This Just In

NEW ARRIVALS

Looks We Love

Labels We Love

The Getaway Shop

The Madewell Essentials

Graduation Gifts

Monogram It

Denim Report

Events

Our clothes, your pics

Denim Donation

clothing

DENIM

TEES & TANKS

(see all)

tanks
short-sleeve tees
long-sleeve tees
bodysuits
sweatshirts
graphic tees
tee dresses

SHIRTS & TOPS

SWEATERS

JACKETS

DRESSES

SKIRTS

SHORTS & PANTS

LEISURE

intimates & pajamas

SWIM & BEACHWEAR

SALE

extended sizes

shoes, bags &
more

SHOES & SANDALS

BAGS

JEWELRY

sunglasses

ACCESSORIES

GIFT & HOME

Behind
The Scenes

Our Blog

Denim Report

#DENIMMADEWELL

#EVERYDAYMADEWELL

#Totewell

#WELLHEELED

About Madewell

Bien Fait Sweatshirt
full size
Bien Fait Sweatshirt
Bien Fait Sweatshirt
Bien Fait Sweatshirt
Product Details
Our much-loved toss-it-on-with-everything sweatshirt, finished with a shrunken shape and a cool graphic touch. (Bien fait, printed across the front and back, means "made well" in French.)
  • Shrunken fit.
  • Please note: We recommend ordering one size up for a true-to-size fit.
  • French terry cotton.
  • Hand wash.
  • Import.
SHIPPING & RETURNS
Free shipping and free returns exclusively for Madewell Insiders
(hi there, risk-free try-ons). *For complete details, see our Shipping Policy and Return Policy.

