This Just In

NEW ARRIVALS

Fall 2017 Collection

Looks We Love

Labels We Love

The Madewell Essentials

Monogram It

Denim Report

Events

Our clothes, your pics

How We Do Well

clothing

DENIM

TEES & SWEATSHIRTS

SHIRTS & TOPS

SWEATERS

JACKETS & COATS

DRESSES

SKIRTS

PANTS & SHORTS

LEISURE & ACTIVE

intimates & pajamas

SWIM & BEACHWEAR

SALE

extended sizes

shoes, bags &
more

SHOES & BOOTS

(see all)

boots
sneakers
flats
heels
oxfords & loafers
mules
rain & cold-weather boots
sandals
socks & tights

BAGS

JEWELRY

sunglasses

ACCESSORIES

GIFT & HOME

Behind
The Scenes

Our Blog

Denim Report

#DENIMMADEWELL

#EVERYDAYMADEWELL

#Totewell

#WELLHEELED

About Madewell

The Archive Boot
full size
The Archive Boot
The Archive Boot
The Archive Boot
Product Details
Just so timeless—a gorgeously straightforward, flat-heel style in the richest Italian leather. Please note: When you select your size, "H" equals a half size.
  • For the best fit, order a half size smaller than your usual size.
  • Hits above calf.
  • Italian leather upper.
  • 15 1/2" shaft height (based off size 7).
  • 14 1/4" shaft circumference (based off size 7).
  • 3/4" heel.
  • Leather lining.
  • Man-made sole.
  • Import.
SHIPPING
Free shipping exclusively for Madewell Insiders
*For complete details, see our Shipping Policy.

