This Just In

NEW ARRIVALS

Looks We Love

Labels We Love

The Madewell Essentials

Mother's Day Gifts

Monogram It

Denim Report

Events

Our clothes, your pics

Denim Donation

clothing

DENIM

TEES & TANKS

SHIRTS & TOPS

(see all)

button-up & popover shirts
tops & blouses
chambray & denim

SWEATERS

JACKETS

DRESSES

SKIRTS

PANTS & SHORTS

LEISURE

intimates & pajamas

SWIM & BEACHWEAR

SALE

extended sizes

shoes, bags &
more

SHOES & SANDALS

BAGS

JEWELRY

sunglasses

ACCESSORIES

GIFT & HOME

Behind
The Scenes

Our Blog

Denim Report

#DENIMMADEWELL

#EVERYDAYMADEWELL

#Totewell

#WELLHEELED

About Madewell

Perfect Chambray Ex-Boyfriend Shirt in Ferrous Wash
full size
Perfect Chambray Ex-Boyfriend Shirt in Ferrous Wash
Perfect Chambray Ex-Boyfriend Shirt in Ferrous Wash
Perfect Chambray Ex-Boyfriend Shirt in Ferrous Wash
Product Details
There's something both utterly modern and old-school charming about this wear-everywhere piece. (It probably has something to do with the dapper oversized fit.)
  • Boyfriend fit.
  • Cotton.
  • Machine wash.
  • Import.
SHIPPING & RETURNS
Free shipping and free returns exclusively for Madewell Insiders
(hi there, risk-free try-ons). *For complete details, see our Shipping Policy and Return Policy.

