This Just In

NEW ARRIVALS

Fall 2017 Denim

Looks We Love

Labels We Love

The Madewell Essentials

Monogram It

Denim Report

Events

Our clothes, your pics

How We Do Well

clothing

DENIM

(see all)

high-rise skinny jeans
skinny jeans
demi-boots & wide-leg jeans
straight-leg & perfect summer jeans
boyjeans
overalls & jumpsuits
rivet & thread
more denim dressing
maternity jeans

TEES & SWEATSHIRTS

SHIRTS & TOPS

SWEATERS

JACKETS

DRESSES

SKIRTS

PANTS & SHORTS

LEISURE & ACTIVE

intimates & pajamas

SWIM & BEACHWEAR

SALE

extended sizes

shoes, bags &
more

SHOES & BOOTS

BAGS

JEWELRY

sunglasses

ACCESSORIES

GIFT & HOME

Behind
The Scenes

Our Blog

Denim Report

#DENIMMADEWELL

#EVERYDAYMADEWELL

#Totewell

#WELLHEELED

About Madewell

Cali Demi-Boot Jeans in Essex Wash
full size
Cali Demi-Boot Jeans in Essex Wash
Cali Demi-Boot Jeans in Essex Wash
Cali Demi-Boot Jeans in Essex Wash
Cali Demi-Boot Jeans in Essex Wash
Product Details
Lean and modern, this fresh new fit kicks out just a bit at the hem for a mini-flare look that works with flats and heels alike. With our new extra-high 10" rise, these jeans are made from some of the world's best holds-you-in, lifts-you-up denim. (So not the bootcuts you wore in junior high, in other words.)  
  • Monogramming now available for US customers: To have this item embroidered with up to nine letters (initials, a pet's nickname, your hometown) for $10, please call 866 544 1937—FYI, we love red or navy thread with denim.
  • Premium 98% cotton/2% elastane denim from Italy's Candiani mill.
  • Tinted finish for an authentically aged look; hand-frayed hems.
  • Copper button, thread bar tacks, contrast stitching.
  • Sit above hip, fitted through hip and thigh, with a slim leg.
  • Front rise: 10"; inseam: 27"; leg opening for size 25: 15".
  • Machine wash.
  • Import.
SHIPPING
Free shipping exclusively for Madewell Insiders
*For complete details, see our Shipping Policy.

