This Just In

NEW ARRIVALS

Fall 2017 Collection

Looks We Love

Labels We Love

The Madewell Essentials

Monogram It

Denim Report

Events

Our clothes, your pics

How We Do Well

clothing

DENIM

TEES & SWEATSHIRTS

SHIRTS & TOPS

SWEATERS

JACKETS & COATS

DRESSES

SKIRTS

PANTS & SHORTS

LEISURE & ACTIVE

intimates & pajamas

SWIM & BEACHWEAR

SALE

extended sizes

shoes, bags &
more

SHOES & BOOTS

BAGS

JEWELRY

(see all)

earrings
necklaces
bracelets
rings
demi-fine jewelry
fine jewelry

sunglasses

ACCESSORIES

GIFT & HOME

Behind
The Scenes

Our Blog

Denim Report

#DENIMMADEWELL

#EVERYDAYMADEWELL

#Totewell

#WELLHEELED

About Madewell

Ensign Necklace
full size
Ensign Necklace
Ensign Necklace
Product Details
A tomboy take on charms: simple but substantial pendants on a slender box chain. Some matte and some shiny for a cool, subtle contrast.  
  • Length: 32".
  • Spring clasp closure.
  • Brass.
  • Care instructions: Clean your jewelry after each wearing with a soft cloth.
  • Import.
SHIPPING
Free shipping exclusively for Madewell Insiders
*For complete details, see our Shipping Policy.

