This Just In

NEW ARRIVALS

Looks We Love

Labels We Love

The Getaway Shop

The Madewell Essentials

Monogram It

Denim Report

Events

Our clothes, your pics

How We Do Well

clothing

DENIM

TEES & TANKS

SHIRTS & TOPS

SWEATERS

JACKETS

(see all)

jackets
denim jackets
leather jackets

DRESSES

SKIRTS

SHORTS & PANTS

LEISURE

intimates & pajamas

SWIM & BEACHWEAR

SALE

extended sizes

shoes, bags &
more

SHOES & SANDALS

BAGS

JEWELRY

sunglasses

ACCESSORIES

GIFT & HOME

Behind
The Scenes

Our Blog

Denim Report

#DENIMMADEWELL

#EVERYDAYMADEWELL

#Totewell

#WELLHEELED

About Madewell

The Jean Jacket
full size
The Jean Jacket
The Jean Jacket
The Jean Jacket
Product Details
Take our word for it: A perfect-fitting jean jacket will never ever go out of style. Layer it under a blazer for extra warmth or button it all the way up for a fitted look.
  • True to size.
  • Cotton.
  • Machine wash.
  • Import.
SHIPPING & RETURNS
Free shipping and free returns exclusively for Madewell Insiders
(hi there, risk-free try-ons). *For complete details, see our Shipping Policy and Return Policy.

