This Just In

NEW ARRIVALS

Fall 2017 Collection

Looks We Love

Labels We Love

The Fall Shoe Shop

The Madewell Essentials

Monogram It

Denim Report

Events

Our clothes, your pics

How We Do Well

clothing

DENIM

TEES & SWEATSHIRTS

SHIRTS & TOPS

(see all)

tops & blouses
button-up & popover shirts
chambray & denim

SWEATERS

JACKETS & COATS

DRESSES

SKIRTS

PANTS & SHORTS

LEISURE & ACTIVE

intimates & pajamas

SWIM & BEACHWEAR

SALE

extended sizes

shoes, bags &
more

SHOES & BOOTS

BAGS

JEWELRY

sunglasses

ACCESSORIES

GIFT & HOME

Behind
The Scenes

Our Blog

Denim Report

#DENIMMADEWELL

#EVERYDAYMADEWELL

#Totewell

#WELLHEELED

About Madewell

Central Shirt in Pure White
full size
Central Shirt in Pure White
Central Shirt in Pure White
Central Shirt in Pure White
Product Details
You asked for it—our feminine take on a slightly oversized shirt returns, this time in a drapey white weave. Effortless and cool with a soft silhouette and easy, open sleeves.
  • Slightly oversized fit.
  • Cotton/Modal® rayon.
  • Machine wash.
  • Import.
SHIPPING
Free shipping exclusively for Madewell Insiders
*For complete details, see our Shipping Policy.

Central Shirt in Pure White

Central Shirt in Pure White is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 27.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! I’m somewhat new to Madewell and this is my first Central Shirt purchase, but I will definitely be back for more! I am a medium in most shirts and purchased a small in this. The fit is still oversized but it isn’t sloppy. For reference I am 5’6”, 145 lbs, 34DDD. The fabric is a perfect weight and is not sheer at all. Pull from the dryer while warm and no ironing is needed.
Date published: 2017-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new staple! I'm obsessed with this top! It's so comfortable and feminine. It's not see-thru at all. I hate to iron, so with a few quick swipes of my steamer it was ready to wear! I even bought another one. This top is perfect for my job in the schools---professional, comfortable, but still relaxed. I normally wear a Small, but bought this in an xs. Fits perfectly.
Date published: 2017-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic, simple, and so pretty I never write reviews for anything, but this shirt is amazing. It is comfortable and easy to throw on, and pairs well with anything because of its simplicity. I got compliments the first time I wore it. Such a classic piece! For reference, I am nearly always a medium in Madewell tops, but I sized down to a small and it still has that perfect, slightly oversized look.
Date published: 2017-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing. This shirt is awesome. I wasn't crazy about it hanging on the rack, tried it on and fell in love. Its an absolute must-have staple that can be dressed up or down.
Date published: 2017-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great shirt - exactly as pictured I have a weakness for crisp, white shirts - especially if they're even a little bit drapey or oversize - so this top is basically my dream. It's definitely large, so keep that in mind. I am fairly petite (5'2" and 115 lbs), an XXS fits me perfectly.
Date published: 2017-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect white blouse! Casual yet refined! I ordered two I love this blouse so much. Soft white not a bright white.
Date published: 2017-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect button-up staple This is seriously the most perfect white button-up I have ever owned. Straight out of the bag, the fabric felt amazing and soft. The shirt is very light and wonderful to wear during the summer. You can wear a nude bra underneath and it doesn't show. I have been searching so long for a white shirt that I don't have to wear a cami under. The cuff sleeves are very cute. Overall this is an amazing find. I will be buying several more for the future.
Date published: 2017-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this! This top is larger but I love it! It is very breezy and lightweight. I only wish it didn't have to be ironed. It isn't see through either like most light weight white shirts. I will be buying it in every color they come out with!
Date published: 2017-04-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love I love the central fit! This white one is perfect for dressing up with heels or wedges or wearing casually with shorts and sandals. The fit is perfect for my curvy frame and runs true to size. I'm definitely obsessed and will be purchasing more of this fit in the future.
Date published: 2017-04-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good go-to The good: this shirt is super soft and comfy. The material is nice — lightweight and not too sheer. I don't have to wear an undershirt with it. It's chic; I can wear it to work or brunch. I like that I can throw it on and still feel cute...it's a good go-to! The bad: it runs wayyy large (I normally wear a small or medium and bought a XS that's still baggy, but in a (mostly) good way...probably could have sized down one more even). It also wrinkles really easily.
Date published: 2017-03-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Central Shirt I really like the Madewell tops. I am glad I found the Central style; it is very flattering. I love the off white color. This goes with everything in my closet. The only con is that I really wish this was 100% cotton and it was not mixed with modal. The Courier style is all cotton so I will probably stick with that style.
Date published: 2017-01-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful, but runs MUCH larger than label size According to the size chart, I should have been a Small. But my daughter who is my size has several Courier shirts in XXS and they are just the correct size for her/me. I should have known better then, but I took the middle of the road and ordered an XS. And of course, it is quite a bit too large. Will take that into account next time.
Date published: 2017-08-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fabric not what I expected I previously purchased this shirt in blue, and love it. The fabric is very light, almost (but not really) see-through, and has a charming drape that looks great with jeans. My most recent purchase in white was disappointing. The cut is the same, but the fabric is heavier, like a heavy sheeting, and doesn't drape at all- it's almost stiff, and looks a bit cheap. The shirt lost its appeal. I kept it because it's a reasonable white shirt to wear to the grocery store or something, but unlike my first purchase, it lacks any style or charm. I think it's a bit too expensive for what it is.
Date published: 2017-03-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I like the Courier Shirt better This particular version of the central shirt is great and probably works for a lot of people. However, the wide drapey/boxy fit is just slightly too much for me. It looks like a big giant square on my upper body. I find that the courier shirt has just a bit more shape to it, the way it drapes suggests a nice curve to the body vs the previously mentioned (for me) overly boxy shape. I am tall and have broad shoulders, wider hips, and small waist. This could be the issue. Otherwise a wonderful top.
Date published: 2017-02-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Runs very large I ordered xxs I am 5'6'' 112 pounds, I'll be returning the shirt, it is very big! Material and quality are perfect, not too light.
Date published: 2017-05-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just not for me I've been wanting a crisp, white blouse for spring, and really wanted this one to work. As other reviewers said, it's boxy, but I thought it had a bit more sleeve definition based on the pictures. However, it's like a literal square - which works for waif-ish frames, but not for me. Back it went.
Date published: 2017-03-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Huge, Prefer Courier Shirt This shirt is so, so, so big. I'm 5'6, 117 lbs, 24 waist and 32 bust. The XXS made me look like a flying squirrel. I personally think that the Courier style is cuter and more flattering. Would size down at least 2 sizes if you plan on ordering this shirt.
Date published: 2017-03-06
  • y_2017, m_10, d_20, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_27
  • loc_en_US, sid_G0212, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_madewell