This Just In

NEW ARRIVALS

Looks We Love

Labels We Love

The Getaway Shop

The Madewell Essentials

Graduation Gifts

Monogram It

Denim Report

Events

Our clothes, your pics

Denim Donation

clothing

DENIM

TEES & TANKS

SHIRTS & TOPS

SWEATERS

JACKETS

(see all)

jackets
denim jackets
leather jackets

DRESSES

SKIRTS

SHORTS & PANTS

LEISURE

intimates & pajamas

SWIM & BEACHWEAR

SALE

extended sizes

shoes, bags &
more

SHOES & SANDALS

BAGS

JEWELRY

sunglasses

ACCESSORIES

GIFT & HOME

Behind
The Scenes

Our Blog

Denim Report

#DENIMMADEWELL

#EVERYDAYMADEWELL

#Totewell

#WELLHEELED

About Madewell

The Jean Jacket in Storm Cloud Wash
full size
The Jean Jacket in Storm Cloud Wash
The Jean Jacket in Storm Cloud Wash
The Jean Jacket in Storm Cloud Wash
Product Details
Take our word for it: A perfect-fitting jean jacket will never ever go out of style. Layer it under a blazer for extra warmth or button it up all the way for a fitted look.
  • Slightly shorter traditional denim jacket.
  • Cotton.
  • Machine wash.
  • Import.
SHIPPING & RETURNS
Free shipping and free returns exclusively for Madewell Insiders
(hi there, risk-free try-ons). *For complete details, see our Shipping Policy and Return Policy.

