This Just In

NEW ARRIVALS

Looks We Love

The Getaway Shop

Labels We Love

The Madewell Essentials

Monogram It

Events

Your double-tap-worthy pics

From denim recycling to
beach cleaning

shirt alert: summer deals, right this way

clothing

DENIM

TEES & TANKS

SHIRTS & TOPS

SWEATERS

JACKETS

DRESSES

(see all)

casual dresses
day-to-night dresses
cocktail dresses
midi & maxi dresses
denim dresses

SKIRTS

PANTS & SHORTS

LEISURE & ACTIVE

OVERALLS & JUMPSUITS

intimates & pajamas

SWIM & BEACHWEAR

SALE

extended sizes

shoes, bags &
more

SHOES & SANDALS

BAGS

JEWELRY

sunglasses

ACCESSORIES

GIFT & HOME

BEAUTY

Behind
The Scenes

Our Blog

#DENIMMADEWELL

#EVERYDAYMADEWELL

#Totewell

#WELLHEELED

About Madewell

Pocket Tee Dress
full size
Pocket Tee Dress
Pocket Tee Dress
Pocket Tee Dress
Product Details
A pocket tee turned shift, this fuss-free dress gives a low-key nod to '90s skate style. (Must be why it looks so good with sneaks.)
  • Nonwaisted.
  • Falls 35 1/8" from high point of shoulder.
  • Cotton.
  • Machine wash.
  • Import.
SHIPPING
Free shipping exclusively for Madewell Insiders
*For complete details, see our Shipping Policy.

