This Just In

NEW ARRIVALS

Looks We Love

Labels We Love

The Madewell Essentials

Monogram It

Denim Report

Events

Your double-tap-worthy pics

From denim recycling to
beach cleaning

clothing

DENIM

TEES & SWEATSHIRTS

SHIRTS & TOPS

SWEATERS

(see all)

pullovers
turtlenecks
cardigans & sweater-jackets
cashmere

JACKETS & COATS

DRESSES

SKIRTS

PANTS & SHORTS

OVERALLS & JUMPSUITS

LEISURE & ACTIVE

intimates & pajamas

SWIM & BEACHWEAR

SALE

extended sizes

shoes, bags &
more

SHOES & BOOTS

BAGS

JEWELRY

sunglasses

ACCESSORIES

GIFT & HOME

BEAUTY

Behind
The Scenes

Our Blog

Denim Report

#DENIMMADEWELL

#EVERYDAYMADEWELL

#Totewell

#WELLHEELED

About Madewell

Donegal Northfield Mockneck Sweater
full size
Donegal Northfield Mockneck Sweater
Donegal Northfield Mockneck Sweater
Donegal Northfield Mockneck Sweater
Product Details
Cozy and relaxed, this wear-all-season-long mockneck sweater is made of soft flecked Donegal yarn. Cool ribbed details like angled side seams give it a modern feel.
  • True to size.
  • Nylon/acrylic/wool/poly.
  • Hand wash.
  • Import.
SHIPPING
Free shipping exclusively for Madewell Insiders
*For complete details, see our Shipping Policy.

