This Just In

NEW ARRIVALS

Fall 2017 Denim

Looks We Love

Labels We Love

The Madewell Essentials

Monogram It

Denim Report

Events

Our clothes, your pics

How We Do Well

clothing

DENIM

TEES & SWEATSHIRTS

SHIRTS & TOPS

SWEATERS

JACKETS

DRESSES

SKIRTS

PANTS & SHORTS

LEISURE & ACTIVE

intimates & pajamas

SWIM & BEACHWEAR

SALE

extended sizes

shoes, bags &
more

SHOES & BOOTS

(see all)

boots
sneakers
mules
heels
oxfords & loafers
flats
rain & cold-weather boots
sandals
socks & tights

BAGS

JEWELRY

sunglasses

ACCESSORIES

GIFT & HOME

Behind
The Scenes

Our Blog

Denim Report

#DENIMMADEWELL

#EVERYDAYMADEWELL

#Totewell

#WELLHEELED

About Madewell

The d'Orsay Flat in Leather
full size
The d'Orsay Flat in Leather
The d'Orsay Flat in Leather
The d'Orsay Flat in Leather
Product Details
An elegant twist on essential flats—and a shoe icon in the making. You can wear these sharply shaped d'Orsays for miles and miles—and never get tired of their cool cutout vibe. Please note: When you select your size, "H" equals a half size. 
  • Leather upper and lining.
  • Man-made sole.
  • Import.
SHIPPING
Free shipping exclusively for Madewell Insiders
*For complete details, see our Shipping Policy.

