This Just In

NEW ARRIVALS

Looks We Love

Labels We Love

The Getaway Shop

The Madewell Essentials

Monogram It

Denim Report

Events

Our clothes, your pics

How We Do Well

clothing

DENIM

TEES & TANKS

SHIRTS & TOPS

SWEATERS

JACKETS

(see all)

jackets
denim jackets
leather jackets

DRESSES

SKIRTS

SHORTS & PANTS

LEISURE

intimates & pajamas

SWIM & BEACHWEAR

SALE

extended sizes

shoes, bags &
more

SHOES & SANDALS

BAGS

JEWELRY

sunglasses

ACCESSORIES

GIFT & HOME

Behind
The Scenes

Our Blog

Denim Report

#DENIMMADEWELL

#EVERYDAYMADEWELL

#Totewell

#WELLHEELED

About Madewell

Fleet Jacket
full size
Fleet Jacket
Fleet Jacket
Fleet Jacket
Product Details
A sleeker, more streamlined rethink of our Outbound Jacket, this military-inspired style has clean lines, a stand-up collar, zip pockets and a waist-defining drawstring. It's a best seller and one you'll hold on to for years to come.  
  • True to size.
  • Cotton.
  • Machine wash.
  • Import.
SHIPPING
Free shipping exclusively for Madewell Insiders
*For complete details, see our Shipping Policy.