Perfect Chambray Ex-Boyfriend Shirt in Ferrous Wash

Perfect Chambray Ex-Boyfriend Shirt in Ferrous Wash is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 193.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Versatile This shirt is so versatile, awesome, durable, and comfy. I wear it almost every week, indoors and out, sleeves rolled up or down, with everything (leggings, jeans, skirts) or with nothing else on. PS I just got one for my sister.
Date published: 2014-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My FAVORITE shirt! This is by far my favorite shirt, and the second one that I've purchased! I've worn the first one so much that there are a few holes in them. I still intend to keep wearing that one as a beach coverup! Love the fit, the wash, everything about it is perfect!
Date published: 2014-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from dressed up or down--perfect! I am so glad I got this shirt....it truly is the perfect denim wash, can be both casual, thrown over a tank/tee or tucked into high-waisted black jeans with heels to spiff it up. Like so many things Madewell, I purchased this to replace a much-loved denim shirt that I owned for a decade. When the question comes up, "Where will I ever find one I love as much as this one?'...most times the answer is Madewell. That's saying something, right there.
Date published: 2014-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It Truth to tell, I had to send it back for a size large (I had ordered the medium due to the reviews which said how huge it runs). The medium did fit me, but in order to get the boyfriend fit I wanted, I decided to exchange it for the large, which is my usual size in Madewell clothing. The color and fabric seemed very satisfactory, though, and, as I am still waiting for my large size shirt to arrive, I can't wait to wear it a lot this Spring.
Date published: 2014-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love I have several chambray shirts from jcrew & madewell but, I LOVE this one. It's longer in the back which is great and the sleeves are long too. A few of my jcrew ones the sleeves are too short and can only be worn rolled...but this shirt looks great either way :) I'm 5"7 and 110 and the small fits great
Date published: 2014-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE color to get I would wear this every day if I could. I usually prefer darker colors, but the fade on this is unique, and pairs well with everything. I was surprised to discover that despite the light color, this hides stains well, at least coffee stains. For reference, I'm on the petite side 5'2'', 100 lbs and ordered the XS. I was able to wear this shirt until I was 7 months pregnant and afterwards, it was the perfect shirt for that post-preg belly. For my frame, it's slightly more oversized than on the model pictured, but still looks great and is so comfortable. If this came in petite or xxs, I might also consider getting it so I could get the fit as shown on the model. If you can only get one chambray, this is it.
Date published: 2014-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable staple Button ups are my favorite things and I have been looking for the "perfect chambray" shirt for a while as my other ones are either too boxy or not flattering. This one is appropriately named and I wear it often because it is exactly what I've been looking for - a nice fit, interesting wash, and goes with everything.
Date published: 2014-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit and color Very comfortable and casual chambray shirt. I imagine that the more I wash it, the softer it will become. I've purchased several chambray/denim shirts from Madewell, and they are always awesome and versatile. The light wash on this shirt is perfect for Spring. The only thing that surprised me a bit was how long the back of the shirt is, however, it didn't really bother me.
Date published: 2014-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great shirt! I'm literally wearing the shirt as I write the review (this was unplanned, I swear). It's a great, faded color, not quite as washed out as the photos make it appear. It was a bit stiff at first but has gotten softer as I've washed/worn it. I'm 5'4'', 115 lb and the size XS fits perfectly in the shoulders with a nice, loose boy-style cut.
Date published: 2014-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from versatile and stylish shirt! I got this shirt on sale. Definitely worth every penny! Very stylish and can be dressed up and down. Goes with almost everything. I am 5'8" 135lb and usually a Medium (or size 6) in Madewell sweaters (tops), but the small in this fits perfectly and has that loose look. I want a second one, but the darker one is sold out by now...
Date published: 2014-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from comfy and versatile! I love this shirt - it's great for dressing up or down.
Date published: 2014-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from super comfortable and versatile great purchase, goes with anything, super comfortable, a bit expensive for a button down, but luckily i will get a lot of use out of it. sizing is true, no need to get a size up, this fits loose without looking sloppy.
Date published: 2014-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this shirt I am obsessed with this shirt. Had to get rid of an old chambray after it ripped and picked this one up on sale. So glad I did! I love it in the winter under a vest or sweater and I know it will be awesome in summer too. If you are on the fence, get it.
Date published: 2014-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I live in this shirt! This is the perfect chambray shirt. I love it so much I actually bought two so that I have a back up when one is in the laundry. It is meant to be over-sized but is also flattering. The length is long enough to wear with leggings & it looks great under sweaters or on its own. I typically wear a size extra-small or small in tops but purposely bought the small so that it has a roomy, long fit. Love!
