This Just In

NEW ARRIVALS

Spring 2017

Looks We Love

Labels We Love

The Accessories Shop

The Madewell Essentials

Monogram It

Denim Report

Events

Our clothes, your pics

Denim Donation

clothing

DENIM

TEES & TANKS

(see all)

tanks
short-sleeve tees
long-sleeve tees
bodysuits
sweatshirts
graphic tees
tee dresses

SHIRTS & TOPS

SWEATERS

JACKETS

DRESSES

SKIRTS

PANTS & SHORTS

OVERALLS & JUMPSUITS

LEISURE

intimates & pajamas

SWIM & BEACHWEAR

SALE

extended sizes

shoes, bags &
more

SHOES & SANDALS

BAGS

JEWELRY

sunglasses

ACCESSORIES

GIFT & HOME

Behind
The Scenes

Our Blog

Denim Report

#DENIMMADEWELL

#EVERYDAYMADEWELL

#Totewell

#WELLHEELED

About Madewell

Whisper Cotton V-Neck Pocket Tee
full size
Whisper Cotton V-Neck Pocket Tee
Whisper Cotton V-Neck Pocket Tee
Whisper Cotton V-Neck Pocket Tee
Product Details
It's no secret, our best-selling pocket tee (formerly called Slub V-Neck Pocket Tee) is the kind of forever favorite you'll want in every color. Fashioned of light and airy slub cotton, this V-neck T-shirt is live-in-it soft and perfectly draped—one to tell your friends about, in other words.
  • True to size.
  • Size up for a slouchy fit.
  • Cotton.
  • Chest pocket.
  • Machine wash.
  • Import.
SHIPPING & RETURNS
Free shipping and free returns exclusively for Madewell Insiders
(hi there, risk-free try-ons). *For complete details, see our Shipping Policy and Return Policy.