Bien Fait Sweatshirt

Bien Fait Sweatshirt is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 71.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun sweatshirt! I bought this for my daughter and she loves it! It fits beautifully and has worn and washed well. A bit pricy but she'll wear it a lot and likes that it's unique.
Date published: 2014-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unique and oh so stylish Love, love, love this sweatshirt. You can dress it up or down and at least one person will ask you where you got it. It definitely runs small. I'm normally a Small, but I ordered a Medium. I've worn it with a blouse underneath and found that I probably could have gotten away with a Large if I wanted a looser fit. I'm pulling it out of the dryer before it's completely dry to prevent further shrinkage!
Date published: 2014-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from chic I love this sweatshirt. Overall, it's exactly what I was looking for: casual but easy to dress up a little, clean design, comfy. I wish it were a little softer and a little heavier. I'm also a little nervous the type is going to start cracking – it gets wavy when you put it in the dryer, so this might become a line-dry item. Otherwise, I love it.
Date published: 2014-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Almost perfect.. I love the style, and yes it is basic black sweatshirt, but the fit is amazing, almost perfect! For reference, I wear a sz 2 or xs J crew dress or camis and perfect shirt most times, sometimes a sz 4 or a small in sweater, and the sz small on this sweatshirt fits almost perfectly, it has the right bagginess and crop updated look of a cool and chic sweatshirt. My only beef is... the bottom part of the sleeves is very tight and the material is not very stretchy, so pulling up the sleeves is almost impossible. I plan to wear it on days when I run around for errands and not being able to pull up the sleeves is quite annoying. Apart from that, I am very happy with my purchase. the quality if the fabric is also nice, not cheap and thin.
Date published: 2014-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Show your Madewell love This sweatshirt is so comfortable and you really can throw it over anything. My favourite way to wear it is over a button up in silk or chambray. Other reviewers said they found it ran small, but I ordered my usual size small and it fit great.
Date published: 2014-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous sweatshirt! I absolutely love this sweatshirt! I am not someone that will wear a regular sweatshirt or sweatpants, but this one is different! It is very comfortable to wear and looks extremely stylish. This has become one of my go-to pieces. I highly recommend it! (Note - it does run a little small, so if you want to wear it with a shirt underneath, order one size up.)
Date published: 2013-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I love a goods sweatshirt. This one has a slim fit -- perfect for not looking slouchy. And the black and white give it a slight classic touch.
Date published: 2013-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this sweatshirt I ordered this a few months ago and it was on back order. It was well worth the wait. Super cute and comfortable and fits great! Highly recommend.
Date published: 2013-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THIS SWEATSHIRT I love this, it's cool, comfortable, and you can dress it up or down! I am normally a small bit ordered a medium as I am longer in the torso and wanted some extra length. I highly recommend this to everyone!
Date published: 2013-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! J'adore this sweatshirt! The fit and quality are amazing! I can't wait to play with it and pair it up with a few different outfits! :)
Date published: 2013-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Adorable sweatshirt, runs on the smaller side Very cute, comfortable and well fitting. Runs a bit small so I would size up one size unless you want it SUPER fitted.
Date published: 2013-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Sweatshirt Ever! I love, love, love this sweatshirt. Yes, I agree with the other reviews, it's kind of expensive for basically a plain sweatshirt. I wish the lettering was embroidered on instead. That being said, I do love this sweatshirt and will wear it often and have it forever. Most madewell clothes are too big on me, but this sweatshirt fit absolutely perfectly. I've already washed it and it keeps its shape. I can also wear a buttoned down shirt underneath. I love the fit so much. I wish Madewell would make more like this. for the record I'm 5' and very petite. I am so glad I ordered this!
Date published: 2013-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from cute but small well I normally wear a small or size 4....in this a medium just fit...should have gone with a large
Date published: 2013-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cult Status!! Fell in love when I saw this sweat shirt in the catalogue. Was disappointed, none to be had in store. On line, the item said, "Back order in December." I thought it was hopeless, that we weren't destined to be together. Stopped in store and a savy sales person called Madewell, spoke to an associate, shirt was ordered. To my surprise and delight the shirt arrived in the second week of October. We're living happily ever after...
Date published: 2013-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not just a sweatshirt... Awesome!!! I paired it with a skirt and flats. Perfect "dress down" top for Friday. My students were impressed.
Date published: 2013-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Well Made! First it was a wonderful surprise to receive my sweatshirt so quickly since it was supposed to be available after December 20! And the quality is wonderful. I love the 'Bien Fait' which can be a double entendre if you are fluent in French!
