This Just In

NEW ARRIVALS

Looks We Love

Summer 2018 Collection

The Getaway Shop

Labels We Love

The Madewell Essentials

Events

Your double-tap-worthy pics

From denim recycling to
beach cleaning

clothing

DENIM

TEES & TANKS

SHIRTS & TOPS

SWEATERS

JACKETS

DRESSES

SKIRTS

PANTS & SHORTS

LEISURE & ACTIVE

OVERALLS & JUMPSUITS

intimates & pajamas

SWIM & BEACHWEAR

SALE

extended sizes

shoes, bags &
more

SHOES & SANDALS

BAGS

(see all)

totes
crossbody bags
backpacks
satchels & bucket bags
duffels
pouches & wallets
iphone cases & tech
bag accessories

JEWELRY

sunglasses

ACCESSORIES

GIFT & HOME

BEAUTY

Behind
The Scenes

Our Blog

#DENIMMADEWELL

#EVERYDAYMADEWELL

#Totewell

#WELLHEELED

About Madewell

The Small Drawstring Transport Crossbody
full size
The Small Drawstring Transport Crossbody
The Small Drawstring Transport Crossbody
The Small Drawstring Transport Crossbody
The Small Drawstring Transport Crossbody
Product Details
What goes into the new drawstring version of our Transport Crossbody? Here it is by the numbers: 2 pieces of fine leather are used for the body. 2 ways to carry: with the top handles or the detachable shoulder strap. 2 for 1: cinch it closed to transform it into a mini bucket bag. 2 interior side pockets—perfect for your phone, train pass, whatever. 4: the number of hours it'll hang with you at a concert. How often you'll reach for this one? 500 gazillion times.
  • Made of semi vegetable-tanned leather with a softly worn waxed finish that deepens into a distinctive patina.
  • Please note: As it is made of a natural material, each bag varies slightly in texture and color.
  • Drawcord closure.
  • Inside pocket.
  • 3 1/2" handle drop.
  • 19" (at shortest) to 21 5/8" (at longest) crossbody drop.
  • 7 7/8"H x 10"W x 2 5/8"D.
  • Import.
SHIPPING
Free shipping exclusively for Madewell Insiders
*For complete details, see our Shipping Policy.

