This Just In

NEW ARRIVALS

Looks We Love

Summer 2018 Collection

The Getaway Shop

Labels We Love

The Madewell Essentials

Monogram It

Events

Your double-tap-worthy pics

From denim recycling to
beach cleaning

clothing

DENIM

TEES & TANKS

SHIRTS & TOPS

(see all)

button-up & popover shirts
tops & blouses
chambray & denim
white shirts

SWEATERS

JACKETS

DRESSES

SKIRTS

PANTS & SHORTS

LEISURE & ACTIVE

OVERALLS & JUMPSUITS

intimates & pajamas

SWIM & BEACHWEAR

SALE

extended sizes

shoes, bags &
more

SHOES & SANDALS

BAGS

JEWELRY

sunglasses

ACCESSORIES

GIFT & HOME

BEAUTY

Behind
The Scenes

Our Blog

#DENIMMADEWELL

#EVERYDAYMADEWELL

#Totewell

#WELLHEELED

About Madewell

Embroidered Springtime Top in True Black
full size
Embroidered Springtime Top in True Black
Embroidered Springtime Top in True Black
Embroidered Springtime Top in True Black
Product Details
A pop-on top with pretty details like colorful embroidery and crocheted lace trim. All the charm of vacation find with a fit that is very right here, right now.  
  • True to size.
  • Cotton.
  • Machine wash.
  • Import.
SHIPPING
Free shipping exclusively for Madewell Insiders
*For complete details, see our Shipping Policy.

