This Just In

NEW ARRIVALS

Looks We Love

Labels We Love

the fall bag shop

The Shoe & Sneaker Shop

The Madewell Essentials

Monogram It

Denim Report

Events

Our clothes, your pics

How We Do Well

clothing

DENIM

TEES & TANKS

SHIRTS & TOPS

SWEATERS

JACKETS

DRESSES

SKIRTS

PANTS & SHORTS

LEISURE

intimates & pajamas

SWIM & BEACHWEAR

SALE

extended sizes

shoes, bags &
more

SHOES & SNEAKERS

(see all)

sneakers
flats
boots
mules
heels
oxfords & loafers
sandals
rain & cold-weather boots
socks & tights

BAGS

JEWELRY

sunglasses

ACCESSORIES

GIFT & HOME

Behind
The Scenes

Our Blog

Denim Report

#DENIMMADEWELL

#EVERYDAYMADEWELL

#Totewell

#WELLHEELED

About Madewell

The Sidewalk Skimmer in Suede
full size
The Sidewalk Skimmer in Suede
The Sidewalk Skimmer in Suede
Product Details
A true shoe icon. You can wear this sharply shaped flat for miles and miles—and never get tired of its chic Parisian-girl charm. Please note: When you select your size, "H" equals a half size.
  • Suede upper.
  • 1/4" rubber heel.
  • Leather lining.
  • Man-made sole.
  • Import.
  • Madewell.com only.
SHIPPING
Free shipping exclusively for Madewell Insiders
*For complete details, see our Shipping Policy.