Whisper Cotton V-Neck Pocket Tee

Whisper Cotton V-Neck Pocket Tee is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 830.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No problems with holes I have three of the whisper cotton v-necks bought over the last two years, and I haven't had a single problem with holes. Not even with my most recent purchase early this summer. I recommend these to all of my friends. These are easily my favorite shirts - breathable, classic, and comfortable.
Date published: 2016-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Most Perfect T Soft, fitted, but not clingy, its everything you want in a T-Shirt
Date published: 2016-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's a fave! I have the heather gray and I love the way it drapes. Can be dressed up or down, definitely need it in black. I have it in a medium and next time I will try the small, I would say it has a generous cut. Very cute.
Date published: 2016-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The perfect everyday T! Bought this on a whim when it popped up as a recommendation on Nordstrom. Got it home and LOVED it so much I came directly to madewell and ordered every color. It's all I want to wear now. I'm 5'5" & 130 pounds and the small is perfect.
Date published: 2016-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My go to shirt I'm in love with this shirt! The color is so on trend. It fits perfect too! It keeps shape after laundering and no fading. I wore it with a black/white large flower print skirt with a cute tan strappy heal. I've dressed it down wearing with a cute boyfriend jean and white sneakers. I highly recommend this shirt!!! I will definitely buy other colors.
Date published: 2016-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Go-to tee I wonder if there was a bad batch of tees. I bought 3 in June of this year. After I wore and washed the first, I went back and bought 3 more because it came out of the washer/dryer so well!!! NONE of my tees have holes (washed and dried more than 10 times each...at least) and the fabric has held up really well, especially for a slub fabric. The best tee I've bought in years!
Date published: 2016-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Whisper cotton v neck t shirt Cute t shirt... Ordered a small but would have preferred a medium just to make it a little more baggy. It was the look I was going for. Would order this in a different color because I was pleased with the purchase.
Date published: 2016-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Basic tee Dependable.. Great fit and comfy fabric...........
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Staple I now have four of these shirts in different colors, and I wear one almost every day. I wash and dry them with all of my other clothes (cold wash, normal dry). I even sleep in them. I don't know why people have had such a problem with holes, but I have found these to be the most reliable cotton v-necks on the market. For reference, I'm 5'8'', 135 and purchased size Large for an oversized look. After writing this review I plan on purchasing two more in different colors. I'm hooked.
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm in love... ...with this tee! Perfectly soft fabric, wears and washes well, not too loose or too tight, true to size. The v-neck is just right, long enough to be sexy without showing too much. Sleeve fit and length just right...love all the color choices...it's a staple in my wardrobe now.
Date published: 2016-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! This is an excellent everyday shirt. The quality is really good and I can tell it will hold up to many washings. The fit is relaxed. I have a big chest and I normally have to go up a size to accommodate, but I do not think I needed to in this shirt. I will go with a size small next time. The structure of the shirt is designed really well and the medium shirt looks great as a slightly oversized fit without looking baggy. I plan on purchasing more.
Date published: 2016-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love all four i have I now own 4 of these and would definitely get every color if they went on sale. They're nice and lightweight, though thin , I have yet to rip one. I love the color selections too!
Date published: 2016-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these shirts I have nearly all the colors available in these comfy, soft t-shirts. They are so easy to wear and care for. I hope they keep making them in more colors because I will keep buying them!!
Date published: 2016-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fav white tee This has become my go-to favorite tee, part of my daily uniform. I got these in white and the fabric is perfectly opaque and the perfect weight: not too sheer, not too thick. Runs really large. I got xxs and they fit great- although the arms are a little tight when I first put one after the dryer. Just pull gently on the sleeve openings, works like a charm. I like that these tees aren't too long- ideal for wearing w/ jeans. I am planning to get a couple in xs, too, for when I want a longer fit. Highly recommend this tee. Me: 5'3", 32C, 115lbs, long torso.
Date published: 2016-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great v-neck! I bought this shirt in both heather pewter and warm bluegrass and love it in both colors! I'm 5'9", 135 lb and usually wear a small in tops, but after reading reviews, I am glad I went with the XS, as it runs a bit large. The fabric is a nice weight and lays very nicely. Great purchase (especially with a 30% sale)!
Date published: 2016-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect everyday t Love this one! Perfect to throw on with jeans/shorts and can by styled up or down. Soft material which as a mama, I adore! Owned it for over a month with lots of wear/wash and haven't had the hole issues mentioned in other reviews.