The Small Drawstring Transport Crossbody

The Small Drawstring Transport Crossbody is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 44.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful, small bag This bag is small and won't fit most wallets, so if you know this going in, you're going to love this little guy. The leather is gorgeous and I'm thrilled to pieces with this purchase.
Date published: 2018-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cute small bag Like this bag, it is the same size as the small transport crossbody, but with the drawstring it adds to the style, like an old school style pouch. Recommend if you don't carry a lot.
Date published: 2018-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Small and stylish! This bag is pretty tiny, but surprisingly practical. I switched out a messenger by Clare V. for this little guy and am so happy to have made the switch. I can fit my phone, keys, passport, camera (a small point and shoot type slim camera), and 5" x 5" sketchbook in this bad boy as well as smaller miscellaneous items like chapstick, pen, and a pack of tums. The leather is so soft and buttery and the strap is detachable. Overall I think it's so well made (ha) and makes carrying everyday items a breeze.
Date published: 2018-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's become my everyday bag! After leaving my keys sitting on a shelf in the grocery store I realized I needed a small tote-around-the-essentials bag for quick errands, etc. This one is perfect. It holds sunglasses, my wallet, phone, and keys + lipstick/chapstick. I debated between the small transport and the drawstring and settled on the drawstring version. I like that even though the drawstring doesn't close fully, it does make it less easy for things to fall out. I also just stick it in the transport tote when I need to carry around more things which makes it easily to find my phone/wallet! I have it in pale green but am considering buying another one because I love it so much.
Date published: 2018-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The perfect summer bag English Saddle was a nice neutral color for the summer. The bag surprisingly holds more than it looks: iPhone 8 Plus, full wallet, keys, mints, and compact. The zipper bag inside is the length of bag and a good catch all including for me: eye drops, lip balm, vitamins etc. I like the drawstring at the top, makes the bag a little more secure. The crossbody works well for me at 5’5 and I like the option of the handles. The leather is good quality but wish the shoulder strap was more comfortable. Overall a great bag.
Date published: 2018-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for any occasion I debated between this bag and the small backpack. This bag is perfect for any occasion. I can wear it to the grocery store or on a date, with leggings or a cute dress and heels. If you’re used to carrying a bigger bag you will need to downsize your essentials but I found it to be refreshing not to carry so much.
Date published: 2018-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bag This crossbody bag is super cute, but definitely on the smaller side. I can fit my wallet and a few other items, but not all the things I normally carry around in my medium long champ bag. I like using this crossbody bag to walk around NYC, it’s light and stylish. I do wish there was a snap to close the top of the bag a little more after it’s cinched for added safety.
Date published: 2018-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great weekend purse... It’s small enough yet spacious. It’s holds my weekend essentials without billing. And I love the color and the quality of the leather.
Date published: 2018-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great small bag! This is a great bag if you are looking for something small and stylish. It fits just the necessary stuff and I didn't have a problem with the strap being too short or anything. I thought it was perfect.
Date published: 2018-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pefect for Summer This bag is the perfect size for running errands around town. The bronzed leaf color is a great neutral as well. I was pleasantly surprised at the buttery softness of the leather.
Date published: 2018-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The purse you need for the Summer! Exactly how it is pictured is how I got. So cute, and fits all my essentials. I bought this in black and it goes great with every outfit.
Date published: 2018-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bag! This bag is so cute & actually fits a good amount of stuff despite the small size.
Date published: 2018-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Small but cute!!! Ordered In khaki green and black but returned both. I didn’t want to believe the other reviews haha. Too small for my needs. Craftsmanship wonderful -smells of genuine leather. Ordered the bigger one with hopes it’s not too big ...
Date published: 2018-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful bag! It's small so you can't overpack, and that's a plus. Gorgeous leather.
Date published: 2018-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bag This small, classic crossbody is perfect for my day-to-day. I don't carry much with me, and I hate toting around large bags. My only complain is one of the shoulder clasps squeaks a little. I think a little oil will solve the problem. Overall, I love it!
Date published: 2018-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice bag I am happy with my purchase, its a bit not as soft as I expected but I am happy with it anyways. Its very cute yet classy.
Date published: 2018-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my go-to everyday bag It's simple and cute, looks great with every thing. I am impressed with the leather quality and color, and I love having my initials on it as a personal touch.
Date published: 2018-03-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute & Efficient This bag is really cute and just the right size for essentials. The only thing that would make it even better is if the strap was a little longer. The strap is at its longest and works perfectly over the shoulder. I can still do crossbody but it's just a tad short.
Date published: 2018-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute bag I love this, but wish the straps were a bit longer. It hits a little high on my hip. The straps do lengthen a little, but not quite enough. It also squeaks a little bit when I’m carrying it- I’m guessing from the metal rings rubbing together where the straps connect to the bag.
Date published: 2018-02-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Doesn't stay closed The only thing I don't like about this bag is that the drawstrings are not very effective at keeping it closed. Stuff could fall out. I'll probably still carry it, but not if I am running around!
