This Just In

NEW ARRIVALS

Madewell x As Ever™

Spring 2018 Denim

Looks We Love

Labels We Love

The Madewell Essentials

Monogram It

Denim Report

Events

Your double-tap-worthy pics

From denim recycling to
beach cleaning

clothing

DENIM

TEES & SWEATSHIRTS

SHIRTS & TOPS

SWEATERS

JACKETS & COATS

DRESSES

SKIRTS

PANTS & SHORTS

OVERALLS & JUMPSUITS

LEISURE & ACTIVE

intimates & pajamas

SWIM & BEACHWEAR

SALE

extended sizes

shoes, bags &
more

SHOES & BOOTS

(see all)

mules
heels
flats
oxfords & loafers
sneakers
sandals
boots
rain & cold-weather boots

BAGS

JEWELRY

sunglasses

ACCESSORIES

GIFT & HOME

BEAUTY

Behind
The Scenes

Our Blog

#DENIMMADEWELL

#EVERYDAYMADEWELL

#Totewell

#WELLHEELED

About Madewell

The Gemma Mule in Leather
full size
The Gemma Mule in Leather
Product Details
Currently obsessing over these Moroccan-inspired slide-on mules with a sleek pointed toe. Made of buttery soft leather, these are the kind of shoes we're wearing with everything from jeans to dresses. When you select your size, "H" equals a half size.
  • Leather upper and lining.
  • Man-made sole.
  • Import.
SHIPPING
Free shipping exclusively for Madewell Insiders
*For complete details, see our Shipping Policy.

