This Just In


Looks We Love

The Getaway Shop

The Bag Shop

The Shoe Shop

Spring 2018 Denim

Labels We Love

The Madewell Essentials

Monogram It


Your double-tap-worthy pics

From denim recycling to
beach cleaning


springy things





(see all)

tops & blouses
button-up & popover shirts
chambray & denim
white shirts








intimates & pajamas



extended sizes

shoes, bags &








The Scenes

Our Blog





About Madewell

Embroidered Springtime Top in True Black
full size
Embroidered Springtime Top in True Black
Embroidered Springtime Top in True Black
Embroidered Springtime Top in True Black
Product Details
A pop-on top with pretty details like colorful embroidery and crocheted lace trim. All the charm of vacation find with a fit that is very right here, right now.  
  • True to size.
  • Cotton.
  • Machine wash.
  • Import.
Free shipping exclusively for Madewell Insiders
*For complete details, see our Shipping Policy.

Embroidered Springtime Top in True Black

Embroidered Springtime Top in True Black is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 24.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This toppppp *Oprah voice*!!!! So in love! Took the advice of other reviewers and sized up to the L (I mostly wear M) and it's perfection. This top is so cute and the fabric is soooo sooofffttt. I knew I wanted it as soon as I saw it in the spring preview. Love the bohemian vibe it gives-not always my personal style, but pairing it with ripped black skinnies helped balance it out. I got it in the black and kinda want it in white too :-/
Date published: 2017-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful detailing and super cute fit I saw this in store and although the pattern totally caught my eye, I decided not to try it on as it looked like it would be too boxy. That night a friend told me she bought it and claimed it wasn't boxy at all. I went back in the next day to try it on.. I couldn't have been more wrong. The fit is perfect.. sure it's a little boxy, but the length balances that out and the material is super lightweight so it lays nicely. I paired it with the Button-Through High Rise Skinnies and Boardwalk Sandals shown on the model... it was SO cute. During the warmer months, I'll be pairing this with my Mccarren Raw-Hem Jean Skirt, Black Drapey Pull-On Shorts, Button-Through High-Rise Boyshorts.. the possibilities are endless. I purchased my normal size small... I'm 5'7" 125lbs with a longer torso. The price tag is a little hefty, but the embroidery is beautiful, the fit is perfect, and the material is lightweight - it'll be on heavy rotation during the warmer months.
Date published: 2017-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Spring/Summer top! The detail on this top is beautiful! Such a lovely statement piece for spring and on into summer. I am 5'7 110lbs and xs fits perfectly
Date published: 2017-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I love my new embroidered top! I intend to wear the top with my Madewell white high rise skinny jeans! This top inspires me to buy a black pair of high rise skinny jeans! The top will look great with black or metallic scrappy sandals. Thanks Madewell!
Date published: 2017-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The perfect summer top! I bought this last year in white then tried to order the black version, but it was sold out. I’m so excited to see it back this spring. I would buy it in any color, but would really love to see it in orange and powder blue!
Date published: 2018-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So unique and stands out The unique color and pattern design combined to make a great outfit for both casual and work occasion!
Date published: 2017-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Summer Must Have Love, love, love this top. Embroidery is gorgeous and the fit is very flattering. It is a slightly slimmer cut, so size up if you are wanting it to be more flowy.
Date published: 2017-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So pretty! The black against the yellow/gold embroidery is just beautiful. The top has a generous neckline. There is also no tightness around the armpits. I found it to be TTS. I'm 5'0, 110 lbs.
Date published: 2017-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great summer top Love the colors and fit of this top. It is a bit boxy which I love. I will be wearing this all summer.
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stand out addition to wardrobe Beautiful and well made. I am always looking for something different to add to my closet & this top is just that! Can't wait to wear it.
Date published: 2017-04-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Definitely size up... I wish I had seen the reviews before I ordered this. I go between small and medium tops at Madewell. This looked like the kind of blousy shirt that I would need a small in. Unfortunately, not the case. It pulled and did a weird thing by the chest (I am small chested) and stuck away in a stiff kind of way with no flow. I just reordered the medium and I hope that will do the trick, because I got the black and it's really beautiful!
Date published: 2017-03-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful! I love this top. The embroidery is gorgeous. The quality is outstanding. I tried in small. It wasn't bad but it bunched up a little under arms. The Medium fit perfect. Sometimes I'm a small sometimes a medium. For reference I'm 5'1" 125lb and 34dd. I only have it 4 stars because I haven't worn it yet. I anticipate this to be a spring/summer staple. Very happy.
Date published: 2017-04-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute summer top This is a cute summer/spring top. As with most tops I wish they were a little bit longer as I am tall and have a long torso. Paired with high rise skinnies it works for me though. Super comfy and the embroidering is really pretty.
Date published: 2017-04-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from beautiful, but short for a larger bust I took the advice of other reviewers and sized up on this, so in terms of sleeves and width, it was perfect. However, I found the length of the top was a little short. This could definitely be due to a larger chest pulling the fabric up. I also found the pattern did not lie quite correctly, again, probably given my measurements. I would recommend this for people below a D cup, but anything over, you may find the style will not be most flattering.
Date published: 2017-03-28
  • y_2018, m_3, d_19, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_24
  • loc_en_US, sid_G1549, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_madewell