This Just In

NEW ARRIVALS

The Gift Well Guide

Madewell x Milk Bar

Looks We Love

Labels We Love

The Madewell Essentials

Monogram It

Denim Report

Events

Your double-tap-worthy pics

From denim recycling to
beach cleaning

clothing

DENIM

TEES & SWEATSHIRTS

SHIRTS & TOPS

(see all)

tops & blouses
button-up & popover shirts
chambray & denim

SWEATERS

JACKETS & COATS

DRESSES

SKIRTS

PANTS & SHORTS

OVERALLS & JUMPSUITS

LEISURE & ACTIVE

intimates & pajamas

SWIM & BEACHWEAR

SALE

extended sizes

shoes, bags &
more

SHOES & BOOTS

BAGS

JEWELRY

sunglasses

ACCESSORIES

GIFT & HOME

BEAUTY

Behind
The Scenes

Our Blog

Denim Report

#DENIMMADEWELL

#EVERYDAYMADEWELL

#Totewell

#WELLHEELED

About Madewell

Flannel Ex-Boyfriend Shirt in Buffalo Check
full size
Flannel Ex-Boyfriend Shirt in Buffalo Check
Flannel Ex-Boyfriend Shirt in Buffalo Check
Flannel Ex-Boyfriend Shirt in Buffalo Check
Product Details
A timeless shirt style in a crazy-soft double-brushed flannel. Slightly oversized with ready-to-roll sleeves, this buffalo check version is just right.  
  • True to size.
  • Cotton.
  • Machine wash.
  • Import.
SHIPPING
Free shipping exclusively for Madewell Insiders
*For complete details, see our Shipping Policy.