The Archive Boot

The Archive Boot is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 104.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm obsessed with these boots! I purchased these boots in English Saddle about 3 years ago and am still so in love with them. When I wear these, I constantly receive compliments and am almost always asked where I purchased them. I've had them resoled once since getting them, but I'm pretty hard on shoes in general. I have to say, these have only gotten better with time. They are, by far, one of the best purchases I have ever made. They seem to run true to size. Do yourself a favor and buy these!
Date published: 2014-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from classic and durable I've had these boots for two years and they're still in great shape. My main worry was that the leather would start to droop with time, but the boot shaft has maintained its shape and isn't slouchy. The leather is the best part about the boots - it's durable, soft, and the inside is nice too! These boots are also classic enough that they work season-to-season, so worth the price for years of wear. Negatives: The sole of the boot has worn away more than once - I've had the soles replaced each year. Also, the arch support is basically non-existent, so I wear these with Birkenstock insoles so they're comfortable enough to wear on an everyday basis.
Date published: 2014-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awsome comfortable wearing, worth the price. i'm considering buying another pair of black actrually!
Date published: 2014-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Riding Boots! I have been eyeing these boots for about a year and I finally decided to go for it this past week. I ordered the mahogany boots in a half size down from my normal size, as recommended by Madewell, and they are perfect! I ordered these in regular calf size and they fit me just fine- although, I would advise if you have very muscular, defined calves- get the extended size. I have slim, muscular calves and these fit pretty perfectly and there is not a lot of extra room in the shaft. They are gorgeous boots and the mahogany color will go with everything! I have only worn them once so far, but I can tell they will be a daily staple for me in the cooler weather! If you are trying to decide whether or not to make the purchase- go for it! They are worth the price for sure!
Date published: 2014-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shana I've been eying these bad boys for quite some time now, and the Madewell store near me had awesome deal on them, so I bought them without hesitation. First, I LOOOOOVE these boots because they are meant for females with smaller calves. My legs aren't swimming in these boots and I LOVE that. It's extremely hard to find a boot when you have slimmer legs, that do not have gappage out of this world. The quality of these boots are amazing and they are extremely comfortable as well. I'll be wearing these a lot, if not everyday.
Date published: 2014-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Boot! I love these boots! I ordered them last year and I continue to love them. The leather is softer than I've seen on other boots and of great quality. The construction of the boot is very high quality as well. I am 5'11'' with skinny calves, so it is hard for me to find boots that are narrow enough as well as tall enough. These boots hit at a good point on me, even though they are intended to hit higher. Also, the shaft diameter is a good fit! The only thing I'd like to see different on this boot is a leather sole. Traditionally I buy boots with leather soles so the sole can be replaced rather than the whole boot. However, this boot has a lower price point than a leather soled boot, and I think is fair for the fantastic quality. Highly Recommend!
Date published: 2014-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots-a little big I bought the mahogany color after seeing these on deep discount at my local store. I'm usually a 6 or 6 1/2, and these in size 6 are a bit big so order down. I have also tried on other Madewell boots and my normal size fits me well. These boots look exactly like the picture, and feel like they will last! If you seem them on sale, scoop them up!
Date published: 2014-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good look A gift to my granddaughter . . . She was happy with her boots
Date published: 2013-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy them Best shoes I've ever owned. A little hard to get off and on (fits tight to my legs) but worth it. Color is awesome. I've worn them almost every day for two fall seasons and they're in great condition. The heels wears down in the back, just a heads up.
Date published: 2013-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Runs a little narrow Runs a little narrow but breaks in well and fits great.
Date published: 2013-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these boots! Bought my second pair in black and they fit perfectly! Beautiful leather. Definitely meant for slim legs.
Date published: 2013-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from yay if you're one the fence, get off and get the boot. pure classic. untrimmed and unfussy. seriously. this fall I ordered 6 pair of frye boots and returned 5. then i saw the archive boot, ordered the 9.5 in black and felt like I should be hanging with Mayor Bloomberg's equestrian daughter. the fit is true to size for me, and the style timeless. i think i'll be wearing and resoling this shoe for a decade and then passing it on to my daughter. good stuff, Madewell. (of course I now have 2 pair of boots, but it's been a while since I bought myself anything)
Date published: 2013-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Boots The Archive Boot Its amazing perfect appearance and perfect for winter.
Date published: 2013-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The perfect boot! I've been looking everywhere for brown leather boots with a low heel and no zipper, and had no luck until I found these! I can't speak to the quality yet, as they're still brand new, but the leather feels thick and substantial, so I have high hopes. They look and feel high quality. I normally wear a 7.5 and these felt true to size. If you plan on wearing them with thick socks, I'd even go up 1/2 size, since they feel slightly narrow in the foot area (although I'd expect them to stretch a little). I also have really skinny calves, so it was a surprise that these actually fit me perfectly! My calves aren't swimming in them; they even look good with tights or leggings. I'd guess that people with normal calves might need to order an extended calf size for this particular boot. The calf circumference is smaller than usual. Overall, I love these boots! They look and feel great, just what I was looking for.