Fleet Jacket

Fleet Jacket is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 127.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So much style, so simply This jacket is an awesome weight--not flimsy/too light like similar jackets. Looks super stylish without looking like you're trying too hard. I would have purchased the small (I'm 5'4" and 125 lbs), but it was too snug in the chest. The medium is great for layering, and since I want to get as much use out of this as possible, I'm glad I sized up. Great purchase overall!
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really worth it to try on in the store This jacket is exactly what I wanted - streamlined and classic. But I would definitely recommend trying on in a store - from the size chart, I was between a medium and a large (34C, size 8/10), but even though most reviews say it runs small, the large was still just too big. The medium is a little snug around the shoulders, but there's still a free range of motion. Definitely would recommend!
Date published: 2016-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Versatile and great quality Love this jacket! I was looking for something I can throw over a plain t-shirt and jeans to look more put-together, and this definitely fit the bill. I really wanted palm tree color but it ran out of my size so I went with the dark metal. I'm actually glad I did, since I have too many army green jackets, this actually adds something new to my closet. It's well made and goes with everything--jeans, leggings, heels, flats, even dresses.
Date published: 2016-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect In Every Way I purchased this jacket for a recent trip to Ireland. I wanted something classy, yet functional. The fit is flattering, the material is of high quality and the size XS is perfect for my 5'3" 107 pound small frame. This will definitely be a new staple in my everyday fall and spring wardrobe. I absolutely love it!
Date published: 2016-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from runs small I wore my outbound jacket into the ground, and was hoping the fleet jacket could take its place. The fleet does have a nice hefty fabric, 100% cotton, but it’s cut notably smaller than the outbound. I sized up one from my usual XXS, and really should’ve gone up two sizes as the shoulders were still a bit tight and the waist a bit high. The XS measures an even 34” at the chest, waist, and hip. The “dark metal” color is a warm grey, not quite as red as in the online pix, and nicely weathered. Made in China.
Date published: 2016-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic Keeper This is a great new staple to my wardrobe. I live in SF and everyone needs a classic army green jacket, it seems. The weight is good for year-round wear here, and I love the length. The cinch waist makes the fit more flattering, and the pockets are actually the right placement and size to be useful! It's simple and will hopefully last more than one season. I'm 5'4", 125 lbs, athletic build and got the small. It's a wee bit snug in the shoulders, but I wouldn't go up a size just for that.
Date published: 2016-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it but does not have typically madewell sizing I have been watching this jacket for over a year and finally just got it for my bday. I got an xs because every item that I have gotten in the past it has been suggested that I size down. The XS is more fitted than I would like and definitely so through the chest. I am 5 foot 3 and about 120 lbs. Taking it back for the Small and can't wait for the chilly weather!
Date published: 2016-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I was looking for Bought this jacket after pining after a much more expensive one, and so glad I did. I love that it's simple - no hood, no epaulets, not too many zippers or pockets. The drawstring is inside the jacket so there are no hanging strings. These details make it look way less sloppy/busy than most jackets of this style. The fabric is also a bit structured which I like. I'm usually an 8/10 and got this in a Medium which I can barely zip, it definitely runs small. Size up if you want to layer this jacket over sweaters, but I plan to wear it with tees & jumpsuits so I'm happy with the smaller size. The green is super versatile and goes with everything in my closet.
Date published: 2016-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't wait to wear it come fall! I had been eyeing this jacket in the olive green color for a while, and finally took the plunge during a 20% off sale. I typically wear a size small in Madewell tops, so that's what size I ordered and it fits great (for reference I am 5'6" and 135 lbs). My favorite thing about this jacket is the cinch waist feature, it's very flattering. Can't wait to wear it when the weather cools down!
Date published: 2016-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Light Jacket I considered this jacket for a long time before finally going for it. It was definitely worth buying. It pretty much works with any outfit, whether it's jeans and a t-shirt or a casual dress. I bought the jacket in palm tree and find it really goes with most everything I wear. I normally wear XS in Madewell, but sized up to a S to have plenty of room in the sleeves and chest for a a lightweight sweater if I need to layer up.
Date published: 2016-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this jacket! I am 5'8 135lb and 32DD...got size M and it is perfect with a little room.
Date published: 2016-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Five stars jacket Love the style, color, material and fit. Just two minor suggestions: add a hanging loop and a 2-way zipper. Great service from my local Madewell store staff.
Date published: 2016-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Casual Jacket I've been looking for an everyday jacket that was stylish enough to wear out on errands, but also great for all other everyday activities. So glad I found this one! I bought it in a medium for a slightly looser fit. While the small fit well, I wanted a little more slack in the jacket.
Date published: 2016-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product - great price These jackets are all over right now - and it is shocking what some other companies are charging for them. This is a winner = great jacket, great cut and styling, and great quality and price. Winner! The first time wearing mine a friend loved it -we drove right to Madewell and ordered her one as well.