Date published: 2013-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cute sweatshirt Love this shirt! Had my eye on it for a while but didn't buy it until it went on sale as I found the original price a bit expensive for a sweatshirt. Note that this actually does fit true to size - I find in general that Madewell sizing runs on the larger size, but the XS is indeed quite 'shrunken' :)
Date published: 2013-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from French Graphic This is a regular plain black sweater. It's the 'Bien' and the 'Fait' on the front and the back that truly make this sweater. I'm 5'2" and 105lbs. I bought a small and it fits perfectly.
Date published: 2013-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it This sweatshirt is great; I truly can wear it with everything. It's doesn't feel bulky yet still goes over a denim shirt. The only issue is the steep price. Not what I'd normally pay for a sweatshirt but I'm glad I purchased it.
Date published: 2013-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it very happy w/ sweatshirt. was a little nervous that it would be too big (I got a medium) but it fits perfectly. I would say it runs small, so be careful w/ the size. Washes nicely and looks great. Very happy with this sweatshirt
Date published: 2013-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality, warm, soft, perfect fit! Just as I expected, this sweatshirt is well-made, soft, warm, and surprisingly versatile. I wear it on its own when I'm lounging at home, under a jacket when out shopping with friends, and even over a crisp shirt at the office! I'm 5'2", 107lbs, and I ordered an XS. It fits just right. I think the sweatshirt is a bit on the expensive side as far as sweatshirts go, but the material is very nice, and it's sure to become a wardrobe staple. Go for it!
Date published: 2013-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sweat Chic Perfect fit, so comfortable without being boxy or baggy. I ordered a small and it is just right (I am 5' 7" and 115 lbs). I have worn it to work over a button up with a pencil skirt and to dinner with heels and ripped jeans. Such a great fall staple.
Date published: 2013-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can be dressed up or down. Looks great with jeans or a nice blouse and work pants. Clever graphic gives it a special appeal. Best purchase in a long time!
Date published: 2013-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Basic Black With Character This sweatshirt is a great staple piece. Being black, it is a necessary basic, but with more character. I felt the xs size was pretty true, but sizing up may not make a world of difference. I suppose it depends on your desired look. It is on the lighter weight side, so cold weather will require something under, over or both. Honestly, you can't go wrong with this as a layering piece. It's versatile and unique!
Date published: 2013-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from wear this forever I love this sweater. Super light weight, perfect for layering. I think this runs small. Size up if you plan on layering. I wish it came in more colors!
Date published: 2013-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome little sweatshirt This sweatshirt is so comfortable, a great length and looks very chic with a dark pair of skinny/tapered jeans. I got a ton of compliments the first time I wore it. It does in fact run a bit on the smaller side.
Date published: 2013-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from loved it I am going to wear this all the time! It fits exactly like it did on the model, and it is super comfortable.
Date published: 2013-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE!!! I just got this in the mail and it is so soft and comfy. LOVE this sweatshirt! It's thin but enough to perfectly layer a jacket over. Not fuzzy inside but just french terry so it's light and not heavy. I live in California so I could probably wear this all year long. I'm a medium and the medium fits TTS. The graphic is nicely screened on and it's perfect and super adorable. Very lovely, simple yet chic! Being black, it will probably go with mostly everything in my closet. I can't wait to wear it!! :D
Date published: 2013-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Adorable I am obsessed with this sweatshirt! It does seem to run a bit small. I usually wear an XS at Madewell and they are loose but I went ahead and went a size up to S because I wanted the sweatshirt even looser. I actually love the fit but it fits the way their XS usually fit on me so I'm glad I sized up. Especially before even washing. Great quality and a very versatile, everyday piece for the fall.
Date published: 2013-09-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute and fits well I'm a petite at 5"2 and 100lbs and the xs was just right. I was worried it was going to be too fitted but it fit well. The bottom appears a little boxy but still fits like it's fitted, but not too loose or tight. I agree with other reviews who said it was a good quality fabric, and not too heavy. I wish it came in othet colour option like navy, grey or red. Also wish the lettering was stitched...honestly I would pay more for this feature!
Date published: 2014-06-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Coolest sweatshirt on the block. Super cute. Bien on the front and Fait on the back. Material not as plush as I had expected, but still comfy. White lettering on black background has a bit of a reddish-pinkish cast to it -- that's my only complaint. Other than that, I have to stop myself from wearing it too often. Goes well with light wash and colored jeans.
Date published: 2014-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Must have been mislabeled I ordered size small online but the sweatshirt I received must have been mislabeled. It was labeled small but it was big! I went to the store to exchange for XS but it was too small. I contemplated on returning since neither XS nor small fit. Last resort was to ask sales associate to bring me size small. It was perfect! Basically, I exchanged size small for another size small. I do like that it's terry cotton. I will wear for a long, long time!