Flannel Ex-Boyfriend Shirt in Buffalo Check

Flannel Ex-Boyfriend Shirt in Buffalo Check is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 52.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfectly soft flannel! This arrived today and I put it on immediately - it's so soft and cozy! Very flattering fit as well. This flannel is actually true-to-size for me - I am 5'9", 130#, 32C. Someone on the shorter side might be able to size down - this covers my butt despite my height!
Date published: 2016-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT Top! Love the fit of this top, the size of the plaid, and the quality of the flannel. I can never seem to find flannel that holds up and doesn't pill..This one will last through many winter wears!
Date published: 2016-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic Red Flannel Highly recommended, a little lighter than a flannel so it's not as hot. Great classic piece to add to any closet
Date published: 2016-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best flannels I own I own a lot of flannel from all over (vintage, men's departments, women's departments, etc.). This is BY FAR one of the best flannels that I've ever bought. The soft flannel does its job (it's warm) and it has a much more flattering shape than a lot of other flannels I've purchased in the past. I'm 5'1" / 34D / about 140lbs and I purchased a Medium. Fits just how I like it; a relaxed fit with some shape to it. Perfect for every flannel enthusiast. In case you can't tell from the photos (I couldn't), it does button down the entire length of the garment (doesn't end halfway).
Date published: 2016-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous I love everything about this shirt. It's so soft! I love the mix of red and black plaid, and the extra length in back gives it a cool factor. I bought the xxs..I'm 97lbs and 5'4..it fits so well in the shoulders. This is often difficult to find. it is not too full, giving anyone a bit more of a slim look. I have an over-sized flannel shirt from Madewell, and this looks terrific underneath it for extra warmth and a hip look. Love it!!
Date published: 2016-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft & comfortable This shirt on the thicker side but also soft. Looks great with jeans or leggings. I found the fit to be true to size for the 'ex-boyfriend' style - I usually wear an M and that was perfect for me, vs the 'oversized boy shirt' where I wear an XS or S. For reference, I'm 5'4", 145 lbs, 32D.
Date published: 2016-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Flannel Shirt! This shirt is so soft and comfortable. It was exactly what I was looking for. Perfect for a casual winter day.
Date published: 2016-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME Finally! A TRUE flannel for women! The majority of "flannels" that I have purchased are simply soft cotten plaid shirts and not exactly the thick, warm material I expect from a flannel. This shirt arrived and I fell in love. It's soft, it's fairly thick, and it's very warm. The length is great to pair with leggings or skinny jeans and the fit is relaxed, but not loose and frumpy. Overall, the quality is there, as are the style and comfort aspects, so I definitely recommend! FYI I'm 5'2", 115 lbs. and ordered an XS.
Date published: 2016-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this shirt, cute and comfortable I love this shirt! The fabric is soft, pretty, fun to wear! The fit is perfect. Fitted through the waist (not too baggy) but long enough to wear with leggings if that is your style. Trendy enough to wear with jeans and cute booties. I love this shirt.
Date published: 2016-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Flannel! I was hesitant at first to purchase this shirt because it couldn't be returned or exchanged. On the model it looked more relaxed than I had wanted and I couldn't gauge what size to get. Logan37's review was very helpful and I ended up purchasing my normal size (medium) and it's perfect. It's relaxed without being too oversized and sloppy. I'm very satisfied with shirt overall.
Date published: 2016-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very warm flannel!!!! I love this flannel shirt!! It is so soft and warm, the PERFECT winter flannel. I ordered an XS and S, kept the small and it fits great! (I am 5'6 108lbs) Can't say enough good things about this shirt, highly recommend!!
Date published: 2016-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality flannel Reviewers' input about the size of this shirt goes all over the place. I'd describe it as "true to size, relaxed fit". Im 5'2", 102lbs and tried on XS and S (I usually take XS and sometimes XXS in Madewell tops). XS looks relaxed but not oversized. S felt too big, especially in the shoulder width, which made me look sloppy. The length is shorter than it appears in this model photo. Mine covers my behind (long enough to wear with leggings) but doesn't go all the way down the backside like it does on the model. The fabric is of substantial weight, but not too bulky. It's very soft, and it washes well. The color is a vibrant, true red that looks good on many different skin tones.
Date published: 2016-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Runs large! I usually wear a S or XS in tops and ended up with a XXS after trying it on. It runs HUGE!
Date published: 2016-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cute and cozy Love this! The color is festive and modern, and the oversized fit is cozy. Nice heavyweight flannel, and it feels like good quality. It's already had lots of wears.
Date published: 2015-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love!!! The shape of this shirt is awesome! I wanted a red buffalo check shirt that wouldn't make me look like a lumberjack and this one is perfect!!! Cute feminine shape. Would definitely recommend!
Date published: 2015-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great shirt I got this shirt for Christmas--opened it in the morning,and wore it all day. Very stylish with leggings and boots. Flannel isn't too heavy, and the shirt isn't too boxy.
Date published: 2015-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect flannel I've been looking for a new flannel since my old one is shot. This is the perfect flannel. I've seen a few other buffalo check flannels elsewhere but they were all really thing and didn't feel like a real flannel or the fit was off. This is a great structured but loose fitting long flannel. Perfect with jeans, leggings, anything really. Couldn't be happier.
Date published: 2015-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great flannel shirt! I love this shirt! The quality is great - thick and soft! I ordered one size up because I like a looser fit (I am 5'4" size 4/6), which I thought was a bit of a gamble on my end, but much to my surprise the shirt wasn't as oversized as I thought it would be. Definitely glad I didn't order the small, but am very happy with the fit of the medium. I recommend!
Date published: 2015-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great cozy classic - might want to size up I caved for the ubiquitous buffalo check shirt to have something comfy and stylish to wear christmas day. I'm very happy. The other reviewers' comments about the nice weight and quality of the fabric are accurate. It's a substantial shirt without making you look "thicker". I wanted this shirt to have a slightly oversized fit to wear with leggings, so I ordered a M and it's perfect. Not as bulky as the model shot but definitely relaxed. I'm 5'6 130lbs (34-28-37). I am consistantly a S or XS in Madewell and was afraid the M would be huge - not so. And i love the slightly longer back. I don't like my tush showing in leggings.
Date published: 2015-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally! It's so difficult to find good women's flannel shirts that don't feel like tissue paper. This shirt is a nice mid-weight flannel and so soft!!
Date published: 2015-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Flannel Love This is my new favorite flannel. So soft and comfortable. Love it.
Date published: 2015-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Madewell makes the best flannel shirts! This is the 3rd flannel I've purchased from Madewell and it is by far the heaviest in weight (which is a good thing). In warmer climates, I think you could get away with wearing it with just a puffer vest (which is what I plan to do before it gets too cold here). The description says it's slightly oversized, but I found it to fit true to size. I'm 5'6", 120 lbs, 34C and I purchased the size small. I'm tempted to size up to a medium, but I'm staying with the small because I want a flannel that I can tuck into straight leg jeans. I'll have to be careful not to put it in the dryer as the fit is perfect right now. If it shrinks, I'll be back for a medium.