Date published: 2013-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love, but "Extended Calf" is NOT! I am soooooo disappointed. I have been waiting for over a year to purchase these boots, so when they recently were on sale, I decided to bite the bullet and finally grab them. I can wear anywhere from 6.5 to 7.5, so based on the reviews, I purchased the black leather in size 6.5, they fit my foot perfectly well, and I loved them! They were exactly what I wanted and expected. I am a small person, 5'3", 125 lbs, but athletic, and I know that my calves are not teeny, tiny, so I went with extended calf in this boot. However, the Archive Boot's extended calf is not extended! It is comparable to all the other regular calf boots I have tried. My calves are not enormous, either -- 15-15.5" around. Madewell, you would be doing yourself a service by designing this boot to accommodate we gals with athletic builds, not just those anorexic model-types! I would have given all categories 5 stars otherwise. Sadly, I packaged the boots up and they are on their way back to Madewell today. :-(
Date published: 2013-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect staple boots! I got these in mahogany and they are so gorgeous. The leather is soft and you can feel the quality. I originally wanted them in black but they are backordered and once I tried on the mahogany I fell in love. I am a true size 7, and I tried on a 6.5 as the description suggested and they fit perfectly. A little tight in the toe area but they will loosen up. I definitely recommend these boots. I am for sure getting the black ones!
Date published: 2013-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best boots ever I'm so glad I bought these boots. They fit well for those of us with smaller calves. The leather is soft but not unstructured. The color mahogany is a beautiful brown that goes with pretty much everything. I have strangers compliment my boots so I know it was worth it.
Date published: 2013-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Boots Love my new boots. The quailty of the leather and fit are exceptional and I was able to wear them all day right out of the box with no rubbing or blisters. I usually wear a size 6 but sized down to 5.5 per the recommendations and still had plenty of room. Could have almost gone a full size down to a 5 but I didn't want them to be tight. I first ordered the regular calf and had the exchange for the extended claf...I don't really have large calves but the regular were way too tight so you may want to consider the extended calf if you don't have toothpick legs. I am 5'3" and the shaft height was perfect, not too tall which I have had problems with in other boots. Thanks Madewell for making the perfect boot.
Date published: 2013-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the One! I've been looking high and low for the perfect boot for my legs, and the archive boot is pretty much the One! I had previously purchased (and returned) the frye paige tall in cognac, but love that the archive's leather was much softer to start with, easier to slip on and off, and found the mahogany color much easier to match with my clothing (less red). Also love the archive's slim shaft compared to other boots I've looked at. My only qualm is that my feet are a little on the wide side and so it's a liiiiitle bit snug down there, but I'm sure it'll resolve itself with more wear. The leather looks and smells amazing, and I feel confident in the stiff sole. These are my new go to and I'll be saving up to buy them in black!
Date published: 2013-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable from the first wear These boots are a nice quality leather, but not too stiff. They were comfortable from the moment I put them on. I even wore them to work all day. I've worn them over skinny jeans and with a fall dress. The length is perfect, below knee.
Date published: 2013-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The perfect riding boot. This boot is everything you want in a basic riding boot. It has a beautiful almond toe, a stiff shaft, and no silly bits and baubles hanging off of it. The shaft fits really nicely to my calf and looks great with tights or jeans. The quality of the leather is fantastic and I'm confident I'll be wearing these boots for years to come!
Date published: 2013-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the regret-proof boot It's actually pretty rare that I make a big purchase and afterwards have absolutely no regrets or issues with what I've invested in, but these boots are perfect. They required no breaking in, have stretched only enough to allow me to easily remove them, and they go with everything in my closet. They're the perfect height and are snug, but not uncomfortable, around my calves. They look amazing with my skinny jeans and even dress them up a bit. My friends are probably tired of hearing about my love for my archive boots, but it's just so exhilarating to have at long last found the perfect pair of boots.
Date published: 2013-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These boots are timeless Saw these in the store and immediately fell in love with them. The leather is very nice and they were on sale which is always a bonus. I have only worn them a few times now but they seem very comfortable. I usually wear a 7.5/8 and the 7.5 was too small. I have narrow feet and even the 8 was a little tight in the toe box. I'm not worried about it because I know they will stretch.
Date published: 2013-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great staple I was looking for an understated riding boot without buckles, zips, etc. This fit the bill. Great quality leather (smells amazing out of the box) and most importantly, very comfortable. I have a size 8 foot, and based on Madewell's recommendation, I ordered a 1/2 size smaller (7.5). So glad I did, they fit perfectly! I could probably get away with an 8, but these also fit great so I will not exchange them. If you plan to wear heavy socks with them, I would suggest ordering your regular size. Great buy, great staple piece. LOVE!
Date published: 2013-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Timeless and Simple For a simple black boot, these are perfect. They are good quality leather, sit really well on my legs (I am petite, about 5'2") and are comfortable. They are perfect for work and pairing with skirts and dresses. I definitely recommend them!
Date published: 2013-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My most favourite boots. My mother brought these beauties back from America for me (I'm in the UK & we do not have a Madewell, and I do not think you deliver here.. *sad face* ) I have never loved a pair of boots so much. Usually I get sore feet very easily, so I quite often stick to the same old flats... But not any more! I have had them for about 6 months now and they are just perfect. They are so versatile! I have them in the brown, I am a UK 3 and my boots are US 5. The fit is great. I get compliments all the time because of these boots. They have been referred to as "the perfect boot" and I completely agree.