The Gemma Mule in Leather

The Gemma Mule in Leather is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 53.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing staple. I was hesitant in spending the money on these mules, I *mulled* it over (get it, do you get it?) for probably close to 8 months. In the end I got FOMO when they were restocked after Christmas and bought them immediately. It was a great decision! I am a consistent size 9 and the size 9 fit perfectly, no need to size up or down in my case. I wore them straight out of the box and never needed bandaids or got blisters. The leather is very sturdy but also soft and I love that they match my Zip-top Transport Tote. My only wish is that they had a small lip at the back of the shoe to keep your feet from sliding out. My other mules have that feature and I love it, but I could see it messing with sizing for some people.
Date published: 2018-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! Slightly small lengthwise I’m a true 6.5 in Madewell and I found my heel slightly hung over the shoe with these so I am going to exchange for a 7. I tried a knock off pair and the cut wasn’t as cute, so I took the plunge and bought these. Also in love with the frances loafer!
Date published: 2018-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these shoes! These mules are exactly what I was looking for! The color is perfect and they are very on trend. I am so glad I decided to purchase them! The leather is beautiful and they are super comfy! I normally am a 6.5 or 7, I ordered a 7 and am glad I did. Perfect for fall!
Date published: 2017-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everyday shoe I love these shoes SO much. I wore them everyday the first week I got them, even when it was pouring rain outside. I think they run a tad short. I am between and 8.5 and 9, and almost always wear 8.5 in Madewell shoes. I got 8.5 in these, and they work, but my heel is on the edge for sure.
Date published: 2018-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Mules These are the perfect mules! I wore them to work all day fresh out of the box and they were so comfortable. The leather began to mold to my feet right away. I would say they are true to size. The sole is slightly cushioned and even though they have a pointy toe, my feet don't feel squished. I wish they came in more colors!
Date published: 2018-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Leather Mule I happened to see these in store one day while I was browsing and decided to give them a go. Instant winner! They are a simple, classic shoe that will never go out of style. Extremely comfortable and the leather is soft, which doesn't cause any discomfort when you first wear them. I know that most people stated that they sized down, but I ended up with a 9.5 and they fit perfectly. I typically wear a 9 and I think that would have been too small. Definitely another perfect Madewell piece.
Date published: 2017-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great shoes! I got these in white in a size 11. They run a tiny bit small, but they are very well made. They match with lots of things and will definitely be a staple in my wardrobe. I highly recommend these shoes!
Date published: 2018-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Perfect Mule I am a mule hoarder. I buy them all the time, searching for the perfect fit and style that will be my go-to shoe for work, fun, date night...you name it. This style is what I have been looking for! Comfortable, easy to walk in and beautifully made. I get tons of compliments on them and I can tell the leather will wear well with time. I felt that they run true to size (I usually wear a 6.5 in Madewell shoes and I purchased a 6.5). Please restock these and add more colors!
Date published: 2018-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect mule Love these! First ordered my usual size 8, but had to size up to an 8.5. My heel was hitting the end. Now they're my fave shoe ever!!
Date published: 2018-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfy This shoe is very comfortable. Leather is so soft. Goes well with everything.
Date published: 2018-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shoe Staple I am so obsessed with these shoes that after having them for a few weeks, I bought another pair! They are so well-made, stylish, and comfortable. I am between a 6 1/2 and 7, and the 7 fit perfectly, so I would recommend sizing up if you’re in between sizes because they do run slightly small.
Date published: 2018-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love at first mule these are so cute! ordered my usual Madewell size 7.5 and they fit perfectly!
Date published: 2018-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stylish Mule I am typically a true 7.5 in Madewell and the 7.5 fits perfectly. I have a medium width foot. If you go between 7.5 and an 8 then you might want an 8. Otherwise, I think true to size. If mules are too big, I think they can be hard to walk in without digging your toes in to stay on. I have the same mule in the velvet and they are also 7.5. I think they will stretch a little and conform to foot with wear. Super cute to wear with shorts this summer...
Date published: 2018-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these shoes! I’m so glad these shoes came back! I’m usually a 6.5 but the 7 fit me way better! I could probably even fit into a 7.5. So definitely go up at least half size!
Date published: 2018-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THESE! I have been waiting for these to come back in stock for months and finally, I got my hands on them! They are so comfy and very cute--they make any outfit look put together! They run a bit small so make sure to order up a half size, but overall I am in love!
Date published: 2018-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My go to shoe! I absolutely love these! They are my go to shoe! I love them so much that I had to have them in 2 colors!
Date published: 2018-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great shoe! I am so happy I ordered this shoe. It’s so comfortable right out of the box. And truly goes with anything. Has a timeless feel but also unique. I ordered my normal size of 9 and it fit great. Would highly recommend.
Date published: 2018-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from In love! These beauties are worth every cent! The brown leather is gorgeous, they’re comfortable and of great quality. I do agree with the other reviews recommending to size up 1/2 to a full size depending on the width of your feet. Definitely snatch yourself a pair when they come back in stock!
Date published: 2018-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really comfortable, amazing look I am so happy I snagged these while they are back in stock. They are very comfortable and extremely well made. I do recommend sizing up a half size if possible. Love them! So stylish and great for work when you're on your feet all day.
Date published: 2018-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic with a twist So happy these came back so I could purchase a pair! Easy to wear - the leather is incredibly soft so there was no breaking in period. The color is a perfect neutral tan that goes with pretty much everything. I did size up half a size after reading multiple reviews & it’s a perfect fit. Happy with my first madewell shoe purchase.
Date published: 2018-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally!! I’ve been searching for these shoes high and low! I saw them one time in store and decided to wait until the next time I was in. They’ve been sold out in my size for months and I thought I couldn’t get them until I saw them today in my local store; omg I’m so happy. I sized up from a 9.5 to a 10 and they’re perfect.
Date published: 2017-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth. Every. Penny! I highly recommend these mules! They go with everything! Very good quality, and super comfy. I wear them baaaaasically everyday. I recommend going up a half size, for a more comfortable fit.