Date published: 2016-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect T Shirt I am not exaggerating when I say that I have been searching for the perfect t shirt for year. YEARS. I was beyond excited when I tried this t shirt on in the store. I immediately bought two in white and two in black. I couldn't be happier with them. I am 5'7" and 123lbs and I like the fit of the XS in this T Shirt.
Date published: 2016-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have five of these I got some last year and they were a bit thicker in weight, this year they are thinner and I learned to size down from an xs to xxs for a better fit. Still a bit loose but sits perfectly. These are my Summer staples. Love my Madewell Tees. I am 5' 112 lbs
Date published: 2016-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE these tees! I have quite a few of these tees. lightweight and comfy. Since they are lightweight they do tend to get holes at the seams but I like the distressed look so I don't mind. Beautiful colors too.
Date published: 2016-02-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great basic tee I own this shirt in a L and XL. I'm 5' 91/2". Length is good. I actually like the L a little better. The XL makes the V-neck a little deeper and so I wore a camisole underneath. Soft, lightweight, great wardrobe basic.
Date published: 2016-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from sporty/chic vneck I have this vneck in 7 colors so obviously I like it! I will say they run pretty big so order a size smaller than normal, especially since they don't shrink much-another plus since everything I own goes in the dryer!
Date published: 2016-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No cleavage revealed, yet the v is deep enough to look sexy! Great tee! I bought it in 5 colors, all of which go with my winter capsule wardrobe, and all of which are absolutely delicious. The fit is perfect with a little drape. I machine wash these on the handwash cycle and line dry them. Quasi thin fabric but not see-through. You can't go wrong. They're a super value. Fill in all the gaps in your closet here.
Date published: 2016-02-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfortably slouchy I love the slouchiness of this V-neck! The qualm I have about it is that the V is pretty deep and when I'm actually slouching around, it tends to shift and show my bra. Super comfy, lightweight material.
Date published: 2016-11-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fav tee...not fav quality These tees are my jam...but the quality on the white is no bueno. I have these in several colors and it seems to me that the colors other than white are a thicker and more durable fabric. The white is much thinner and I have several little holes in mine. Sad day :( I do have to admit that I still wear it because it's just the perfect white tee. I will be re-purchasing.
Date published: 2016-10-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great relaxed t-shirt Super comfy material with a looser fit. I wish it was a bit longer ( as that is my style), but still longer than a normal shirt. Love wearing these with jeans or leggings.
Date published: 2016-10-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Favorite T Currently my favorite tee. I just wish the sleeves were a tad longer.
Date published: 2016-09-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for everyday, runs large I bought this tee because of the sale price and despite its running large I decided to keep it and wear it for a baggier look on casual days. I bought a size xxs; I am 5'2", 103lbs. The tee is very soft and comfortable and seems to be well made. I definitely recommend if you don't mind the baggier fit.
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice staple piece This is my very first Madewell review. Honestly I was pretty shocked about all of reviews with people stating they had holes in their T-shirts. I probably have at least six or seven V-neck tees and have washed them many many times over the Spring and summer and hung and laid them to dry and have no holes in any of mine. I have accidentally dried 2 with no Ill effects. The one issue that keeps me from giving this item 5 stars is that it stretches considerably in the neck when you hang it dry. It is also a little thin as other reviewers stated .But, that doesn't bother me it's not really what I would consider" see-through " . I don't wear a Cami under it but I do wear a nude bra. These have pretty much a staple piece for me until the necks got stretched. I have size smalls and they are a bit big. I'm 5"4' and about 120lbs. I'm thinking about going for an XS next time to see if it helps with the neck stretch issue.
Date published: 2016-08-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My everyday Hmmm, bummer about the previous reviews and their holes. It put a scare in me after I bought it in 4 different colors.They are on the "thinner" side of t-shirts and I can understand why it could produce pin sized holes. They are my everyday due to it being on the thinner side. I've had mine for almost two months now, wear them frequently and wash on gentle/delicates and do the same in the dryer. I've had no issues. I don't know if they'll hold up after a year of continuous wear but heck I don't expect it to. Don't fret, get 'em.
Date published: 2016-08-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed Like another reviewer stated, this shirt is comfy and the colors great. All the ones I got developed holes immediately upon wearing or shortly thereafter. I spent money for the tailor to sew them but to no avail. They continued to tear. I do not have moths.
Date published: 2017-03-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disposable fashion As long as you don't need it to last...This is a great t-shirt with a great fit that comes in great colours. Unfortunately, all that great does not include great quality. Holes, seams, runs, and brittle fabric are common, ahem, threads in all colours. As soon as they become my favourites, these tees seem to hit the end of their cycles. Sad news. That said, at least they're inexpensive and they fit great.