Date published: 2014-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Chambray this fits large like in the photo but it has a good, slouchy boyfriend feel. I got a small and it's loose in a good way (usually a medium) so I would size down. Great quality, great wash. I will be living in this come spring/summer! i bought a darker wash in the fall and have loved it as well.
Date published: 2014-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfection So comfy and adorable. Exactly what I want it to be
Date published: 2014-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Chambray Love the wash and love the tale. I ordered a small, I occasionally wear a medium and the small fit me really well.
Date published: 2014-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from goes with everything this is a super cozy shirt that goes with everything. i find myself reaching for it often in the closet. it's longer in the back to cover the butt, so i like to wear it over leggings with boots. it also goes well under sweaters. or open over a tank. its versatile!
Date published: 2014-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Another Madewell surprise…Pulled it out of the package and tried it on and it stayed on…flattering, versatile incredibly comfortable. I'll wear it to work and casual. I will buy more in other colors…love.
Date published: 2014-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and Versatile This shirt is a true wardrobe staple. The fit is great although runs large. I am 5' 4" and my measurements are 35. 29. 34. I bought a medium that I had to return for a small, which was still a boyfriend fit on me. (I guess it depends on how big your boyfriend is, mine is like a taller version of myself.) The small completely covers my butt (which is nice for leggings) and is big enough to still be loose over my 35 D's. So size down unless you want a REALLY BIG shirt. Buy it on sale because less is more....
Date published: 2014-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A favorite I have this shirt in XS and S. I think it runs big but it's great because I wear the S for a more relaxed look and the XS for a more tailored look. The color and fit is unbeatable.
Date published: 2014-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Truly amazing! I purchased this shirt for myself last summer after seeing it on a girlfriend and falling in love. Since then, I have purchased 3 more for my friends and family (of all ages). This past fall, my grandmother saw me wearing it and absolutely loved it. I had completely forgotten about it until a couple days before Christmas and ended up ordering one for her last minute. Not only did it get to my house the very next day, it was by far her most favorite present! This shirt is truly amazing. It can be worn all year round. It has turned into one of my main go-to wardrobe essentials. I highly recommend it to everyone!
Date published: 2014-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fit this shirt is so soft. the sizing is generous so size down if you want a more fitted look. washes well.
Date published: 2014-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great everyday chambray shirt I am 5'4 125lbs and the XS fits for a loose, casual, comfortable everyday look! Great quality, very soft material. Would purchase again! The back of the shirt is longer then the front, which adds to the uniqueness of this Madewell chambray over other brands.
Date published: 2014-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from comfortable and versatile I'm 5'3, 120lb, athletic build, and ordered this in XS. If you're looking for something fitted you'll probably want to order two sizes down, as I'm generally a small in most brands, and the XS was still oversized but perfect for the look I was going for. I especially like the button detail. Highly recommended esp if it's on sale!
Date published: 2013-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous!! I absolutely love this shirt. It is great quality and a gorgeous shirt! Its such a versatile piece. I recommend it to everyone!
Date published: 2013-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best go to shirt! This was a great buy! It is definitely a go to shirt when I am not sure what to throw on. Fits perfect, runs a tad bit big, but that's how I wanted the shirt to fit. I would definitely recommend this as a staple for your wardrobe.
Date published: 2013-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another one... Already have this in M, which in ex-boyfriend is an oversized fit on me. Wanted one to fit perfectly on its own, so got the S too - and it does fit - perfectly. No gapping at the bust (34B). I also have this in the darker wash, plus both versions of the denim boyshirt, and the two-tone chambray... Uh, yeah, I really like MW denim...
Date published: 2013-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great shirt Love this shirt...it is soft yet the collar stays where it should and doesn't flop around. I usually take a medium and it fit perfect...sleeves perfect length. I am 5'8 and need things a little longer.
Date published: 2013-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Chambray I've been looking for a perfect chambray shirt for ages and finally thought I would try my luck with this one. It is PERFECT. The color is beautiful and the texture is just like a well worn denim shirt should be. This shirt can literally be paired with anything.
Date published: 2013-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very soft pretty chambray shirt - runs large I am almost always a medium in tops. I received this in a medium and the shirt tail in the back came down to my knees. (I'm 5' 1") I'm all for the oversized look, but this was WAY too long! For tall ladies, I would guess that your normal size would be the perfect, oversized fit. Aside from the length of the back, I would've kept the medium. The small ended up working for me. Moral of the story, you might want to size down, especially if you are a shorty like me. The quality and feel of the fabric is really nice. I know this will be a favorite.