Ensign Necklace

Ensign Necklace is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 64.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A cool necklace I bought the silver version of the ensign necklace, and it feels like it was the missing piece in my accessory collection. It suits any casual summer outfit and you probably won't ever have to mess with the clasp because it will easily go over your head. I do wish it had an adjustable chain like the arrowstack necklace, but the dangling dogtag look does impart a more 'chill' image.
Date published: 2016-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Necklace Great looking necklace. It hangs nicely - the charms are substantial and have a bit of weight to them. I love the matte and shiny contrast.
Date published: 2015-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wear it Everyday I've had my eye on this necklace for awhile, so I was so stoked to finally add it to my Madewell necklace collection. And it's even better looking in person!! I love the long length, it's not heavy, and looks so good with everything. I've been wearing it pretty much everyday since I received it in the mail. Great purchase!!
Date published: 2015-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Goes with everything piece I can't say enough how much I love this necklace. I have been on the hunt for a longer pendant necklace for a really long time when my friend showed up to my house wearing this. I LOVED it and knew I had to have it. Love the gold color, the fact that one pendant is shiny while the other is matte. It's such a fabulous necklace!
Date published: 2015-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun piece! Great length. Nice look with one shiny and the other a matte finish. Great piece with tees and tee dresses to dress them up or just add a splash of edginess to them! That's my plan anyway! :)
Date published: 2015-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from more than expected Love this long necklace. The weight is impressive which makes it feel so much more expensive. Love your site and never disappointed.
Date published: 2015-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the length! And the simplicity. Wish I had something similar in silver.
Date published: 2015-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super cute Perfect long simple necklace. Not too big so it looks good with a lot of things.
Date published: 2015-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely piece of jewelry I don't know that I would have thought to buy this necklace if I were in a Madewell store. It isn't usually a style I would be drawn to. However, I saw it online and read reviews, and decided it was time for me to purchase a few pieces of classy, "grown-up" jewelry. Pieces to wear with many different outfits. This was one of the pieces I purchased. And I tell you, I have worn this necklace almost every day since it was delivered. It goes with EVERYTHING! I get compliments on it constantly. And the best part is the length... Not too long, not too short... It is the perfect "long necklace" length. So far, it seems to be well constructed. Even the clasp is cool looking! Overall, I am happy with my purchase and I am enjoying this necklace. Highly recommend :-)
Date published: 2015-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy/Versatile Love this necklace. Had been looking for a long/pendant style necklace that just adds a little visual interest but isn't distracting - it's a great weight, length, love the textures, and I could literally wear it with almost everything in my closet. Two thumbs up ;)
Date published: 2015-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very long It is definitely longer than I expected and the charms are bigger than I anticipated. But I love it! I love the contrast in the colors created by the finishes. Plus you can remove the charms to wear them separately or together for 2 different looks.
Date published: 2015-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good for casual or work Looks good dressed up or dressed down. I've worn this with jeans and a t-shirt, and I've worn this at work to spice up a plain top.
Date published: 2015-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The everyday necklace you love wearing everyday This is a fabulous necklace. The pendants are a perfect weight combined and it hangs nicely from around the neck. The detail at the top of each pendant is a great and unexpected touch. I wear it casually everyday and I just love it! Really solid necklace. Goes with everything. I also enjoy the subtle sounds the charms make when they hit each other as you walk around :) Overall - recommended!
Date published: 2015-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A true favorite! My mom gave this necklace to m for my birthday. I LOVE it! it looks great with most outfits. I received so many compliments on it that i purchased 3 more for friends and one for my mom! Madewell has the best quality jewelry. My go to store for a new piece.
Date published: 2015-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely Amazing piece for the sale price. Looks lovely. Very sturdy.
Date published: 2015-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally a long necklace that's actually long enough I am so tired of ordering long necklaces that literally "fall short" ie. They would have looked awesome if they were 4 inches longer but end up looking goofy instead. Not this one. Long and elegantly simple. Love it.
Date published: 2015-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from go-to piece I have a silver charm necklace from a small designer that is similar in length & look, have worn it into the ground and often wished they'd have offered a gold version too. This is the closest thing I've found, and yes, like my silver one it goes with everything. Looks great on its own, or yesterday I layered it over a sweatshirt with a shorter, chunkier "old gold" Madewell necklace from a couple years ago. Versatile and fun.
Date published: 2015-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE! I wear it almost every day. I wanted to get it before but it was too expensive but once i saw it on sale I was sure to get it! I love this piece!
Date published: 2015-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Piece This necklace is a little larger than you may think but it is a great statement piece. I like the mix of the brushed and smooth metal.
Date published: 2015-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I think I've worn this everyday since it arrived It goes with everything, long, substantial, interesting…Get it, you'll love it too.
Date published: 2014-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it. I've almost bought this so many times and so glad that I finally did. I've worn it a ton already. A great everyday necklace to add a little extra to a basic outfit. It's sleek and simple, and feels nice and heavy. Perfect length. I got it on sale but even at full price I would go for it - its super versatile and seems like good quality.
Date published: 2014-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! This pendant is great. It will look cute layered with other necklaces or just on its own. I got it on sale but worth full price!
Date published: 2014-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great statement necklace Every time I wear this necklace, I get compliments. It's a simply yet attention-getting necklace that's particularly great for high necklines. The longer piece scratches easily from the rectangular piece rubbing against it but this is minimally noticeable. I was worried it'd be too heavy, but it's quite comfortable. Great buy, I like it so much I'm buying another one as a gift!
Date published: 2014-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love everything about it Very happy with product. Chain is long enough. I get many compliments
Date published: 2014-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good looking A good looking necklace. It does clink when I walk, as another reviewer mentioned, but it doesn't bother me. Received compliments on it, can wear with many different outfits. Got it on sale, a good buy.
Date published: 2014-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Adorable I wear this frequently, and love how it adds some shine to my work outfits.
Date published: 2014-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love I love this necklace. Like other reviewers have mentioned, it's a nice blend of feminine and masculine. I personally prefer jewelry that is not too feminine, and this is one of my favorite necklaces to wear. I also like the Half Moon layering necklace. The Ensign necklace looks great with everything, and I love the contrast of shiny and matte pieces. I lucked out and got this at a great deal, but I would still pay full price for it if I had to.
Date published: 2014-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from gorgeous like another reviewer said, this piece is an awesome blend of masculine and feminine, and exactly my style. it's reminiscent of dogtags, but chic and playfully casual. i got it on sale as well, which is always a bonus. i have been impressed by the quality of madewell's jewelry (coming from someone with skin that is sensitive to metals).
