but at the same time isn't too fitted. I am 5'6", 140lbs., a size 6 and I got the small. I am busty too and this doesn't accentuate that. The length is perfect and covers the top of your bottom. I tried on MANY jackets like this but this one is the best. And, the color is gorgeous! Get it - you won't be sorry!
Date published: 2013-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great jacket overall Bought large originally to make room for layering sweaters but returned for medium. If you are a medium buy that size- there's still plenty of room for a warm layer (since this jacket is unlined). Perfect shade of green and just the right amount of detail...no fussiness. Great jacket for years to come!
Date published: 2013-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Military Jacket!! I've been looking for a military jacket for a while now and so ecstatic that I snagged this jacket on popback! I'm normally a small and I got an extra small and it fits perfectly! It goes with everything for a laid back, chic look.
Date published: 2013-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OUTBOUND JACKET THE BEST! This jacket is a classic and is beautifully made. Soft and comfortable fabric. My new favorite jacket!! I want to wear it every day. Shipping was faster than I expected.
Date published: 2013-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The perfect Military Jacket I was looking for a slim-fit military style jacket for Spring... and the Outbound jacket caught my eyes! I love the slim-fit style, and the authentic military details. I am normally a size XS, but it seems to run slightly big. I am still keeping it and not going to exchange it for an XXS so that I can wear it with sweaters, etc. I have to say it's a little pricey for the quality, as it is slightly thin, but then again overall, I think this is the best military-inspired jacket out there. I can see why it's sold out! You're lucky if you can find one in the stores! I have worn it a few times already, and a ton of people have been complimenting me on the jacket. I love it over dresses or skinny jeans... A+++
Date published: 2013-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great jacket I've wanted an army-inspired jacket forever, but many of them are too oversized for my 5'3" height and make me look like I'm wearing a tent. The proportions on this jacket are much more flattering. There is an internal drawstring (that hits at the waist rather than the hips, which is a problem I've had with the oversized styles) that gives it that traditional military jacket feel. The distressing is light, and has a nice broken-in feeling rather than seeming worn out. Fits TTS. I usually wear a 4 and the small fit perfectly.
Date published: 2013-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally!! I've been looking for a great military-style jacket for ages, and they always look like huge sacks on me. However, this jacket has an AMAZING fit - so flattering and feminine while still keeping the military style. It's all about that cinched waist hitting in just the right place. I tried it on in the store and had to get it, although I ordered online to get the XXS. The design and styling is perfect, I can't get over it. Love it!
Date published: 2013-03-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute, versatile jacket I wanted a medium-weight jacket that could work over a light cardigan, and am very happy with this jacket. Only complaint is that fabric is a bit stiff (probably because it is thick), but that will probably dissipate after a few washes. I don't know if I would recommend this for heavier layering, as the arms are narrow but kind of long (my own body type is slim and slightly above average height), creating the catch-22 of sizing up for more arm room vs. having really really long sleeves. However, I am happy with the jacket and a dedicated Madewell fan overall, as their products are solid and they have fantastic customer service.
Date published: 2014-09-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from stylish I love the green jacket and have worn it twice already.
Date published: 2014-08-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from thumps up Really cool jacket.. Go for it!! True to size. Nice fabric. Looks just like it is in the picture
Date published: 2014-07-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfy and well-made jacket This jacket is comfortable and well made, the color is exactly as pictured. This is my first military jacket and I'm still not sure whether military suits me, but if this is your style, you can't go wrong with this jacket. I'm an XS or S in Madewell (5'5", 105 lbs) and I got this in XS. The fit is perfect.
Date published: 2014-04-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lightweight and versatile I did my homework and spent more than I had hoped on a really popular style this season and overall I'm pleased with the quality and the versatility of the jacket. Can dress up or down. I was hoping for a little heftier weight for the price, but if you're looking for a lightweight version of this style you will have a difficult time finding something better.
Date published: 2014-02-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Runs larger, slightly boxy Waited for this to be available. Boxy and large. Will have wear in the fall over sweaters. Sill I love the color, reminds me of an Army flak jacket. Happy with it!!!
Date published: 2013-09-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Jacket This is standard military jacket with good fit. Love the distressed details. I wear this jacket all the time. I think it could be just a touch more fitted (my reason for 4 vs 5 stars), but overall it's a great jacket at a very reasonable price.
Date published: 2013-07-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Stylish design and great fit but did not last through one wash! I bought this jacket in the darker wash a couple months ago on clearance (I am glad now that I did not pay full price). It has a great design and I've gotten so many compliments on it. However, I went to wash it exactly as the tag said (gentle cycle, no dryer). I even use a gentle laundry detergent. The jacket faded significantly after washing and a lot of the buttons came loose and one even fell off. I was disappointed because the color is different now and I have to sew some of the buttons back on. The quality is not as good as I originally thought upon first glance. This jacket should probably be dry clean only.
Date published: 2014-07-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Minority report I checked the size chart and read the reviews. I'm a regular size 4, nothing out of the ordinary. The small size jacket was way too tight, constricting around the armholes. I couldn't even close the bottom button! I don't get all the rave reviews. This was a somewhat stiff, uncomfortably tight piece of clothing. When unbuttoned, the side view was tent-like. Collar was ill-fitting, did not hug the neck. Also, a pretty drab and casual look; no way would I wear this with a dress, as some reviewers do. I returned it.
Date published: 2014-10-04
  • y_2017, m_8, d_18, h_10
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_69
  • loc_en_US, sid_42249, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_madewell