The d'Orsay Flat in Leather

The d'Orsay Flat in Leather is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 67.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from super cute Love these flats. I had them in the black suede but long story short lost them sadly...so I re-purchased, this time in the tan color. Perfect color IMO, kind of in between cognac and nude. They run true to size and are a bit painful upon first wear, but nothing a couple band-aids can't fix. After they break in they are quite comfortable. I wore my old pair through the cobbled streets of Mexico and although they weren't the optimal shoe, they worked :).
Date published: 2015-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfy, Fashionable Flats These are so great! I got them on sale so the value was great - don't think I'd buy at full price, but that's only budget constraints! The leather is great quality, the color is awesome and it's a seasonless shoe. I do put backings on all my flats where it usually tears up the heel just FYI so I would recommend those.
Date published: 2014-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Affordable Chic Shoe I always order up in shoe size (I am a 9 and half and usually order a 10 bc I hate anything touching my toes) so I did the same as I always do. This shoe is so comfortable that I tried it on and walked the cobbly streets of Amsterdam for 2 days without so much as a "break-in." Remember, I order every shoe I own up in size so things don't touch my toes. Seriously comfortable shoe, the leather is super soft. I have since bought the shoe in blue and black, that is how much I loved this shoe. Quite frankly, I keep reaching for this shoe and have not worn the black or blue yet. The tan looks gorgeous with everything from jeans to shorts to dresses. Perfect color for summer and it elongates the legs!
Date published: 2014-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful shoe! This shoe is true to size and absolutely gorgeous!
Date published: 2014-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from new favourite! love this shoe. went half a size up like the other reviewers said and they fit great. took a couple days to wear them in but now they're super comfortable and i wear them all the time.
Date published: 2014-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable I am very happy with this purchase. I ordered a half size larger than my normal shoe size after reading some of the other reviews here, and am very happy with that fit. I do agree that the color is not quite the same as is represented by the picture. I would call it more of a nude color than is represented. Otherwise, I am excited to wear these out!
Date published: 2014-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful shoe Can't say enough about this flat. I get compliments everytime I wear them. Just a fair warning: they are SUPER uncomfortable and will give you terrible blisters right away (about the first 3 times you wear them), but once you break in the leather, they are suprisingly quite comfortable.
Date published: 2014-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love I just love this shoe....sexiest flat you can find..please keep making these forever and in some fun prints!!
Date published: 2014-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from beautiful color Love this flat. It is a beautiful shape and color. It takes a few wears to break them in but they look great with pants and dresses. Would highly recommend this product!
Date published: 2014-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful D'Orsey shoes! Love these stylish slip on shoes for spring and summer. The leather is very high quality and the color (tan) is beautiful and goes with everything. The sizing is perfect and stays on the foot without slipping. Am considering purchasing in another color. Definitely recommend!!
Date published: 2014-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for Spring and Summer I needed more than a sandal but less than a boot and these really delivered. Couldn't be happier with the quality and comfort. They look perfect with jeans, shorts, and I've dressed them up for nighttime too.
Date published: 2014-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best d'orsay ever absolutely love this shoe. neutral tan leather color is PERFECT for spring or fall. cut out is original and lovely. price is super, seeing as i've tried d'orsays close to $500 that were not this comfortable or flattering. true to size in my opinion. want to buy in all colors!!!
Date published: 2014-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Love these shoes! They are so cute with so many outfits. can be dressed up or down. they were shipped out to me very FAST!
Date published: 2014-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just beautiful I absolutely love these shoes. I usually wear a size 6 or 7, so I ordered 6.5. I should have gone with the 7 though, as they're a bit tight. Since they're leather, I'm counting on them stretching a bit and then they'll surely be my go-to spring/summer shoe.
Date published: 2014-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Size up I adore these shoes, I however did need to go up a size. I have the billie boot in a size 8. I purchased these in an 8.5 and they were terribly small. So I exchanged them for a size 9 and they are perfect.
Date published: 2014-02-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Attractive, well-made, but difficult fit. Loved the look of this shoe but had to return my usual size 9 because the right foot fit fine but the left was too large.
Date published: 2015-06-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hurts I read someone say they wore it first time and it didn't hurt their feet at all. So I was excited that it won't hurt considering the leather is so soft. Was I wrong. The back heal part cut up my skin and made a huge blister. It was so painful. Definitely need to break it in. Hopefully after that it will be more comfortable. It is definitely very cute tho! Got in black and was true to size.
Date published: 2015-04-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super Cute, wide toe I love these, so so cute and comfortable. I am a solid 9.5, but I should have gotten a 9 in these. They fit well the first few wears, but then became too large. The toe is wide and I needed to put in a heel pad to keep them from slipping. Order a half size down!
Date published: 2015-04-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute and comfortable! Very comfy shoe. I always have a hard time with pointed toes but these shoes are easy to wear all day. Doesn't scrunch your toes. Fits true to size as well. Quality is good.
Date published: 2015-04-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Need a 10h I absolutely love these shoes. Unfortunately, the 11 is too big and the 10 is too small. Madewell, please start making a size 10h!
Date published: 2015-03-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from simple and elegant The tan color is great. The pointed toe has a nice slimming effect on my foot. Simple silhouette, comfortable, and it stays on!
Date published: 2015-03-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute but questionable comfort I was really excited to receive these in the mail and at first glance I loved the color and the leather is nice. I would not say that these are comfortable though. The back area by the heel is so stiff and even after 4 times wearing them all day to work, they still hurt my feet - so have some band aids ready! I also feel like they run a little large. I had to put an insert in the front to keep my feet from slipping. Overall good quality, but just doesn't fit me like I had hoped.