Date published: 2013-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect chambray doesn't disappoint Perfect oversized fit if you order your true size. Soft material, but not too thin. Sleeves just a tad long and cuffs are a little wide, perfect for rolling up or folding over sweaters cuffs. Almost tunic length, but I have a short torso so it may be better if you're more averagely proportioned. I love the faded wash and plan to wear this shirt to death. Great buy!
Date published: 2013-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So great I bought a second one I purchased this shirt the first time about 1.5-2yrs ago. In the winter it serves as a base layer under sweaters and the summer as a light jacket. I wear it all the time and have definitely put it through a lot -- it now has a few stains and a little tear from some rough-housing but always remains in the rotation. I bought this new one to keep pristine while I continue to be rough on the other. A little pricey for a simple button-down but since MW always has them, just wait for the sales -- it's worth it!
Date published: 2013-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase This shirt was exactly as described and I love it...especially to longer length in the back.
Date published: 2013-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous staple I have a few chambray shirts that are thick and a sort of stiff so I was looking for something softer--found i!! I wore this shirt twice within a week. It's really soft and comfortable. Looks great alone or with a cardigan over it. I like things a bit longer so my bottom is half-covered and this has a great length (for reference I'm about 5'7"/130 lbs. and I bought the small). Great purchase!
Date published: 2013-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Chambray Shirt Nice shirt, similar to the other chambray shirts that madewell has been offering lately. Definitely recommend, especially now that it is on sale. It is a true boyfriend fit, so order a size down if you want a smaller fit.
Date published: 2013-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Perfect Chambray Shirt I bought this on sale because I wore my old one to shreds. I absolutely love this shirt; the fit, color and was are perfect. It's light and oversized without being unflattering. I'm usually a small and went for an xsmall which is perfect. Definitely a must purchase.
Date published: 2013-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So comfortable and great quality! One of the favorite chambray shirts! Very comfortable and def. an oversized fit, so if you don't like that look, please size down. Otherwise, color is great and one of the best, soft shirts I've purchased from Madewell.
Date published: 2013-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really "PERFECT" ! Great quality shirt! I'm 5'5, 155 lbs. Bought a small and a medium, they both fit me, but since it is supposed to be a "boyfriend" shirt, I ended up keeping the medium one, to get the slouchy, relaxed look. It is so soft and comfy, and the wash is just gorgeous! love it!
Date published: 2013-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wardrobe Staple I absolutely love this demin shirt. It's definitely baggy, but perfect for wearing with a pencil skirt or leggings. Very comfortable weekend wear. I am generally a size small in Madewell items, but I find both the XS and S are very similar in fit. In terms of cost per wear this was one item that is definitely worth its value.
Date published: 2013-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it Eyed it for a long time.I have other jean shirts. But there is something about this one that is so comfortable and usable couldn't resist and happy I did.
Date published: 2013-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MY FAVORITE DENIM SHIRT !!!! I am sooooooo glad I got this! The color is perfect! I love the prewashed feel, very soft. Perfect to wear with leggings, covers butt well, not just a tad bit when you can see half of it ( I am 5' 1). If they had this in a dark wash I would buy it as well. It's a loose fit, doesn't go in the the waist area, and I love it like that! Buy it , you won't regret it!
Date published: 2013-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this shirt, every day. I don't have any complaints about this shirt! It is wonderful in every way; the length, soft material, well-made, goes with everything. It is lightweight enough to wear every season, and just heavy enough to be worth the money. Also, the pockets, they're perfect.
Date published: 2013-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite piece in my closet! This is such an awesome shirt. I purchased it just over a month ago and WEAR IT WITH EVERYTHING. It looks super cute buttoned up to the top with a statement necklace or unbuttoned with a t-shirt under it. I also wear it over my maxi and fit and flare dresses with it tied up at my waist. I would definitely recommend this shirt!!!! My sister requested one for herself after seeing mine. If you want a quality chambray shirt that is versatile, then this is the one for you!
Date published: 2013-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great all purpose shirt The fabric is so comfortable and soft and the color is great. I love that the back is longer than the front...perfect for leggings.
Date published: 2013-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfy, soft and versatile Runs a little big, so order a size down. Super soft and easy to wear. Goes with everything. Side note: I won't go into too much detail, but I bought this shirt awhile ago. I recently called customer service with a question/issue. They were incredibly helpful and really went out of the way for me. I usually shop at dept stores, so I was pleasantly surprised. Thanks Madewell! You found yourself a new happy customer!
Date published: 2013-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it! Beautiful shirt. Is a bit oversized as stated but that is the look I was going for.