Date published: 2014-02-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So Easy & Chic I purchased this on Sunday and have worn it with everything since (it's Tuesday now)! I wore it with Jeans and my Hunter boots and now I am pairing it with a short wrap skirt and boots. It's easy to wear, I love it's simple and yet eye-catching design with the words BIEN on front and FAIT on back. It's easy to wear and comfortable. I am surprised at the price to be honest with you, it's 100% Cotton and Made in China, so it's not even Organic cotton or made Stateside, but oh well. For that price I was expecting more, I feel it's a slightly sad homage to the fact that companies can mark things up for what certainly cost less to make. Regardless, I purchased it and am wearing it much. But those are my reservations about it above. Au revoir! Oh, and I am a size 2, 5'2" 34B and the Small fits PERFECT.
Date published: 2014-02-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super cute, weird sizing I will agree with the other reviewers that it runs small. I'm 5'5, 120lbs and the small is a little short in the torso and arms. Expensive for a cotton sweatshirt but pretty cute nonetheless.
Date published: 2014-02-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute Sweatshirt Very happy with this sweatshirt. It's very simple, but more stylish than a plain sweatshirt. I generally wear a small, but I'm glad I ordered a medium in this. Although I think the small would have fit, I wasn't looking for this to be too fitted given it is a sweatshirt. This also arrived much faster than I expected, since it had said it was on back-order when I placed my order. It arrived in a normal amount of time, which I had read in a couple of other reviews as well.
Date published: 2014-01-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute but pricey Even though this sweatshirt runs a little small, I ordered my regular size, XS and I am glad. It is a slightly shrunken fit, but I like that. I do not like my clothes oversized. It is a very cute sweatshirt but way overpriced. Definitely wait until it is on sale.
Date published: 2014-01-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun top Cute, comfortable sweatshirt. The space between the lettering doesn't seem 100% even, but not enough to bother me.
Date published: 2014-01-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Vraiment bien fait. Love anything with a French aspect to it, so the second this appeared on the website I lusted after it... FOR MONTHS. Finally ended up receiving it as a Christmas present, and strongly had to stop myself from wearing it everyday. Had it ordered in my normal Madewell size (M), and it fits slouchy but comfy and put together. Goes with jeans, skirts, etc. Perfect for lazy days when you still try to be chic (which is me everyday.)
Date published: 2014-01-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute top Love the font on this, understated but chic. Bit pricey for a sweatshirt so was glad to get it on promotion. I haven't washed it yet so not sure how the print will hold up. Bought for myself and daughter - she thought the sleeves were a little short, on her 5'7" frame. We bought a couple of sizes - seemed to be a big difference between the xs and s, but didn't need to size up as other reviews have suggested - bought our regular Madewell sizes.
Date published: 2014-01-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Kinda like.. gets wrankled in the arms. And catches a lot of cat furs. Mostly a not soft black sweatshirt with French on it that you have to explain to people all the time.
Date published: 2014-01-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quite a lark I wish the lettering was sewn on rather than imprinted. The sweatshirt was charming, to be sure, but making it a true "letter sweater" would have been delight. Be sure to order up one size as I'm a 2/4 at 5'9'/125lbs and a medium is just right.
Date published: 2014-01-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from As cute as it looks online I like that it is black, and being a Francophile, I of course like the words. The fit is nice, not baggy, can accommodate a shirt or light turtleneck as an under layer. It runs small, as I usually wear a small, but Madewell's sizing suggested a medium, and it works well.
Date published: 2013-12-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Can 't go wrong with this This sweatshirt is not as soft material as I thought it would be but still good Fit's nicely... It goes well with skinny jeans, skirts. Not too thick not too thin. I got size small.
Date published: 2013-12-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfy This sweatshirt is awesome. It runs a little fitted/shrunken. It's a wear with everything sweatshirt.
Date published: 2013-12-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Versatile top but runs small I wanted this in the worst kind of way to wear with the studded Teddy Loafers and my leather leggings. It is soft and looks like a good quality but runs REALLY small. It is not a relaxed look like on the model unless you order a size up. When they say "shrunken shape," they mean it!
Date published: 2013-12-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute, not perfect This sweater almost hits the mark. I love the BIEN FAIT print and the overall quality is pretty decent. It's thick and will definitely be a good option in cold temps. However, I did find it to be a little short (overall and in the sleeves) and a little more snug than I prefer my sweaters. I bought this with the intention of layering over a collared shirt, but I think I will feel very constricted if I layer it since it's already snug.
Date published: 2013-10-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wish I had gone up a size Love this sweatshirt. Simple and comfy. Wish I had ordered a size up though as it is a bit snug.