Date published: 2016-09-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great item, but... Love the color selections and these are daily staple. However, the quality of the item was disappointing. Rips very easily, especially near pocket area.
Date published: 2016-08-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Holes! These are so perfect except for holes after the second wash! So sad because they fit perfectly. I bought a few and all of them have huge and tiny holes all over. So sad. Now I have to keep searching for the perfect shirt.
Date published: 2017-02-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Holes after 3 wears Love Madewell apparel except for this tee. Many holes appeared after 3rd wear of tee. Washed in cold water on delicate setting line dried. . So very dissatisfied. Great color.
Date published: 2017-01-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Loved the color I bought the wine color, looked amazing! Fit is loose. Within 1 wearing, I had little holes below my belly button. This is the 3rd shirt from Madewell I've had that has done this. Was able to wear it twice before the shirt went in the trash:(( Thankfully purchased on sale. I loved the shirt, super comfy, great color, just not made well... For reference I'm 5'9 160lbs, curvy. Bought large.
Date published: 2016-12-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Made well this shirt has a hole in it after 2 washings. really disappointed because their past tshirts have been great. The short threat cotton is terrible. It may be softer but it falls apart immediately. Not worth the money.
Date published: 2016-11-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great style, doesn't last. I love the way these shirts feel and fit! That being said the get holes ridiculously easy. One I purchased had a hole after one wear! One! This was even before washing. If these were more durable they would be perfect, but at this rate it is much to much to pay for a single use item.
Date published: 2016-10-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Pretty colors; lots of holes Like others have said, these shirts come in beautiful colors, but they are not well made (or, made well...). I bought three of these and all of them have holes after a few months. I wash my shirts in garment bags in cold water and air dry--and only wash them after a few wears. I had to repair a hole at the pocket seam after the first wash in one (a dark pink), another just has tons of little holes everywhere (lighter pink), while the third has fewer holes (olive-gold), I'm still disappointed. For Madewell, these shirts fit TTS with a little room to complete the casual look. I wear an XS and am 5', 32C, 25" waist.
Date published: 2016-07-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great for a month If you need a comfortable, perfect, slouchy tee for just a couple of weeks, then this is it. If, however, you're hoping for a shirt that will last for an entire season, much less beyond, this is not it. People are not kidding about the holes.
Date published: 2016-07-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor Fabric Quality After two washes and hang dries, this t shirt developed tiny holes. The fabric is very comfortable but not durable. I anticipate it's lifespan being short.
Date published: 2016-02-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from comfortable shirt made of very flimsy fabric I liked the way this shirt looked and fit, but after just a few hours of wearing it, multiple small tears and hole appeared. I had not done anything out of the ordinary that would have resulted in my shirt ripping. I was very disappointed in the fabric quality.
Date published: 2015-08-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Please bring back a better cotton I have been wearing this style T shirt from Madewell for years...before they were made of slub cotton. I love the style and fit, but they are really poor quality. Like other reviewers, I have experienced tiny holes over a short period of time that make the shirts unwearable. How about going back to a thicker pima cotton like you used to use? You have a winning style and I'm sure your customers would pay more for a T that would last more than a couple wears.
Date published: 2017-03-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not well made I tried these shirts on in the store and loved the relaxed fit---- not body hugging but still fitted. After washing and air drying they look awful on. The neck lost shape. The length shrunk. I am so disappointmented!!!
Date published: 2017-02-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't bother! DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!! At first glance, they are the perfect t-shirt! Lightweight, very comfortable, true to size.. I bought 3 in different colors and regret wasting my money after a few washes! I always washed them on delicate cycle and hung them out to dry, I took very good care of them. But all my shirts still got holes in them. Not made very well! You can find better quality shirts for the same price, if not cheaper elsewhere.
Date published: 2017-02-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Love/hate relationship I've bought these tees for years and thought I was the only one experiencing this! I even researched why this could be happening. Like others, I love these tees, but hate them after one or two wears. Madewell, please, please fix this.
Date published: 2017-02-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Why pay for holes after three washes? I was super excited to buy this shirt after seeing some of my favorite bloggers wear them. I purchased in two colors and assumed at the price point these would be THE tshirt staples I could count on. I was SO disappointed after three washes they developed holes! The irony is not lost on me, Madewell.