Date published: 2013-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfy but size down! I tried this on in the store in an x-small, but it was way too big. I decided to wait and order online in an xx-small, which was a great fit! I am petite, 5'3" and typically wear an xs or 0 in Madewell shirts. If you normally wear an x-small, order this shirt in an xx-small--the fit is so baggy that you will need to size down! It's a great, easy-to-wear shirt. My only complaint is that they don't carry xx-small in the store. Would love to see an in-store selection of smaller sizes and/or a petite option for shirts like this.
Date published: 2013-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect chambray! I'm 5'6" 125 lbs with narrow shoulders and the XXS fits me perfectly (while still being an ex-boyfriendish fit)!
Date published: 2013-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All around great shirt! I've been looking for the right chambray shirt for a while, and this is it! It is a great-quality shirt that fits perfectly, not too short, not too long. It is a very comfortable shirt that can be simple and casual or can be dressed up. Love it!!
Date published: 2013-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent shirt!! This shirt is amazing and a great buy! I've been looking for a chambray shirt to wear and/or layer with sweaters for the fall. This is my new favorite piece to wear. It is SO comfortable and versatile. I can wear it with shorts or pants and it always looks good. The only thing is that it does run large. It is a boyfriend fit but I sized down from a S to an XS because I thought the S was still too roomy. I still get a slightly baggy fit but with more structure by sizing down.
Date published: 2013-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Great shirt, good buy! I'm petite (5'4'', 105lbs) and ordered the XXS. I wish it were just a tad baggier for the "ex-boyfriend" look, but it fits well (not too tight at all) and the length in the back helps it look a little oversized. On me, it looks pretty much how it looks on the current model (thin, dark-haired brunette). I tried on an XS in a store, but it was just too big and long.
Date published: 2013-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from it fits well. Good material good product, good service at the store, delivery is on time
Date published: 2013-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and Cute! I love this shirt, I wear it all the time. It runs slightly large, so I purchased an XS. It feels soft and comfortable, yet sturdy and well-made. I receive compliments all the time. Definitely recommend!
Date published: 2013-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect! love the worn-in look, and very happy that it's long enough!! i'm 5'11", 145 lbs and got a size xs.
Date published: 2013-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Truly a perfect chambray shirt! I adore this shirt. The quality of the material is great, it's super comfortable, but most importantly, it's incredibly versatile! I love it over a dress, with jeans, worn with a skirt, etc. The possibilities are endless! I followed the other reviewers' advice and sized down. I could have worn an XXS even, but I rather like the slouchy look, so the XS fits fine for me. All in all, an awesome shirt that's well worth your money!
Date published: 2013-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it a really casual shirt with a great fit, love the long tail. looks cute with leggings and tight shorts, can't stop wearing it
Date published: 2013-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from size down I have a large bust and small waist. Typically I have trouble buttoning up size small shirts and have to get a medium or large and have it taken it. the medium was much, much too big on me, but the small fit perfectly with no pulling across my chest. love the quality, the color and the length. perfect to wear with shorts and long enough to wear over leggings in the cooler months.
Date published: 2013-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Probably one of the most comfortable shirts I have ever owned... I am very pleased with the quality and color of this shirt. Looking forward to wearing it with white jeans and white shorts all summer long. Versatile and can dress it up or down. I have broad shoulders and hips with a narrow waist so, I have to pay attention to sizing & fit. I bought the "small" based on the other reviews and it fits perfectly.
Date published: 2013-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great looking, cozy layering piece Since receiving this shirt, I have pretty much worn it every other day. It’s a very versatile piece and adds a special something to your outfit — it’s casual yet classic and sophisticated! I ordered an XS which has a slight oversized fit for petite frames (like my own), and I likely could have ordered an XXS for a slightly better fit.
Date published: 2013-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super comfy While this shirt runs a bit large, it is still a great piece. I love the faded wash, and it's super soft and comfortable. I've worn it over a bikini at the beach, knotted over a a maxi and loose over skinny camo pants. It will be great in the fall over leggings with boots, as the back is a bit longer and covers your butt. Love it!
Date published: 2013-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome shirt Great fit and colour, material is soft and super comfortable - more of an oversized fit, I'm 5'2, 110 lbs and got the XXS.
Date published: 2013-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from exactly what I was looking for Love the chambray shirt. It is a classic which can be worn with just about anything. Glad I found it.
Date published: 2013-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfy Classic This shirt will make you feel/look like a million bucks on those days when you just can't seem to get your look together. Even if my hair is unruly and i feel bloated and my skin is out of control, I can throw this guy on over a little silk cami and feel like I can do anything. I've since become obsessed with the version of this shirt with the button pockets and slightly shorter fit, but this guy is still a go-to for when I need to feel comfy, especially since the low back covers my butt perfectly. The only reason I got a different version of this shirt is because I was worried about ruining mine and not being able to find it again. You won't regret this purchase!