Date published: 2013-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from NICE I love the material it's very soft, I'm 5'3 105 lbs I choose the small because sweathirts are meant to be relax fit and slouchy looking to give more of an effortless look however the only complaint is the neckline I wish it's more of a crew neck not like loose round neck. other than that I will still recommend because I love the graphics on it.
Date published: 2013-10-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from my new fave i love this sweatshirt! the fit is perfect, and it's supersoft! it's not as thick as a traditional sweatshirt-which makes the fit less bulky and more flattering, but i wonder how it will hold up. i will be washing it on delicate for sure. i thought this item was pricey but was willing to buy it for the coolness factor.
Date published: 2013-10-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Adorable Super cute sweatshirt, fits true to size. I love the thin material, makes it very comfortable especially since its not that chilly yet on the east coast. looking forward to layering in the coming months, got a ton of compliments on it.
Date published: 2013-10-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice, but a little too expensive and short I pretty much only wear black, so I like throwing this black scarf on for a little texture. It is sort of "felted" feeling and chunky, so I do wish it was a few inches longer to drape a bit better. Also slightly overpriced, IMHO.
Date published: 2013-09-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from it's alright With all of the rave reviews, I expected to really love this sweatshirt. However, when it finally arrived and I saw it in person, I was a little disappointed with the quality. There is nothing glaringly wrong with the sweatshirt -- it's moderately comfortable and the styling is nice -- but I was expecting a bit more at this price point. I agree with some of the reviewers who mentioned that the graphic should have been stitched on for a sweatshirt at this retail price.
Date published: 2014-06-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Adorable but sleeves are short I really love the look and comfort of this sweatshirt but the sleeves became too short. I washed it according the the instructions and they shrunk up quite a bit. It still looks cute with something layered under it, like a flannel or button up, if the undershirt's sleeves extend past the sweatshirt. I just hate too short sleeves :(
Date published: 2013-12-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's...okay. I really wanted to love this sweatshirt, but I don't. First of all, I wish I had bought a Small. I really don't think it's shrunken like the description says. I bought the Medium and it fits like a sweatshirt. I thought it would look cute worn with a button down shirt underneath, but I tried it and it looks bulky. The quality is "eh" and the price is "really?". I don't know. I don't like being so negative, but honesty is good, right?
Date published: 2013-12-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Funny fit! Unlike everyone else in the entire world, this ran a bit big on me. I am usually a 4 or 6 in J.Crew, but I like my sweaters in medium. This medium was a bit too long for a slim fit, and poochy instead of slouchy. I returned for the small.
Date published: 2013-12-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just Not Meant To Be I wanted this sweatshirt to work out so badly. I normally wear size 4-6 at Madewell. First I ordered a small because a lot of Madewell stuff seems to run a bit big. It was definitely too snug and too short. I like my sweaters/sweatshirts to be looser, so I was hoping a medium would work. I received the medium and it fit pretty similarly to the small. As a last attempt, I ordered the large, and it was way too big, especially in the shoulders, but it was still the same length, so it was really boxy. Unfortunately, I had to send them all back. I so wish one of them would have worked out though!
Date published: 2013-12-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Will return this The sweatshirt runs short and boxy. I did not care for the fit and will return it.
Date published: 2013-10-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not nearly as cute in person I was hoping for a really cute sweatshirt. This did not fit the bill. It was very thin, which is okay but the arms were really tight. It would not be easy to wear something under it. Also the writing is not stitched into the fabric. It was a disappointment for me so it went back.
Date published: 2013-10-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too Short! After months of pining and stalking, I am sad to say that I have my bien fait sweatshirt in the "return to sender" pile. I have to return it because it's just too short. The fabric is lovely and the wording sweet (even though I think it should be embroidered on for that price) but as a 5'9" slender lady with biggish boobs, this sweatshirt reaches my belly button and drapes in all the wrong places. I ordered a size small which is a size larger than my normal XS at J. Crew. So sad. It could have been so good. :( Luckily there are others out there who love you more than I can...
Date published: 2014-03-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from too expensive for the quality I looked forward to arrival of this sweatshirt but once it did, I found that while I liked it well enough, the print on it seemed like something that would wear off easily. It seemed a little pricey for the quality.
Date published: 2013-11-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from poor quality I assumed it would be stitched, it was screened on. When I washed it the letters turned pink because it was in the dark load, which must have had something that was red in it. I expected more for the price.
Date published: 2013-12-22
  • y_2017, m_5, d_25, h_8
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_71
  • loc_en_US, sid_05812, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_madewell