Pocket Tee Dress

Pocket Tee Dress is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 46.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most comfortable thing I own! This dress is super soft and can be dressed up for the office or worn more casually with sneakers. It literally feels like wearing a giant t-shirt, but is much more flattering. It was a little longer than I expected (it comes down to just above my knees) but I'm on the short side (5'3''). Most t-shirt dresses I've tried from other brands drape oddly over curves but on this one the material is a little thicker/sturdier so it's not an issue.
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Versatile basic I'm 155 lb, 5'5'', got the white in medium. NOT see-through. Another very flattering, quality basic from Madewell! Will wear a lot this spring/summer.
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Piece for Summer Love the quality and thickness of this t shirt dress, I only wish it came in more colors like a light green olive or even red! I am a size 8 and bought a small. Also would like to see something similar with a slightly wider neck and maybe longer sleeves. The fabric is fantastic! Buy one!
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfy spring dress I love this dress and bought it in two colors. It's cute and extremely comfortable. It's forgiving to my mid section and looks great.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new summer go-to This dress is cool, classic, and comfortable. If it ever warms up in the Northeast, I look forward to wearing it to work and on the weekend. I’m 5’5 and about 130 and the xx-small fits well. I purposely sized down knowing that Madewell clothing tends to run large. Maybe go for an x-small if you prefer a looser fit.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect summer dress This is a perfect grab and go dress. I can't wait to wear it all summer. I like that the fabric is thick and soft and it fits really nicely. I wish there were more colors!
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this dress! This dress is so easy and versatile. It can be dressed up or down, it's long enough to wear to work but still flattering, and the quality is good. I am 5'4, 105 lbs. and ordered a small.
Date published: 2018-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great spring/summer dress I love t-shirt dresses but to others giving it bad reviews because of the fit...well, that's just how all t-shirt dresses fit. It is a straight cut with very little shape and no drape. I'm 5'5, 135 lbs, 34/26.5/36 and the XS fit me perfectly. It does not tug around any part of my body and hangs nicely with some room. I honestly could have sized down to a XXS but I think it would not hold the same style. The material is thick, which could be a downside to some, but I like it because it's not see-through. It may prove to be hot when worn in the summer since it's a tight knit weave--possibly preventing breathability.
Date published: 2018-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dress lover Love this dress!! Finally the perfect t shirt dress. I got it in black and white. Might go back for the navy with white stripes. I really didn’t like the swing t shirt dresses from previous years because it looked funny on me, personally. This one is a million times better. A little thicker than the typical t shirt dress, which is great!
Date published: 2018-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must-have basic I love this tee dress because it's different from other designs Madewell has had in the past. It's a thick tee material, like the new knotted tie-front tee. The soft, swing ones were never flattering on me because although I'm slim, I'm pear-shaped. Dresses without waists in general don't tend to be flattering on my figure, but this one works because it's thick material and not tight on my hips. I even sized down to a XXS because I wanted it a little shorter and it's perfect. I'm about 5'4'' and 120 lbs for reference. I love this dress paired with Madewell's denim jacket and Brenner bootie.
Date published: 2018-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The perfect summer basic This easy to wear dress is perfect for summer! Layer with a denim jacket, accesorize with a long necklace and grab your favorite sandals and you're set. It's also a great travel dress - wrinkle free and looks great with sneakers.
Date published: 2018-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cute dress, length good, not see through! I bought a medium in the white. I am about 145lb and 5'6". The length is good (even with a larger butt!) and the white is not see through, excited for the weather to turn so I can wear it out!!
Date published: 2018-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Basic! A great classic tee dress - if you don’t already have this staple in your wardrobe, grab one before they sell out! This one has a nice drape, good weight and decent length! It is true to size. I feel quite a few Madewell dresses in the last 2 summers have been too short (I’m 5’7”) but fortunately this one is not. I can see so many outfit possibilities with this one and would definitely pack this for a trip where space is at a premium.
Date published: 2018-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Your Boyfriend’s Tee just longer I purchased in bright ivory and black. It’s 100% cotton; thicker and not see through. This is not a flattering as Madewell’s Swingy Tee Dress, but still good. Oversized fit.
Date published: 2018-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Never received so many compliments on one dress This dress is the perfect t shirt dress. I have it in both black and white and get endless compliments on it every time I wear it! The white is thick enough that your undergarments can't be seen! I got a large because I like the loose/comfy fit a bit more. I'm 5'11" medium build and it comes a few inches above my knees.
Date published: 2018-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OMG I never write reviews, but I love this dress. I am usually a M and purchased a S in the black. Great fit and length, so comfy. The material is amazing and I can tell this will be my summer staple. It's going to be a great transition piece as well. Buy it!!!
Date published: 2018-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must have summer uniform Fits effortlessly, I’m 5’9 150lbs and the medium is a perfect fit. Wear it to run around town with some sneakers and dress it up with a cute scarf and sandals for a summer dinner date.
Date published: 2018-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for a summer day Great to wear in summer. Comfortable and looks really cute.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pocket stands out too much I really liked this dress and ordered it twice (two different sizes), but I will likely not be keeping it. I am quite busty, and the pocket is not a complimenting feature in the white dress. I wanted to like it so badly because the weight is perfect for a hot summer day, but the pocket was too noticeable for my preference. Maybe a different color would be better?
Date published: 2018-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Staple So, I sized down on this dress. I'm usually a xsmall/small but got an xxs. It's thicker than I prefer and the neck is a bit higher but i'll get use out of it, so I kept it