Date published: 2016-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great transition coat I've been waiting to find a coat like this to help me transition into spring and fall. I am 5'6" 150 lbs and ended up sizing up to a Large in this jacket with the help of some of the reviews indicating this ran a bit small. Normally I am a medium in Madewell, sometimes a small in tshirts, and only ordered the large because medium was sold out (w/the idea I would try to exchange at my local store if it was too big). This ended up working to my benefit and I'm going to keep the Large so I have extra room for layering and a little give in case in shrinks in the wash.
Date published: 2016-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You will regret not purchasing this jacket! Everything about this jacket is wonderful! The color, the fit, the pockets and zippers, the price, I could keep going...I usually wear an XS or S in Madewell tops, but decided to get the M to still be able to wear with thicker sweaters and sweatshirts. It's not too big because of the extra size, and with something underneath it fits just perfect. I can't wait to wear this everywhere this fall!
Date published: 2015-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Fall Jacket This is the perfect lightweight jacket for transition weather! It is a much prettier green in person than online. I am 5'6 1/2" and 125 lbs and really debated between the Small and Medium. The Medium was a bit looser in the shoulders, so ultimately I went with the Medium just in case I wanted to wear a thicker sweater underneath and not feel constricted. Fortunately, the jacket has a drawstring so you can cinch the waist. Really can't go wrong with either size - its just a personal preference. Excellent jacket - have received many compliments and enjoy wearing it!!
Date published: 2015-09-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great jacket- quirky fit I love this jacket- it's a great fall/spring layer. Fit is a little snug around the bust- I am 5'3" 130 34C/D and needed a medium to be comfortable around the chest although the rest of the jacket is a bit large for my frame. Fine with me but good info to have beforehand.
Date published: 2016-10-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent Fall Jacket I like everything about this jacket, but for the price I was expecting the material to be a little more durable feeling. It's definitely nice quality but I'm not sure it feels much nicer than the $30 versions you can find everywhere else. I'm 5'9,130lbs and the arms are just barely too short in a size M so that's a little annoying, but otherwise a nice jacket!
Date published: 2016-10-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great jacket, colors misleading I bought this online a few weeks ago in palm tree. When I got it, I found it significantly lighter and greener than depicted online. I still liked it and kept it until I just saw today that they have two new colors. I exchanged the jacket for the drill khaki color and found that, yet again, the color was lighter than depicted online. It's a great jacket overall though. The cut is great: I like the collar and how it is long. Bonus points for side pockets and a chest pocket, for whatever reason. I like that there is a drawstring so that it becomes more waist defined. You may want to see the jacket in person before buying though. Otherwise beware if you have your heart set on a certain color.
Date published: 2016-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Jacket Really great, tailored-looking jacket. It's a bit more narrow at the hip than i would have expected, but it makes for a nice fit. I got my usual size at Madewell, which is a little snug at the hip, but it still looks really sharp so i'm keeping it.
Date published: 2016-01-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Looking Jacket I love this jacket; I ordered the tan color because I preferred it over the green, but had to order an xs. It is perfect everywhere but in the shoulders, where it is VERY fitted on me. I believe that a size larger would have been too long in the sleeves. I decided to keep it for cool days but will be limited in what I will be able to wear under it.
Date published: 2015-09-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Sun Soaked Appearance Really cute military inspired jacket! Color is better in person- differs from the mundane greens everyone else sports on their warm weather jackets. Fits like a glove!
Date published: 2015-05-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Loved it, but disappointed - way too small Just received today & am sending back. I wanted this jacket so much and was disappointed at how small the arms and torso were cut. I'm 5'2 and 110lbs.(32A) and wear XXS in all Madewell tops, but this was so tight even with a tank top, the zipper wouldn't make it over my chest comfortably and it pulled over the back and under the arms. Got it in khaki, which is no longer in stock. So not sure I want to risk ordering XXS in jackets now if this is Madewell's standard cut for jackets.
Date published: 2016-04-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Jacket fabric has persistent, overwhelming and unwelcome fragrance Looks like a great jacket, but came with a strong, unmistakable perfume/scent right out of the box which, if I can't wash it away, means I will have to return the jacket! I suffer from migraines which are brought on by scents like the one this jacket has, and I am always confused as to why clothing has to be treated with a scent like this?! Perhaps offer it as an option at the time of purchase - would you like a jacket whose fabric has been treated with a perfume, or do you want the plain version?? Unfortunate.
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too big / bulky / masculine IMO I unfortunately need to return this jacket because it's far too big / bulky on me. And no, I don't think getting a smaller size would work. The fabric also feels a bit too stiff / uncomfortable. That being said, I have two friends who have the jacket and like it, I just don't think it's for me. For reference, I ordered a medium and I'm 5'8" 130lbs.
Date published: 2016-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks better on than the picture online I just bought this jacket in the Palm green color and I LOVE it. It is a nice sturdy material and feels substantial without being too heavy. I particularly love the drawstring waist feature because I have a smaller waist and I love the fitted look. I am 5'5" and 130 lbs and went with a medium. I would have gone with the small but I have weirdly large arms for my size and had to size up to fit the arms the way I like it. The great thing is, I can cinch the waist and it looks perfect! This jacket definitely looks better on than the picture online shows.