Date published: 2017-01-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Can't Recommend Purchasing Until Fabric Changes This fabric gets holes in it like nothing I've ever seen. To preface this, I want to say that I do all that I can to ensure the longevity of my clothes. I only washed these shirts when they were dirty (i.e. after 2-3 wears, not after each wear), and I always wash them inside out, in a delicates bag, in cold water, with Woolite for darks detergent, using the gentle cycle, and I always lay them flat to dry. And yet they still got holes in them. The fabric is incredibly soft and comfortable but just not durable enough to withstand even the most careful laundering. I love these shirts and they are incredibly comfortable and cute. They have the potential to be one of the best t-shirts on the market, but the quality needs to improve before I can justify repurchasing.
Date published: 2016-12-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointing I was so happy when I bought these tees. They are super comfortable, loose fitting but not shapeless. I have several Madewell tanks and tees purchased over the last few years that are still in great condition, but these tees are coming up short. I take great care of my clothing and, like most people, I expect it to last for more than one wash cycle. Unfortunately these tees do not meet that standard.
Date published: 2016-11-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from low quality I've had this shirt for less than 3 months and already has 2 holes in it. the first hole was there after the first month. so disappointed with the quality since it is from madewell. the tees are super comfy and it's one of my favorite. but the material is super thin and not madewell causing it to have holes in it. even cheaper tees last longer. please have quality check for these. not even worth the money...
Date published: 2016-10-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Made well? Nope Holes after only a few washes (on gentle, hang dry). So disappointed.
Date published: 2016-10-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from poor material quality I really love madewell clothes, but have to say I'm so disappointed in the quality of this tee. I have bought 2 of these tees and after one wash BOTH have holes in them. Unfortunately the holes are right in the front of the tee, which makes them no longer wearable. What a bummer. I expected better from this company, especially for the price of a basic tee.
Date published: 2016-10-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from HOLES drape and sizing are perfect; colors are gorgeous. found holes after third wash. madewell, this is the best-fitting tee i own... PLEASE FIX THIS!
Date published: 2016-10-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from HOLES I originally loved this shirt and bought several colors, but each one now has multiple holes, after very few times wearing/washing. Madewell, please use better quality fabric for these shirts!
Date published: 2016-09-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Stylish and comfy but poorly made I purchased this tee a couple months ago as a staple piece for my capsule wardrobe. I usually love Madewell and love the quality of their garments, so I was super disappointed to find that this tee, though washed gently with a natural detergent and air dried, quickly lost its shape and already has holes on each of the 4 corners of the chest pocket. Wouldn't purchase this tee again, sadly.
Date published: 2016-05-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from SO disappointed... I bought three of these shirts, and loved them so much that I took great care not to stretch or damage them. I washed them on the gentle cycle by themselves and laid them flat to dry. After only 2 washings, two of the shirts have noticeable holes in them. I can't believe that they are unwearable already... especially considering the price point. This is a great style and these come in great colours so I was enthusiastic when I purchased, but the quality is extremely disappointing. Save your money and buy elsewhere.
Date published: 2016-05-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Low quality. I have a few whisper cotton v-necks. The colors are great and they are comfy, but If you're looking for a shirt that will last for more than a few months...This is not the shirt for you. After a month this shirt gets little holes here and there. The t-shirt is too thin and not of very good quality. It's too bad because I love the colors. Maybe one day Madewell will make a better quality basic tee that lasts longer than a few months.
Date published: 2016-05-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Madewell? I think not. I've never shopped at this store before, but I popped in last month looking for some basic tees for an upcoming vacation. This shirt fit the bill perfectly - soft, cute and comfortable. I wore it the next day, and by the end of the day I noticed a tiny hole in the front where there was a "knot" in the slub fabric. It was so small I didn't worry about it. After washing it once (on the gentle cycle), the hole got slightly bigger, but it was so comfortable I wore it anyway. After washing it a second time, I discovered a bigger hole where the corner of the pocket was stitched against the shirt. This one was much too big to ignore, as you could see my bra! I basically had to trash the shirt after two wearings. What a waste of money and material - this was the first and last time I will shop at "Madewell."
Date published: 2015-08-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from After three wearings, it has small holes in the front! Very comfortable and I love how it feels but after three times wearing (and wash with air drying), it has small holes in the front of the shirt already! Can't wear it anymore!
Date published: 2015-08-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor quality/craftsmanship I ordered four of these shirts just over a month ago and as of now two of them have a small hole in the exact same spot at the corner of the pocket. I do love the feel and look of the shirt, unfortunately the quality is very poor. I would be hesitant to order these again.