Date published: 2018-02-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it! I originally headed into Madewell planning to purchase one of their transport totes. When I saw the small drawstring transport crossbody, I needed to have it! The bag is the same size as the mini transport tote, but does appear smaller when cinched closed. I love the look of it, and that you don’t have to cinch it closed and it still looks good. The only changes I would make: 1. Just an inch and a half wider and taller, so a small planner/journal can comfortably fit 2. I do prefer a bag with an outer pocket to throw my cell or keys into quickly, but it probably wouldn’t work aesthetically bc of the cinched style. Overall, this is a great bag for essentials and a few extras. I purchased the black and the leather is beautiful! The other colors were tempting too. Now, I’m thinking about purchasing the medium size, for days that I need extra room ;)
Date published: 2018-01-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A little too small, but great quality I received this bag for Christmas (they released it to stores before online), and sadly I had to return it. Here are the things I loved about this bag: the brown color is perfect, the quality and feel of the leather is awesome, and it's stinking cute! Here are the reasons I had to return it: similar to the other small bag (with the pocket at the front) the size is just a little too small for me. My long wallet barely fit, and although my phone and keys would fit too, not much else. If I tried pulling out my wallet quickly I can see everything else falling out in the process. Also, the drawstring is so cute but not really functional. It doesn't cinch closed very much when you have your stuff in the bag, so the bag remains opened at the top. If only it were 1" wider/deeper, and had a closure at the top! Also just to note the long strap is a little on the shorter side (which I think looks so cute crossbody), but wearing it crossbody overt a heavy coat would not really be possible.
Date published: 2018-01-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect little drawstring bag I love my new bag. It’s indeed small, but holds everything I need it to, my phone, my wallet (and I have a long wallet), lip balm etc. The leather is not thick, but that lends to the casual nature of the bag. I like my crossbodies to be low slung and I found the strap to be slightly short for that. The drawstring are a little bit rigid, so they don’t fall naturally like in the picture, but I imagine with time they will. I first bought the brown but exchanged for the black. It’s a personal preference of course, but I usually opt for brown when I buy bags. I liked the black better for this bag.
Date published: 2018-05-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loved it but too small! It’s gorgeous. Amazing quality. I love it but is just too small for me. I’m in the process of returning it for the next size up because it’s a great bag!
Date published: 2018-05-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great small bag My only complaint is the drawstring is a little tough to pull closed. Not meant to close completely but still difficult.
Date published: 2018-05-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great design, but leather is lacking compared to a different Madewell bag.... So I received the somerset backpack by mistake when I ordered this bag. When I got the small drawstring cross body a few days later, I was expecting a similar quality in leather. I loved the design, and found the sizing was just right, but I could see a big difference in quality. The leather isn't as thick, and it's very plastic-like in some ways. I have to say I'm pretty disappointed, and I'm not sure if I'll return it or not!
Date published: 2018-04-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Loved the bag, but only lasted me a couple months I loved this bag so much, but it has a very short lifespan. In 2 months the strap completely broke. I don't mean that the strap came undone, I mean that the metal hardware used to hold the thing together completely snapped in two. (While I was walking too, so my bag fell to the ground and scattered my belongings all over the sidewalk. Lovely.) The leather is good quality but the metal hardware is a joke. Not worth the price at all.
Date published: 2018-05-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just a little too little I purchased this bag online, which may be why I didn't realize that it would be too small for me. While I WAS looking to downsize, I realize that, since phones are basically tablets now and I take my sunglasses everywhere, my bag was almost full already. Toss in a wallet and some makeup, and my purse runneth over. Loved the look of the material and style of bag, but the strap was too short (I'm 6'2", this stopped way too high on my body) and the bag kind of just felt like a doll version of a normal-sized bag. Oh well - the hunt continues!
Date published: 2018-04-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too small Despite its excellent quality, the size is not practical for me. I am planning to return ut
Date published: 2018-03-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Please longer straps!!! This is a great bag, but like the other cross body bags it needs longer straps.
Date published: 2018-02-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Meh The strap length and construction was good but the leather felt very stiff and plastic like. It is not a soft and supple bag. I was disappointed in how the drawstring worked and how the bag looked once pulled tight. I think I would have preferred the look if there were no top handles. I returned this for the mini leather backpack.
Date published: 2018-05-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not as pictured Bronzed Leaf is not orange. It is a HIDEOUS ochre colour that already looks worn and dirty. I'm angry
Date published: 2018-02-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not a crossbody I don’t understand why the straps on all the “crossbodies” are suddenly so short? I have an old madewell crossbody with a perfect strap...this bag (and most of the others that are crossbodies) are just a about two inches two short. They hit me right above my hips and look ridiculous. I’m average height and weight. If you want a crossbody I’d not suggest this.
Date published: 2018-01-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cute but cheap quality Looks cute but the material is off. It feels like a mashup of leather and filler. Surprised by the lower quality. Not worth the cost.
Date published: 2018-03-09
  • y_2018, m_5, d_26, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_44
  • loc_en_US, sid_H2560, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_madewell