Embroidered Springtime Top in True Black

Embroidered Springtime Top in True Black is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 33.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This top is gorgeous! The quality and colors of the embroidery are beautiful! Perfect contrast with the black, super soft cotton fabric. I am busty so I went up a size like I usually do with Madewell true to size tops and it fits just like on the model but a tad longer maybe because I am 5'5. I am so happy with my new top and I highly recommend it!
Date published: 2017-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This toppppp *Oprah voice*!!!! So in love! Took the advice of other reviewers and sized up to the L (I mostly wear M) and it's perfection. This top is so cute and the fabric is soooo sooofffttt. I knew I wanted it as soon as I saw it in the spring preview. Love the bohemian vibe it gives-not always my personal style, but pairing it with ripped black skinnies helped balance it out. I got it in the black and kinda want it in white too :-/
Date published: 2017-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful detailing and super cute fit I saw this in store and although the pattern totally caught my eye, I decided not to try it on as it looked like it would be too boxy. That night a friend told me she bought it and claimed it wasn't boxy at all. I went back in the next day to try it on.. I couldn't have been more wrong. The fit is perfect.. sure it's a little boxy, but the length balances that out and the material is super lightweight so it lays nicely. I paired it with the Button-Through High Rise Skinnies and Boardwalk Sandals shown on the model... it was SO cute. During the warmer months, I'll be pairing this with my Mccarren Raw-Hem Jean Skirt, Black Drapey Pull-On Shorts, Button-Through High-Rise Boyshorts.. the possibilities are endless. I purchased my normal size small... I'm 5'7" 125lbs with a longer torso. The price tag is a little hefty, but the embroidery is beautiful, the fit is perfect, and the material is lightweight - it'll be on heavy rotation during the warmer months.
Date published: 2017-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Spring/Summer top! The detail on this top is beautiful! Such a lovely statement piece for spring and on into summer. I am 5'7 110lbs and xs fits perfectly
Date published: 2017-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I love my new embroidered top! I intend to wear the top with my Madewell white high rise skinny jeans! This top inspires me to buy a black pair of high rise skinny jeans! The top will look great with black or metallic scrappy sandals. Thanks Madewell!
Date published: 2017-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So pretty! The black against the yellow/gold embroidery is just beautiful. The top has a generous neckline. There is also no tightness around the armpits. I found it to be TTS. I'm 5'0, 110 lbs.
Date published: 2017-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The real deal Ive been looking for a top like this one for so many years. I had one as a teen in the 70's and always wanted to find another. I love the fit the quality and the style not baggie at all its just the right lenth too. I wish I could get a white one too. :)
Date published: 2018-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Flattering and cute top I am so glad that I ordered this top when I did as it’s now on back order until August. This is a super flattering and sweet top you don’t want to miss out on. Although I find it very overpriced for what it is, I have already worn it several times and I’ve only had it a couple weeks. Looks adorable with boyfriend jeans and will be super cute with shorts for the summer as well. And I always appreciate a machine washable top! Unlike many Madewell tops that are out right now, it is not cropped, but a perfect length to go over any kind of jean. I love The Vibrant colors of the floral embroidery and the sleeves are really flattering as well. A perfect summer top!
Date published: 2018-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth waiting for! I fell in love with this top (or something very similar) last summer and when it appeared on our website in January, I swept it up although it was on back order. It finally arrived in April, and when it did, I couldn’t be more pleased. It’s fit is perfect, it’s quality is high and overall, it’s beautiful.
Date published: 2018-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Missed Out On it Last Year So happy that Madewell brought this top back. It is just sooo pretty, and made for the beach with cutoff jean shorts, as well as summer evenings. TTS fit, lightweight fabric, and embroidery colors of sunsets.
Date published: 2018-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from In love Tried to get this last summer but sold out. Then came back in stock earlier this year. It arrived exactly as stated - in April. It's gorgeous. I'm a UK 12 on top and was worried it would be too short so ordered large. I should have ordered down a size as voluminous. Not to worry I'll hAve the sleeves altered a little. Know I'm going to wear it all summer. Thank you.
Date published: 2018-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't miss it! Wasn't able to get this last Spring, and was thrilled Madewell brought it back. I believe it popped up on the website in November with a backorder of April. What can I say? I'm a patient woman. Had bought the matching shorts Spring 2017. So glad to have the set. The top is beautiful. I'd say TTS. I have broad shoulders and often have to size up, but the Medium was perfect...had my fingers crossed on the sizing for months. Tons of compliments Not to be missed in 2018!
Date published: 2018-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I wear this every week! This shirt is super flattering and comfortable. The detail on the embroidery (and a touch on the back) is top notch. The fit is feminine and makes it easy to throw over jeans and instantly look put together. Seriously the best spring shirt I own.
Date published: 2018-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The perfect summer top! I bought this last year in white then tried to order the black version, but it was sold out. I’m so excited to see it back this spring. I would buy it in any color, but would really love to see it in orange and powder blue!
Date published: 2018-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So unique and stands out The unique color and pattern design combined to make a great outfit for both casual and work occasion!
Date published: 2017-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Summer Must Have Love, love, love this top. Embroidery is gorgeous and the fit is very flattering. It is a slightly slimmer cut, so size up if you are wanting it to be more flowy.
Date published: 2017-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great summer top Love the colors and fit of this top. It is a bit boxy which I love. I will be wearing this all summer.
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stand out addition to wardrobe Beautiful and well made. I am always looking for something different to add to my closet & this top is just that! Can't wait to wear it.
Date published: 2017-04-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Definitely size up... I wish I had seen the reviews before I ordered this. I go between small and medium tops at Madewell. This looked like the kind of blousy shirt that I would need a small in. Unfortunately, not the case. It pulled and did a weird thing by the chest (I am small chested) and stuck away in a stiff kind of way with no flow. I just reordered the medium and I hope that will do the trick, because I got the black and it's really beautiful!
Date published: 2017-03-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful! I love this top. The embroidery is gorgeous. The quality is outstanding. I tried in small. It wasn't bad but it bunched up a little under arms. The Medium fit perfect. Sometimes I'm a small sometimes a medium. For reference I'm 5'1" 125lb and 34dd. I only have it 4 stars because I haven't worn it yet. I anticipate this to be a spring/summer staple. Very happy.
Date published: 2017-04-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute top but why is it so short? This top is really cute and I get why it is a best seller and on backorder most of the time. The only thing I would change is make it slightly longer all around because I'm not keen on short tops since I wear items like this to work. With low-rise jeans, there will be less coverage esp when you lift your arms. The embroidery is really cute tho.
Date published: 2018-05-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute summer top This is a cute summer/spring top. As with most tops I wish they were a little bit longer as I am tall and have a long torso. Paired with high rise skinnies it works for me though. Super comfy and the embroidering is really pretty.
Date published: 2017-04-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from beautiful, but short for a larger bust I took the advice of other reviewers and sized up on this, so in terms of sleeves and width, it was perfect. However, I found the length of the top was a little short. This could definitely be due to a larger chest pulling the fabric up. I also found the pattern did not lie quite correctly, again, probably given my measurements. I would recommend this for people below a D cup, but anything over, you may find the style will not be most flattering.
Date published: 2017-03-28
  • y_2018, m_5, d_22, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_33
  • loc_en_US, sid_G1549, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_madewell