The Sidewalk Skimmer in Suede

The Sidewalk Skimmer in Suede is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 119.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! Very comfortable and really cute. Wearing them now for the first time and no break in period!!!
Date published: 2014-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from comfy stylish flat I just began wearing this shoe last week and am pleased to find them super comfy! I am 7 months pregnant and was in search for a pair of flats that I can wear to lunch or to work, and these fit the bill. The shoe is true to size; I am usually a 5 1/2 and the size fit me perfectly. The pointy toe adds a little stylish edge to the shoe. Usually pointy toe shoes tend to hurt my feet after a few hours, but these shoes do not hurt at all! Thank you Madewell for designing such a cute and comfortable flat! Just love these.
Date published: 2014-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These shoes are chic and comfy I love these shoes! They go with EVERYTHING. The sole is incredibly comfy as well, the most padding I've had in a flat. I highly recommend buying them, they are definitely worth the price.
Date published: 2013-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Flat Ever After my coworker gave me a pair that were too small for her, but too big for me & sticking inserts in them for months, I finally decided to order a pair that was true to my size. Best decision I decided to make & will forever be a faithful skimmer wearer. Not only are they super cute & can be worn with anything, they are beyond comfortable (once you break them in) I take public transit to work & wearing heels isnt the most sensible but these flats have finally made me feel okay about that. Thank you Madewell.
Date published: 2013-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great flat for everything! This is my second pair of the sidewalk skimmer flat in suede. I had bought this flat in a neutral color and now in black. Very comfortable and can wear them with everything. A simple stylish shoe to make you look polished and chic.
Date published: 2013-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New Favorite Shoe I bought these in the gossamer grey and they are my new favorite flats! They are flattering with every outfit, super comfortable, and true to size. I wear mine with everything, and they are a great deal if you buy them on sale.
Date published: 2013-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pair of flats The blue color was a lot brighter than expected but the shoes are comfortable and excellent quality.
Date published: 2013-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from goes great with almost everything! am a big fan! this is my 3rd pair of skimmers and they've all proven to be really comfortable and fits true to size. would be awesome if the snakeskin skimmers were back in stock! (i so need to replace my current pair). the in-soles provide really good support for walking long distances too.
Date published: 2013-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful, classic elegance, and quality! I normally wear a 7 1/2, but had to get these in an 8 because of the narrow front. These are so comfortable (thanks to a nice insole) and very elegant. I can't believe that they are leather lined and real suede for this price, plus I got them on sale! I will definitely come back to Madewell for more in different colors and prints, etc.
Date published: 2013-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from so worth it esp. on sale! i don't usually write reviews, but i wore these all day, VERY comfortable, no sores, pain, very cute, just the right amount of point to the toe. i have 2 pairs of the skimmers and i may not stop at just 2. only draw back is the suede scuffs easily, but suede would do that in any shoe.
Date published: 2013-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous color! This is my first purchase from Madewell, and I am very happy with my purchase. I appreciated the reviews before I purchased, and I found these to fit true to size. And I love the blue color..adds such a chic pop of color to any outfit!
Date published: 2013-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from comfy cool love these shoes form the moment I put them on my feet.... the fit is great, the lining is super soft and comfy!! Love these shoes and I want them in every color! I got them in the clay color and I wear them with everything!!
Date published: 2013-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from really love them I've only had them for about one month, but so far they hold up well. Really love the suede, the casual-chic feel. As always, great value for what you are paying.
Date published: 2013-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More comfortable with time At first I wasn't sure I'd be able to wear these because they cut into my ankle, but with time they've broken in and have quickly become my favorite flat. The cut is perfect and the grey color looks amazing with everything. Contemplating getting them in another color (or one of the same color to wear when my first pair wears out!).
Date published: 2013-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Favorite Flats Bought them in black and steel suede. Comfortable, true to size, and good, solid construction. For the sale price, this was a great buy. Essential for flat-lovers!
Date published: 2013-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! Fit TTS, very comfortable. Could use some more arch support though.
Date published: 2013-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect flats Love these flats! They go with everything and look very chic with skirts and jeans both. They are pretty comfy. I would recommend a bandaid on the heels for the first few wears and for sensitive feet. Overall though, great pair and looks more expensive than it cost.
Date published: 2013-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and comfortable! This product is just as it apears online. Classy and comfortable.