Date published: 2015-02-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love them I bought these shoes and hadn't read the reviews. These shoes hurt terribly the 1st and 2nd time wearing them. They break in really well after the first few uses. That was the worst part, but now they are wonderful and i'm probably going to buy this shoe in every color. True to size.
Date published: 2015-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the shoe, you may need to stretch it though These shoes are pretty, feminine, and make your feet looks so dainty! They're great to wear to work or with your weekend shorts. My feet are more on the wider side so I had to stretch them a little for more comfort. However, the shoe size fits perfectly! The leather quality is nice and the color is more nude than the picture online.
Date published: 2014-08-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Versatile Flat Like many of the reviewers mentioned this shoe is sooo hard to break in. I recommend getting a product like Stretch Genie to help because once you do break them in - look out world! The color is neutral so it goes with nearly everything. My skin tone is medium so the shoe matches and (I think) they make my stubby legs look longer. I feel like they run true to size. Another solid investment from Madewell...
Date published: 2014-07-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great shoes but not so comfortable I love this shoes but the first time I wore them I had the worst blisters on the back of my feet. Not sure if I have to break them in or what, but I am also not sure when will I be wearing them again. I wanted them to be my summer shoe but I will probably have to wear bandits with them overtime. Too bad!
Date published: 2014-06-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from stylish and cute These d'orsay flats are very trendy and go well with anything. They are the perfect natural leather color and are very flattering to your legs. While I like the style and color, I think they could improve on the comfort of these shoes. I have only wore them twice, but they rubbed blisters on both of my heels. I will try to break them in because I do want to continue wearing them.
Date published: 2014-05-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Shoe It was a bit tight for me, so I'd suggest going up if you're between two sizes. These are quality shoes, quality leathera and I'd definitely recommend. Unfortunately though, these went back. The pointed toe added a bit too much length and on my already large feet, it didn't look great. My mom saw them and purchased immediately!
Date published: 2014-05-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect summer slip-on Love this shoe! It did take a couple of wears (and a couple of bandaids on the heels!) to soften up but now, I wear them everyday! I did not find them to run small, I usually wear a 6 in slip-ons and the 6 fit perfectly. The color is a perfect neutral tan that looks great with everything. I would highly recommend these! Just be prepared to spend some time breaking them in. They are totally worth it!
Date published: 2014-04-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Runs slightly small but beautiful shoe I have a size 7 in the other pair of shoes that I have from Madewell (the billie boot). When I tried the d'orsays on in store, the 7s were very snug so I went with the 7.5, and they seemed fine, however the first two times I wore the 7.5s, I was so uncomfortable. After walking around in them, they were so tight, I could barely keep them on. So I went back to the store and tried the 8s, and they were huge. I asked the clerk if these shoes tend to stretch out after a few wears. She suggested wearing socks with the shoes around the house to stretch out the leather. I did that, and now they fit perfectly! They look so great with skinny pants and skirts, and are perfect for work as well as casual/a night out. They look very expensive and seem to be well-made.
Date published: 2014-04-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not sure I received the shoes yesterday--not sure how I feel about them. Size: I am a true 8.5 but after reading the reviews online, I ordered a 9. I am afraid the 9 might get too loose after they break-in. Maybe I should've ordered the 8.5 to compare. Style: The front part of the shoe covers a good portion of the foot. It goes almost to the middle of it. No worries about the side edges digging into your bunions--yeah...but if you have wide feet, it might be uncomfortable. I didn't really walk around in the shoe to see how the heal feels. Color-The image on my computer screen shoes a tanner color (yellow hue). The shoe is more dull in person, like a putty color. This is the main reason I am not sure I want to keep them.
Date published: 2014-03-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great shoe but size up I am absolutely in love with this shoe. I would recommend sizing up though, I usually wear btwn an 8 and 9 so I went with the 8.5 and it is def a little snug. Looks great on and compliments multiple outfits. Already planning my next pair to purchase.
Date published: 2014-03-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Runs small, looks great! I tried these on in the store before purchasing and am glad I did. I normally wear a size 8 or 38.5, and I bought these in size 8.5. My feet are of an average width. The 8 fit, but was tight. The 8.5 was much more comfortable and fit better. I don't think the leather will need to be stretched in order for these shoes to be really comfortable. I did buy this sand/camel color. It was actually a little lighter in person, more of a peach/sandy color. If you're considering the white dotted version, it looks great in person!
Date published: 2014-02-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cute but not comfortable! I wanted these shoes for months and finally bought them. I've only worn these twice and both times the left shoe rubbed a blister so bad on my heel I don't want to wear them again. I plan on wearing them around the house with socks in hopes they will break in.
Date published: 2015-05-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful but PAINFUL I added a double layer of moleskin to the heels after these flats gave me multiple blisters. A few days later, I saw a woman with the orange suede version with moleskin on her heels, too.
Date published: 2015-05-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Uncomfortable This flat is really cute and designed well but not comfortable. I feel like even if I break them in for 2 weeks or so they still will pinch and give me calluses each time I wear them. The first time I wore them, I was almost limping at the end. I really like the design but wish the leather would be more flexible and able to take the shape of my foot a bit more. Also would appreciate a little arch support - something a lot of shoes lack.
Date published: 2015-04-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pretty, but absolutely killing my feet I hope they break in... I love these shoes but I can't take ten steps without the back of my heels screaming and I have bandaids on. Disappointed because they are so nice looking, but I haven't had a shoe hurt me this bad in a while. I ordered a 7, they were too a half size too big so I exchanged for a 6.5.
Date published: 2015-04-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pretty but painful Gorgeous shoes but unfortunately they never broke in. I wore them often ...many 12 hours days on my feet. I would wear four (two in each foot) band-aids to avoid blisters sure that if I wore them often enough they would break in. They always got compliments but unfortunately they are very uncomfortable.