Date published: 2016-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Adorable! Runs Small I just bought this jacket at my local MW store after obsessing over it for about a week. It's adorable! It runs quite small. I'm 5' 2, 108 pounds. I usually wear an xs but got the small instead. The xs was tight across the shoulders and chest. I can't wait to wear it tomorrow. I have a feeling it will be a go to staple in my wardrobe.
Date published: 2016-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this coat!! This coat is perfect, and the price point is great. It has just the right amount of weight and is a great length. I will be able to wear it in the fall and spring, and I can tell it will last for years! I would say it runs a little small, because I usually wear a small but the shoulders on the medium fit just right for me (when wearing a light sweater underneath). I'm 5'4", 120lbs for reference. I like to wear layers under my coats in general, so this wasn't a problem for me as I usually size up. Also, the zipper on this coat feels very sturdy, and I like how the pockets are open on the sides for easy access when my hands get cold. The collar can also lay flat, unlike the picture here shows. I will be wearing this coat for many seasons to come! Thanks Madewell!
Date published: 2015-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't stop wearing this This jacket is perfect for spring weather - it's lightweight, fitted, stylish and it really goes with anything (I got the Olive color) - from dark rinse jeans, to white jeans, over a casual dress, leggings, etc. I can also see myself wearing this in the early days of fall. Well worth the investment! Based on the reviews, I bought the XXS (I'm 5'2 and 100 lbs.). It's slightly a bit too snug for my taste because of my broad shoulders, but I kept it because I knew I wouldn't wear anything super heavy underneath. Overall, great buy!
Date published: 2016-04-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Near perfect i like things a bit more functional and rugged, and this coat fits the bill! I got the ink color, it's lovely. Love the zip pocket (wish it was deeper), wish all the pockets were zip, but find they are at least deep enough to hold thinner gloves. I liked the chest pocket, it holds my iPhone 5 well. I do wish the pockets were attached on the inside, but i don't know how that would be done without showing. I got the XL for my 5'4" 167lbs and 34H/HH bra size frame. It is a bit large, but I can layer comfortably, and use the drawstring to give a bit more shape. There is a bit of odd threading from the wash showing in the pockets, but everything looks good. It looks very similar to the model, so i think fit your largest feature. This is not lined, it's a cotton over layer, but it's quite sturdy. I was on the fence based on price, but I love the functionality of it, i didn't even have to carry a purse, and I treasure that kind of freedom. maybe next one has more zips and hidden pockets?
Date published: 2016-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Daily Jacket I used this jacket while traveling as a cozy outer layer for air conditioned places, and it was perfect for this (and for napping in airports). It doesn't look as good when it's wrinkled as it does on the website so I occasionally iron mine to give it a little more of a structured look. The color is a really nice change from olive green jackets too - it's like a eucalyptus color. It looks and feels like it is pretty well constructed (I've only had it for 3 months and haven't gotten to use it much yet) and I expect it to last a couple of years at least. The straight and narrow cut is really flattering, and I see myself using this regularly in the spring and fall.
Date published: 2015-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic jacket Absolutely love this jacket. Beautiful color. Excellent structure. I should have listened to other reviewers when they mention that it runs small. It was tight across the shoulders and the sleeves were a bit too short. For reference, I usually wear an xs. A small would have been a much better choice. Going to attempt to exchange!
Date published: 2016-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Jacket Classic, functional, built to last. The more I wear it the more I fall in love. I like that it has no buttons because overtime I break or loose my buttons. The top bucket pocket is awesome for not loosing my phone. The zipper pocket is great for my wallet. The ink color goes with everything yet I don't see this color very often, it's really pretty. The weight and feel of the fabric is excellent, structured but soft. The stitching and details are well done. I've seen a lot of jackets for this price or more that don't have this level of quality, so I think the value is great. Reminds me of those pieces of clothing my mom gives me and says "I got this when I was your age, they just don't make clothes like this anymore!"
Date published: 2016-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favourite jacket I bought this jacket in green last year and loved it so much I got it again in tan this season. Jacket is high quality and great for every day wear, and it's my go to work jacket. Very comfortable. For reference, I am 5'8' 126lbs and wear a size xs.
Date published: 2016-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great jacket! This jacket does run small, and by small I mean fitted when buying true to size. So, if you want a fitted jacket look with light room (was able to comfortably fit an American apparel hoodie under a size small and I'm '5"7 /118 pounds), then get your true size. If you want a jacket that can fit a thicker sweater or just like your jackets to look a bit looser/longer -size up. I decided to stick with the medium because I like my jackets to have that jacket look rather than something looks more a fitted blazer.
Date published: 2017-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks awesome but size up! Ordered this in XS and S. I am 5'1, 105 lbs with kinda broad shoulders. The XS looked great but it was snug when I lifted my arms. I could see driving being a pain (literally!). The S wasn't visibly too much bigger but felt so much better across my shoulders, so I decided to stick with the S so I can fit sweaters more comfortably underneath. The ink blue is just lovely, lovely. Not as dark as navy, and looks great with dark or black jeans. So glad I was able to snag that color in a size S when it popped up randomly the other day!!
