This Just In

NEW ARRIVALS

Looks We Love

The Getaway Shop

Labels We Love

The Madewell Essentials

Monogram It

Events

Your double-tap-worthy pics

From denim recycling to
beach cleaning

shirt alert: summer deals, right this way

clothing

DENIM

TEES & TANKS

SHIRTS & TOPS

(see all)

button-up & popover shirts
tops & blouses
chambray & denim
white shirts

SWEATERS

JACKETS

DRESSES

SKIRTS

PANTS & SHORTS

LEISURE & ACTIVE

OVERALLS & JUMPSUITS

intimates & pajamas

SWIM & BEACHWEAR

SALE

extended sizes

shoes, bags &
more

SHOES & SANDALS

BAGS

JEWELRY

sunglasses

ACCESSORIES

GIFT & HOME

BEAUTY

Behind
The Scenes

Our Blog

#DENIMMADEWELL

#EVERYDAYMADEWELL

#Totewell

#WELLHEELED

About Madewell

Smocked Gingham Top
full size
Smocked Gingham Top
Smocked Gingham Top
Smocked Gingham Top
Smocked Gingham Top
Product Details
We love this black and white gingham top with colorful smocking at the shoulders (a total '60s trend, btw). A sash belt trimmed in multi-hued tassels amps up the peasant vibe.
  • Slightly oversized fit.
  • Cotton.
  • Machine wash.
  • Import.
SHIPPING
Free shipping exclusively for Madewell Insiders
*For complete details, see our Shipping Policy.

Smocked Gingham Top

Smocked Gingham Top is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 24.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A gift On Mother’s Day My Mother is thrilled with this top that I gave her . It’s flattering , well-made and is one of her favorites . It runs TTS.
Date published: 2018-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfy spring top. Love having a gingham top for Spring. Perfect with denim jeans for a Springtime look.
Date published: 2018-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light and fresh Perfect for a spring flare. Stand out details that set it apart from your run of the mill b&w check
Date published: 2018-04-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wish the sleeves were less poofy.. I wish the sleeves were less poofy, but overall it is a cute shirt. Initially I sized down to an XXS, but exchanged for an XS because slightly longer length worked better for me. For reference I'm 5' 5" 105lbs.
Date published: 2018-04-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Springy and cute Just received this the other day and it's super cute! Lightweight but good quality material, and feels like it will hold up for quite awhile. The waist tie is the perfect touch to add some shape. I went with an XS in this specifically because of the tie, and I didn't want it to be too short (I usually size down to an XXS from XS/S for "slightly oversized" tops - 5'8", 117lbs) It was the right move. I do agree with another reviewer that the sleeves are too poofy for my liking; if it were up to me I would've opted for either a slimmer/more fitted trunk area with the voluminous sleeves, or the body area as-is with slimmer sleeves. Anyway, not a dealbreaker! I'll still wear this to work on the reg, and maybe for Easter weekend. :)
Date published: 2018-03-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gingham lover Ordered online despite my hesitations and I was not disappointed! I did size down from my regular size since the top appears slightly loose. Worked out great! I Love the fun colors on the shoulders too. The sleeve poof could be toned down a bit, but overall I would recommend.
Date published: 2018-03-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute ... This is a fun top! I would not have purchased it for full price (the sleeves are a bit too poofy) but the expense is definitely worth it during a good sale. The fabric is light and perfect for spring or cool summer nights, and I love the gingham paired with bright colors. I went with my usual size M (despite others having sized down) and found it to be the right decision... any smaller would have been awkward in length.
Date published: 2018-05-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Cute, But Runs Very Big! It's a very cute blouse, however it runs very large. The style is very chic with a tie belt together. The fabric is not see through. The reason i only give 4 of 5, since it's on Final Sales and the item description is not accurate as "TTS". The customer has to guess and take a risk to place the order. Fortunately, it works fine for me. For your reference, height: 5.3 weight: 105 blouse size: XXS (fits perfectly just like the pic)
Date published: 2018-06-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Favorite Summer Top Loved everything about this great summer top. The hints of color I the top are sweet as can be plus it goes great with my white denim jeans!
Date published: 2018-06-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute This top is cute but I’m having it tailored for a better fit. The sleeves need to be trimmed, to wide. And the body is a bit loose and also needs to be taken in a bit. And that’s to wear with the belt. Without the belt, it would need to be taken in a lot. I’m 5,4”, 118lbs. I probably should’ve gotten an XXsmall but was afraid it’d be to short but I think it would’ve been fine.
Date published: 2018-05-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 4.5 Stars! This top is super cute - particularly the smocking on the sleeves, and I receive lots of compliments each time I wear it. The sleeves are a bit poofy, and I haven't quite decided whether I like it belted or tucked, but still super happy with this purchase.
Date published: 2018-04-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Okay. My build - semi-slim athletic hourglass (shoulders track my hips so more of an X shape)...it fit weird in the shoulders - like they were lifting...the sleeves barely came to my wrists (I'm 5'2" and 130ish)...I like this shirt but had I tried it on in the store [esp since final sale], I may have left it there. Other than that - it's cute and perfect for humidity outside and cold inside!
Date published: 2018-06-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wow shirt ! The shirt is very cute but way to boxy and sleeves are way to full . I tried it on and I felt like I should be working at Mexican cantina ! Don’t know what I will do with blouse as I bought it on sale with a no return policy will not ever do that again . Oh well sometime you win and sometime you don’t . This one wasn’t a win for me .
Date published: 2018-05-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very ill fitting This was made for someone who was at least 5 "7 and I'm 5"2. the belt loops hit somwhere at my hips. I had to remove the loops and just use the belt. The material is stiff. One of those situations that if you are thin and tall, you will look great, but if you're not, forget it.
Date published: 2018-06-14
  • y_2018, m_6, d_21, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_24
  • loc_en_US, sid_H8287, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_madewell