This Just In

NEW ARRIVALS

Fall 2017 Collection

Looks We Love

Labels We Love

The Fall Shoe Shop

The Madewell Essentials

Monogram It

Denim Report

Events

Our clothes, your pics

How We Do Well

clothing

DENIM

TEES & SWEATSHIRTS

SHIRTS & TOPS

(see all)

tops & blouses
button-up & popover shirts
chambray & denim

SWEATERS

JACKETS & COATS

DRESSES

SKIRTS

PANTS & SHORTS

LEISURE & ACTIVE

intimates & pajamas

SWIM & BEACHWEAR

SALE

extended sizes

shoes, bags &
more

SHOES & BOOTS

BAGS

JEWELRY

sunglasses

ACCESSORIES

GIFT & HOME

Behind
The Scenes

Our Blog

Denim Report

#DENIMMADEWELL

#EVERYDAYMADEWELL

#Totewell

#WELLHEELED

About Madewell

Flannel Sunday Shirt in Buffalo Check
full size
Flannel Sunday Shirt in Buffalo Check
Flannel Sunday Shirt in Buffalo Check
Flannel Sunday Shirt in Buffalo Check
Product Details
A crazy-soft oversized flannel button-down shirt with handy hidden pockets. Made of irresistibly touchable flannel in green-and-black buffalo checks, it's the ultimate wear-all-season-long shirt. bo 
  • Slightly oversized.
  • Cotton.
  • Machine wash.
  • Import.
SHIPPING
Free shipping exclusively for Madewell Insiders
*For complete details, see our Shipping Policy.