Date published: 2015-03-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very stylish, comfortable shoe but some quality issues I love the style of the shoe and they are very comfortable. But The first time that I wore the shoe the lining of the shoe (under my foot) came loose and now every time I wear the shoe the lining comes off attached to my foot. Since you obviously wouldn't wear socks with them there is really no way to avoid this. Madewell should begin to use a better adhesive to keep that lining attached to the shoe.
Date published: 2015-03-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not in Love I have two pairs of these that were bought last year that I wear all the time. I received the black leather ones in the mail yesterday & I could immediately tell there were obviously some small changes to the design made & they were HUGE. Not sure if it was a flaw in the pair I bought but I own 5 different pairs of Madewell flats, all the same size 9.5 & these were way too big. I even checked the sizes on them & my other pairs twice in disbelief. I paid for expedited shipping expecting perfection & was thoroughly disappointed when these didnt live up to that. I will be returning them.
Date published: 2015-02-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Size Up for Sure I'm usually an 8.5-9 - I bought the size 9. They're still too tight! Can't wait for them to stretch out. 1st wearing was painful. As per other reviews, I suspect it'll take a couple wearings to stretch. Color and style are great!
Date published: 2015-02-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Color Different from Photo I purchase this online and was looking forward to wearing them until I actually got them in the mail. They are much darker in person. It's so annoying that the color on the website doesn't match or even come close to the color of the actual product. I returned it.
Date published: 2014-07-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from LOVE the look, but they're very uncomfortable They really, really hurt my feet. I am hoping they will feel better soon.
Date published: 2014-06-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Adorable, but painful. I love the way these shoes look. I will say the color was paler than the picture looks. I was surprised by the fact that they looked more pinkish-beige than brown. Also, holy cow, these shoes require some serious breaking in. I expect my heels to hurt/blister/ sometimes bleed when breaking in new shoes, but these shoes also really cramped and 4th toe, to the point that they hurt for days. I won't return them because I've already worn them, but if I knew they were this painful to break in I definitely would have thought twice.
Date published: 2014-06-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cute but Uncomfortable I think these shoes are very cute. I do agree they make your feet look quite large due to the point, but still adorable with skinny jeans. However, the first day I wore them they tore up both of my heels. I think it may be because I got them a little large (usually wear 8.5 and bought a 9)...but I feel 8.5 would've been too small. I bought heel inserts from target and plan to keep them and wear them once my heels heal!
Date published: 2014-03-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too pointy I would've loved to have kept this shoe…it's exactly what I'd been looking for in a spring flat. However, it's too pointy and made my foot look huge. (And I'm a size 5.5!) A sales associate had told me they run a bit large and that I should go down a half size, so I ordered a 5. I think they may have been a tad small, but it seemed like a 5.5 would've been too big. They also seemed like they would've been very uncomfortable. Very disappointed to return these.
Date published: 2014-03-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great style but stiff leather I love the style and color of these shoes, but the leather is very stiff. The stiffness of the leather made them uncomfortable and tight across the top of my feet. Due to the price, I was afraid to take the chance of keeping them and seeing if they would stretch with wear. Unfortunately had to return. As far as sizing I normally wear an 8 and these seem to fit fine lengthwise.
Date published: 2014-02-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Looks great but not comfortable Beautiful flats, but it gave me blisters after just a short trip to the grocery store.
Date published: 2015-05-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from SO uncomfortable I love the look of these shoes so much that when the 7 was so painful, I bought yet another pair in 7.5. While the 7.5 was an improvement, still not great. I've stuck it out walking in these shoes for days and they are by far the most uncomfortable shoes I have ever owned. Disappointing and expensive lesson learned!
Date published: 2015-04-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from uncomfortable Bought them to avoid using heels. It was ok at the beginning, but just few hours after left me a big blister in my ankle. I cannot use them now for over 5 days. They look pretty and the material is good. The pictures are very close to reality.
Date published: 2015-03-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from wanted to love... but SOOOO uncomfortable! I have been looking to replace my everyday flats, and was hoping these would be the flats. The style and color are fantastic, but the fit is tight and the shoes are very painful. Maybe a different foot could wear them better?
Date published: 2014-05-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ouch - so cute, but so painful I wore these for the first time today. They look great, but I have painful blisters from them rubbing the back of my heel. I can only hope that they'll break in with more wear.
Date published: 2014-03-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Heel Would love this shoe if it just had a little bit of heel
Date published: 2014-02-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from beautiful shoe...so uncomfortable These were a splurge for me...so excited to get this beautiful shoe but I got 4 blisters on the side of my heels the first time I wore them. I am going to try and return them Very disappointed.
Date published: 2014-02-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from started coming apart the first time I wore them Not only did these shoes give me blisters so bad that I have not been able to wear regular shoes to work but they also started coming apart the first day I wore them. The inside leather on the shoe started coming up within a few hours of wearing them. Super cute shoe but horrible disaster to wear.
Date published: 2015-03-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from My feet are bleeding Maybe I just got a bad pair? I've only walked about half a mile today and they have rubbed my feet raw. Perhaps I should have walked around the store some more, but these are the most uncomfortable shoes I've ever purchased. And that says a lot since I tend to wear super high heels.
Date published: 2014-05-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Love the look, killed my feet I love these so much, but I had to return home to change shoes after walking four blocks. Really, really uncomfortable and left four huge blisters. Looking for a way to break them in, but wary that they'll ever work. Really disappointed because again - they look great.
Date published: 2014-04-05
  • y_2017, m_8, d_22, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_67
  • loc_en_US, sid_A4460, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_madewell