Date published: 2013-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite flats of all time! I have these already in the calf hair and python so of course I had to buy it in the classic black and love, love, love! It doesn't hurt that I was able to it on sale either. :-) These are the best ever because they make my feet look long and slender. I'm a Medium width but rounded flats just don't make your feet look very attractive. I can wear these all day so no issues in comfort. I do hope that they'll continue to carry these on a regular basis.
Date published: 2013-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great color, runs true to size I bought these a half-size up because several reviewers said they ran small. The extra half-size is too much, so I think they run true to size. Overall, they're really cute, and I can't wait to get the pair I ordered exchanged so I can wear them.
Date published: 2013-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE I love these shoes. I would live in sidewalk skimmers if I could. They are comfortable and stylish at the same time. I recently purchased the suede sidewalk skimmer and crystal blue and couldn't be more pleased!
Date published: 2013-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable Bought these in the green and black. Very comfy. Will probably buy in more colors. I bought these on sale, original price was $98 for the black pair. Don't think I would have paid that much, but it's still a great shoe!
Date published: 2013-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these shoes! Well made and super comfortable. Been looking for a nice flat that can be dressed up or down and finally found them! And very well made!
Date published: 2013-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from comfy cute these shoes are super comfy and cute too! very soft leather inside and out. fit true to size.
Date published: 2013-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and comfortable These shoes are both beautiful and comfortable. The color steel goes with just about anything. I am addicted to Madewell....
Date published: 2013-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous color This was my first time ordering from Madewell. I have to say that I am very pleased. I've had my eye on this shoe for the longest time. They finally went on sale and I ordered the shoe in the Steele color. I absolutely love how beautiful the color is. They will be cute with the skimmer jeans or even a dress. Also you can wear them with any color combo. I am a true size 7 1/2 and they fit perfectly. The suede is really soft and gorgeous. I just might need to order more colors!!
Date published: 2013-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Omg! Love this shoe and I got it on sale! Comfort and quality. Excellent classic flat. Worth the original price; even more so when it was on sale.
Date published: 2013-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! These flats are amazing - I was concerned I might have misjudged the color, but it was cuter and brighter purple than online! Love these and would totally buy more.
Date published: 2013-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from sidewalk skimmer So cute! Love the pop of color that these provide. They do run small, I usually wear a 7.5 but pointy-toed shoes often work this way and I forgot. Thus, I had to exchange but Madewell makes that process very easy.
Date published: 2013-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable fall flat The footbed in the shoe is remarkably comfortable. The suede was also very smooth against my foot, and I experienced no chafing. My one complaint is that the shoe may stretch out a bit after repeated wear.
Date published: 2013-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very dainty looking. Fits very well. Suede adjusts to my feet without a breaking in time. Love them. I like the dainty, elegant, ballet-dancer look of these flats. They fit perfectly. Snug, supportive, not tight, but not floppy or gloppy.
Date published: 2013-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Texture and Color Bought this shoe in their Nouveau Red and I LOVE them. I wear a 9 in heels and a 9 1/2" in most boots and shoes, so these are definitely true to fit as the size 9 was not comfortable at all. The suede texture is great and gives it a unique appearance and they are average on overall comfort.
Date published: 2013-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! I have been looking for smart, comfortable, pointed flats for work for ages. The Sidewalk Skimmer is perfect! The leather is soft and of excellent quality. After being on my feet all day, I'm still comfortable in these shoes. If you are between sizes (like me), size down to the nearest half. I bought them in four colours, each is a lovely deep and vibrant shade. Now I'm hoping that Madewell will release more colours so that I can add to my collection!
Date published: 2013-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I wanted I wish I could afford them in all colors! So stylish and comfortable.
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great shoes I now have two pairs- the leopard and the blue/purple suede pair. I love them both! I live in DC and they're not the best for walking super long distances, but that's just because they pinch me where my feet are biggest. But I have wide feet, so that's pretty normal. They are super flattering and cute and I would definitely recommend them to anyone. They fit true to size and I wouldn't be surprised if I end up with a few more pairs!
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome color I got these shoes in the teal color, and they're so cute. They fit perfectly to size, and go with everything. I love a pop of color on the feet, and these do the trick perfectly.
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Bright Red This my 2nd pair of the Sidewalk Skimmers. I love the feminine pointy toe. The comfortable leather insole is amazing to walk in all day. This red was perfect for the holidays and beyond for a punch of color.
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Sidewalk Skimmer Suede I have enjoyed wearing these comfortable flats after they first arrived. I was able to put them on without the usual "breaking in" period. I think these flats are a great addition for anyone looking for comfort and style.
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These Skimmers are the perfect shape! I have these shoes in 4 colors! They are comfortable, true to size & the suede is great quality! I highly recommend them! The shape of these shoes are perfect!