Date published: 2015-04-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Love them but NOT "made well". Love tees - they are a staple in my closet so I buy several a year & am always on the hunt for nice one. These looked great & had so many color choices, so I wound upwith 1/2 dozen purchased over the last few months. All but one is now holey even though they were carefully washed on the delicate cycle of my washer. The holes are almost always in the front above the hem. As these won't even hold up to a few delicate washes, regrettably, I would not recommend them.
Date published: 2015-04-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cheap, falling apart on first wash I bought this and thought it was cute and fit great, but washed it before I wore it and it already has a hole in at the shoulder seam. Super poorly made.
Date published: 2015-02-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from poor quality I loved this tee when I got it, and I loved the color (vintage petal). I wore it once under a plaid flannel shirt, and I really thought it would be an excellent layering piece. However, after wearing it *once* and washing it according to the care instructions, there was a hole at the base of the "v." I am so disappointed by the quality of this shirt, and I'm even more sad that I ordered two more that are on the way. I would pass on this and invest in a well-made tee that will stand at least a few more wears.
Date published: 2015-01-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from great shirt! poor quality. :( First I just want to say I love this t-shirt. The fit and the softness are awesome. I have it in 6 colors, and multiple in the basics- black and white. However, after 3-4 washed in the washing machine, slowly but surely ALL of them started to get holes along the stitching- on the rear of the collar, armpit, corner of front pocket. I was appalled by the poor quality of this shirt. I had thought about returning them but just never found the time and just wore each one until they were worn out. Totally NOT satisfactory. If you're paying more than $15 for a COTTON T-SHIRT, I expect it to last MORE THAN 3 washes!!!!
Date published: 2014-12-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Holes after washing four times I bought two of the slub v-neck pocket tees. After washing four times, one of the shirts developed several holes. I was disappointed because this t-shirt was very comfortable and looked great.
Date published: 2014-06-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from BEWARE - got small hole after two wearings/washings This would be a great shirt if it didn't get tiny holes in the front of it so darn fast! I'm so sick of the thin T shirts that everyone makes now that get holes so ridiculously quickly. I hoped, after reading the reviews, that this shirt would be different, but it's not. I got it in red and it's a pretty color with a good, loose (but not too loose) fit. But the holes are a deal breaker, ladies! I can handle it if it happens after six months or so, but after wearing and washing it twice! I'll have to keep looking for quality, good looking T's.
Date published: 2016-05-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cursed with holes I really wanted to keep loving madewell, but my wallet and my husband can't take it anymore. Everything is so cute and perfect, but after just a few wears, the holes start appearing. I kept thinking it was something I was wearing or doing, but I just bought the blue colored tee and ended up getting a hole after the very first wear. Doesn't matter how you wear them or wash them, they will fall apart. Until something changes, I will not be buying madewell anymore.
Date published: 2016-06-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Holes after first wash Waste of money as the shirt got holes after the first wash!!
Date published: 2016-04-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Holes in under one month!!! This was my very first purchase of Madewell ever. I am tremendously disappointed!!!!!! I bought several colors of this shirt. When they first arrived, I fell in love! They were true to size and very comfy. However, after only ONE month, some of the shirts have SEVERAL holes. I take excellent care of all my clothing; washing everything, even t-shirts, on delicate and hang drying everything. I also live in a brand new apartment so there are no moths or other pests to speak of that would have caused this. I have contacted Madewell and they have offered for me to PURCHASE another one while they REVIEW my shirts to determine if indeed the shirts are defected. I don't think so!!!! What if they decide that there is no defect in their eyes and I am out even more money b/c I've purchased more shirts. This is ridiculous!!!! For a brand called MADEWELL, they have not lived up to their name and I am super bummed. :(
Date published: 2016-04-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from yep. That's right. Tiny holes. At first I thought I had a moth in the closet. That's what the holes look like -- a tiny hole or two at the front of the shirt about two inches above the hem. I scoured the closet for the moth and didn't turn up anything. In the end, it was what everyone else said. The shirts develop small holes. One appears after one wear (no wash). The other developed after 3-4 washes in a lingerie bag in the washing machine. I would also say that the shirts lose their shape pretty quickly with wear. I wouldn't purchase these again.
Date published: 2016-06-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Holes all over shirt after first wash. I purchased two of these shirts (white and navy blue) back in mid-march. I really liked how soft and light the fabric felt but was highly disappointed to see my white shirt have holes around the pocket and lower part of the hem after the first wash.
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great fit but always gets holes I have over 12 of these tees in various colors over the past two years and I get tiny holes in them -- so far, only the black and striped tees don't get any holes. The fit is awesome, loose and thin, but not sheer. Wish I could keep buying them, but the holes start popping up as soon as 2-3 wears. Sigh.