Date published: 2014-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Charming boy meets girl appeal Love this necklace and have worn it everyday since receiving! A new favorite. Perfect length and weight -- the shiny / matte pieces create a great contrast. Androgyny at it's finest.
Date published: 2014-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Versatile Grab N' Go Necklace So glad I bought this necklace! It's a little more than I usually spend for costume jewelry but this piece is really great. You can pair it with a t-shirt to dress up a casual outfit or wear it with a silk blouse to work. It's a great size and it hits in the perfect spot on your chest.
Date published: 2014-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this necklace! I had been searching for a simple, but interesting "gold" necklace that would work with many outfits, and this necklace is just that. I absolutely love it! I've had it for a couple of months now, and it's basically become my everyday necklace. I think that it's definitely worth the price, as it's sturdy and of good quality. I have noticed some wear where the two pendants rub together, but I think it just adds more character to this unique piece. Highly recommended!
Date published: 2014-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect finishing touch to any outfit I just bought this necklace today. I was a little hesitant from the price, but I am so happy and excited that I made the purchase. This necklace is perfect to add to so many outfits. It is an adorable length that is great to wear alone or to layer other necklaces with. The chain is very durable and strong. Worth every penny :)
Date published: 2014-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from versatile and pretty I love the necklace, it goes nicely with everything and pulls an outfit together. So cute my teenage daughter borrowed it!
Date published: 2014-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Modern Edge I prefer items that are feminine with an edge and this is a cool interpretation of the Army tags I used to wear. This piece is more substantial and even better quality than I expected. Love the box chain and detail on the rings for each tag. Great necklace - highly recommend!
Date published: 2014-05-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great simple long necklace I really like this necklace and it's length. My only complaint is that it's a touch on the heavy side. But it hangs nicely and and simply and great looking.
Date published: 2015-09-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love this necklace I just received my necklace this week and I have already worn it several times. I love it. It is a nice size and the necklace itself has an interesting look to it. It is nice by itself or layered with other necklaces.
Date published: 2015-08-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loved the length I love this necklace and it is almost exactly what I expected it to be. The only thing I didn't get out of it was the ability to take the chain apart from the elements. I was hoping to be able to put other pieces of jewelry on the necklace, but sadly I cannot
Date published: 2015-05-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Larger than I expected The dimensions of the charms on this necklace were much bigger than I expected. I would have liked them smaller--I like a daintier necklace. There is also a design on the clasps that hold the charms that you can't see in the picture.
Date published: 2015-05-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect Go To Modern Necklace! Super easy go to piece to finish out your outfit. Its feminine yet edgy. This necklace goes with so many things, is a great length and the two tone finish adds extra flair! Yes, its true, it does make a little noise when you move around and the pieces hit each other but unless you are headed to the library it shouldn't be a problem! ;)
Date published: 2015-03-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from beautiful classic but noisy Love this necklace but noisy as you walk. Kind of clanky but so classic on black sweater. Eye catching. Worth the noise.
Date published: 2015-02-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful long necklace Love this - i was pleasantly surprised by the heavy weight of the chain and pendants. it feels substantial and looks great. this carries over to the clasp though too and it tends to fall to the front of the necklace quite a bit due to the weight - a little annoying, but i'd rather have something a little chunky than too delicate with the weight of the other components.
Date published: 2015-01-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Versatile necklace I love this necklace and have worn it multiple times since it arrived. The longer, shinier piece scratches but it isn't overly noticeable.
Date published: 2014-10-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it but.... Looooooved this necklace when I got it and I get lots of compliments, however the longer pendant has fallen off and now is lost. :( Not sure if I want to buy a new one because I'm worried this might happen again.
Date published: 2014-08-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice Im so pleased ith this necklace. It's just what I was searching for. It's elongating and adds to minimalist dressing. I really enjoy shopping at madewell!
Date published: 2014-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from unique piece This necklace caught my eye while strolling past a Madewell store. I spotted it in a window display and immediately checked it out online. I was pleasantly surprised to find that though this is a costume piece it looks high-end. It's a unique long necklace that will get a lot of wear. It is a bit heavy but not unwieldy.
Date published: 2014-07-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very unique piece Hoping to get these engraved with metal stamps. Perfect length
Date published: 2014-07-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from too bad After reading all the glowing reviews - I ordered it, I was so looking forward to receiving it. The square charm was supposed to be matt, the longer rectangle shiny. To my disappointment, the square charm was NOT matt, it was scratched, in fact badly scratched, sort of shiny, scratched looking. Yes the longer charm was shiny. But the square looked like it was previously used, not matte at all. Very disappointed.
Date published: 2015-08-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Super cute, Unfortunately Wears Out Easy I LOVED this necklace, and bought it as soon as I saw it! Unfortunately, after wearing it ONLY ONCE, the gold on the chain started to wear out to reveal a blackish grey chain. Definitely not as cute. Though this necklace seems like the perfect accessory, it may not be the best value.
Date published: 2014-12-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cute, but clanks This is a lovely necklace, but the pendants clank against each other when I move, which makes it sound cheap. Not a professional sound, which makes it no good for work, unfortunately.
Date published: 2014-07-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Cute necklace but broke after a year I bought this necklace roughly a year ago. I loved it, but the quality isn't great. The gold has faded, and the skinny, rectangular piece fell off.
Date published: 2016-05-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Came tarnished right out of the box I am disappointed with how this piece of jewelry arrived. Without having worn it, there is already a section on the chain that is dark/tarnished. Overall it is a cute necklace but given that it is damaged upon arrival, I can only imagine how it will hold up over a few wears. Unfortunately, it looks like I will be returning the item.
Date published: 2015-01-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Beautiful necklace, disappointing quality This necklace is beautiful--I love the charms (cute but not too girly) and the pendant length. Unfortunately, however, the quality isn't very good. I bought this just after Christmas, and it's already broken after only a couple of wears! I went to adjust it (the clasp had moved to the front), and it snapped. The links in the chain seem to be very fragile. I think I'm going to have it fixed, but who knows how long it will last. I've had other Madewell necklaces that I've loved, so I'm really disappointed.
Date published: 2015-01-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor quality This necklace is super cute and I was really excited when buying it. However, it broke on the second time I wore it. The rings seemed haphazardly closed so the necklace fell out of the clasp frequently. It seemed cheaply made too because the chain broke when I took it off to fix and close the ring to prevent the necklace from falling off. Disappointing, I wouldn't recommend you buy this.
Date published: 2015-07-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broke within 2 weeks I bought this for my girlfriend, engraved it myself, and it broke within 2 weeks and one of the tags fell off and was lost. very disappointing. Cute style but tags aren't attached properly and the rings open up and it fell apart so easily.
Date published: 2015-05-19
  • y_2017, m_9, d_20, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_64
  • loc_en_US, sid_A8459, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_madewell