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved these flats! I first bought these flats in the calf hair and after one day of discomfort- which is typical with flats, they were like wearing slippers, so when the suede in the vibrant blue were on sale I jumped to buy them. They run true to size!
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great shoe. This is the second pair of skimmers I've bought and I just love them.
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Basic Flats I love these flats so much that I bought them in 5 colors. They took a couple of times wearing them to break them it, but now they are extremely comfortable.
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from cute classic flat rich suede pop of color complements nuetrals to brights. every closet should have a pair!
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sexy and cute I love love these shoes... They are cute, comfortable and sexy.....
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great in all colors! I started out with one and ended up with four different colors to match my outfits. They are comfy, stylish and chic. You can't just buy one you gotta get the collection. ;-)
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great shoes These shoes were just what I wanted. The suede is very soft and the color compared to the web was true. They fit really well and are very comfortable.
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very pretty shoe These skimmers are lovely. The style is very flattering for my larger (size 11) feet. They were ever so slightly large, though I was glad for the room to add a bit of an arch support, because they are very flat. FYI, I also ordered the 11 in black leather and they were too small - more like a 10 or 10 1/2, so I had to return them.
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super cute, worth the price! These flats run true to size and they can easily be casual or dress up! I love them so much that I bought another pair in a different color, and I will probably buy more at some point.
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great day to night flat These flats are the best! I have them in two different colors and wear them all of the time. They're super comfortable, would recommend sizing down a half-size as the suede stretches a bit. Can't say enough good things about these cute flats. Wish they still had more colors available, I would buy 'em all!
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, classic flats This color was on sale; all things being equal, I probably would've gone with black. BUT this color actually looks great on my feet, a nice classy neutral. There's something almost Parisian about them -- which of course makes me happy!
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The perfect flat! These flats are worth the price! Great look and quality. I usually wear a size 6.5-7.5, and a size 7 was perfect.
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these shoes! I saw these shows on my brother's girlfriend and had to have a pair. I'm so happy with them! I get a lot of compliments. They fit perfectly and are very comfortable!
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable great, very comfortable flats. I also have these in the leopard print and the suede are much softer and don't seem to really need wearing in.
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great versatile black flat This black suede flat is super cute and goes with pretty much everything. It has a rounded pointy toe, which in my opinion, is a really nice shape. It definitely feels high quality and hopefully will last me a few seasons! It's fairly comfortable, although after wearing it all day for the 1st time, my feet felt a little sore and there were a few areas where it rubbed my feet. I think it'll soften after a few wears. All Madewell shoes are a little pricey, but they are good quality and super cute, so I think it's worth it!
Date published: 2015-04-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The perfect flat. (But break them in first!!) These are 99% perfect. The shape of the toe is exactly what I wanted - not too round, not too pointy. The quality was great. The price is reasonable. They fit like a glove. BUT make sure you BREAK THEM IN (a lot). Wear them with socks around your house as much as you can. I wore these to work right off the bat and got two really painful blisters on the back/side of my heel within 10 min.
Date published: 2014-09-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great shoes, just a little stiff These shoes are really great! They go with anything and even though they are suede, they are definitely multi-seasonal. My only complaint is that they are a little stiff - I got some pretty nasty blisters the first time I wore them, but I am slowly breaking them in...hopefully they will wear a little better in the future.
Date published: 2014-09-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Classic A lovely piece. They're extremely versatile and I throw them on multiple times a week -- they're definitely my go-to flats. The style/design is perfect and they're not too pointy, either -- more of a rounded almond shape which is just what I was looking for. That being said, this is my 2nd time purchasing these flats in suede and I always have the same problem -- the soles rubbing down and into the back of the shoe. I had a similar issue with these flats in leather, I would certainly pay a bit more for better quality soles on both styles because the rubber just isn't cutting it. However, I keep coming back for more because of the style. Also, please please make these suede flats in a light nude/tan/sand color!!!
Date published: 2013-12-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just what I wanted I wanted black suede flats with a pointy toe.....just plain flats and this is the one....no studs, sequins or bows and this is it.....The suede is soft and the shoe is comfortable right out of the box....They might stretch out after a while but I think a sole insert would solve that problem....I hope to have these shoes for a long time....Looks good with skirts, jeans and leggings.....