Date published: 2013-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful boots The leather is incredible quality for the price! They're rather stiff (which is a good sign) but are breaking in very well. Super happy with them, I'll have to save up for the black ones now too - these are boots that will last for ages.
Date published: 2013-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nearly perfect! I've owned these boots for about three years now after a long search to find the "perfect" classic riding boot (i.e. no zippers, fringe, unnecessary extras, too high heel, etc.) and these fit the bill! I think someone already mentioned this but having a petite size would be super helpful. They fit pretty well but on me these boots hit at my knee so the largest part of my leg (where my calf muscles are), is not at the appropriate part of the boot. If they had a petite size that was one to one and a half inches shorter, they would fit like dream. Even with the slight shaft height problem, they are fantastic, comfortable, and durable boots that I'm sure I will wear for the rest of my life.
Date published: 2013-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE PERFECT BOOT These boots are BEAUTIFUL!! :) If you are looking for a pair of super classic riding boots.. these are definitely a MUST!! :) i have them in both brown and black!! I normally wear a size 6 1/2 but purchased the 6 and they fit perfectly. I would probably size down by a half size for the perfect fit :) i just LOVE them! so glad i bought them..!! :) p.s. Madewell Customer Service ROCKS!!! they are extremely helpful and really nice! :)
Date published: 2013-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The PERFECT boot, period. I've been on the hunt for the perfect wear-with-everything boot, and this is definitely THE one! The leather is nice and buttery (and smells amazing, too!) and the shoe is so well crafted. The extra lift from the flat heel in the back is great for ankle and a little arch support. I have tiny calves, and it was hard for me to find a boot that my legs weren't swimming in. However, the Archive Leather Boot fit them perfectly with leggings, jeans, and even by itself. I'm so happy to own these and I'll be wearing them for years and years! The whiskey color is so beautiful and my sister loved them on me so much, she bought a pair for herself. The only thing is that they fit a little big. I always wear a size 7, and I got a 6H in these. They're snug enough to not slip when I walk, but easy to take my foot in and out. Just be careful when selecting your size!
Date published: 2013-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them I love these boots! They are comfortable and they fit perfectly! Will definately buy another pair!
Date published: 2013-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great looking well made comfortable boots Love the design, quality and craftmanship of the boots. They are very comfortable, classic and looks good. I ordered the black 1/2 size smaller and they fit perfect. I would recommend anyone looking for a good quality pair of boots without all the cheap looking zippers, fringes, buckles and biker type metals to buy these boots .
Date published: 2013-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from go to boots! loveloveLOVE these boots! they're made in ITALY, which is awesome. the color is fantastic ... goes with everything i wear. it does run big: i usually wear a 6.5, but the 6 fits well. i waited 'til they went on sale, so i got them for an excellent price! oh customer service ROCKS!
Date published: 2013-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great buy Love these boots. They are warm, comfortable, and well made. I suspect (hope) that they will last for years to come.
Date published: 2013-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If you can only have one pair of flat boots make this the one I spent all fall ordering boots and sending them back; they were never just right and I really wanted a great pair of flat boots I could wear with leggings and skinny jeans. The Archive Boot is lovely. The quality of the leather, the craftsmanship. They are also comfortable to walk in and are breaking in nicely. My one qualm is I wish the size 10 shaft circumference were a tad bit narrower. The 9h was perfect for my calves; the 10 is a fine with pants but too gappy for my tastes with a skirt. Also, the 9h was too snug and the 10 is a little too roomy. Wish there wasn't such a huge difference between half sizes. But all in all they are keepers and I have been wearing them happily a few times a week. You won't be disappointed.
Date published: 2013-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing.... These boots are so comfortable and stylish. A true classic for your wardrobe that will last forever!!!
Date published: 2013-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots These are the perfect brown boots I have been looking for. They are super comfortable and stylish. The leather was a little dry so some leather conditioner really helped. I probably wouldn't pay full price for these boots but got them for a great price during their Christmas sale! Would definitely recommend.
Date published: 2013-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable Classic fit and super comfortable. A little tight at the top but that have been loosening over time. I would definitely recommend these boots if you are looking for a classic boot.
Date published: 2013-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best boots ever!! The archive boots are extremely comfortable and beautiful! Great value and a nice addition to the wardrobe! Bought some for my daughter too. She agrees that the boots are awesome!!
Date published: 2013-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from beautiful and classic bloots i love these boots. the cognac color is gorgeous and they're comfy even after a full day of walking.
Date published: 2013-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite boots! Love these boots! I just so happened to snag an awesome deal on them during the holidays. They were discounted with an additional 30% off, so I got them for nearly half the price, which was great! These boots are such amazing quality and look so great on! The leather is so soft and the color looks great with almost everything (I got the brown color). They do run a bit big, I normally wear a 7.5 and I sized down to a 7. These boots are definitely a great investment piece! Love them!
