This Just In

NEW ARRIVALS

Looks We Love

Labels We Love

The Getaway Shop

The Madewell Essentials

Monogram It

Denim Report

Events

Our clothes, your pics

How We Do Well

clothing

DENIM

(see all)

high-rise skinny jeans
skinny jeans
demi-boots & wide-leg jeans
straight-leg & perfect summer jeans
boyjeans
shorts
overalls & more denim
rivet & thread
maternity jeans

TEES & TANKS

SHIRTS & TOPS

SWEATERS

JACKETS

DRESSES

SKIRTS

SHORTS & PANTS

LEISURE

intimates & pajamas

SWIM & BEACHWEAR

SALE

extended sizes

shoes, bags &
more

SHOES & SANDALS

BAGS

JEWELRY

sunglasses

ACCESSORIES

GIFT & HOME

Behind
The Scenes

Our Blog

Denim Report

#DENIMMADEWELL

#EVERYDAYMADEWELL

#Totewell

#WELLHEELED

About Madewell

The Perfect Summer Jean in Malden Wash
full size
The Perfect Summer Jean in Malden Wash
The Perfect Summer Jean in Malden Wash
The Perfect Summer Jean in Malden Wash
The Perfect Summer Jean in Malden Wash
Product Details
Our wear-every-day summer jeans are back with the same '90s-supermodel-inspired high rise that perfectly accentuates the waist. Finished with hand-placed tears, this pair is a year-rounder.
  • We recommend getting these in your usual size—they'll feel tight at first but stretch out juuuuuuust enough after a couple of wears.
  • Premium 100% cotton denim from the renowned Orta mill.
  • An old-school light indigo wash with destruction.
  • Copper hardware, contrast stitching.
  • Sit above hip, fitted through hip and thigh, with a slim leg.
  • Front rise: 11"; inseam: 27"; leg opening for size 25: 12 3/4".
  • Machine wash.
  • Import.
SHIPPING
Free shipping exclusively for Madewell Insiders
*For complete details, see our Shipping Policy.

The Perfect Summer Jean in Malden Wash

The Perfect Summer Jean in Malden Wash is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 20.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! I sized down 1 size on these jeans and I'm glad I did. They stretch out after the first wear. Once you get the sizing right, they look awesome! I am considering purchasing another pair to have as a backup because I love them so much. Definitely worth buying!
Date published: 2017-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The name fits! These truly are the perfect summer jean - they hit a little above the belly button and aren't too tight on the thighs but also aren't too baggy. They look cute with just about everything - I love pairing them with a tied up white button down for a casual look. I am 5'6, 125lb and typically wear a 27 (sometimes a 26) and the 26 fits perfectly. I might have even been able to go down to a 25, but these wouldn't look right too tight. The only complaint I have is that the tear in the left leg hits right at the knee, making it easy to make a bigger hole if you bend your knee too far. Otherwise these are great!
Date published: 2017-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Effortless Style Love these jeans. They are the perfect faded shade of blue. I'm on the shorter side so I was able to wear them cuffed or uncuffed.
Date published: 2017-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit I am 5'4" around 110 lbs. These jeans fit perfectly in a way I am not used to. They are VERY high waisted, but look amazing on. The high waist does great thing for the posterior. I do wish my pair weren't quite so destressed, but they are the perfect pair of off duty summer jeans.
Date published: 2017-06-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fits the booty It is so hard to find pants that fit my waist and my butt without too much flare in the waist. These pants do the trick. There is just enough distressing in these jeans as well which makes them edgy and vintage looking without being too much. They do fit slightly larger but I think it's just since they don't have any stretch to them so the extra room is needed to sit down without them ripping. They do bunch slightly in the front once they have started to stretch out during the day but that is generally the case with all non stretch jeans. Overall they are the perfect color and fall perfectly on the leg. I am 5'2 so they are slightly longer on me than on the model but I prefer a slightly longer fit. I lost my first pair and quickly ordered another pair because they I like the style so much! For reference on sizing I am 5'2 and 135 llbs and generally wear a size Small/medium 4-6 in clothing and bought a size 27 in these jeans.
Date published: 2017-07-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect summer jean These truly are as described , "the perfect summer jean". They are true to size and are flattering even on curvier figures.
Date published: 2017-04-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not good I don't understand the fit. the length of the jeans is not right. When I tried it on the hem is too long. I have to cut it so it will be the same style as the model in the picture. I don't recommend this. Wrong buy.
Date published: 2017-06-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Loved this jean but.... I loved this jean! However, after I wore it for a couple of times the whole quad area ripped out where it was distressed. I bent down to pet my dog and BOOM! they were ripped. I want to re purchase these but not if it is worth it. Great jean otherwise!
Date published: 2017-07-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wanted to love, but super awkward fit I LOVE the way these jeans look in the product images and in the Instagram photos of people wearing them. I was so excited to get them, but immediately disappointed when I put them on. The quality of the material is definitely nice: soft but not leggings soft, and still strong enough to be durable (i.e. not paper-thin). I'm 5'4" and 115 pounds, w/ somewhat thicker thighs and a butt, and these just did not flatter me at all. I ordered my normal size 26 and somehow, they *completely* flattened my butt AND made my thighs look thicker than they are. They also gapped slightly at the waist, which is annoying bc they are super high-waisted, so that would show if I tried to tuck stuff in. The main "no" is that the leg was much wider than what the images show--they almost looked boot-cut or wide-leg instead of straight. All in all, not how they look in the images and super awkward when on. Alas, my search for the perfect boyfriend(ish) jean continues. :(
Date published: 2017-05-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not as pictured The jeans themselves were fine but they are very different than the online picture. The color of the wash is different as well as the distressing on the jeans. Completely different. Sent them back. Really wished they would have matched the pic.
Date published: 2017-03-25
  • y_2017, m_7, d_18, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_20
  • loc_en_US, sid_G3810, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_madewell