Date published: 2013-12-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stylish but painful... at first For the first week I had these shoes, I got blisters on the backs of my heels, my toes, and the sides of my feet. However, after enduring through the first week, I no longer had issues and know the shoes will remain sleek and stylish for a while. They're really well made!
Date published: 2013-10-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love I love these flats, they last forever and can make any look feel polished. The only thing is they take some time and dedication to break in.
Date published: 2013-09-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Would be nice to have a narrow option These shoes are perfect for work or play. My main qualm is that I have slightly narrow feet (rather than wide) and so they stick out a bit on the sides when I'm walking. Other than that, they became comfortable after my feet got used to them, they look great dressed up or with jeans, and they are a new staple in my wardrobe. Definitely a good buy!
Date published: 2013-08-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from pretty but runs small I love these shoes, and the suede feels wonderful. the leather soles make this shoe very comfortable, my only complaint is the shoes seem to have a small fit, and with my wider sized feet that's not always a good thing. Otherwise a good shoe for a great bargain.
Date published: 2013-07-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from very cute! The first time I wore these numerous people commented on the color ...in a good way! They are very comfortable and seem well made and as I got them on sale fabulous value.
Date published: 2013-06-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from so stylish but killed my feet these are so cute but absolutely killed my feet the first time i wore them. major blisters on my heels and pinky toes.
Date published: 2013-05-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Versatile and comfortable These shoes, along with one shirt, were my first Madewell purchases and good quality is immediately noticeable. I still haven't completely broken them, but they seem very soft and comfortable. Casual and yet elegant, they go well with jeans, skirts and dresses. Equally suitable for work and weekends. Light grey color is beautiful and versatile, although I am wandering how I will be able to keep them clean. Would like to get them in black and steel, and even the blue color looks amazing. They will surely become a staple of my spring and summer wardrobe...
Date published: 2013-05-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute and good quality, but runs small These shoes are really cute, but I recommend sizing up a half size. I'm typically an 8 in flats, but I wish I had ordered an 8.5. The pointy toe makes these shoes fit more snugly. The shoes seem really sturdy, which is great, but I think that also means the length won't stretch. I should also add that my feet are kind of narrow, but the width of these shoes is great.
Date published: 2013-05-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice and cute flats Really nice flats, the shoes are a bit narrow at the top but still very comfortable, I ordered my usual shoe size and fit well. The flats are really cute, have wear them with skirts, dresses and skinny jeans. I love that the shoes are suede, it make them look more charming and polish. Overall really nice shoes.
Date published: 2013-04-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from They look and feel great, except they hit a little high I usually wear a 7. When i ordered these in 7 they fit perfectly. The only problem i have is the left shoe hits right under the ankle and throughout the day starts to hurt. But they look very cute and I am willing to put up with a little discomfort.
Date published: 2013-04-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great style Love the slightly pointed toe which is very on-trend. Quite comfortable altho not as padded interiorally as other flats I've purchased. Great style at a good price.
Date published: 2013-04-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from love the skimmers I love the shape of these flats--i have a few pairs already and prefer the pointed toe to a round ballet flat. Somehow i think it makes my feet look smaller! The only complaint I have is that each pair I have gotten, including these, has taken a while to break in. I always seem to forget that though when I buy a new pair. After they are broken in, they are great shoes and last a long time even through the wear and tear I put them through walking all around the city.
Date published: 2013-04-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty Comfy + Classy These flats are great! The soft, genuine leather makes them comfortable right out of the box (but you still need to be careful wearing them for more than few hours at a time while you break them in). They have no arch support--so kinda great for people with flat feet like myself. I highly recommend them for a variety of casual to dressy outfits!
Date published: 2013-04-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very comfortable and stylish The skimmers appeared just as I expected, they are excellent colour, quality and weight, very comfortable, easy to put on and true to size. I ordered half size bigger, but I think in summer they would fit wonderefully.
Date published: 2013-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Style, comfort, versatility A simple, elegant and versatile flat which is for the most part comfortable and well made. A great footwear staple.
Date published: 2013-03-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Classy This shoe is exactly what I want in a flat! It has the perfect amount of "point" and the suede is so classy! I had to break these in but after that was done, it was smooth sailing. I have to stop myself from wearing them all the time. I want them in every color now and I've gotten tons of compliments!
Date published: 2013-03-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute, great value I love the colors and the reasonable prices makes buying them in multiple colors slightly addictive. I think they run about 1/2 size small.