The Jean Jacket

The Jean Jacket is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 27.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing fit This jacket is the ONE I tried no less than 18 jean jackets this summer and their was something unflattering about the fit, arms, length, color, until I found this one. My search was complete. The fitted style is very flattering, not too bulky and the sleeves are the perfect length. A bit cropped and a perfect wash, faded a bit in the back make it the perfect jacket with my midi dresses, sheath, jeans and shorts. Also, its soft and broken in feeling, not stiff at all.
Date published: 2014-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The perfect jacket! This jacket has been on my radar for weeks and i finally bought it today! I'm usually a medium, but went with the large and am glad i did. Perfect amount of room for layering. The color is perfect! Can't go wrong with this one!
Date published: 2014-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from True to size to short women Medium is a great fit on me. I ordered a L because of reviews. I'm short 4'11" 3/4 - L ended up too big/long (on shoulders/arm length). I returned it and got M. Returns are easy from Canada- I was hoping free returns- but no luck. The gold buttons and deep pockets are a nice touch. Color is versatile.
Date published: 2014-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent I normally would wear a S/M in a jacket, and I got the medium. I don't think it necessarily runs small...I think it is a fitted jacket. Any bigger and the whole proportion would be off. I don't think I could fit a sweater under this. The wash and color are beautiful...just as pictured. Over something light weight, it is the perfect denim jacket for me. Love it!
Date published: 2014-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great investment ordered a large. usually order medium. Fit is great.
Date published: 2014-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Everyday Jacket I need to find some other jackets quickly, because I wear this thing like every single day now. LOL. It's goes with everything. Dress. Skirts. Shirt Dress. Pants. Slacks. Jeans. Shorts. and... Hammerpants. I'm sure I just dated myself, but I love this coat.
Date published: 2014-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect This is my idea of a perfect jean jacket, nice lines and very comfortable.
Date published: 2014-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new spring staple. I did not have any of the sizing issues that the other reviewer had. I bought a large - which is what I usually buy for jackets since I like to have room to wear a sweater under it and found it perfectly comfortable. The length was also perfect which was a relief because as a shorter girl I have trouble finding the right length jacket. Very slimming and good quality. Would recommend.
Date published: 2014-03-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Classic Simple, classic denim jacket. I tried many jackets to find this one. Color is a little lighter than in picture.
Date published: 2015-04-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The color is on point. The fit is nearly there. For starters, those looking for that one denim jacket that you've wanted forever that every other denim jacket just didn't make the cut--this is the jacket for you. The pockets are perfect, the color is right on, the waist cut is what you want. Overall, I do recommend this jacket. That being said, perhaps it is just my body or whatnot, but it is a little roomier in the chest area--more than i would like. Worn with completely unrolled sleeves looks just a tad bit funny--sort of baggy and not a refined look. I'll probably wear it with the sleeves down only when I'm actually cold. I got a small--the XS stretched across the back of my shoulders too much. I am 5'4" and around 121lbs, and besides the poofy fit, I wear this without problem. Over dresses, over t-shirts, etc. I don't think I could fit a thick sweater in the sleeves, but a shirt with thin sleeves is fine.
Date published: 2014-09-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from sleeves sleeves seem to be a bit short. I plan to go back to the store and see is my jacket is an exception
Date published: 2014-08-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect denim jacket Love this jacket! Good investment piece. Great cut and style, the fit could be better - it's a little tight at the top of the arms, but it doesn't bother me too much. The inner pockets and stitching details are a nice touch.
Date published: 2014-05-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute but small! Like other reviewers, I also found that this jacket was smaller than I expected. I usually wear a small and so ordered a small, but I will have to exchange it for a medium possibly even large. The style is definitely more fitted and almost cropped length (which I'm not really looking for) and although I probably won't wear it buttoned up, I would like to have that option. But it appears like its great quality, and would look cute over a dress in the spring/summer.
Date published: 2014-05-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from small fit, but very cute too small to layer over a sweater, yes, and the sleeves don't hit at the wrist, but still a very cute layer for summer. i guess that having a more "shrunken" fit keeps the look current and not too 90s. i am 5"7 125 lbs; usually wear a small or x-small, and i ordered a small. the fit is indeed pretty snug and had i tried on in store i might have gone for the medium, but i've decided to keep it. it's still very cute, can button up (albeit only just), and will look cute over summer sun dresses. it's meant to be a styling piece, not really an oversized layer, so i suppose the shrunken fit makes sense. if you were looking for something roomier, order up a size, or even two.
Date published: 2014-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfortable with good pockets I just got this today, and it seems like a really solid jacket. I was so happy to discover that it has two generous interior pockets (about 6"x5") in addition to the standard hip and breast pockets. Reading the other reviews, and seeing that the jacket was offered in a wide range of sizes, I opted for the Large and I'm glad I did. I'm 5'9" 145 pounds and usually wear a medium in jackets. The Large is a bit on the roomy side on me, perfect for wearing over a sweatshirt or sweater. If I had wanted a more form-fitting look to wear with dresses, the Medium probably would have been the way to go. But being on the taller side, the cuff on the Large falls perfectly at my wrist (23 1/4" from shoulder seam to cuff). My only complaint so far is that the wash/color of the collar is noticeably lighter than the body and sleeves of the jacket, but I think this will work to my advantage in the long run. And I do hope to enjoy this jacket for a long time!
Date published: 2014-04-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from does not fit TTS runs VERY small. I usually wear a small and had to order a large.
Date published: 2014-04-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from NOT TTS! I was so excited about this jacket and it finally came yesterday! I tore open the bag and tried it on immediately. Well, I tried to try it on...OK, let me start by saying that the color, length, and overall look (before I put it on) was very nice. But once on, I found that it was super tight in the upper arms and shoulders, and I was only able to do up the top 3 buttons. I had to double check to make sure they sent the right size. Sure enough, it was the medium I ordered. I'm most often a medium, but sometimes a small. I certainly did not except the medium to be so tight on me. Especially since the jacket looks kinda roomy on the model. I thought I might wear a light to medium weight sweater under it, but that would not be an option at all. I'll be returning it, though I haven't decided if Iwant to exchange it for another size or not. I wish there was a Madewell where I lived so I could actually try stuff on in store. I've found that sizing is all over the place with this brand.
Date published: 2014-03-05
  • y_2017, m_6, d_17, h_8
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_27
  • loc_en_US, sid_A3196, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_madewell