Date published: 2013-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great boot simple but stylish, great for walking dining out dressy or just shopping around town
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Archive boot, simple, sturdy, and fashionable I love my archive boots I am normally a size 6 1/2 to 7 (I ended up ordering a size 7) and with a nice boot sock these fit my foot perfectly. I had been looking for a boot without a bunch of the junky and unnecessary hardware. I of course tried Frye boots but they just simply weren't my style too "country" and not nearly as comfortable. These boots are lined in leather and have been worn almost every day since I purchased them. If you're looking for a boot to last you and feel good all day long, I highly recommend the archive boot. Anything Madewell, is wonderful in my opinion but these boots are the greatest purchase I have ever made at Madewell.
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome boots!!! They last for ever. I purchased black ones about 6 years ago and they are still in great shape. They wear nicely!!!
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from boots I love these boots! Great quality leather and very comfortable from day one. No blisters. Wear them every week.
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfy and classy I've been looking for simple flat boots for awhile and so happy I bought these (in both colors). They are well made and very comfy to walk in. They also fit true to size and the calves are fitted but there is still room for me to wear knee-high socks.
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from super comfortable, great look and style I bought these for myself a few years ago, and recently bought a pair for each of my daughters as gifts. We all love them. With no zipper and the softness of the leather when broken in, which doesn't take long, they are super comfortable and feel through the ankles and legs more like wearing socks than boots. The regular ones are not too large around the calf, which is a problem with most other boots. They are available in extended calf size, also. They run large/long, as the website states, so buy a half size smaller than you usually wear. I definitely recommend them.
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great present I got these boots for my wife and she really loves them. She had been looking for a while for a pair of good quality boots bellow three hundred dollars. She tried many pairs in different stores throughout New York City and only the Madewell ones fit right. She is happy and then i am happy. The online shopping experience was also painless. Thank you.
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my boots! Love the boots I bought. The store and personnel in your Lenox Mall location, were very helpful!!!!! The best part was the very funny and wonderful woman that helped me is age 50. I'm 55 and bought these boots because my daughter who has the same pair, loves them! I hope as I age, I can always dress sharp, no Alfred Dunner for me!
Date published: 2013-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite boots ever I bought these boots in both black and brown -- I couldn't resist. They are the type of boot that will last forever and never go out of style. Definitely worth the money. For me, they needed a few wears to break them in, but that's normal with leather boots.
Date published: 2013-01-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great quality boot! After two years of drooling over this boot, I finally gave in and purchased it when Madewell had the 30% off sale. I actually purchased both this boot and the The Sidney boot in brown. I wasn't sure which would fit better. I preferred the sleeker look of the Sidney boot, but being only 5'3", I found that the Sidney boot was just a tad bit too tall so I stuck with the Archive. The quality of leather is amazing. Having 13" calves, I was worried that my legs would be swimming in these boots. However, they were not. They look great with a pair of skinny jeans and work with skirts and dresses too. I wear a 7.5 normally and sized down 1/2 a size as suggested and they fit perfectly. If you're contemplating, don't. Pull the trigger. You won't regret it.
Date published: 2014-10-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Calf section runs tight I loved these boots but couldn't keep them because they were so tight around my calves. I don't usually have this issue with pull-on knee-high boots so was pretty disappointed.
Date published: 2014-12-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Extended Calf - sadly not so! My sister-in-law has the regular version of this boot and I loved them so ordered the extended-calf version for myself. I am a runner and athletic and just have bigger calves genetically as well I suppose. Anyhow, for reference I am 5'8", wear a size medium in clothing, and have 16 inch calves at the widest part and these sadly do not fit. Very disappointing because they are beautiful!
Date published: 2014-11-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome. These boots are great and are excellent quality. I just wish they would have made the calves a little bigger. I have never been an extended calf so I opted for the normal size. I would have exchanged them but they didn't have my size in extended calf. They are wearable but a little tight around the top. My jeans fit and it doesn't look too bad but it's a little uncomfortable. If you're on the fence about extended calf, I recommend going for it.
Date published: 2014-10-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from love them This is the second time i am buying these boots the style changed a bit ( my older ones had a zipper) but overall they are very similar. I constantly get compliments on them. My old ones sole wore down pretty quickly thats probably my biggest complaint, other then that, they are absolute PERFECTION. They are so versatile, can be worn with jeans, leggins dress. definitely will recommend these boots.
Date published: 2014-10-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent, but... I love Archive boot and it's perfect, but the reason I gave a 4 star is because I have muscular calves. That's why I have to return it to Madewell. If you have muscular legs, I suggest you buy one with extended calf. :)
Date published: 2014-09-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful boots that run large These boots are perfect for slim calves, but run quite large! I wound up purchasing them a full size down. I tried on my usual size 7 and the back of my feet kept popping up when I stepped because they were so big. The store didn't have size 6.5 in stock, so I tried the size 6 and they fit great! The mahogany leather is structured and very sturdy. There isn't enough room with thick socks yet, but I'm sure they'll stretch out once I wear them around more. I highly recommend that you try these shoes on in stores first, or order at least a half size down.