Date published: 2013-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THIS I love my chambray shirt. I was on the fence about it for a while since I thought the international shipping would be a hassle, but it was well worth it. Worn open with jeans for a double denim look, or over leggings, it's now my go to piece. I want the darker color now!
Date published: 2013-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE I wear this as often as it's clean. It's and easy way to make an ok outfit stylish. The metal buttons and special stitching down the pocket (no flaps to iron down flat-- yay!) make it stand out. It gets softer and less stiff the more you wash it. If this wears out, I'll happily replace it. Actually, I have it in the petal pink, too.
Date published: 2013-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super soft, great color but may run large Have been looking for a chambray shirt for awhile, glad to have found this one. Super soft, great color. Ordered it in small, since that was my size for another Madewell shirt that fits great. Shirt ran large so had to go down to x-small, which fits well.
Date published: 2013-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Staple The only reason I don't wear this practically every day is because I have two-- I bought this in the harvest wash as well. Great color, super comfortable, perfect for layering.
Date published: 2013-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Instantly my favorite clothing item This shirt is well constructed, and the size and fit were as expected. This has instantly and easily become my favorite clothing item. I wear it with leggings, shorts, skirts and layer it over dresses. I pull it over my pjs in the morning. I've even pulled it out of my laundry hamper to just get one more wear out of it before washing. I'm addicted!
Date published: 2013-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the wait Ordered after seeing in the catalogue and was disappointed to see it was out of stock. After my query was answered from the brilliant customer service team (and may I say, what a refreshing change to have such great customer service), I ordered the shirt and had to wait about 4 weeks. Definitely worth the wait, really nice soft cotton and lovely fit - relaxed but not too baggy.
Date published: 2013-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My search is over! I had a denim shirt like this a few years ago and lost it on vacation. I have been looking for a replacement . This is the perfect shirt! Fits a little oversized just like you'd want. It has that soft already broken in feel. I just love it. So many uses, casual, even as a beach cover up. This vacation I will keep my eyes on it.
Date published: 2013-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best shirt ever. I said it and I mean it. Best shirt ever. Would love to buy 3.
Date published: 2013-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from yes, perfect! I was looking for the perfect chambray shirt and this is definitely it. long enough to tie at the waist, tuck in, or leave out. Not too heavy or too thin - just right. Love!
Date published: 2013-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect chambray for summer This shirt will be my go-to when the weather gets hot. Runs large (I went down a size) so it's roomy and the fabric is nice and lightweight. Love the wash as well.
Date published: 2013-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Inlove! I'm 5'3 and 115 lbs and got an xxs! It fits perfectly and still a little loose! Awesome colour for the summer and great worn open with a tshirt! Love it!
Date published: 2013-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy it! Perfect shirt. Fits true to size and I always like my work shirt a little large so I exchanged just to size up. Love this shirt!!
Date published: 2013-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit I ordered an XS because although usually due to my bust I need to go a size bigger I was hoping the boyfriend fit would balance it out and it fits perfectly! My only concern is that one of the buttons has come undone a couple of times so I think one of the holes may be a bit big but otherwise love the shirt!
Date published: 2013-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wash With Caution I bought this shirt a year or two ago and made the mistake of washing it (without putting it in a garment bag) and it ripped - big time. Luckily, Madewell customer service is awesome and helped me out. After searching high and low for the perfect chambray, I recently decided to buy it again, but this time, I am only going to dry clean it. I love how the fabric is thin and it just feels nice - like a worn in ex-boyfriend shirt. You can dress it up or down since it's so versatile!
Date published: 2013-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect I love this shirt. The fit is relaxed (I am 5'2 110 lbs) and I ordered a xxs which fit great (loose but not shapeless). It's so comfortable and cute - a real wardrobe staple. I basically want to live in this shirt!
Date published: 2013-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect everyday shirt Madewell named this piece well-it is a perfect shirt. Very versatile, seasonless, well-made. Pair with jeans, leggings, pencil skirt, really anything. Super soft fabric, great color, nice quality buttons. I recommend buying your typical size even if you want it to be a looser fit, because it definitely is an ex-boyfriend fit.
Date published: 2013-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Shirt Really great shirt! Long enough in the back so that I can wear it with leggings. It's casual but also able to be dressed up for a night on the town.
Date published: 2013-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from stylish and comfortable The shirt exceeded my expectations of what the photo portrayed. Specifically, the back of the shirt is longer than the front, and I love that feature. It covers the bum, so looks good with leggings in addition to skinny jeans. Material is very soft to the touch, but has enough body to look crisp. I ordered the size that corresponded to the Madewell measurements and it fits me perfectly. Excellent addition to my wardrobe!