Date published: 2015-11-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great tee, lots of holes I'm torn on how to review this tee. On one hand, I absolutely love the look of this tee. It's super flattering. I love the drape, the colors (I have several#, and the way it shows off my collarbone area. I reach for them again and again whenever I want to throw on something comfortable yet stylish #pretty much every day#. BUT...I've purchased 10+ of these tees over the past few seasons. There are tiny holes pin size holes in every. single. one. Even though I hand wash and let them air dry, the holes pop up after a few wears, usually around the pocket or in front around my waistband. I love the look and feel of these tees so much that I keep buying them...but with the knowledge that they won't last more than a season (or perhaps a few wears). For reference, I'm 5'6", 118lbs. and wear XS.
Date published: 2015-04-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Holes, like everyone else! I have been so earnest about taking good care of these shirts! I wash them on the delicate cycle and lay them flat to dry. I was devastated this morning to find that one of the shirts, which I have only (gently) worn three times, already has a hole in the back!!! I don't do crazy things in these shirts! I adore the look and feel of the shirts, but that's a lot of money for three wears.
Date published: 2016-07-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Glad to see I'm not the only one who had problems with tiny holes appearing. Such a shame because the comfort, style and price are all right.
Date published: 2016-06-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great style but low quality I've bought several of these tees in the last 2 years. Half have kept up. The other half is riddled with multiple holes within a few weeks. Madewell quality is not consistent. Tee shirt holes are inevitable - quality just isnt there for the whisper or thin tees. For the price, I expect a tee to last at least a few months though. I may just have to buy thicker tees or try different brands.
Date published: 2016-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tips for washing my favorite tees I've bought a few of these over the past year and wear them nonstop. They're soft, flattering, and nicely sized. I'm usually an XS or S in Madewell tops, and I prefer the XS in these. They're pretty roomy in the S. I basically cycle through these and don't wear anything else. The cotton is soft and thin (which is great in the heat), so I do take some extra care washing them. I wash them on a cold, normal wash, in a fine mesh lingerie bag (a super cheap one from a major discounter - nothing fancy). I then dry them in the dryer, low-medium heat, outside of the bag (drying in the bag causes wrinkles galore). I also make sure that if they're in a load with jeans, the jeans are zipped and buttoned. Washing like this, I haven't had a single hole form yet.
Date published: 2016-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great basic t-shirt I've been looking for t-shirts everywhere and finally found it! So comfy! Great style and fit. Material is light enough to wear on warmer days or put a cardigan over on chilly days. Like others say, it runs a bit large. I usually wear a medium, 5'7", 134lbs. I got a small and it fit like a normal t-shirt, not tight at all. If i wanted baggier look, i'd go with the medium.
Date published: 2016-03-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from holes! Love the feel and fit of these tees but every one of my shirts have holes in them. Poor quality.
Date published: 2016-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great shape I had a baby six months ago, and while I've lost most of the weight, my middle is still...soft. This tee fits like a dream, offering a nice silhouette while disguising my problem area. Pre-pregnancy, I was a size Small, now, I measure a size Medium, but a friend recommended that I purchase the Small. I did -- no regrets. This is the perfect t-shirt.
Date published: 2016-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite V-Neck I've tried quite a handful of brands of basic v-neck tees, and these, bar none, are my favorite. I'm 4'11" and 113 lbs and am not a fan of form-fitting clothes. I have 3 of these in XS and just ordered 2 more and absolutely love how they fit! These shirts give you the slouchy look, minus the obvious oversized boys' tees appearance, since they fit better in the shoulders, arms, and torso, without being overly baggy.
Date published: 2016-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite tee EVER I've read the reviews. Everyone hated how worn it gets, but that is why it is priced so perfectly! I love how amazing this tee is! I can slip it on and feel comfy but put together! The fit is on the slouchy side, but perfect in my eyes. I will continue to buy this tee in every color. Do yourself a favor and realize, Madewell does not have to offer this perfect tee for such a great price. It is meant to be replaced when needed. Take care of the tee and it will take care of you!
Date published: 2016-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect tee I wish I had this tee in every color... and I'll be watching the sale section like a hawk to that end! I'm a 12/14 and ordered an XL. It's sort of slides off my shoulder a bit and is super roomy through my midsection, but it creates a very flattering line with the vneck without showing too much of my overgenerous bust. Going to try large next time, but I still like the XL
Date published: 2016-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect tee I bought four of these for myself and four for my daughter, and just bought another. Perfect basic tee. Not to thick, not too thin, sleeves are good length, not too low cut, and there is a lot of length. I wish they came in long sleeves too! Great colors also.