The Jean Jacket in Storm Cloud Wash

The Jean Jacket in Storm Cloud Wash is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 45.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great jacket Love it! I have been looking all over for this denim jacket. Reminds me of the one I had years ago. Ordered 2 other ones from different sites, but they were unacceptable and overpriced. Sent them back and my 23 introduced me to your site. Very pleased!
Date published: 2013-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Compliments right out of the box! As soon as it arrived I put it on and my husband and a friend said they loved it right away! I have about 5 jean jackets and this will definitely become a favorite! True to size, great color and styling.
Date published: 2013-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Jean Jacket This is the perfect jacket to wear with everything. So happy I bought it! Excellent quality and color.
Date published: 2013-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A beautifully constructed garment This jean jacket is a gift for my daughter. It looks to be beautifully made with high quality denim. I'm sure she will be delighted with the fit , the styling and the fabric as well as the construction of this garment.
Date published: 2013-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Second Skin I bought this guy a year ago and have been living in it ever since. I've always avoided jean jackets because they've been stiff and boyish in an unflattering way, but the Madewell jacket fits like a glove and goes with everything. I am 5'7'', 130lbs and the small fit me perfectly-- its loose enough to fit over sweaters in winter but also looks great over a dress with the sleeves rolled up a bit. This jacket is also built to last-- I've seen absolutely no signs of wear or tear on it. Go for it!
Date published: 2013-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Modern Classic I love this jacket! It is incredibly classic with just slightly more fitted / feminine / hip cut than a boxier man's style. Perfect for Spring!
Date published: 2013-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect jean jacket! Love the wash. I love this jacket -- I'd been on the hunt for a jean jacket for a while now and this one fits great. I am usually an XS or XXS in Madewell sizes -- the XS felt a little baggy on me (I like my jean jackets on the snug size), so I sized down. The XXS fits me perfectly. I'm 5'2" and about 105 lbs. The wash is great too. I had to return the first one that I got because there was too much distressing on one of the shoulders. The 2nd one that came in is perfect. I'm so happy with my purchase, it's a new staple in my wardrobe.
Date published: 2013-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this jacket! I have been eyeing this jacket for over a year, tried the small and somehow the fit was a little off for me. I love the color and everything about it. Just cannot stay away from it. One day while in the store, decided to try the xsmall and it fitted perfectly. I did not even think I could wear a size smaller. For reference, I am 5ft 2in, 116 lbs. I think it runs a little big if I can wear an xsmall. The buttons can be difficult to button and unbutton. Overall, great jacket and glad I bought it.
Date published: 2013-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best jacket ever! This jacket is a great timeless staple and the wash has a nice lived-in, rugged look. I'm 5'2 and 92 lbs with really skinny arms and the XXS fits perfectly - it looks like it was tailored just for me! I've gotten lots of compliments, love this jacket!
Date published: 2013-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great jean jacket I got this jean jacket in storm cloud wash on sale with a promotion and I'm so glad I did. It's a great color and looks perfect over dresses and with most everything in my closet. The buttons are quite difficult to open and close... this might be something to consider, but I imagine in time it will get easier. I'd definitely buy it again.
Date published: 2013-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of my favorite pieces I've searched everywhere for a denim jacket and I'm happy to say I've finally found the one. Every denim jacket out there is cropped but this one isn't. The length is at the hip just what I was looking for.
Date published: 2013-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A flattering staple I'm 5'4, 138 lbs with (in my opinion at least) proportionately large upper arms, and I love the fit of this jacket! A size small fits great with room for a sweater underneath. Not tight at all in the arms. Great quality.
Date published: 2013-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The perfect denim jacket Everything about this jacket fits wonderfully. Hits right at the hip for me and is true to size. I only gave quality a 4 because the buttons are incredibly hard to button closed and open again. This can be frustrating to me, as I like to have the option, but I also admittedly rarely if ever button my denim jackets. The place where it's most frustrating is the sleeve -- since I do sometimes like to roll those up. But the button difficulties are minor when you consider how stylish the jacket is. It's got a great rusty blue color that goes with everything. A bit on the expensive side but I'd rather pay more for something I love than pay a modest amount for something I'll only wear a handful of times. Very stylish. A definite staple!
Date published: 2013-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Jacket fit great. Jacket fits great. Like the Storm Was Finish. Buttons a little too rustic. Fits true to size. Bought XS.
Date published: 2013-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from staple wardrobe piece! I love this jacket. The fit is so flattering and gold rush wash is lovely. The denim is so soft and comfortable. I love wearing it with everything from solid-wash dark denim to corduroys to day dresses! I even wore it with the sequin lightbox dress once and it completed the ensemble perfectly. The color does fade slightly after the initial wash, but it's nothing too noticeable. This is definitely something you will wear and cherish for many years.
Date published: 2013-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My search is over.. Been looking for a classic jean jacket for over a year now. So much of what's out there is too faded/destructed/short/stiff/baggy/studded/you-name-it. This one is truly comfortable and classy, without looking too preppy. Color may be less "dirty" in real life, but still a nice wash with the right amount of fading, and will go with many items in my closet. I followed the sizing chart and ordred S for a perfect, flattering fit. Quality materials too! Thanks, Madewell.
Date published: 2013-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally! I love this jean jacket. Though it hasn't been warm enough to wear it yet, it's exactly what I wanted. I didn't want solid dark denim (no thanks on the denim tuxedo look), I didn't want anything too worn. I really like the fit; the medium is just the right size for me. I hover between a small and a medium - typically a size 6, bust is 34C - and I sized up because I wear layers and have broad shoulders. The medium fit me perfectly with a bulky sweater and scarf underneath. Looking forward to wearing this all the time.