Date published: 2016-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Jacket I am usually a small (5'4", about 120 lbs), but prefer a roomier fit for coats for layering (also just have slightly wider shoulders in general). Tried the small, returned it, and kept the medium. The medium fits perfectly, everything about it is great. I'm looking forward to wearing this a lot.
Date published: 2016-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Wardrobe Staple This jacket is beautiful. It runs slightly small (I'm a small in most Madewell sweaters and tops but the Medium in this jacket fits well). It's well made, the color (desert olive) is a fabulous neutral, and I can see myself wearing this jacket for years. Well worth the price.
Date published: 2017-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great little jacket Got the dark metal color and it's a bit more dark-greyish than the photo, really versatile. I'd say it fits a bit on the small side as I generally need petite sizes or XS for my tops. The small fit me nicely with some room to spare for a heavier sweater, but still looked nice on my shoulders and didn't overwhelm me (I'm 5' 3"/118 pounds). It looks and feels great, pocket details are lovely, has an army vibe but more grown-up. Just an all-around nice little jacket that can be dressed up or down!
Date published: 2016-10-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Short sleeves This jacket is much cuter in person than on this model! I love the cinched waist to give a little bit more of a feminine appeal to it, and I love that there are pockets. The things I did not like were that the sleeves shrunk, even when laid flat to dry and now I would feel it to look silly if I didn't roll them up. this isn't much of a problem because I was going to use it for spring time anyways and do not need the sleeves the be full length. Also, it does really bother me that the majority of the hardware is a bronze color but the snap buttons on the wrists are silver. Unsure why they decided to do this this way as I think it looks a little tacky. Overall I'm happy with my purchase mainly because I couldn't find anything else as close to what I was looking for as this.
Date published: 2016-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great jacket First I ordered it in M, according to o lot of reviews saying it run small. It came too large for me, too wide and the sleeves were too long. I'm 5'4", 32-26-37. Then I reordered in my regular size S and it fit just right. Not too tight and not too wide and the sleeve length is good now. So I would say it's true to size. The color (Desert Olive) is as pictured and very versatile.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect I Had This Jacket Sent To Me In Australia. I Am Usually A Small And Heeded Others Advice And Purchashed The Medium. I Can Only Say It Is Perfect In Every Way And Is Every Bit As Good As It Appeared On Line. Please Hurry Up And Open Stores Here In Australia. Quality Never Fails To Impress And The Pricepoint Is Excellent. THankyou Madewell.
Date published: 2017-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Style ! Easy Wear! Hope to see this jacket in more colors for Spring! White!? Light Blue!?
Date published: 2016-11-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cute but worse than useless It looks super cute and is well constructed, but it's not designed well at all. I'm extremely disappointed after wearing it for several weeks to be sure. There is no lining, and the fabric is "grabby" like flannel , so you can only wear it over short sleeves (long ones get stuck). It's much lighter than expected, not practical for cold weather, which you'd assume from the styling. Also, worse, the pockets are terrible. The side ones have vertical openings and no depth, so things fall right out. It's even hard to put your hands in because the openings are placed far to the side, rather than towards center. The only pocket you can keep anything in is the one zippered breast pocket, and it's only big enough for a phone or wallet, not both.
Date published: 2017-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great staple This jacket is now my go to travel jacket. The front pockets secure my passport. Love that you can cinch in the waist to tailor it to your body type. Very sleek!
Date published: 2016-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome staple! I love this jacket; it's a little boxy but it looks awesome and the green color is very pretty and a little more saturated than shown in picture. It's very soft and well made; there are no loose threads and the zipper works perfectly. This is the type of jacket I wear constantly with a tank top and it looks great. Well worth the price especially considering the wears per cost that I will get out of it. I highly recommend it if you like throwing on a light jacket over a tee or tank all of the time. Pretty color. Made well just like all of the other Madewell stuff!
Date published: 2015-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect utility jacket (even for petites!) I've been searching everywhere for the perfect, everyday utility jacket for about 6 months, and I finally found it! I bought the desert olive color and think of it as a neutral. It does run small - I am usually an XXS or XS in Madewell tops, and the XS just fit (I don't like to go too baggy since I'm petite, 5'3" and 117 lbs). Best of all, I have short arms but I just cuff the arms with two rolls, and it pretty much stays put all day an inch before my wrist. So glad I found this!
Date published: 2017-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fleet Jacket Love this jacket. Very soft and stylish. The fit is great. Ordered a L, hoping it would be oversized. But, still a great fit.
Date published: 2017-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The perfect utility jacket I've been searching for the perfect mix of dressy and casual in a military jacket and this is it! It does run small, I'm 5'7" about 140 lbs, 32dd and I usually wear a madewell small, got this in a medium and it fits perfectly! The military surplus color is awesome, the perfect mix of green and some brown to tone it down, exactly what I was looking for!