Date published: 2014-01-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Everyday These are my everyday, wear with everything boots. I wear them straight through Fall to late Spring. Well made, classic look riding boot. Have to say the soles are pretty loud when walking though, not out of heaviness but because of the material the bottom is made of!
Date published: 2014-01-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks even better as it ages This is the second time I am purchasing the archive boot in brown. They are very comfortable, fit true to size, and as they age and the color of the leather gets darker, they look even better. They look great with dresses and skirts. I just do not recommend wearing them in the rain, which causes the leather to crinkle and for the shape of the sole to change.
Date published: 2013-12-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good looking boot Great looking boot for not that much money (compared to others out there). Would have loved to keep them but for some reason my heel would come up in a not so comfortable way. Worried about how it would feel when you actually were walking... so, had to return them.
Date published: 2013-12-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from perfect basic boot I have been looking for basic black boots for a year now...and these are perfect! They run just a tiny bit small, I went half a size up and I still can't wear very thick socks. I have relatively narrow feet, and these could stand to be a little wider on me, so if you have wide feet these aren't for you. Otherwise they are perfect, the leather is really nice and they are simple enough that they can be dressed up or down.
Date published: 2013-12-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great boot! Try on beforehand though I bought this bot blindly (without trying it on prior to), and discovered that it runs a little large. I normally wear a 6.5/7 in shoes, depending on the make. I bought the 7 but had to exchange for a 6.5. Other than that, it's a great boot! I received quite a few compliments when I wore them. Madewell also has great customer service!
Date published: 2013-12-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent quality, not quite right for me I've been searching for a boot that has a slim enough calf to fit my chicken legs, even in the size 11 that I require. This is no small feat (no pun intended). A coworker has these boots and I admired from afar and finally bought on sale. The leather is gorgeous and the style is something I could wear for years - I did notice a couple of dark spots on the leather that didn't look natural, though. The length of the foot was true to size for me, but the width was narrow - a little uncomfortably so, and I don't have particularly wide feet. The calf was closer than any boot I've ever found to actually fitting appropriately, but there was still probably two extra inches in the size 11, which means the calf was about 15-15.5 inches in the 11. Because of the width of the calf, the height of the shaft, and the tabs on the sides of the calf, they looked a little like rain boots on me, unfortunately. Not what I wanted for the cost of the boot. Gorgeous boots anyway, too bad.
Date published: 2013-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comparison between extended and regular calf I am in between size 6-6.5. The thickest part of my calf is slightly more than 13.5". Ordered black with extended calf size 6 as recommended half size smaller. Also ordered English saddle regular calf size 6.5 which was on big sale, only one third of the original price. I tried the black extended calf size 6 first with my regular tennis socks on. The back part of my feet hardly gets into the heel of the boots, very tight, and even harder to get off, narrow on feet. Calf size was perfect, with or without pants. The English saddle regular calf 6.5 is much easy to get on and off, more comfortable to wear. I compared the calf of both pairs, they are exactly the same size in calf, 14.5". Imagine if they are same size, the extended calf would not be so much a difference from the regular calf. I am going to have the black pair returned, probably keep the saddle pair. Hope my experience be of little help to you!
Date published: 2013-11-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ankle sags over time These are my very favorite boots, but after having them for a year, the ankle has started to sag. I prop them up when not being worn with rolled newspapers to keep the ankles from bending unnecessarily. They are stunning and incredibly comfortable, but if you're looking for boots that are riding-style and keep stiff, these aren't them. That said, the soft leather is wonderful.
Date published: 2013-11-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful boots, but why are all Madewell shoes so narrow? My boots just arrived in the mail, and they're beautiful and appear well made. I got the normal calf (and I think my calves are pretty average sized), and these fit well. My only complaint is that, like all Madewell shoes, these are extremely narrow. I'm sure they'll break in eventually, but, particularly for boots (where people might want to wear thicker socks), it would be great they were just a tiny bit wider. These are a bit on the pricey side, but they're pretty timeless, so as long as the quality holds up, they should last for a long time. Still, though, I'm glad I got them on sale.
Date published: 2013-11-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the color These boots are amazing, they look very rustic. I love the loops to pull up the boot on they are strong, and I was expecting them to be a little flimsy. I love the color of the leather. The only thing that I didn't love was the boots are really tight on my calves when I wear jeans. I think they will stretch over time.
Date published: 2013-10-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from You will not be disappointed I have had my eye on the archive boot for some time now. I finally took the plunge and purchased them in the black. I am so happy I did. The leather quality is beautiful and the boot was very light on my feet, which I like. I would recommend ordering a half size down though as these boots tend to run large.
Date published: 2013-10-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not As Tall As You Think!! These boots are gorgeous, there's no question about that. Great quality, no tacky embellishments, timeless design. However, they are really short! I'm only 5' 7" and these hit at kind of an awkward height just grazing the top of my calf, well below my knee. A coworker commented that they looked more like rain boots. I was so disappointed because after reading all the amazing reviews, I thought I'd found my knee-high boot soulmates! But sadly, I had to return these.