Date published: 2013-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great jacket I bought this denim jacket on sale, and I think it is completely worth it's listed price. It looks great with black skinny jeans or cords. Weirdly enough I have been able to wear it a couple times (in boston!, in february!) and the denim is beautifully thick but still flexible enough to be comfortable. It is a little snug with the buttons done up, but I prefer to wear it open anyways.
Date published: 2013-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Denim Jacket I've been wanting a good jean jacket for a while, so when I saw Madewell's on sale I knew I should take the plunge. I'm so glad I did! The jacket fits perfectly, just as shown on the model. Of course, the denim is of high quality, and the wash is perfect for keeping this look casual. It is easy and comfortable to wear the sleeves rolled slightly, making it perfect for spring. My favorite feature is probably the pockets, which are almost like pea coat pockets. They are a good size, and have a vertical opening. You can't fit much in there, but keys and my iPhone are relatively stable, and I constantly tuck my hands in them. I've received a ton of compliments, too.
Date published: 2013-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great staple jacket I am 5'3'' 125lbs and ordered a S, it was not as fitted as I would have liked so I returned it for a XS and it fits great! This is a jacket that can pretty much be worn all year round.
Date published: 2013-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new go-to jacket!! On first glance I knew this would be my favorite Spring/Summer jacket and so far it hasn't disappointed. You have a nice strappy Spring dress but want to stay warm then the structure of this jacket will read as I'm-really-laid-back while also being super stylish and casual at the same time. To me, that's a win! The arms are a little shorter than I would like I am typically a size 2/4 and I ordered the Small but I am also 5'9" and so the arms are a tad short. That being said it's not enough I'd return it and I can tell with wear this jacket is going to be classically distressed and beautiful. Additionally the fabric is thick and therefore will be more comfortable in time but initially a little stiff on the arms and back for me -- don't try and do the Hulk pose in it ;)
Date published: 2013-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wardrobe Staple! This jacket is absolutely perfect! It is a staple in my wardrobe and I can wear it with almost anything. It's definitely worth the price!
Date published: 2013-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fit it's exactly what you want from a denim jacket! getting the buttons in is currently stiff but i'm sure will get easier over time. not a complaint.
Date published: 2013-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Up to date fashions the one place to shop at Madewell Easy access on line, no problems finding items or suggestions on ready to wear items. Easy experience for the man shopping for that special gift.
Date published: 2013-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Go To Jean Jacket I'm a hip and tiny 60 and was missing this basic wardrobe building piece. Ordered the XS and it fits closely and looks great with scarf and t shirt. A year round piece.
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gift for wife Wife loves it. She feels the fit is perfect. The denim appears to be high quality and comfortable.
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great classic jean jacket I have a feeling I'll be wearing this jacket for years. I've already worn it almost every day since I bought it.
Date published: 2013-09-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice wash, a little roomy I'm 5'7", 135lbs and typically wear a size 6 top and ordered a M. It's a hint roomy, similar to fit shown on model. I'd prefer if it were just a bit more snug in the chest and waist areas for a trimmer look (I don't tend to layer a sweater under a denim jacket). I didn't size down though as the shoulders would have likely been too tight.
Date published: 2013-06-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute This jacket is really cute. I like the slightly distressed look. At 5'8", the XS is a little shorter than I would like but that seems to be the case with all of the jean jackets I've tried this season. Looks good with dark denim and with other stuff. Fits pretty true to size but a little wide in the body.
Date published: 2013-04-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute but weird fit I really love the color and material and the design (in theory), however, the fit was off for me. I am 5'7" with 34D and 125-130lbs, and I am always a small in Madewell. I'll also say that I'm not one to like really fitted clothing; I prefer a looser casual look. This jacket was a little tight on me in the small and felt really short; it looked okaay but felt uncomfortable. I know it is meant to be cropped, but it was really short looking in an awkward way; shorter than on the model. I'm exchanging for the Med... Hope it works!
Date published: 2013-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great fit great fit, awesome design. I'm short and it fits so well.
Date published: 2013-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Have worn it almost everyday So cute! Exactly what I was hoping for. The wash is rustic looking but it goes well with lots of outfits... I have worn it with dark and light jeans. I'm very happy with the purchase and have received a ton of compliments.
Date published: 2013-04-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value This is the perfect casual spring jacket! The color goes with everything cause it's not too dark blue or too light and it gives that feel that you just threw it on when you stepped out without trying. And it's reasonably priced :)
Date published: 2013-04-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great jacket, flattering fit I've been looking for a denim jacket that wasn't overly boxy for quite some time and this one is it. The wash is a bit darker than I had thought it would be but, since it fits so nicely, it's a keeper.
Date published: 2013-01-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Perfect if you don't need your arms This jean jacket is everything it boasts style-wise in the description. It's classic, fits perfectly, etc. Because it's 100% cotton--while it will wear like iron for years--you really can't use your arms in front of your chest to carry a bag of groceries or a child, for example. A little stretch would do a world of good, or perhaps a bit more room in the upper arm or armpit. Love the fit otherwise if you just want to toss it on over a thin layer. The immobile arm thing would even be okay for driving, I think. I just need full mobility. The search for the perfect jacket continues.
Date published: 2013-07-17
  • y_2017, m_5, d_22, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_45
  • loc_en_US, sid_28394, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_madewell