This Just In

NEW ARRIVALS

Looks We Love

Labels We Love

The Madewell Essentials

Monogram It

Denim Report

Events

Your double-tap-worthy pics

From denim recycling to
beach cleaning

clothing

DENIM

TEES & SWEATSHIRTS

SHIRTS & TOPS

SWEATERS

JACKETS & COATS

DRESSES

SKIRTS

PANTS & SHORTS

OVERALLS & JUMPSUITS

LEISURE & ACTIVE

intimates & pajamas

SWIM & BEACHWEAR

SALE

extended sizes

shoes, bags &
more

SHOES & BOOTS

(see all)

oxfords & loafers
flats
sneakers
boots
heels
mules
rain & cold-weather boots
slippers
sandals

BAGS

JEWELRY

sunglasses

ACCESSORIES

GIFT & HOME

BEAUTY

Behind
The Scenes

Our Blog

Denim Report

#DENIMMADEWELL

#EVERYDAYMADEWELL

#Totewell

#WELLHEELED

About Madewell

The Gemma Mule in Leather
full size
The Gemma Mule in Leather
Product Details
Currently obsessing over these Moroccan-inspired slide-on mules with a sleek pointed toe. Made of buttery soft leather, these are the kind of shoes we're wearing with everything from jeans to dresses. When you select your size, "H" equals a half size.
  • Leather upper and lining.
  • Man-made sole.
  • Import.
SHIPPING
Free shipping exclusively for Madewell Insiders
*For complete details, see our Shipping Policy.

The Gemma Mule in Leather

The Gemma Mule in Leather is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 26.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! So chic! Received so many compliments upon the first day of wear. They are so cute match with a huge array of clothing. I would say go half a size up. I ordered my regular size and my heel I right at the edge of the shoe. Great for fall spring and summer. Leather is so soft.
Date published: 2017-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally!!! I've been waiting for an easy to put on slipper/shoe that I can throw on quickly but still look put together without having to sacrifice comfort. Great shoe! Highly recommend.
Date published: 2017-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from In ❤️ These shoes are the perfect addition to your fall wardrobe! Mules appear to be the thing this fall and these totally fit the bill. I am a true 9.5, but usually go up to a 10 in running shoes and boots. These were perfect in my usual 9.5 size. Get them, you won't regret it!
Date published: 2017-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from gem of a shoe I don't usually write reviews but these shoes are worth it. so chic, SO comfortable, great quality, great shape, great color. I could go on and on. will probably get them in velvet, too. just buy them already! you know you want to.
Date published: 2017-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pinches the toes, but clear they will wear well I ordered these in a 9 I believe. I typically wear a 8.5-9 depending on the brand. I do not have a wide foot but after a day of wearing these without socks (and I am on my feet for most of the day), they were tight on my toes. I expected the pristine leather of the mule to change and it is but in a way that makes the shoes look well-made and loved. I expect these to become my favorite shoes!
Date published: 2017-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect for fall love these. usually wear a 6, but sized up to 6 1/2 in these as I have had to do with other mules. they fit perfect. recommend sizing up 1/2 size especially if your foot runs on the wider side.
Date published: 2017-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stylish and Comfortable I was concerned about the open back on this shoe but loved the style! I ordered them from my local store and was so excited of the fit and comfort! They are just yummy!
Date published: 2017-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! My new favorite shoe. Beautiful color and soft leather. Ohh so cute!
Date published: 2017-08-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mostly good I am almost consistently a size 7. I tried on both a 6.5 and a 7 and went with the 7. I think if I had to do it again, I would size down. These break in really easily, which is awesome, but I wish they were a little more secure on my foot. That being said, the 7 isn't a major issue. My larger issue is, as another reviewer said, is that the inner sole is already coming undone. Which may be able to be fixed with some glue..but for the price and for the amount in which I've worn them, kind of a disappointment. These shoes are gorgeous though, especially for someone who has endless black shoes and not enough brown in their rotation.
Date published: 2017-09-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from True to size I am a 7.5 and ordered a 7 based on other reviews. I will be returning for a 7.5 as my heel was just too close to the back edge that I was worried I would hang off the back if my feet swelled at all. They are a very pretty color and very comfortable otherwise. Great go-with-anything shoe.
Date published: 2017-08-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute but long toe box I really wanted to love these. Contrary to what others have said, my normal size (8.5) fit well and sizing down 1/2 size was too small. These also run narrow. However, I felt like the long point made my feet look comically large and ultimately these will be returned. If I had cute tiny feet I would definitely have loved them.
Date published: 2017-08-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wear them everywhere I'm in love with these shoes, they go with almost every outfit. I've worn them almost every day since they've arrived. The leather is great quality and the fit is true to size. My only complaint is the lack of support, but you can't expect a lot of support based on the type of shoe it is.
Date published: 2017-09-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Might be hard to break in Such a cute shoe, but they are a bit cumbersome right now. I got confused reading reviews. So many mixed thoughts on the size. I'm usually a 6-6.5. I decided my toe area is wide, and it's a narrow toed shoe so I went with the 6.5. I think I made the right choice. A 6 would have been too small. I expected a bit better quality, a softer leather maybe. These are pretty stiff. I've never ordered from Madewell before and although I love the shoe, at the same time I'm not rushing back online to make another purchase like I have with other clothing and shoe stores. I'm pretty picky though.
Date published: 2017-09-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice style but One shoe arrived with scuffs on the front so I would like to return. The color is darker than in the photos. I don't usually size up, but for this shoe I recommend buying a half size larger.
Date published: 2017-09-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Quality Control Let's start with the bad... I bought these shoes last week and have worn them twice at a mostly sedentary job. Unfortunately, the left inner sole has already come apart from the shoe. I can feel it moving while I walk, which is highly disappointing. It's not hard to see the sole peeling when I take the shoe off. For the good: minimal break-in needed. I've had trouble with Madewell loafers/ flats in the past, but these only required one band-aid on the right side for the first time wearing it. I love the style and received numerous compliments.
Date published: 2017-08-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not great Not as comfortable as I had hoped. They are hard to keep on your feet as you walk. They constantly slip off.
Date published: 2017-10-02
  • y_2018, m_1, d_17, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_26
  • loc_en_US, sid_G8388, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_madewell