Date published: 2013-10-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfortable, good quality I missed the part of the product summary that mentions ordering these a half size smaller so ordered my usual size (8) and do find them to be a bit big. I'm not too concerned as I do plan on wearing them with thicker socks in the colder months. Overall, I'm happy with these, they don't require breaking in and are very comfortable.
Date published: 2013-10-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Simple Boot Really happy with the boot... I ordered a half size down as suggested by the site, and the length of the foot fits great (maybe even a touch still too big). However, the width of the shoe is a bit tight, as well the calf is also tight, and I'm a petite person. I can't imagine someone slightly bigger than me fitting their leg into the shaft. I probably would have paid the extra $20 for the Wide option.... I'm hoping my boots will stretch out a bit. Still really happy with the purchase!
Date published: 2013-10-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tiny calves I own these boots in the brown and they're gorgeous. However, the calves are TINY. I have average sized calves and I've never bought extended calf boots before, but I couldn't get the regular size in these boots on! I exchanged for the extended calf and the calves are STILL tight. I'm planning on having them stretched since I can really only wear them with tights or leggings now (still unbelievable to me that the extended calf size is so small). They are beautiful boots, just keep in mind that if you have average size calves you will likely need the extended size and if your calves are anywhere above average, these will not work.
Date published: 2013-10-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best looking boot I love this boot. It was recommended that I size down and I did. It fits well but the calf is tight. Not sure I can get jeans in there. I've been wearing them with dresses while it's warmer to try to stretch them a little. I got them on sell so I don't want to return them to pay full price for the extended calf. All in all, very happy with my purchase!
Date published: 2013-10-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Boots of a great quality I was very impressed with the quality of the boots. However the "brown" color is much more red in person than on-line. Also the boots fit a bit bigger. Overall I'm very impressed. *Haven't worn them for long period of time, because the weather is too warm.
Date published: 2013-05-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful The leather is beautiful, I love them!! For best fit, 1/2 size less than your regular size.
Date published: 2013-01-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loved the boot I loved the feel and color. The material was really nice and felt quality. The boots felt comfortable on. I had to return these because they were big in the heel. They fit well other then the heel slipping when I walked.
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great overall fit, but lacks quality Great overall fit & comfort, but expected better quality. I love the look and feel of these boots. The fit true to size and are very comfortable. I wear them all the time! However, the first time I wore my boots, a piece chipped off of the heel. For the amount of money I spent on these boots, I expected better quality - and for them not to have any issues after only the first time wearing them!
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stretchy! These boots are classic and great. They do stretch out alot over time with alot of wear.
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Classic leather riding boot worth the price After a long search for classic riding boots, I settled on these and am quite pleased with my decision. These boots look smart with nearly anything and work with a variety of outfits, from casual to dressy. I've gotten several compliments on them. They are nice quality, but showed some immediate wear (scuffs, a quick leather dent, etc.), which is to be expected, but worth noting. Although boots typically run big, I got my regular size in these because I live somewhere with chilly, snowy winters and wanted to be able to wear thick winter socks with them. I recommend that if you're in a similar situation. Beware the extremely slippery soles; walk with caution when even barely wet.
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful boots at a great price As the product description suggested, I went down a half size from my regular shoe size. I normally wear size 7.5 and the size 7 fits well. The boot fits snug over the top of the foot, where the widest part of the foot is, but I am confident they will stretch out and soften with wear. I chose the English saddle colour and the colour is very similar to what you see in the online photo, a rich cognac colour. The leather is very good quality but there were some discolorations in the leather in the first pair I ordered, so I requested an exchange for another pair. Madewell's customer service was fantastic and promptly sent me a second pair in exchange, and these were perfect. Overall, the boots are really well made - for the price, these were a great value. They are sure to become a staple in my wardrobe for years to come.
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great boot. Runs true to size. This boot is made of great quality leather and looks beautiful. It is very comfortable. On the website it says to order down a half size however when I did that I found the boots to be too small. I then reordered the boots in my normal 8.5 instead of the 8 I previously ordered and they are the perfect fit! I would say they fit true to size instead of ordering down a half size. Overall a beautiful boot.
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love this boot! A very classic-looking leather boot that also looks high-quality. I've been wearing it for about a week and have no complaints in terms of comfort!
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Archive boot in brown Would have given it an overall 5 star rating if the boots weren't a little too tall for my legs. Why won't someone make petite height boots for petite people? I could have used them an inch shorter. Otherwise, love the boot. I would even be willing to wait several months for a special order of 1 inch shorter shaft. They special make wide shafts for big calves, how about shorter shafts? May take to have shortened if they still bother me.
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful but too small I ordered these after drooling over them for months. Unfortunately, the advise of "order a half size smaller than your normal size" is bad advise. I ordered a 10 and they were way too small. I almost kept them because they were so beautiful but I didn't think I could deal with how tight they were :( A 10 1/2 would have been perfect but, of course, they dont sell that size.