Donegal Northfield Mockneck Sweater

Donegal Northfield Mockneck Sweater is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 54.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mockneck of My Dreams! I saw this sweater pop up on the website, and immediately called my local store to see if they had it in stock - they did so I went right in to give it a try; it didn't disappoint! It's super soft, and I worry a bit that it might pill, but that remains to be seen. It fits TTS for Madewell meaning it runs a bit oversized like most of their pieces; I am 5'7.5" and 132lbs and got the XS. The small fit as well and I had a hard time deciding between the two, but ultimately decided to go with my regular size as the small looked a bit sloppy around the hips if not tucked in. As the other reviewer mentioned, this one is much softer, thinner weave, and more drapey than it's solid colored counterparts. In the time I was in the store, they went from having every size available to only a since Large left in stock - don't sleep on this one!
Date published: 2017-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cozy and flattering I could wear this sweater every day. I’m 5’2”, 120 lbs and I’m happy with how the small fits (although, it’s the only size I tried on). It’s perfect for work or more casual with leggings. Love it!
Date published: 2017-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fall sweater I would normally wait until this sweater went on sale but didn't want to risk not having it! The donegal is a nice touch; the fabric is not itchy at all; the shape is lovely. For Madewell sweaters, I usually wear an XS or a small - had to return the small for the XS in this case. I'm 5'3" and even the XS is a little long on me, but overall I love it.
Date published: 2017-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft and comfortable Love this sweater. I’m 5’2” and got the XS. Fits great at that size.
Date published: 2017-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mock neck sweater Great color, fabric and style, I wear it with leggings and boots
Date published: 2018-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite This has become my favorite sweater. It is very comfortable. It's not itchy and it looks fantastic on. I have received multiple compliments.
Date published: 2018-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cozy Chic Comfortable fabric. Breathable. Cozy knit. Beautiful on.
Date published: 2018-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Daughter loved it! Bought this as a gift for my daughter. She loves it! Nice and cozy! Fits true to size!
Date published: 2017-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Sweater! This sweater is so comfortable and flattering! I love the wide ribbing and the mockneck is the perfect shape. I received it as a Christmas present along with a gift card, and like it so much that I just used the gift card to buy the same sweater in another color! Highly recommend.
Date published: 2017-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple, elegant sweater I bought this sweater for both my daughters who are in their late twenties. They loved the softness as well as the comfortable fit. The color is neutral with dark flecks so it is very versatile. A simple, elegant sweater.
Date published: 2017-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this sweater! I purchased this sweater and the one in heather cactus They were perfect for my trip to Boston - warm, but not too bulky. They look great with a bandanna tied around the neck and are my new go-to sweater.
Date published: 2017-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of my favorite sweaters from Madewell! Oh my gosh this sweater is amazing! I love the length of the top, as well as the hidden pattern of this sweater!! The size tag on the back is a bit scratchy on the skin though, but there's not a scissor that can't fix! (I'm 5'7 145 lbs and got mine in size M).
Date published: 2017-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this sweater! My most worn sweater all year! So comfortable and adorable! I get tons of compliments!
Date published: 2017-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cute and comfy Love this sweater. It's warm and super cute. Definitely recommend it.
Date published: 2017-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft and cozy. Love it. Will definitely wear it many seasons to come.
Date published: 2017-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So soft I adore this sweater! The material is soft, drapes well, and is sturdy (doesn't pill). I've worn this sweater repeatedly- it's a perfect cozy winter sweater that goes with everything. I took my usual size (I'm 5'2 and purchased the XXS) and found it to still be roomy.
Date published: 2017-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Sweater!! This sweater is absolutely fantastic! The material is soft and not itchy at all even though it has some wool in it. I worry sometimes with ordering Madewell tops online since I find a lot of them to be very short. (I have a long torso). But this one is perfect and sits right at the top of my jean pockets. I can not recommend this sweater enough! I am an XXS-XS and the XS fit just like the model.
Date published: 2017-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this sweater This sweater is cozy and warm. I love the speckles. Fit is roomy. Nice quality.
Date published: 2017-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Today is the first very cold day of the season and I decided to try out my donegal sweater. It's a keeper! Very comfortable. Not itchy at all. I like the shape....roomy, but not boxy. The mockneck isn't tight which I really like. I bought a small which is what I typically wear with Madewell sweaters. I'm 5'6 and 120lbs. 32D. I may consider buying another one.
Date published: 2017-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect winter sweater I love this sweater! I am a sweater person and prefer wool and cashmere in the winter. Even thought this is a blend, it is cozy and warm. I love the tweedy look, the fit and it is so soft.
Date published: 2017-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect winter sweater I’m 5’8” 126lbs and normally a small, (so I got that) this is a bit oversized but i prefer sweaters bigger. It’s so comfortable (not scratchy) and flattering, I just wish there were more colors.
Date published: 2017-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! This sweater is super soft and cozy - - I got it in a size bigger because I wanted it a little roomy (normally wear an XS/S and got a M). It is a little bit longer in the back, which is a nice touch. Definitely recommend!