Flannel Sunday Shirt in Buffalo Check

Flannel Sunday Shirt in Buffalo Check is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 31.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very comfortable as beautiful and comfortable as advertised. wish the sleeves could be a bit longer, but that's a normal problem with shirts for me. great sale price too!
Date published: 2016-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best flannel I've ever owned! In the winter time all I want to do is throw on a cozy flannel and be comfortable, while still maintaining a cute non-frumpy look. Too many times have I purchased a flannel button down that either fits awkwardly in the shoulders, looks like it's strangling me when fully buttoned up, or just isn't that soft. This flannel shirt is ultra soft, can be styled different ways and still look cute, and is a great quality material. I wish I owned it in every color and could wear it all winter long. Great product!
Date published: 2016-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SO SOFT This was one of the best deals on a really fun and different flannel I've ever gotten! It is SO ridiculously soft I could sleep in it. It runs big, but I feel it just adds to the borrowed-from-the boys charm.
Date published: 2016-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it I got it on sale. It's soft. It's warm. It's well made and it has pockets. Love it.
Date published: 2016-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from get it! This is so perfect for the winter! I have been wearing it non-stop since it came! The flannel is thick and lovely, didn't shrink with a delicate wash and hung/laid flat to dry, since it is cotton. The pockets are amazing, I use them constantly. it's a bit over sized, but still cut for a woman's body, and perfect for layering. I'm 5'4", 170lb with 34HH/H bra and a belly, and I got a L and it's just a tiny bit gappy over my bust. I find this has a better fit than the non plaid sunday shirt, less baggy and sloppy. I also love that it only has one breast pocket, those are not the best on large busts. the only change i would make is slightly deeper/ larger pockets and maybe a slightly more fitted waist to make it more flattering. If you are a cold person, get this, you won't regret it! I am trying not to buy a second one!
Date published: 2016-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft, good quality and has pockets! Got this on sale...finally. Proved itself to be worthy once I received it in the mail. The quality is unlike other flannel I've purchased in the past. It's really smooth and soft. It also has pockets (I wish the red version had them too). It's true to size and the fit for me is like the model (slightly loose but I prefer it this way).
Date published: 2016-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfy and cute This shirt is so comfortable, warm and cute. It looks great on and the green color is beautiful. Style wise it is a little on the baggy side so it is long and loose, however, the arm length seems to be true to size. Don't order a size down or you'll end up with shorter sleeve lengths I think. I ordered a medium, which is what the size guide said to do and the sleeves come just to my wrists. Really great addition to my wardrobe! Love it!
Date published: 2016-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favourite flannel shirt This is a fantastic flannel shirt. It is indeed very soft, cozy and substantial in weight. The green colour is gorgeous and exactly as depicted. The sleeves do seem a little short - they hit right at the wrist - but it doesn't really bother me as I like to roll up the sleeves anyway. Love, love, love the addition of the pockets. It's such an unexpected but wonderful feature on a shirt. The fit is as described, slightly oversized. I did not find it boxy and it's long enough in the back that I can wear it with leggings. I typically take a size S in tops (5' 4''/112 lbs) and an S in this fit great.
Date published: 2016-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect addition to my winter rotation I really like this flannel - it's warm and it really great quality. As some other reviews mentioned, the sleeves are little short, but I wear them folded up so it's not an issue and it's actually kind of nice that they don't fall down my arm. Really happy with this purchase.
Date published: 2016-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice colour & fit The slightly slouchy fit is super flattering and easy to wear. I'm 5'4" / 110 lbs, and the xs fits perfectly (the other reviews were helpful in deciding which size to order!) It's a fairly thick flannel and great for cold weather climates. I also like ordering from companies like Madewell that have great customer service..!
Date published: 2016-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pockets! Love this! The green color is pretty, and the buffalo check feels modern. It's long enough on me (5'4") to wear with leggings. I guess I didn't read the description well enough because the pockets were a fun surprise for me. This has already had lots of wears and will surely be worn frequently throughout the winter. Very cozy and easy to throw on with jeans.
Date published: 2015-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So soft and comfy! Looks great under a big sweater or by itself with leggings and boots. Love the green and black color combo.
Date published: 2015-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cozy, cute, functional shirt I have the Flannel Sunday Shirt in two other colors. I can't turn down a buffalo check and it was on promotion so I had to get another one. While I had to go down a size in the plain ones (XXS) I took a XS in this color. It has just the right amount of slouchy comfort to it. The sleeves are a tad shorter than the plain colors but since I find the sleeves generally too long, this isn't a problem for me though it might be for taller women. Aside from the color, the pockets are one of my favorite features. And how can I forget to mention the fabric. It's so soft that even though I have very sensitive skin, it's the thing I want to wear all day. It's that soft. For reference I'm 5'3", 115 lbs and generally wear a XS or XXS.
Date published: 2015-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best shirt EVER This is the most comfortable shirt I have ever owned! The flannel is so soft and it's a heavy weight, so it's incredibly warm and cozy. The green buffalo check color combination is gorgeous! I got so many compliments the first time I wore it. I sized down; I'm 5'4", 145lbs, 36C - got an XS and it's still plenty roomy. I would wear this every day if I could!
Date published: 2015-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Thick flannel with pockets Very cute shirt, well made, but it is the thickest flannel I've gotten from madewell. It has kangaroo pockets which is awesome, it's very comfortable and runs slightly oversized as described but not to the point I would get a smaller size since you might lose length (I like the fact it covers my bottom just enough). For reference, I am 5'5", 34b, 130 lbs, and I got a small.
Date published: 2016-01-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from SHRINKS This shirt was perfect - until I washed it on cold and hung it to dry. It shrunk 2 inches in the sleeve and total length. I took great care to ensure that it would not, but all my precautions didn't work. sigh...
Date published: 2016-02-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sleeves too short The sleeves are way too short for me. I'm 5'8". Nice warm material... would be nice if it actually covered my arms.
Date published: 2016-02-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Soft touch, hated fit. I don't know why this is bigger than the ex-boyfriend flannel.. But it, is the best modern flannel in touch/quality. However, I just didn't like the fit on me. I'm a small and it was just overbearingly boxy. The shoulders made me look boyish. And I don't feel like I have wide shoulders. I'm 5ft. 96lbs. for reference. I do have curves although I'm slim/slender. If it works for you: size down but it depends on your physical build.. everybody is different. an xs would've been just weird on me. I got it on final sale so I couldn't do anything about it after I got it.. but it'll just be a pajama shirt for now: I don't think I'm going to wear it out like I planned. And I'm a little too scared to shrink it.. but that might be a future option.
Date published: 2016-01-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Soooo soft I adore green and love how soft this shirt is. It's not as warm as it looks, but perfect as a layer. The medium fits really nicely, loose and comfy (I'm 5'7" 150 pounds). A small fit me comfortably too, but it was too short in the sleeves. The first time I put my shirt on though I raised my arms to put my hair in a bun, so not stretching too far, and the stitching in the armpit came out immediately. I've fixed it, but honestly at this price I think a flannel shirt should be a little tougher. Within a week my cat's claws had pulled a few threads out of place on the shirt. I've had flannels for years that still look new. It's soft and nice, just not that tough.
Date published: 2015-12-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sleeves are too short after washing I ordered the Sunday shirt in Wichita Plaid for one of my adult daughters and the Buffalo Check shirt for the other daughter. After washing, the sleeves on the Buffalo Check shirt are way too short to wear without rolling up the cuff. The color and fabric are nice, but for a flannel shirt in this price range the shrinkage on the sleeve length is not acceptable.
Date published: 2016-02-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sleeves are too short, odd fit The flannel is very high quality and soft, however, the proportions are very odd which makes for an ill-fitting shirt. The flannel is baggy, which is to be expected for an oversized flannel, however, the sleeves are short and will only look okay if they are rolled up to conceal the weird length. I am generally a size x-small/small in Madewell tops (5'4", 106 lbs for reference) and a size small was very baggy with strangely short sleeves! I am going to return this because if I were to wash it I suspect that the sleeves would get even shorter and look even more strange. Bummer, because otherwise this would have been a great shirt.This is the second shirt that I have purchased from Madewell where the sleeves are an odd length and I do not have long arms!
Date published: 2015-12-14
  • y_2017, m_10, d_16, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_31
  • loc_en_US, sid_E4765, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_madewell