Date published: 2014-08-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The heel wears quickly!! Great style, soft leather top...only caution is that the heel is made of a fake material that is not durable. Our pair worn to a 45 degree angle in three months with normal sidewalk wear. To the credit of Madewell, they did replace the boots, but we are talking a quarter of a season wear!!!
Date published: 2014-06-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Classic black boot I really wanted to love these boots. They were beautifully boxed and seemed like a nice versatile boot however when I opened them, the leather was indented on the heel area of the boot. For the price, I expected them to be flawless. The leather feels a little waxy like one of the reviews which likened them to rain boots. The first time I wore the boots, rubber peeled off of the heel, I wasn't sure if it's because of the way I tread (which is not out of the ordinary!). I still like the boots but was just a bit disappointed in the quality of the materials. Not sure if they've been cheapened over the years.
Date published: 2013-12-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The Perfect Basic Boot! I ordered the 7.5 as suggested by Madewell as I'm an 8 but these boots were extremely tight in the toe box! If you have a narrow foot I'm sure they'll work for you. I would purchase your size do not size down! The look of the leather and the quality is awesome. I may give them another try in an 8.5 to see if the toe box is larger if I size up. I have small calves and still had room around my calf for jeans.
Date published: 2013-11-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed I ordered online and bought the half size down, which others had recommended here. I couldn't wait for them to arrive! I was so disappointed in the fit of the boot :(( the area around the ankle was way to loose and the top of the boot was fitted. It looked really odd on me. The leather is a beautiful quality but the design of the boot is poor. If there were a zipper added on the inside of the boot so you could still get your foot in, this would eliminate the looseness in the ankle area.
Date published: 2013-10-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A lovely boot that doesn't last I fell in love with these boots when I first received them. The leather is thick and supple, the details are thoughtful but not fussy, and they mold to your feet after just a few wears. Unfortunately my joy was short-lived. The heel wore out in just under two months. It's a quick fix to have them re-heeled, but for the price I didn't expect to be spending more money on them so soon. And then three months later the upper sole split from the lower sole all the way down the side of the boots. I mean, I guess I could just superglue them or take back to the cobbler, but it seems silly to keep investing in a pair of boots that continue to fall apart. I guess the hunt for the perfect boot continues. Is it so much to expect a pair of boots to last more than six months?
Date published: 2013-03-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not quite I'm looking for a classic flat boot with enough style that will allow it to function at work and on the weekends. I had high hopes for this boot, but it looked a little to much like a bulky rain boot to be worth the price. There was way to much room in the ankle area (granted I have small ankles). The color was on the red side of tan, but not too bad that it would have been an issue if I liked the style.
Date published: 2013-03-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nothing special I loved these in the catalog and online, but they weren't great in person. My daughters said they looked like rain boots, which wasn't what I was looking for in a nice leather boot. They also ran a 1/2-size too big.
Date published: 2013-01-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from great looking boot, with major fit issues I had been looking for a clean, classic boot for several seasons, and nothing could quite compete with the Archive's simplicity. When my local Madewell didn't have the boots in stock, I took a gamble on a final sale purchase based on others reviews. Usually a 7.5, I opted for the 6.5, as I knew these boots run big. When they arrived, I was blown away at how poorly they fit. (1) I am petite and never did it cross my mind to order the extended calf option but I certainly wish I had. With a pair of skinny jeans and a lightweight sock, these boots molded to my calf. (2) Although I sized down appropriately, the heel was so wide that had the calf portion not been so snug, I would've walked right out of them! Refusing to give up, I tried many variations of heel cups, inserts and socks, but nothing would make this boot fit properly. Overall the quality of this boot is spot on, but definitely misses the mark when it comes to fit.
Date published: 2015-01-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Gigantic I was really hopeful with these because so many reviews mentioned they were slim in the leg and are good for small calves. However, those people are either lying about the size of their calves or don't understand the true frustration of having peg-legs and never being able to find boots! I tried on the 8.5 and was able to get BOTH my arms down the shaft while my boot was on, and when i sized down to the 8, I could still get one arm all the way down and grab my ankle inside the boot. I looked like a little kid in her father's rain boots. Not for the slim-legged. They sure look nice, though.
Date published: 2013-09-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Do not order 1/2 size smaller!! My boots just arrived in the mail today, and like the description suggested, I ordered a 1/2 a size smaller than I usually wear. I'm usually between a 7 and a 7-1/2, so I figured ordering a 7 would give me enough room to wear bulky winter socks in them. They barely fit, they are SO tight. Also, since boots can be a bit snug on my calves, I figured to be safe, I ordered the extended calf. I am by no means a large person. I wear a US size 6 on a bad day and these boots are so tight that they are cutting off circulation to the lower half of my legs and it took two tries to even get them on. I called Madewell, since I thought that I had been sent the wrong boots, and the rep said that the extended calf is only an inch larger, anyway. I will say that the boots are beautiful (when not on my feet) and the leather feels really nice, but I can't walk comfortably at all.
Date published: 2013-09-25
  • y_2017, m_9, d_24, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_104
  • loc_en_US, sid_96873, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_madewell