Date published: 2017-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My New Favorite I just love this sweater! It is very soft and cozy. I like that it is not cropped or boxy like so many of this season's sweaters. I can't wait to order it in another color! For reference: I am 5'3", 100 lbs. and my usual Madewell xxs fit well.
Date published: 2017-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So cozy Love this sweater. There's a good weight to the knit and it keeps you super warm. It has a bit of slouch, which looks great tucked in to jeans. I've worn this sweater for a few days and am noticing a tiny bit of pilling under the arms, but I guess I'll just have to be cautious with it. Overall super cute and cozy!
Date published: 2017-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New favorite sweater Beautiful color, awesome fit, and it keeps its shape really well. I'm usually an XS, and the XS fit me great. It's so soft, and the mockneck is nice on cold days!
Date published: 2017-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality sweater This sweater did not disappoint. It's a substantial knit, very soft, and fits true-to-size. For reference, I'm 5'9 with a relatively slim frame and the S fit perfectly. This is a sweater that's on-trend and keeps you warm!
Date published: 2017-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! This is one of the best sweaters I've ever bought. It's soft and cozy and looks great. The color is a light gray, a little bit lighter than in the pictures. It goes great with jeans or leggings and can be dressed up or down. I like the mockneck style a lot, as sometimes turtlenecks can be restrictive. The fit is good- slightly oversized in the best way. I bought size XS and I'm 5'0" 110 lbs 27 in. waist and found it to be the perfect size. Buy it, you won't regret it!!
Date published: 2017-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect chunky sweater This is a great, cozy sweater. Perfectly oversized without being baggy and frumpy.
Date published: 2017-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for layering or alone Love this piece ... super soft and not as stiff as the solid color sweater. Looks cute with jeans !
Date published: 2017-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful, Goes with Everything Sweater I love this versatile sweater. Sometimes I wear a thin turtleneck or just by itself. Pants - jeans, cords, practically any color. Nice and warm. You can't go wrong. I am 5'5", medium build, 36C, Size 29 waist. I think this runs TTS.
Date published: 2017-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE PERFECT SWEATER It's a literal dream come true. So soft, great quality, and a perfect mockneck. Pairs great with every shade of black or blue denim and effortlessly dresses up and down. I'm 5'2" and went with my usual size small and the length and fit are perfect--just oversized enough but not too much to where it looks like I'm wearing a sack. Cozy, cute, perfect for the season and worth every penny!
Date published: 2017-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cozy and Beautiful The back drops down quite a bit more than I expected but it looks great so I kept it. It feels fabulous on (soft and cozy) and I've received so many compliments about it.
Date published: 2017-11-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm sweater! Like this sweater, both in style and color. Very warm without bulk. Is a bit scratchy, but wore a tank shirt underneath, and did not find it uncomfortable as noted by others. Overall satisfied with this choice.
Date published: 2017-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Winter magic It is soft, light, but really warm. It fits perfect. It will be my winter favorite!!! Thanks madewell!
Date published: 2017-12-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not what I expected. The sweater is very warm, and the material is beautiful. However, this was a much larger sweater than I anticipated. It did not fit me the way I thought it would, which was a little disappointing, but still a good sweater.
Date published: 2017-12-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice style A tad oversized, and comfortable. The fabric feels luxurious and a good weight. Perfect for layering.
Date published: 2017-12-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfy! Lightweight but still warm and super cozy. The color/texture is great and the style of the neck is flattering. The only thing I dislike is that after wearing it once you could tell it felt a little loose/not shaped... like it's already time to be laundered... but since it's a large sweater you can still get away with it.
Date published: 2017-11-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Potato Sack I wanted to love this so much! It's very well made, soft, and a great color. But I'm a size M with broad shoulders, and the cut of this sweater did me no favors. It fit my shoulders but was left loose around my armpits and looked like I was wearing a potato sack in combination with the color. I'm sure it looks great on a lot of people, but the broad-shouldered are forewarned.
Date published: 2017-11-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wanted to love this sweater The fit was too boxy for my 5'2" 120 pound frame but would be great on a tall thin frame. Really loved the soft fabric and nubby look.
Date published: 2017-11-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not for me This just did not work for me. Its gorgeous and warm, but the mock neck didn't really sit comfortably for me and was awkward. Personal preference, just not my sweater!
Date published: 2017-12-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Weird fit This sweater fit me so weird. It made me look like a puffy marshmallow. My favorite sweater is from madewell a few years ago and I’m always looking for more of them. This is not it. This would probably look good on someone tall and very thin.
Date published: 2017-12-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Y Tho I am so severely bummed about this sweater. It is super duper soft and cozy. The donegal is perfectly speckled.The cut is TERRIBLE!!!! So boxy and wide in the torso and hip. I look like a sad caterpillar and I wear an XS. I’m 5’5 120lbs, slightly curvy and the size is fine but why is this so wide and boxy? I will be returning and I’m so sad bc it should have been a winner.
Date published: 2017-11-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nice fabric This sweater runs tts, the fabric is great but the neck is super odd. It did not look good on me at all, maybe it was the construction of mine in particular but it’s going back!
Date published: 2017-12-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor Quality Poor quality Very baggy bottom neckline poorly constructed
Date published: 2017-12-27
  • y_2018, m_1, d_17, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_54
  • loc_en_US, sid_H3338, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_madewell