Cali Demi-Boot Jeans in Essex Wash

Cali Demi-Boot Jeans in Essex Wash is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 35.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice but not on me I have several madewell dresses and tee shirts and love them. I have tried several jeans but never feel comfortable in them. Maybe I'm just a dress girl.
Date published: 2016-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! Soft fringe flare for the spring, gentle nostalgia
Date published: 2016-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun spring jeans I am loving these jeans. Fit and color are fantastic - great addition to your wardrobe! I am 5'4, 135 lbs, size 28 fit great.
Date published: 2016-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Versatile Cali's Love my CALI DEMI's with fringe for a bit of change from my regular go to skinnies. I get compliments each time I wear these. Not only are these fantastic with heels and a blazer, they are great when paired with a white tee and flats, Or booties and a black turtle neck. Etc, etc. So Thank you Madewell, for always delivering great denim that is not boring but always interesting! Madewell is the "Best of the Best" with their denim offerings every season.
Date published: 2016-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new favorite jeans! These arrived today and I couldn't wait to try them on. The fit is very flattering and love the length and the fringe at the bottom. My normal size is 27 and these are a perfect fit. Madewell continues to impress me with their styles!
Date published: 2016-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cali Demi-Boot Jeans I love these jeans already. I wanted something different than a skinny jean (Which is what I typically wear). I ordered my normal size and they fit perfectly and comfortably. I can't wait to wear these all through spring.
Date published: 2016-02-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome, if a bit short on me Was a bit hesitant at first- I'm 5'11, so these jeans clearly don't go to my ankles (like in the picture). However they make your butt look amazing and the denim feels great! Got many compliments so far- I would love if Madewell came out with the same style, but different lengths and colors. Would definitely buy these again!
Date published: 2016-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nothing But Compliments Fits well, went down a size. The frayed edge is way more frayed than the photo, but still cool. I want more jeans like these. Can we get a full length straight leg? They have the faintest stretch in them but still wear like real denim which is so so much better than the stretch kind. I'm curvy, 5'6 165, wear a size 31. Small waist, I'm all booty and thighs. These look smokin. I'm getting a lot of compliments.
Date published: 2016-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love them love these jeans but buy a size smaller. i just got them in 26 and wished they sat a little tighter.
Date published: 2016-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Instant Favorite I love love love these jeans. I'm 5'7" and I took these in my usual size 25. I've actually never bought Madewell jeans before and wasn't sure how they would fit. Well, I was pleasantly surprised. They fit perfectly in the waist, make my derrière look great, and fall just at the right spot above my ankle. The flare is perfect - a statement, but not too dramatic. I also really love the wash; broken-in but not too faded. These look great with everything from my Nicholas Kirkwood loafers to my high-top sneakers, and I can't wait to wear them with my chunky-heeled mules and flat sandals when the weather warms up. They do stretch a little after two or three wears, but I don't mind. I find the looser fit creates a look that is a touch more casual. If I want them to be super tight I just pop them in the dryer for 20 minutes and they're back in action. Great purchase.
Date published: 2016-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Cool! Love the wash, love the higher rise, especially love the frayed bottoms, but they run one size large. With the stretch they have, after wear they will be too loose as most all denim tends to do. So I am exchanging my usual 29 for the 28. Otherwise, a great looking, flattering ,slimming jean.
Date published: 2016-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New favorite Jean I received a gift for a free pair of jeans from madewell so I thought I would give these a try. They are very different from what I usually wear but I am so glad I did because I wear these every weekend!!! They fit tts, nice and slim through the hip and thigh. They are perfect year round. The higher waist gives them an ultra cool vibe. The material is soft but supportive. They has some stretch but did not loosen up throughout the day, they looked great all day. A must have!!!
Date published: 2016-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Jeans of the year These jeans are fantastic - I think they'll be THE jeans of 2016. The cut is a great alternative to skinny jeans and is very flattering. The rise is high enough to hold me in but not too high. The length is actually not super cropped on me (I'm 5"4) and works with flats and boots. And I love the frayed detail at the hem. Even the wash is good, it doesn't look overdone or fake, and I'm usually partial to darker washes. Glad to hear it stretches a little. I went with the smaller of two sizes because it gave me that great rear view Madewell talks about! Madewell, keep making these! I'd buy more in different washes. Get these jeans while you can!
Date published: 2016-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect jean for 2016 These are my new favorite jeans. They are very flattering and so cool. The wash is perfection! I am 5'1 and they hit right above my shoe. I actually like the length on me, but if I want them to be shorter I will cut them a tiny bit at a later time. I couldn't decide between the 25 or 26, but I went with the 25 per the suggestion of the Madewell employee. She said they will stretch a little and the 26 was comfy, but already had a tiny bit of extra room.
Date published: 2016-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Jeans!! These are my new favorite pair of jeans! I have been looking for a pair of flare jeans that aren't too wide and these are it! They are very flattering, especially for flare jeans, and look perfect with almost any shoes.
Date published: 2016-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love these, but they stretched out! these are definitely my new favorite jeans - they're so much more flattering than stretchy skinny jeans. i've been looking for a pair with this awkward, kind-of-cropped flare, and was worried these might be too long on my 5'4" frame. but they actually look the same on me as the model - they hit right at the ankle bone. my only complaint is that they do stretch a little; when i bought them they fit perfectly, but now they're loose in the waist and thighs. however, the light blue wash is perfect and the frayed edge is super cute!
Date published: 2016-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Current look for spring Saw several other customers try these on, and buy them. So I had to try them. Super cute on, style them to show off a trendy shoe. High quality denim, love the high rise. I've seen these mini flares on several bloggers posts, now I know why they are all wearing them. Super current and stylish when outfitted properly. They run true to size. Bought the same size as I wear in high rise skinny. They are an ankle length 27"
Date published: 2016-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from cute but long Jeans are well made and super cute! But I agree with other reviews. These jeans miss the 5 star mark due to length. I am 5'5" and ordered a 26. Had they looked like the picture, I would probably wear them constantly,. Too long:( Wish I was taller or the jeans were cut shorter.
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazing alternate to skinny jeans! Love these jeans, I usually wear 28 in skinny jeans from Madewell. I went one size up to 29 since I read it has less stretch in the denim. I feel it was a perfect fit. I had immediate compliments from friends. Thanks for all the other reviews, they are very helpful!
Date published: 2016-06-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty good... These jeans are very comfortable. I like the high rise, the position of the pockets (for one who has less than a perfect derriere), and the length. The color is not as blue as pictured, a more dirty blue, but totally acceptable. Only problem is that it does stretch like the other reviewers said. I went for my usual Madewell jean size 26 and did try on the size 25. The size 25 was a tad too tight so I kept the 26 (even though my husband said they looked the same, fit wise). But after 1 wear, the jeans have bagged considerably. I'll probably have to wash them/dry them more often than not to return to it's original size/comfort.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Totally on trend! I love these jeans!!! They are easy and totally fun! They do seem to run small as I am a solid size and they are tight. Overall, love, love, love them though!!
Date published: 2016-01-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Please make in Tall These are great jeans! Quality and fit and hem are perfect! Just too short. I'm 5;9" and they hit way above the ankle instead of just at the ankle. Have to return them and am so bummed!
Date published: 2016-01-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Size down I have been searching and searching for a new pair of jeans! Why is this so hard? The demi-boot almost made the cut. The denim is thicker than most other jeans I've tried on recently. The high waist feels fitted and feminine. However....at 5'8", these jeans were a wee bit short on me. Also, I didn't care for the essex wash. The faded streak down the front of the leg felt a bit too contrived to my tastes. If you order, go down a size. I always wear an 8/29 in jeans, and the 6 fit better in this case.
Date published: 2016-02-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Again Madewell, some cuts are not for taller gals... These were comically short on me, unfortunately, otherwise these jeans are great. I am 5'10" and they would be perfect if they were 2-3" longer....
Date published: 2016-07-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from too long for me I'm 5'2 and tried on my regular size 24 and they were not cropped-fit great wish Madewell made "short" sizes, we're not all tall models
Date published: 2016-01-30
  • y_2017, m_8, d_22, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_35
  • loc_en_US, sid_E5296, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_madewell