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this jacket! This jacket has been awesome for spring. It's not super thick but provides warmth. Super stylish and goes with almost everything! I am usually between sizes at Madewell and wear mediums in most shirts but I got this coat in a large because the medium was too small for me.
Date published: 2017-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great inbetween season jacket I like this jacket during inbetween seasons for morning & night strolls to throw on. It's a very simple clean cut jacket. I did find that it runs a bit tight for my shoulder so sized up to M instead of S so I can layer with other tops. I totally would recommend this to my friends. :) Thanks Madewell.
Date published: 2017-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A gem of a jacket Love at first try! By far the perfect transition jacket from Winter to Spring and back into Fall. Love the fabric, weight, construction and cinch waist to give a more form fitting and flattering look.
Date published: 2017-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from worth the wait! I tried this jacket on during a vacation in January and I fell in love! The interior waist defining cords, standup collar and side opening pockets were all key features. I stalked the site for a sale and finally got it a few weeks ago. I just love it! It has a great silhouette and functions as a jacket or just a blazer for indoor wear. It will be a key piece year round. Well done, Madewell!
Date published: 2017-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good quality jacket versatile, great quality, perfect everyday jacket!
Date published: 2017-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect transitional jacket This jacket is so perfect! It goes with everything!
Date published: 2017-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wearing this nonstop! LOVE this jacket! It's a great year round jacket, and is super versatile when it comes to styling. Perfect with workout gear, boyfriend jeans, or a dress! One in every color please!
Date published: 2017-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Jacket! I LOVE this jacket. It's my go-to everyday. Great quality. I also love wearing this when I travel! It's got a great zipper pocket on one side that's so convenient for my wallet/ID/boarding pass, etc.
Date published: 2017-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks better in person This jacket is made with very nice cotton. I bought in the palm tree color, which I think is more like military green. I normally wear Size Small. This jacket is true to size. I especially like the zipped pocket on the left chest side. I can keep the iphone in.
Date published: 2017-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great multipurpose jacket I'd been eyeing this jacket for some time, and I'm so glad I got it for Christmas! It's a great multipurpose, light-weight jacket. Definitely recommend buying.
Date published: 2017-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect all around jacket Terrific multi purpose three season jacket. Our two daughters love theirs and were thrilled to receive them. They love the colors - green and tan - and are very happy with the many pockets. Thank you so much for continuing to have this wonderful item in your collection.
Date published: 2017-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cute, functional light weight I bought this coat for the fall in Denver. It's a great lightweight coat. I was hoping it would last a little longer into the fall, but overall it was wonderful. I found that if I had bought a bigger size I could have worn thicker sweaters underneath. I'm 5'3" and 101 lbs and bought a 00/xxs. The zippers are sturdy and well sewed into the fabric. I always feel like zippers break so I am super pleased with how nice the quality of the zippers and sewing was. It looks super cute and definitely can't wait til it is warm enough to wear again. Also found the length was perfect. Madewell does an excellent job sizing for short people, especially light weight short people. I have a tiny torso and long legs so this jacket fit at all the right places.
Date published: 2017-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality and perfect for any season This jacket is my new wardrobe favorite. It is light weight enough to layer over anything almost any time of year and super confortable. I also was extremely pleased with the quality - I can tell that is going to last for years.
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great 3 season jacket for the northeast This jacket was a gift which can be difficult with clothing. My niece (28 years old) loved it and it was a perfect fit. She lives in the northeast and called it a perfect three season jacket. The shipping was fairly priced and very quick. Success!!
Date published: 2016-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great closet staple I bought this jacket last winter in the palm green color and I find myself pulling it out year-round. It is a great color and is easy to layer. It is still in great condition and I can tell it is going to last for a long time
Date published: 2016-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit! I've been looking for a army green jacket for months now, but they all seem to have a super boxy, loose fit, which tends to overpower my fairly petite frame. This jacket is the exception. The fit is flattering, while still maintaining a masculine look. Exactly what I was hoping for. Great for weekend errands and for a casual night out.
Date published: 2016-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I've been looking for a utility jacket that wasn't your typical army green, and the dark metal really caught my eye (true to the picture, btw). I wouldn't say it necessarily runs small, but I had to size up to a medium so I could comfortably fit thicker tops under it. I feel good walking out of the house in this jacket and I've already gotten a few compliments on it! I definitely recommend the fleet jacket if you're looking to add a light layer in the fall and spring months.
Date published: 2016-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite light jacket! I love this jacket so much I bought it in two colors. Nice slim fit and the pockets are clutch. Right breast pocket is perfect for easy access to a cell phone and left pocket (with zipper) is great for credit cards and such. I super recommend.
Date published: 2016-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! I have had my eye on this jacket for a couple months now and finally bought it in grey. It's so cute! The fit and cut is spot on. A must have for fall.