Date published: 2017-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OBSESSED I wanted these mules so bad and they sold out super fast. I checked the website everyday to see if my size would come back in and luckily one 6 was in stock. They are the most comfortable shoes I own and go with everything! Definitely a must for everyone's closet! :)
Date published: 2017-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally!!! I've been waiting for an easy to put on slipper/shoe that I can throw on quickly but still look put together without having to sacrifice comfort. Great shoe! Highly recommend.
Date published: 2017-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from In ❤️ These shoes are the perfect addition to your fall wardrobe! Mules appear to be the thing this fall and these totally fit the bill. I am a true 9.5, but usually go up to a 10 in running shoes and boots. These were perfect in my usual 9.5 size. Get them, you won't regret it!
Date published: 2017-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from gem of a shoe I don't usually write reviews but these shoes are worth it. so chic, SO comfortable, great quality, great shape, great color. I could go on and on. will probably get them in velvet, too. just buy them already! you know you want to.
Date published: 2017-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pinches the toes, but clear they will wear well I ordered these in a 9 I believe. I typically wear a 8.5-9 depending on the brand. I do not have a wide foot but after a day of wearing these without socks (and I am on my feet for most of the day), they were tight on my toes. I expected the pristine leather of the mule to change and it is but in a way that makes the shoes look well-made and loved. I expect these to become my favorite shoes!
Date published: 2017-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect for fall love these. usually wear a 6, but sized up to 6 1/2 in these as I have had to do with other mules. they fit perfect. recommend sizing up 1/2 size especially if your foot runs on the wider side.
Date published: 2017-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stylish and Comfortable I was concerned about the open back on this shoe but loved the style! I ordered them from my local store and was so excited of the fit and comfort! They are just yummy!
Date published: 2017-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! My new favorite shoe. Beautiful color and soft leather. Ohh so cute!
Date published: 2017-08-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Want them in more colors and fabrics I’m torn! I love them they are beautiful. They wear in very easily, so the “Polished Shoe” look I was going for last only a couple days wish they stayed looking newer longer, but the leather wears in with lots of creases. They don’t look bad but just not polished. However I love the style and comfort. I wish the shoe was made in more fabrics and colors. I waited for these to come back in stock & they were worth the wait. I do really like them!
Date published: 2018-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from True to size I am a 7.5 and ordered a 7 based on other reviews. I will be returning for a 7.5 as my heel was just too close to the back edge that I was worried I would hang off the back if my feet swelled at all. They are a very pretty color and very comfortable otherwise. Great go-with-anything shoe.
Date published: 2017-08-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute but long toe box I really wanted to love these. Contrary to what others have said, my normal size (8.5) fit well and sizing down 1/2 size was too small. These also run narrow. However, I felt like the long point made my feet look comically large and ultimately these will be returned. If I had cute tiny feet I would definitely have loved them.
Date published: 2017-08-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mostly good I am almost consistently a size 7. I tried on both a 6.5 and a 7 and went with the 7. I think if I had to do it again, I would size down. These break in really easily, which is awesome, but I wish they were a little more secure on my foot. That being said, the 7 isn't a major issue. My larger issue is, as another reviewer said, is that the inner sole is already coming undone. Which may be able to be fixed with some glue..but for the price and for the amount in which I've worn them, kind of a disappointment. These shoes are gorgeous though, especially for someone who has endless black shoes and not enough brown in their rotation.
Date published: 2017-09-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect mule for summer LOVE these pointed toe mules! Bought them in white for summer. Had to go up a half size!
Date published: 2018-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect casual shoe I adore these shoes and was so excited to finally get them. I ordered a half size down at the suggestion of many reviews and unfortunately my heel was hanging off the end when I tried them on at home. I had to return them and now the size I need is out of stock. I guess I’ll just keep waiting.
Date published: 2018-01-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty color These shoes are v cute but I have to exchange for one size larger. They are going to be the perfect summer shoe
Date published: 2018-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wear them everywhere I'm in love with these shoes, they go with almost every outfit. I've worn them almost every day since they've arrived. The leather is great quality and the fit is true to size. My only complaint is the lack of support, but you can't expect a lot of support based on the type of shoe it is.
Date published: 2017-09-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Might be hard to break in Such a cute shoe, but they are a bit cumbersome right now. I got confused reading reviews. So many mixed thoughts on the size. I'm usually a 6-6.5. I decided my toe area is wide, and it's a narrow toed shoe so I went with the 6.5. I think I made the right choice. A 6 would have been too small. I expected a bit better quality, a softer leather maybe. These are pretty stiff. I've never ordered from Madewell before and although I love the shoe, at the same time I'm not rushing back online to make another purchase like I have with other clothing and shoe stores. I'm pretty picky though.
Date published: 2017-09-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice style but One shoe arrived with scuffs on the front so I would like to return. The color is darker than in the photos. I don't usually size up, but for this shoe I recommend buying a half size larger.
Date published: 2017-09-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cute, but fit wasn’t great for me I was so excited to see these back in stock and ordered them immediately. I’m usually a 9 but sized up to a 9.5 based on reviews. The sizing advice was spot on, and the length was perfect, but they just didn’t work for me. It felt like they would fall off my feet each time I took a step! I have narrow, low volume feet, so I think sizing up just made them too big elsewhere. Bummer that the 9s definitely would have been too short. So maybe not the best shoe for those with narrow feet, but I’d recommend them based on style and quality!
Date published: 2018-02-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not great Not as comfortable as I had hoped. They are hard to keep on your feet as you walk. They constantly slip off.
Date published: 2017-10-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Quality Control Let's start with the bad... I bought these shoes last week and have worn them twice at a mostly sedentary job. Unfortunately, the left inner sole has already come apart from the shoe. I can feel it moving while I walk, which is highly disappointing. It's not hard to see the sole peeling when I take the shoe off. For the good: minimal break-in needed. I've had trouble with Madewell loafers/ flats in the past, but these only required one band-aid on the right side for the first time wearing it. I love the style and received numerous compliments.
Date published: 2017-08-17
  • y_2018, m_2, d_23, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_53
  • loc_en_US, sid_G8388, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_madewell