Date published: 2016-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The perfect summer Tee! I liked this tee shirt so much I ordered three more. It's the perfect weight and texture for a hot summer day. Stay cool and look cool!
Date published: 2016-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My go-to tee Some days I feel like dressing up, and some days I feel like being comfy-cool. This is my first choice when I'm feeling like the latter. A tiny bit oversized, not sloppy, just perfectly loose in my regular size (I'm 5'7" and a size 4-6, I like a medium in this). I have it in at least six colors and am always checking the site for the next sale so I can add to my collection. Wash them on gentle cycle and dry them on low!
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cheery tee Bought the yellow color in a S (rather than my normal XS) because I wanted a baggier fit. The V doesn't sit as low for me as it does online. Soft material, great quality.
Date published: 2016-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I own this in 4 colors! Love this t-shirt. Very comfy, perfect V (not too deep), thin, but not see-through.
Date published: 2016-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this shirt! I bought this shirt with the intention that it would be a little tight but much to my surprise it ran bigger than I'd expected and it fits absolutely wonderful, maybe buy one size down if you intend on buying it.
Date published: 2016-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect everyday tee! The reviews on these tees were so great, I bought two! (Dried straw and dusty burgundy...evocative names.) They arrived today and I love them already. The material is soft but feels well constructed, of high quality. I am confident these shirts will wear well. I always have trouble picking sizes while shopping online, so maybe this will help you: I'm 5'5", 150 pounds, cup size C. I bought mediums and they are the perfect amount of loose fitting (although not quite as loose as shown on the model). Overall, I love them! I may end up buying a few more colors as they are great by themselves or under sweaters or blazers.
Date published: 2015-02-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from nope, nope and triple nope I returned the ones I ordered. Boxy cut. Colors only ok. Sleeves hit at a clunky point on the arm. V is both boringly in-between and low enough to make self-conscious those of us who hate wearing bras. Manages to be the worst of all possible t-shirt worlds. A pity, because its predecessor pocket t was great.
Date published: 2016-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! These are great basic cotton shirts! The run slightly large but I like them that way. Would recommend especially if they're on sale!
Date published: 2017-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect T The best t shirt ever! Comfortable and greatness all rolled into one!! It's a must have!
Date published: 2017-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sharp and crisp Love this shirt. Keeps its shape and is classy looking
Date published: 2017-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft and stylish Love this tee. I want one in every color. Feels so soft and fits comfortably around curves.
Date published: 2017-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Tee to wear with everything I loved these v-neck tees so much I stocked up on them. I have at least a dozen now in various colors. I had to return the pink rosy one, since it matched too closely to my skin tone. If they sell a lighter pink blush shade like they did a few years back I will order a few! I wear these tees with everything, from jeans to dressier skirts with a scarf or statement necklace. They do wrinkle a bit out of the dryer, but do not shrink. I love the loose yet feminine fit with the deeper v-neck. Great staple investment in my opinion!
Date published: 2017-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Go-to Staple I have a few of these shirts in various colors and always make sure to pick them up when they're on sale. I like that the material isn't too stretchy and the overall quality of the fabric makes them fell sturdy. The only thing I have ever had problems with is the pockets' stitching. I sometimes put my phone in it for a few seconds (not as a long-term solution) and I've had the pockets start coming loose. However, if you leave the pockets alone, they stay nice. I also said that the fit is a little big, but with the fabric, I don't think you should expect it to be form fitting.
Date published: 2017-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have these in 4 colors It's the only tee I'll wear. I have it in gray, maroon, yellow and black. I normally wear a size large in tees because of my uuuuge boobs & I like a loose fit but a medium fits perfect. I'm 5'7 and the length is perfect as well, it sits below my hips and covers half my booty when wearing leggings. It's not super long if you're looking for complete booty coverage. I normally throw on a cardigan over it for that.
Date published: 2017-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love a great vneck! This shirt is incredibly soft, super easy, and a great fit! I ended up buying it in 6 colors
Date published: 2017-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This tee goes with everything I love this tee! I purchased the plum color in a small (I am 5'6" 136lbs) and it fits beautifully. It goes with everything from jeans to black slacks. The has a worn feel to it, comfortable and well constructed. Looks perfect under a blazer or large cardigan. I loved this tee so much, I bought four more in different colors.
Date published: 2017-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great basic T These shirts are soft, the v is not cut too low, and have a great slouchy look.
Date published: 2017-01-02
  • y_2017, m_3, d_21, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_830
  • loc_en_US, sid_04346, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_madewell