This Just In

NEW ARRIVALS

Madewell x As Ever™

Spring 2018 Denim

Looks We Love

Labels We Love

The Madewell Essentials

Monogram It

Denim Report

Events

Your double-tap-worthy pics

From denim recycling to
beach cleaning

clothing

DENIM

TEES & SWEATSHIRTS

SHIRTS & TOPS

SWEATERS

(see all)

pullovers
turtlenecks
cardigans & sweater-jackets
sleeveless & short sleeve
cashmere

JACKETS & COATS

DRESSES

SKIRTS

PANTS & SHORTS

OVERALLS & JUMPSUITS

LEISURE & ACTIVE

intimates & pajamas

SWIM & BEACHWEAR

SALE

extended sizes

shoes, bags &
more

SHOES & BOOTS

BAGS

JEWELRY

sunglasses

ACCESSORIES

GIFT & HOME

BEAUTY

Behind
The Scenes

Our Blog

#DENIMMADEWELL

#EVERYDAYMADEWELL

#Totewell

#WELLHEELED

About Madewell

Ribbed Sweater Top
full size
Ribbed Sweater Top
Ribbed Sweater Top
Ribbed Sweater Top
Product Details
A modern basic with a '70s feel. This slim ribbed sweater top, has fresh elbow-length sleeves (read: this supersoft style is made for overalls).
  • Fitted.
  • Extra-fine merino wool.
  • Dry clean.
  • Import.
SHIPPING
Free shipping exclusively for Madewell Insiders
*For complete details, see our Shipping Policy.