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from really versatile jacket love this jacket! i got it for a festival in seattle right around when rainy weather was starting, and the material is thick enough where it doesn't feel cold but i also didn't get too hot walking around. really versatile, goes with dresses, festival wear, work (casual). perfect for SF weather too, since where I live the temperature is really variable. it's become my go-to jacket for pretty much everything: running errands, work, going out when it's more of a casual time
Date published: 2016-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this jacket! I'm 5'9 and narrow. I got a small and it fits perfectly (I like clothes a bit more fitted). Was hesitant about the price but it's absolutely worth it, I can tell I will be getting years of use out of this! Trendy but classic at the same time.
Date published: 2016-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best military jacket I've found This jacket has me channeling my inner Lindsay Weir. I purchased in the army green color after trying it on at the store. Unlike other military-style jackets, it isn't boxy and it runs true to size. There is also a string at the waist that can be used for a more cinched/feminine look. The quality is great for the price. This will be my new go-to spring/fall jacket- I've worn it once and received tons of compliments.
Date published: 2016-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Versatile jacket Love this jacket. Goes with shorts, and jeans, So versatile!
Date published: 2016-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great jacket This is perfect for Spring/Fall when you need a lightweight jacket. The color is better in person (harder to tell the exact color online) but goes with a lot more than expected.
Date published: 2016-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the comfort and style of this jacket! I did size up with this jacket so I can layer up for a chilly Spring day and so glad I did! It's the perfect jacket to grab and go with. It seems to go well with almost everything I wear. I love the fabric and style. I will get plenty of wear with this jacket ! So happy with this purchase !
Date published: 2016-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from brilliant fit Fantastic service to the UK from Madewell. Arrived very quickly, beautiful quality, timeless jacket. Will be a favourite.
Date published: 2016-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great length It sits at a great spot so you can have longer shirts underneath or tucked. Flattering waist line.
Date published: 2016-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect lightweight jacket I lovet this jacket! I initially obsessed over it in grey, and then when I saw the green in person I knew I had to have it. I wear it over my gym clothes, but also wear with jeans and leggings as well. The pocket areas are nice because there is a lot of room for belongings. I am 5'5" and 130 lbs and purchased a size small. There is the option to cinch the waist on the inside, which i prefer and it makes the jacket more form fitting. If your worried about a size, I would suggest sizing up because you can cinch the waist to make it fit.
Date published: 2016-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This item fits perfectly. The jacket is terrific. It is made well. It is very comfortable to wear. I highly recommend it.
Date published: 2016-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my new go-to jacket This jacket magically works with every outfit and makes it better. It is comfortable, and effortless. It's not super warm, but isn't supposed to be as an unlined jacket. The fabric does, however, have a nice weight and feel to it. I ordered a small (5'6'' and 140 pounds for reference) and I'm happy with the size. It's not a tight fitting jacket it fits exactly as it appears on the model in the picture.
Date published: 2016-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great jacket! I love this jacket. It is a great price and has several interesting pocket details different than any other jacket like this. It comes in a grey color or this khaki green color. The green goes with more things.
Date published: 2016-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great jacket with a fair price Very pleased with the fleet jacket. I bought the jacket in the color ink. I like the cut not too loose or too snug. I feel stylish and comfortable when I wear this jacket. It is great for in between seasons.
Date published: 2016-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The color "ink" is so much better in person!!! I just purchased this jacket at my local Madewell store after trying on an xs and a small. I'm petite 5'2" 110 lbs. with a 34" bust. I would recommend the xs if you are shorter than me with a small frame and small bust. It was super fitted on me and felt like I couldn't raise my arms or fit a button down under it. The xs would only look good for me if I liked having a tight, constricting feeling. The small was just a tad more bigger, not much though. It fit perfectly for me and I have short arms! For the record, the ink color is a tad lighter in person, but not too light for clashing with denim. It's absolutely gorgeous!
Date published: 2016-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Jacket I love this jacket! It is not bulky at all, but there is still enough room for layering. Perfect jacket for not too cold of days. I've been wearing it almost everyday! I ordered a small, I am 5'6, 125 pounds.
Date published: 2016-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from PERFECT TWILL JACKET I absolutely adore this jacket. I normally wear a XXSP. This jacket was perfect. It has an adjustable drawstring waist which helps with providing the best fit. The color selection is great. The green and navy are typical twill jacket colors; however, it was nice to have a neutral color available as well. For reference, I am 5'2" and 114 pds. I ordered the XXS.
Date published: 2016-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! This jacket is lightweight but keeps you warm! Has a feminine flare to it. I wear it all the time. A definite must-have.
Date published: 2015-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite jacket ever! I have been searching for the perfect military jacket and this is it. I almost bought the Madewell outbound jacket last year, but I'm glad I waited. I love the more tailored look of this one and the lighter green color is perfect. This is one of my favorite Madewell purchases ever!