Date published: 2018-04-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfy, casual, but not exactly flattering Got this in a small (I'm 5'6", 130 lbs) and it hangs loosely and falls 2-3 inches above my knees. It's definitely not form-fitting and can look boxy if you have a good-sized chest, but tying something around your waist breaks it up. The sleeves and neck are a bit mannish, but it is VERY comfortable (and won't show undergarment lines due to the thick fabric). With the right attitude and accessories, it's cute. Without them, will people think you're wearing a men's tall tee? Maybe... But it's too comfortable to care.
Date published: 2018-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Classic I love everything about this dress! Im a mom of 3 and has a two yr old toddler that is very active, this dress has held up super well! I am 5’1 and got a small, i wish i would have gotten xs length wise.
Date published: 2018-05-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wish it was a-line This dress is nice for summer. I like the thickness of the material, not too hot but definitely not see through. It is definitely a straight fit and I wish it was a-line-would be so much more flattering.
Date published: 2018-05-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not for Petite Love the fabric and style and wish I could have kept. Unfortunately I had to return because it was HUGE on me. I ordered the XS and I’m 5’1 & 114 lbs. The dress was so baggy and long that I couldn’t even wear it as a more relaxed fit
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cute idea, did not work in person I really wanted to like this but it just didn't work for me. It's huge first of all - I wanted a relaxed fit and got the XS, which is my usual size for Madewell, and it was way too big. And when you look at it, you realize that the dress really is just an extra long tshirt, and it just wasn't a good enough item for the price, so I had to return. It's a nice idea though.
Date published: 2018-05-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wrong neckline My hunt for a black easy to wear summer dress continues. The price is right on this tee dress as is the material. However, the upper portion of the dress was not flattering on me. The neckline is too high and the top looked baggy. It did not flatter my shape unfortunately and I had to return.
Date published: 2018-05-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I don't know, guys.... so, i've never written a poor review for Madewell, but I am 5'5'', 130#, athletic build. I am usually a xs /small but i got the small in this one. I immediately returned for sizedown. ...i am hoping this makes a miracle of a difference. issues seem to be a straight up and down shape, along with a too high neck. im quite hour glassed in shape & felt this looked like a sack. whie im def ok with oversized-cute and the look of "oh, dear--everything is just big on me!" this was not a good look. Between the higher tee neck , the straight sides, and being quite long (something thats usually not the norm for me here)...it really does kinda look hospital gown-ish. I will report further upon the xs!!
Date published: 2018-04-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Tshirt dress This has a very generous fit. I would return it but I accidentally took the tags off.
Date published: 2018-06-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Fabric far thicker than previous tee dresses I have loved madewell's tee dresses for years, specifically the one last season, because they are light and have a lot of motion despite the fact that they are shift dresses. This dress was far thicker than previous ones and cut straight down the sides where it had no shape but still tightened on my thighs. The color was great, but without any type of movement or sway it reminded me more of a hospital gown than something I would want to wear out.
Date published: 2018-04-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not flattering I wanted to love it. I tried, but it’s just not flattering. A lot of fabric in the center and then pulls tighter across hips (which I have smaller hips/butt). I’m 5’4” 120 lbs for reference. Athletic build. Resulted in extra material in the back, and kinda made me look preggo. Only cute when a tied a denim jacket around the waist. So if you plan on that and never taking it off then you’re good. Super cute idea and wanted this staple but Madewell please adjust for a more flattering look. Can still be flattering even if it’s not form fitting.
Date published: 2018-06-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from No shape to this T-shirt I love Madewell typically but was very surprised by how large this t-shirt dress ran. I’m about 5’3 and have worn other things from Madewell without issue, but even an XXS made me look like an 8 year old wearing my dad’s shirt. The dress material itself was great, but I had to return it - I love the oversized comfy casual look (hence why I think a lot of us shop at Madewell), but this dress was just ridiculously large.
Date published: 2018-05-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not the soft tshirt dress I expected I was so excited to have a t-shirt dress I could wear all summer long that I ordered them in both colors. When I pulled them out I was disappointed in the material. It was the rough cotten you feel on cheaper shirts. I was hoping for the Jersey t soft cotton. The fit was cute and true to size. I ended sending them back because they just felt too rough and cheap for how much they cost.
Date published: 2018-05-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Okay box High quality. It’s on the more heavily weighted cotton end. Size down. It’s a sack. If you’ve got an amazing figure, you’re going to look great in this sack. I’m fairly hour-glassy and it still looks like a box on me. Thought it was a little spendy but if it’s the perfect tee shirt dress for you, it’s worth it. It just wasn’t the perfect tee shirt dress for me!
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Your boyfriends T-shirt Ladies do not get me wrong I love madewell & really wanted this piece to be a staple for my summer suitcase. Although putting it on right before going to dinner y boyfriend literally said is that a new (moo moo) for reference a moo moo is a night gown. Iam 5’5 130 lbs 34c and I ordered a small and it seriously is not flattering at all no curves, no booty no nothing literally an expensive nightgown. :(
Date published: 2018-05-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Runs very large I bought this in two sizes XS & XXS Both were huge on me. I love madewell and xs is usually the perfect fit but this dress must just run very large. It looked like I was wearing my dad’s old T-shirt for a nightgown. I’m 5’4” 120lbs
Date published: 2018-05-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Meh Super big, super baggy, thick material, the neck is round and high. It looks like an oversized black thick shirt. It would have been great if a lighter material, pockets on th sides and a more open neck...
Date published: 2018-05-02
  • y_2018, m_6, d_20, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_46
  • loc_en_US, sid_H9356, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_madewell