Date published: 2013-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect denim shirt LOVE this shirt, perfect for layering or by itself. So comfortable and stylish, great piece for any closet!
Date published: 2013-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing This shirt is amazing! The fit is perfect and its so comfortable!
Date published: 2013-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Shirt I saw this shirt on a blog and had to have it. I've worn it many times since it arrived. I like the longer hem in the back, its great with sweaters and leggings. It is not a super fitted shirt, but it is not meant to be. I am 5'7" and wear the xs.
Date published: 2013-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect shirt! LOVE this shirt! I was looking for a lighter wash chambray shirt & this totally fit the bill! Sizing runs true to size. The color is perfect--a light wash that doesn't look too new, but slightly worn. I love that the back hem is slightly longer--works perfectly w/ leggings/jeggings but equally well tucked in w/ skirts/pants. If in doubt, don't hesitate! Best purchase in a long time. 100% pleased & would buy again in a heart beat!
Date published: 2013-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love!! This is my first purchase from Madewell, and I couldn't be happier! The shirt seems a little lighter in person, but its entirely possible that my monitor is a little off. Anyways- I have been searching high and low for a new chambray that could be worn dressed up or down, fitted but not too tight, comfortable but not too baggy, to be thrown over beachwear or layered under sweaters ... and all this for a somewhat reasonable price point - impossible, right? Noooo. Thank you Madewell: THIS IS THAT SHIRT. I especially love that its longer in back to ensure proper butt coverage, as I am tall and try to wear leggings any day that ends in y. Have received many compliments to date, and it even shipped early from the quoted date. YAY!! I'll be going a bit out of my way to visit their brick and mortar store on a mini-road trip to Chicago this weekend. LOVE LOVE LOVE
Date published: 2013-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Want to wear everyday! I want to wear this shirt everyday. It goes with everything and is so comfortable. Love it!!
Date published: 2013-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Such a perfect chambray This button down truly has a beautiful boyfriend, perfect fit. I love the way it fits my frame; I am 5'5" 110 lbs and I got the XXS. I find all Madewell clothes run large on me. But it fits perfectly!
Date published: 2013-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love this shirt ! Love everything about this shirt! It is a little pricey...but well worth the cost. It is the Perfect Chambray Ex-Boyfriend Shirt !
Date published: 2013-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Aptly named! It is perfect. Great comfy shirt...has a perfect worn-in look and feel without looking worn out. I ordered one size larger than usual, and it still has a feminine line to it, not boxy Super happy with my purchase.
Date published: 2013-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just like the one I had in college... Just like the one I had in college....I won't say how many years ago that was!. I've been looking for a replacement for quite some time. This high quality garment looks like I've been wearing it for years right out of the box...but without the threadbare spots, stains and tears. I did feel that the overall fit ran a bit large, but this is very difficult to access. I ordered a large based on the size chart and ended up exchanging it for a medium, which was still roomy enough for a t-shirt underneath, but I could have gone either way. All depends on how you like the fit.
Date published: 2013-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chambray Love it - goes with nearly everything! Perfect staple to any closet!!!
Date published: 2013-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT! I bought one for a friend online and then I went to the store and bought one for myself. Looks great on! She loved the gifted top too!
Date published: 2013-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from high quality I had been looking for a lighter chambray shirt and am glad i chose this one. The only thing that surprised me is how long it is in the back -- more of a tunic length than I expected. Overall, I really like it though! I would have normally ordered a medium, but went for a small after reading reviews. The fit is perfect!
Date published: 2013-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect chambray shirt Goes with everything in my warerobe. I have a 32d bust and the xs is a good loose fit.
Date published: 2013-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light and soft LOVE, LOVE, LOVE. Soft, lightweight, great for layering, and I love the longer back.
Date published: 2013-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oh so comfortable! It came so soft. I just love it. I like to wear the shirts over a sleeveless tee shirt. They are so comfortable. This time of the year in the midwest I wear it over a long sleeved tee or a short sleeved tee. It is made very well and fits nicelyt. I would recommend it to anyone who loves comfort. I think my friends that are dressier would also enjoy this top.
Date published: 2013-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE!!! This is the perfect all-occasion shirt. Definitely a must-have, go-to! Just size down if you would like a more fitted look! (I'm usually a small at 5'5'' 125 but the XS worked for me!)
Date published: 2013-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love the color and style i am thin so i would of liked it a little more fitted, i wear it all the time with black leggings. love it!
Date published: 2013-01-17
  • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_193
  • loc_en_US, sid_25240, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_madewell