Date published: 2015-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality staple Nice good quality material, not too thin, Love it thank you!
Date published: 2015-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So comfortable! I absolutely love this shirt. It's super comfortable and I've gotten lots of compliments!
Date published: 2015-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for fall I found that this fit true to size, and ordered a medium (5'6, 140 lb). Super cozy, thick, and the cut is flattering.
Date published: 2015-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fabric I love this shirt. It is super soft, the fabric is thick and warm and will be a mainstay for me this winter!
Date published: 2015-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite new top! I've been hoping for the perfect buffalo plaid shirt this Fall. I found it! The weight is perfect - it's heavy enough to feel warm for colder weather, but it still buttons and tucks to look feminine. I bought an xs, which is my go-to size for Madewell. The fit is pretty much perfect. My one gripe is that I can't seem to find any Madewell tops (shirts, tees, sweaters) that don't cover my rear end. Sometimes I want to show it off a little! At least I can still manage to tuck it in to my skinny jeans if I want. I'm probably going to wear this shirt every other day this winter!
Date published: 2015-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A classic shirt! This shirt fits true to size. It looks like it runs large in the photo, but sizing is accurate. I ordered a medium (5'7'', 135 lbs.) and I love the fit.
Date published: 2015-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it! I bought this shirt up fast because last years Buffalo Plaid was sold out before I jumped the band wagon. I'm glad I did. Super soft material and just the right weight to stay warm on a fall day without getting too hot! Thanks for bringing it back Madewell!
Date published: 2015-10-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from soft material! this flannel is very comfy and soft. The only thing I wasn't thrilled about was that a few of the buttons are loose and I will have to re-sew them so they don't fall off. I also wish the sleeves were longer.
Date published: 2016-02-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfy and cozy Classic buffalo check plaid shirt; the flannel is soft and warm and it's a cool throw-back shirt.
Date published: 2016-02-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from much more true to size than expected. thought it would be oversized This looks very long on the model but it was much more true to size than expected. I wanted something oversized to wear with leggings, but it hits at the hip and not much past the butt. I ordered a medium and I'm 5'3" 150 lbs so I'm a little chunkier in the thigh/middle. Tucked in it looks more flattering and it fits like a regular shirt on me, but it's not the loose flowy oversize flannel i was going for. Even though it's a different look than expected, it's still cute and definitely a great quality.
Date published: 2016-02-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Too cool Great shirt works for dressing up and down. Already had to buy one for my niece.
Date published: 2016-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the flannel I love this shirt. It's a great thickness. I like how long it is in the back and the colors are very bright. The only reason I take a star away is because of the buttons. They are just too small and aren't put on well. I carry my 1 year old and he pulls the shirt to hold on. And then my shirt opens up and my boobs are out in the world for all to see. Happened in public. So embarrassing. So I'm in the hunt for slightly larger buttons. I also had to sew a couple buttons so the buttons didn't just hang there. I have another shirt like this in a slightly less thick flannel and I don't have this problem.
Date published: 2015-12-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ex-boyfriend must've had short arms. Small fits perfectly in the body and fabric is more substantial than last years version (awesome), but the sleeves end above my wrist which is very disappointing. I am going to try the medium and hope it isn't too big.( I am 5'9" 130lbs.)
Date published: 2015-11-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from alright it's alright three stars for appearance. it's definitely comfortable and i got it for sales price. so not complaining.
Date published: 2016-03-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sleeves too short The sleeves are way too short for me. I'm 5'8". Nice warm material... would be nice if it actually covered my arms.
Date published: 2016-02-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from great fabric, cute cut, not sure on quality. as other reviews have said, this is a very thick and lovely flannel fabric! i washed it on gentle and laid it flat to dry because it's cotton, and i had no problems with shrinking. But! as i wore it the first time, i realized that the cuff was already torn from the seam. Since i washed it delicate and with no zippered or jagged items, i can only assume it arrived torn or tore in the washing machine. I expect an item to be machine washable on delicate for this price. that said, i love everything else about this shirt! it fits large breasts fairly comfortably, with only a little gapping and is very warm, perfect for MA winters. I will be attempting to mend it with another piece of flannel, and see how that goes. I love the tomboyish but clearly cut for a woman fit. it's definitely oversized, so larger ladies, take advantage. I bought a large - i'm 5'4", 170lb with 34HH/H bra sizing and a belly. I do think that it is truly timeless, and hopefully i can wear it for years.
Date published: 2016-01-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Picture of shirt is much longer than actual The picture is misleading Really wanted a flannel shirt to wear over leggings but this shirt barely covers my butt. Love everything else about it. I will be returning.
Date published: 2015-12-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Shorter than appears I have been looking for a shirt like this for some time and when i saw the good reviews for this one i decided to go ahead and spend more than i normally would and get it. I am usually between a L and an XL in tops. I ordered an XL in this one so i could be sure it would fit. I literally just opened it and tried it on. First, i will say that i was impressed with the quality. It is thick and so soft. It felt really nice on. That being said i thought it would come down longer. In the photos it looks like it's more of a tunic length and comes down past the models hips. This one stopped to right at my hips. Im almost afraid to wash it because i don't want it to shrink. I also felt like this isn't a true XL. It fit more like a large. I could button it up but it was tight so i will most likely wear it open. I really like it but i am on the fence about whether i should keep it or send it back.....i really wanted to love this shirt.
Date published: 2015-12-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from juliadeg On the model, it appears like the shirt is longer and more over-sized. I went up a size to get that true boyfriend-fit feel, but the shirt is very wide, and not long enough.
Date published: 2016-02-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sizing is way, way off! I was so excited to get this shirt on sale. The flannel is a great weight and quality, but I'll never be able to wear it! It arrived today and I am very disappointed with the sizing. I have another, lighter-weight flannel shirt from Madewell in M, and, after reading the reviews on this shirt, decided to size up to an L to allow for any shrinkage in the wash. I am 5'8" and 160 lbs. However, this L is already shorter in overall length and sleeve length than the M I already have, and I haven't even washed it yet! It is small through the shoulders, too. This shirt looks so long on the model which is NOTHING like it really is. There is no way the shirt I have is "slightly oversized" like the description says, especially since I sized up. It fits my 11-year-old daughter better. I am sad and disappointed because I paid the clearance price and cannot return it. I'm out 30-ish dollars and have a too-small shirt.
Date published: 2016-02-18
  • y_2017, m_12, d_17, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_52
  • loc_en_US, sid_E4330, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_madewell