Ribbed Sweater Top

Ribbed Sweater Top is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 30.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite! I love this sweater! It has quickly become a staple in my closet. I am usually between a Small or a Medium at Madewell, but sized up to Medium based on other reviews that the white sweater was a bit see-through. With a medium, I haven't experienced any issues with the thickness of the sweater and don't have any see-through areas on the top. The only downside, in my opinion, is that it is dry clean only.
Date published: 2017-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fall weight This is my new favorite fall top. It's the perfect mix between tshirt and sweater weight, while the cut elevates a casual outfit. The knit is ultra comfortable. Small was form fitting but not tight- just right. (5'3", 112lb)
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this piece This piece works great for casual, or work has a lovely drape and feel. Better than expected! Hope they come out with more colors.
Date published: 2017-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Obsessed. Great for work and weekend I love this sweater. Fantastic paired over dress for work, with high waisted jeans, or generally as a transitional layer. It's the perfect fitted but not tight. I find the material comfortable (not scratchy) and high quality. I'd buy more in more colors! I'm 5'10", 145 lbs (normally size 4-6 and small) and small fit perfectly.
Date published: 2017-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Autumn Staple This light sweater is so soft and perfect for fall weather (I have it in cream). Dress it up or down. A great alternative to a white cotton tee. I'll be getting a lot of use out this! I'm normally xxs in Madewell and the xxs fit me perfectly.
Date published: 2017-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple and Versatile It's easy to overlook the importance of a staple piece like this. It's super soft and comfortable and probably looks good on any body shape or skin tone. I love layering on top of this and the price is great.
Date published: 2017-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from soft and warm It feels soft and warm. I can't wait to wear my dark grey sweater during this fall and winter.
Date published: 2017-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love love love favorite top for all. I wear it with skirts and high waisted pants. very flattering. Love the sleeve length
Date published: 2016-10-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This gets a yes! I sized down from my usual S to an XS, and the fit is perfect! I'm only 5'2" so the length isn't an issue. The Heather Coal shade is a little darker IRL, which I personally like. It's very soft and not too itchy. This will be great for milder weather. It is quite delicate so take care to not let it snag on anything. A cute knit top that's casual but a tad dressier.
Date published: 2017-10-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice light sweater for early fall This sweater is simple but really cute with a nice retro looking neckline and quartered sleeves. It’s very flattering even though the middle portion is not very fitted. It fits rather true to size. I’m 5’9 and 138 lbs and the small fit me well. The only thing is that the color I got-oatmeal/cream- is sheer so you can see the outline of my bra. I have dark skin so this isn’t a huge problem for me, but I wouldn’t want to layer something underneath this piece. Could be dressed up or down. I wore mine with ripped jeans and white sneakers and it was the perfect casual outfit.
Date published: 2017-10-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice but not great I ordered this sweater in size XS in hthr oyster color. First of all, I would like to say it's not heather, it's pure ivory/natural color. It's not crazy thin, but it's on the thinner side and see-through. I didn't find it small and short. The length is perfect for me (I'm 5'4" and it hits me a couple inches lower my belly button) and the width is on the large side. It's not tight at all (my bust is 32" and waist is 25.5"), much wider than off-the-shoulder sweater in the same size, the sleeves are a little bit loose (but I have pretty skinny arms). Nice sweater, but I think it's a little bit boring, not typicall for Madewell. Another con for me - dry clean recommendation. Can't say anything about pilling, cause I haven't worn it and plan to return.
Date published: 2017-08-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Slightly see-through but very chic I bought this top in "hthr oyster" (off white) and as others have noted, it is a little risque to not wear with something underneath. I wore it with a white bralette under but you could still see the outline of the bralette. I thought it was a cute look, however I would recommend a skintone-matching nude if you really care if people can see that you're wearing a bra (but why?). The material is very lightweight and a little rough, but not enough that it makes you uncomfortable or notice it while wearing. I'm not sure if it will get caught on things easily and snag, fingers crossed.
Date published: 2016-10-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very flattering, not excellent quality This sweater looks amazing on and it's soft to the touch. However, I'm not 100% pleased with the quality of the material and the fact that it's dry clean only. Most merino wool is washer safe but I have a feeling this piece couldn't handle even a gentle cycle wash so I'm not taking any chances. I'm keeping it because it really looks amazing on, yet I wouldn't recommend it for those who prefer durable over fashionable.
Date published: 2016-10-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect layering piece This is great, versatile top. As another reviewer said, it's very throwback '90-'00s, and it looks great with high-waisted jeans. It also looks great with high-waisted trousers, skirts, or overalls - but it is short, so high-waisted is key. My one complaint is that the fabric is a little thin/flimsy - it's not bad quality, but it's not quite as good quality as most of the Madewell stuff I have. Still, it's a great layering piece. I bought the Canterbury Red (which is actually significantly lighter/more orange than it looks online), and will probably buy in at least one more color before the season is over. It's just so useful. It also runs a little small - I usually wear a small at Madewell, and had to get an extra small in this.
Date published: 2016-09-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great layering piece Like other reviewers said, it is a thin shell but it is perfect for layering under cardigans for the fall. I really like the ivory color. I hesitated between a small and a medium and went with the small, but due to my broad shoulders, a medium probably would have been a better fit-I am just too lazy to return it!
Date published: 2017-09-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice top, a bit short This was exactly as expected except it was a bit short. I really wish it had another 2 inches on the length. I like that it is a natural fiber.
Date published: 2017-09-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from crazy thin, crazy short I cannot believe how thin this sweater is. Definitely need to wear a tank under it. Also, I'm about 5'8" with a long torso -- the sweater only hits around my belly button. Way too short. Looks ok with my high waisted suit skirts for work so might keep it, but will prob have a hard time fitting it into my casual wardrobe. Also runs a little small for madewell sizing. i'm normally an xs or a small. Got this in a small.
Date published: 2017-08-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from very short wish I hadn't bought this final sale. it's fitted, thin fabric; while it would be nice under a blazer, the shirt is very short and barely meets my waistband in high-waisted pants. Not what I was looking for.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wouldn't buy again It is very sheer, very short (almost like a crop top) and I don't feel that it is well-made. I was hoping for a great white sweater that I could wear all of the time. I have to wear this one with a sweater over it because it is so sheer. Way disappointed with the quality and sizing for the price it was.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Pilling and snags after one wear I bought it a couple of days ago and wore it once. I literally sat on the couch all day so there's no way I could have done real damage to it. If it was truly 100% merino wool it wouldn't pill so quickly. I'm going to bring it back today and see what they say.
Date published: 2016-08-29
  • y_2018, m_2, d_23, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_30
  • loc_en_US, sid_F5261, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_madewell