Date published: 2015-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from versatile this is the best jacket I have ever owned. it is perfect because it can be dressed up or down, and its not too light or to heavy. i have the green one and it matches with everything and i always feel so confident when I wear it. i can not recommend this enough!!!
Date published: 2015-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome My boyfriend bought this jacket for me and I love it. Im generally a size small (5'5 and 125 lbs) and the small fits perfect. My only disappointment is that this jacket is not warm, but I still love it.
Date published: 2015-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love, love, love I bought a similar Madewell jacket two seasons ago and I found myself reaching around it in the closet. It was too military, too rugged, too "I borrowed my dad's Army jacket". This jacket is everything the previous army green Madewell jacket was not. The material is soft, the color is a more forgiving sage color, and the styling is sleaker and more modern. I've worn this with dresses and boots, jeans and tanks, and over my white button-down. It looks good with everything, and is super-comfortable to wear.
Date published: 2015-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from just in time for fall it's the perfect color for the fall, Have jacket will travel. it's warm without being heavy
Date published: 2015-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new fall go-to Love this jacket! I've shied away from "field"-type jackets in the past because they usually have patch or flap pockets on the chest, which I dislike. So when I saw this one with its unique pockets, I was so excited! After a weird mishap where Madewell shipped me a totally different jacket from a couple of seasons ago (it had the same style number?), I got the correct jacket and was very pleased indeed. Color is a lovely green, maybe a little darker than the super faded look in the picture. Pockets are great and versatile, zipper and fabric all feel like nice quality. Good weight for fall. I'm usually between an XS and S at Madewell, and went for the S so I can wear a light sweater underneath. Can't wait for the weather to cool down so I can get some more wear out of this!
Date published: 2015-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cute military inspired jacket I just got this jacket and think it will be great for an on trend light weight fall jacket. I wanted a little bit bigger fit, for sweaters and overall comfort, so I sized up. I am 5' 5" 145 lbs and usually wear a medium but prefer the fit of the large in this jacket.
Date published: 2015-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Versatile style with comfort and sass! I love, love, love this versatile jacket! I actually wore it to work today over a black dress and leopard flats. To be honest, I did receive a bunch of compliments on my outfit and I know it had to do with my new jacket. I am loving that its heavy enough in the early morning when its chilly and light enough in the afternoon when it gets warmer. The fit is a tad large, but nothing that I am not used to. The front zipper and chest pocket offer just enough hardware that allowed me to wear less accessories and really show off the jackets details. Its so fun and I know I'll be able to pair it with more as the fall season approaches! LOVE! LOVE!
Date published: 2015-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality; Some sizing issues I can't wait to wear this jacket when the weather gets cooler. It's a beautiful color (a tad darker than the picture above) and it's great quality. Well worth the price. My only disappointment is that the bust size in the XS was too tight (everything else fit perfectly). I had to get a Small instead, so now things are looser. Still, great product and I know it'll become a closet staple this Fall!
Date published: 2015-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! First of all, I LOVE the color of this jacket. Goes great with jeans. It is super comfortable. Lightweight and perfect for spring & summer jacket.
Date published: 2015-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely Jacket! Just purchased this jacket last week after debating on the J.Crew Downtown Field Jacket since forever. The only thing stopping me from buying the J.Crew jacket was that I just didn't love the flashy shiny gold buttons all over the jacket. The Madewell Fleet Jacket is a lovely cool shade of green that really compliments my skin tone and blue eyes. The fabric is soft but high quality and the length is perfect. The other plus? Convenient pockets, some that zip, and the collar!! Love the collar. Such a flattering piece that I see wearing in the Spring, during the cool nights and in the air conditioning in the Summer, and early Fall. I paid full price and I feel it was worth it. I would suggest trying it on. It's much more flattering than the pics online show.
Date published: 2015-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My go to jacket I've been looking for a lightweight jacket to help transition into warmer weather. I can easily layer underneath for colder weather but it's also lightweight enough to wear in Spring/Summer when the nights can be a bit chilly. I like the length and the overall fit. It's very flattering.
Date published: 2015-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What Ive been searching for! I have been searching for a military style olive jacket for a while and this is the PERFECT one! great weight, perfect lines, VERY flattering and the collar is perfect. I have worn it over button ups, dresses, feminine lacy tops and it always looks great! I am 5'8" slim build and I got a medium and it fits great.(usually a medium in other tops too). What a steal!!! Get this before it sells out!
Date published: 2015-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Versatile, comfortable and perfect for everyday! I've worn my jacket nearly everyday since receiving it last week...exactly what I'd been searching for! It's just the perfect "throw on" piece and I love the fitted style and stand-up collar. Works great for this spring/summer weather and I'm sure I'll wear it well into the fall.
Date published: 2015-06-01
  • y_2017, m_7, d_19, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_127
  • loc_en_US, sid_C3394, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_madewell