Date published: 2013-02-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful shoes I ordered these in a 7, my usual size, and they're a little big on me, so they're causing a little bit of blistering as they get broken in. I think if I were to order them again, I'd order them in a 6.5. I got them in crystal blue, and the color is beautiful. The suede is really soft, and the shoes look good with skinny jeans and cropped pants, in addition to shorts and dressier items. I'd definitely recommend them, they're wonderful!
Date published: 2013-02-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gorgeous These are basically perfect, except they run a little small – I'm either a 10 or 10.5 depending on the brand, and in this case I'll need to size up to an 11.
Date published: 2013-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks great! A little tight the first wear, but since they are leather/suede they should stretch out. good quality
Date published: 2013-02-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent purchase! Waffled on the size and went with the 9.5--it's slightly small for a 9.5 and I will order a 10 in the future, but they have easily stretched for me at this point.
Date published: 2013-02-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from perfect shape, great color options I have the suede skimmers in four colors and am about to order another. I love the shape of the toe (not rounded, not too pointy) and all of the colors! Size-wise, I find these just a little snug. My usual 7 takes some breaking in, but 7.5 is too big. I considered sizing up and adding insoles, but these are leather and should stretch some.
Date published: 2013-02-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice looking but a bit pricey. I like the shoe and the style is timeless. I gave this as a gift and she loved the style and the fit.
Date published: 2013-01-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lovely shoes I gave these as a gift and the recipient LOVED them. She is a college student and needed a "nice" flat. I too love the look and have tried them on many times...my only complaint is that they are a tad uncomfortable for all the walking I do. They are absolutely beautiful otherwise. As with all Madewell shoes, the quality is fantastic. Thank you!
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My favorite flats I have two pairs of the skimmers. They are great. Comfortable too! I hope Madewell has these shoes in their catalog permanently. The color choices are great. Grab them when they are on sale
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Color not what you'd expect I bought these in the steel while the 30% off sale was underway and I'm happy I didn't pay full price. The color is not what I expected. They are a much lighter sort of beige tone of grey, not at all the color that the picture appears as. They will still work as a great neutral though and I will be keeping them. They need a little breaking in but being suede, I know they'll stretch out pretty easily. The size just feels the slightest bit a little too small but its nothing to worry about unless you are consistently between sizes maybe. Overall, a little disappointed, especially since I had been fawning over the idea of purchasing them for literally months.
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute flats I picked these up during the holiday sales bonanza, but they're worth it at full price as they are a cute basic in a current shape and they seem well made (ha! see what I did there?). I got them in steel, which is a grey and I will say that it is more grey in person than it appears on the site, where it looks more taupe. I knew this ahead of time having seen it in-store, but just a heads up if you want a more brownish color.
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great flats, but i made the wrong color choice i have been lusting after these flats for well over a year and i finally took the plunge when they were on sale. it took me for-ev-er to decide on a color but i chose the red. i ended up returning them for two reasons: 1) the red made my outfits seem too holiday themed. 2) they made my foot look really long. i was hoping for more toe cleavage as well. they ran true to size and seemed comfortable. perhaps i'll give these another shot in another color...
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Different than Warm Sand colored Skimmer, Runs Large, Not the most comfortable I had purchased the sidewalk skimmer before but in warm sand color. The warm sand one is a great shoe and very comfortable. I recently bought the warm sand again to replace my old ones, and also purchased the black. The black is a different shape than the warm sand skimmer, and has a smaller front portion. The skimmer in black also fit looser than the skimmer in warm sand, even though I bought both in the same size. This resulted in blisters on my feet.
Date published: 2015-02-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Need to be broken in I just started wearing these after receiving them a few months ago. They really bother my heel, but I have only worn them three times so far so hopefully they will break in and be more comfortable.
Date published: 2014-04-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great quality, poor comfort I've had my eye on these skimmers for quite a while. My other black flats finally bit the dust, so I bought these. Immediately out the box you see the great leather quality of these shoes. However, my first time wearing them was a disaster! Blisters everywhere! I'm really bummed about it. I wanted these to be my comfy flats, but now they're probably just shoes to wear to dinner and back. Hopefully they break in more (I've worn them for two long days) but until then, I'm pretty much done with them for now.
Date published: 2014-03-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great looking shoes - but SO PAINFUL in the beginning The shoes look great, but Madewell shoes take a while to stretch out. Prepare for blisters and raw skin in the beginning..
