This Just In

NEW ARRIVALS

Fall 2017 Collection

Looks We Love

Labels We Love

The Madewell Essentials

Monogram It

Denim Report

Events

Our clothes, your pics

How We Do Well

clothing

DENIM

TEES & SWEATSHIRTS

SHIRTS & TOPS

SWEATERS

JACKETS & COATS

(see all)

coats
jackets
denim jackets
leather jackets

DRESSES

SKIRTS

PANTS & SHORTS

LEISURE & ACTIVE

intimates & pajamas

SWIM & BEACHWEAR

SALE

extended sizes

shoes, bags &
more

SHOES & BOOTS

BAGS

JEWELRY

sunglasses

ACCESSORIES

GIFT & HOME

Behind
The Scenes

Our Blog

Denim Report

#DENIMMADEWELL

#EVERYDAYMADEWELL

#Totewell

#WELLHEELED

About Madewell

Madewell & Penfield Kasson Parka
full size
Madewell & Penfield Kasson Parka
Madewell & Penfield Kasson Parka
Madewell & Penfield Kasson Parka
Product Details
Massachusetts-based Penfield has been churning out top-notch, weather-resistant outerwear—coveted by fans of heritage-style clothing and outdoor enthusiasts alike—since 1975. This superwarm parka is perfect for woodsy walks and urban strolls—and has a bold buffalo-check lining that can be found here and only here.  
  • True to size.
  • Teflon-coated cotton/nylon.
  • Hand wash.
  • Import.
SHIPPING
Free shipping exclusively for Madewell Insiders
*For complete details, see our Shipping Policy.

Madewell & Penfield Kasson Parka

Madewell & Penfield Kasson Parka is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 20.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great transitional jacket! Great jacket for transition from fall to winter. Great quality, as can be expected from Penfield. The buffalo check lining is super cute and adds the perfect bit of detail to this jacket. Definitely runs on the smaller side (I recommend checking Penfield's website for their specific sizing). I sized one size up from normal and it fits perfectly. Would definitely recommend this jacket!!
Date published: 2015-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous Jacket!! This jacket is so comfortable and seriously cute. I'm 5'4" and 120 lbs and I purchased a small and it fit perfectly. It's pretty well lined/warm as well.
Date published: 2015-09-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from love the Jacket hate the zipper love the fit and perfect for a California winter. very protective for El niño showers. The only problem is the zipper. too Rough not smooth
Date published: 2016-01-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Classy and well made Classy and good-looking coat. The sleeves run just a little bit small for me, I am 5'6. The only complaint I have is that the zipper is tricky. Besides that, I love this coat and recommend it to all of my friends and family. It is very warm, water resistant, and sleek. Also it has a ton of pockets which I love. I don't have to lug around a purse with me when I go out if I don't want to. Definitely would recommend.
Date published: 2016-01-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from "Hand Wash"? I thought I found a great parka I could wear for long time. Then I saw the tag, "dry clean only". I prefer my jacket washable and I ordered it based on the description stating "hand wash". This is not washable.
Date published: 2015-12-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from cool jacket for not-too-cold weather I loved the look of the jacket and so got it. I got a Small and I am glad I did not go with XS as it is semi-fitted. Great pockets. I have only worn it once and clearly it is not a winter coat and I wish it came with a bit more insulation but am hoping it will work great for late fall days. I have also not tried it out in rain so we shall see. But the look is terrific.
Date published: 2015-11-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The parka is great but the gift packaging is subpar When I spent money for a card and a gift box, I expected the box to not be a cardboard uline type box, with a message printed out on a plain 8x11 whiter paper sheet. I could have spent that money on an actually festive or quality looking box and quality gift paper to look as if I cared about the person the gift was for. The parka itself was great but seems to run a little small.
Date published: 2015-12-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cute, but poor construction I really liked this jacket. It looks great and is very warm. Unfortunately, on only my second time wearing it, I noticed that the velcro for one of the front pockets was already falling off. The stitching attaching the velcro strip to the coat had come undone for about half the strip. Very disappointed that such a cute jacket would be put together so poorly that it would begin falling apart so quickly! I don't expect to see that kind of wear on a jacket for over a year at least, and it started on the second time I wore it! Both times were for very short errands, too.
Date published: 2015-10-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nice coat, but quality issues and design flaws I got this jacket in Navy blue in August 2014. When I first took it out of the box it was a really good looking jacket and the details seemed beautiful and durable. Love the leather details and plaid lining. I even got compliments when walking my dog. I live in Seattle and took it for a spin in the rain and wind and it kept me dry, however. I had trouble with the zipper and after a few months the zipper completely stopped working. The pockets are velcro and I kept finding my scarves and other things like flowey shirts would get stuck to the pockets and snagged them. The cuffs are also velcro so when I put my hand in my pocket the cuff would also get stuck to the pocket. Lastly, the jacket is dry clean only. For a rugged jacket this is an annoyance and expense. Overall, I really wanted to love this jacket, but there were too many issues with it. A huge improvement would be zipped pockets and a zipper that smoothly and easily works.
Date published: 2016-01-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Zipper trouble I just received this jacket as a birthday gift; upon wearing it only twice, the zipper has grown increasingly more difficult to use. When wearing this morning, I spent over five minutes just trying to get the zipper to work -- I eventually gave up on it and wore the jacket open -- not good for a rainy climate. For this price, I'm very disappointed in the quality. Since I've already worn it this week and removed the tags, there's most likely no way to get this swapped out. I won't be able to wear this until I get it to a seamstress to replace the zipper. I'm really sad this jacket's quality wasn't what it seemed.
Date published: 2015-11-17
  • y_2017, m_9, d_21, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_20
  • loc_en_US, sid_E0875, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_madewell