Date published: 2013-09-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great shoe, but wears out quickly I'm on my fourth pair of these. which says something both good and bad about them. They're comfortable, simple to match and easy to get on and off. I gave them a lower rating for a few reasons. It takes several good wears to break them in. My technique has become a two or three hours spent walking in them with thick socks in the privacy of my apartment. That and some bending and tugging usually do the trick. My other complaint is circumstantial. I walk miles around the city every day, and these tend to fall apart after only a few months. I have holes in the balls of both shoes, and the suede backs (slightly under the heel) have started to split from hitting the sidewalk. Despite the seemingly poor quality, I'm under no illusion that I treat them well. I run them into the ground. I have considered trying different flats, but no other brand carries such a nice simple shape...right between a pointed and ballet toe. I will buy these again, and again. If only the black would go on sale.
Date published: 2013-09-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not True to Size I should have sized up. In most shoes I am a 6.5 and so I thought a 6.5 would do the job. I had no idea the shoe would run narrow. It took me a little over a week to stretch it out. I tried putting a ziplock bag filled with water in each shoe and letting it sit in the freezer overnight to stretch the front. After all the blisters and band-aids, I can say they fit pretty nice. It's still a bit snug on my heels. They're cute. I've received a few compliments on them. I love how they're versatile and I can wear it almost everywhere. I defo recommend half a size up if you have more wide feet OR try it on in the store.
Date published: 2013-09-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Blisters! I was so excited to get these in the mail. I tried them on, walked around the house and thought, OK a new flat I can add to my closet. I wore them into work today and almost started crying by the time I got in. (I only had to walk six blocks!). The blisters were so bad that I almost contemplated walking barefoot in NYC. Not sure what I am going to do now... they are cute but very painful!
Date published: 2013-09-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not made for high arches I loved the look of these shoes and their simplicity. Unfortunately my arches were too high and you could see the lines of my toes in these shoes. It was almost like my foot just didn't want to lay down in them which made them hard to walk in and just awkward looking. I think they would be perfect for those without super high arches, but they did not work for me.
Date published: 2013-08-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great design, poor fit Love the design of these shoes. The gray suede is very classy and sophisticated, but the shoes gave me blisters. Though I will give them a few more chances before completely giving up on them. All good shoes need to broken in, and I think this is a case.
Date published: 2013-07-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful Color!! but slightly disappointed with quality. I've been waiting to buy these skimmers for a while and luckily for me, they were put on sale. When the skimmers arrived, the suede was beautiful, soft, and the color was vibrant; it was better in person than online; however, I was really disappointed with the quality of the skimmers. On the inside near the rim on the insoles, there were some visible traces of glue, and I had to cut some of it off because it looked messy. Well that's the risk of buying it online with final sale, I suppose. In terms of fit, the insole is very comfortable, and I appreciate the padding. I have a slightly wide foot and ordered a 6h (I'm between 6-6.5#, and I found that the shoe fits #ha!) but it is still just a tiny bit snug. I've been stretching them out so I'm overall very happy with these babies, especially since I got them on super sale :) Happy shopping!
Date published: 2013-02-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Aesthetically looks great but VERY uncomfortable to break in. Love the color of this shoe and it's better once I broke it in. However it was extremely painful on the heel and toe the first three times I wore it. If you have no patience to break it in, please order a half size larger.
Date published: 2013-01-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Uncomfortable for long wear I got these because I needed a pair of plain black go-with-everything flats, but these are not at all comfortable if you have to walk a lot. After breaking them in (and suffering through many blisters along the way), I found them to be comfortable...until I had to walk long distances in them. I went to NY this past weekend and took these because, hey, they're flats and what's more comfortable than flats? I ended up walking around in them all day as expected, and by the end on the day, I had a few blisters and couldn't feel either of my pinky toes. And it's of that they're small for me either. I guess they're fine for day to day use where you don't have to walk too much. My sister got a pair of skimmers from madewell too, and she's returning them because they destroyed her feet. Madewell sandals and pumps are the most comfortable ones I own, but they really need to work on their skimmers.
Date published: 2014-04-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Just not comfortable These look beautiful, but wearing them for more than an hour without tights/socks is just painful. I'm always relieved to take them off and end up with red marks on my feet. So, though they're gorgeous, I wouldn't recommend them to anyone not willing to sacrifice comfort.
Date published: 2014-02-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from cute but not comfortable I really wanted this flat to work: I love the shape (fancier than a ballet flat but not pointy like a typical pump) and many remarked about the comfort. However, when I tried them on they were too tight in the toe area. Granted, I like my shoes to be instantly comfortable -- in other words, I wasn't willing to try and break them in. But I didn't think they provided much arch support either. They were pretty flat and typical of uncomfortable shoes. Sadly, they had to be returned.
Date published: 2014-02-10
  • y_2017, m_8, d_18, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_119
  • loc_en_US, sid_64082, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_madewell